We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Shiralea Backpackers Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

618 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 533: English reviews
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Away from the festive and seemingly "lads"-infested south coast, shiralea is an excellent resort for those that want to get away from the madness but still like to celebrate their existence once in a while. With its basic dorms, value bungalows, and Anglospheric semi-volunteer staff, shiralea reminds one of a typical south African backpackers. The only thing missing from this... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaanPaard
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I love this resort! Amazing staff that are so friendly and helpful! They have awesome Thai and western food and the best chicken nuggets and real gravy!!! Lovely pool and they had a pool party while we were here and sorted out a beer pong competition and bbq for everyone. The bar / restaurant is great as its so chill... More 

Helpful?
Thank Babalas150
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was booked through recommendation of a friend and we were left wishing that we didn't listen to him. We were already aware before booking that the location was a bit out of the way and we decided that this wouldn't be an issue for us. The hostelworld booking is misleading and I would check what you're booking as we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sian W
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came here and stayed for three days because we wants to go to the full moon party. Turns out the hostel was more fun then the full moon party. The food here was delicious, they drinks were endless and they had such a big variety. Not to mention we had so many shots bought for us. When someone rings... More 

Helpful?
Thank Benny D
Nathan R, General Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing us. The resort is always full of life around full moon party time and it's great to hear we were more fun than that party!! I'll pass your kind comments to Charlie and the staff, they always work hard to ensure everyone is looked after during their stay. We aim to offer value for money in our... More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here as we were recommended by a friend. Unfortunately they were sold out of the air con room so we opted for a fan room instead. When we arrived and shown to our room it absolutely stank of wee, I'm not one to complain and ask to change rooms but I had to on this... More 

Helpful?
Thank BeaThomas4
Nathan R, General Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. You were perfectly correct to ask for a new room, I'm just sorry that the condition of the room was not spotted earlier, as we would never have put you in that room had we been aware. I can only apologise if we failed to pick up on maintenance issues, and thanks... More 

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Two friends and I stayed here in early august for two nights, the compound was always clean and well looked after by the large staff team who where more than happy to help or give advice on the area and the island. The only negative was the design of the bungalows, however the pool, eating/relaxing ares, gym and beach more... More 

Helpful?
Thank arowbreyevans
Nathan R, General Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I'm happy to hear that our staff were so helpful and that you enjoyed the facilities during your stay. The bungalow maintenance is already underway and we look forward to your return stay with us! More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is not a resort, this is a disco. Ideal if you are looking for party and alcohol. You hear the music in the bungalow and the people screaming until early morning. Apart from this, the bungalows are in very bad conditions without maintenance at all. Regarding the service, we asked them to book a tour and they charge us... More 

Helpful?
Thank claaarisss
Nathan R, General Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I can only apologise if you were kept awake by other guests, unfortunately we cannot control all the guests all of the time. I'm sorry if you didnt find your room up to standard during your stay with us. Our rooms are obviously in constant use and maintenance issues can... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My friends and I booked 2 private rooms through Hostelworld but the information they provided us was very misleading. On the app, the resort claimed to have air conditioning but the rooms we booked only had a fan, which was not specified. Also, they charged us the "full moon party" price even though we arrived 3 days after the party.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Priya C
Nathan R, General Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to review us. I can only apologise if you did not recieve the facilities you were expecting, we make a lot of effort with agents to ensure our rooms are correctly represented but we are aware that the Hostelworld App does not show the full facilities (including whether a room type has air con or fan)... More 

Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hostel is a bit far from the town but I rented a scooter. The dorm is clean and ac is very nice. The staff is very lovely and made me feel like home. I celebrated my birthday here and could not have asked for a better place. The food is very good the Thai and western food. Stayed for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sjors v
Nathan R, General Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I'm glad to hear you had such a good time while you stayed with us! The beach is indeed great, but it's nice to hear you went and explored the island also. It's great to also hear you found the facilities here so enjoyable and thanks for the recommendation to other travellers. We hope to welcome... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lunch here. Staff was very friendly and offered us to use their pool for a swim (in most other resorts of the island it is not allowed to use their pool if not an hotel guest) they had 2 Thai beers on draight, which is obviously good. And a nice selection of Thai food.

Helpful?
Thank Ralph O
Nathan R, General Manager at Shiralea Backpackers Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality and facilities. Thanks for coming in, and we hope to welcome you as a Shiralea guest on your next visit! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

257 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (227)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (126)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
0.1 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#21 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#2 of 92 in Ko Phangan
5.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
6.1 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#34 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Seetanu Bungalows
Seetanu Bungalows
#19 of 305 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
5.9 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
6.0 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on the stunning tropical island of Koh Pha Ngan - home to Thailand's famous 'full moon party' - Shiralea is a boutique resort designed to be a backpackers paradise. Welcome to a 'flashpacking' experience. Shiralea was built by a group of travellers who wanted a haven to return to. With a focus on 'good times' we created a friendly and vibrant atmosphere which puts our guests immediately at ease. Shiralea is a place where strangers become friends, we designed the resort with a social aspect which sets us apart, our guests love how they can do exactly what they want at Shiralea- whether that be a crazy night at the bar or a quiet one watching movies. Shiralea is the ideal spot to set up for a few days you'll never forget. Located 1 minutes walk from the beautiful Haad Yao beach. Our resort has all the creature comforts you could want and we cater for all budgets - hot showers, comfortable beds, wall-mounted fan or air conditioned bungalows, an ensuite in each bungalow and your own balcony with a hammock. In addition to our 30 bungalows, we have great facilities to keep you entertained, including a restaurant that offers delicious and well priced Thai and Western meals, a great bar, free wifi, large swimming pool with Jacuzzi and poolside bar, movie lounge, a games room with pool table and a massage hut. Shiralea has everything you need to enjoy your 'flashpacking' experience, but it's the memories that our guests treasure. Lose yourself in the fine art of doing nothing or celebrate balmy nights dancing into the wee hours with new friends. Our staff always welcome our guests with open arms, so all you need to do is bring a bag of basics and a smile. We invite you to join the fun. Book your stay with Shiralea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shiralea Backpackers Resort

Address: 58 18 Haad Yao, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Price Range: $11 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shiralea Backpackers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Shiralea Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiralea Backpackers Hotel Koh Phangan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay