We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elmina Beach Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Elmina Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 56: English reviews
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The prices are very convenient if you are passing by. Unless you want to stay the night, then it is really expensive. I love the beach view and the pool the restaurant is clean and organized. They have a good WiFi. No entrance fee

Helpful?
Thank SAIF94
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016 via mobile

Really admire the breeze,the view and serenity....the staff are amazing with 24hr call services.lovely surrounding with great ocean view.perfect room services and lovely rooms to choose from.and very affordable too..

Helpful?
Thank EKOW D
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

Really should have checked the reviews before checking in.... 1. My booking and confirmation can't be found 2. I've been given a wrong room 3. Booked an exec room and given a standard room 4. Booked a sea view and no sea view available 5. A.c. Not working 6. Taps in bathroom broken All in all a really bad visit.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kojo A

Travelers are raving about these Elmina hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2016 via mobile

I was totally disappointed and had to check out before my planned checkout date. No internet access, no reception on phones, no dstv and channels on the TV. Too unhappy to rethink those days. I think trip advisor misled us with the rating for the hotel. There was a much better hotel about 8mins away and on the strip. So... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lawyerito
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2016 via mobile

Our group was treated badly the day we arrived for our tour. The hotel was not prepared for us while they knew we were coming. The food was terrible and there was even a fly in the banku. The chef wasn't apologetic either. The restaurant was understaffed and that made service slow. As stakeholders of the industry I am surprised... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julia L
Rowland M, Front Office Manager at Elmina Beach Resort, responded to this review

Management has noted the experience you had while on tour and sincerely apologies for the experience you had .Measures are being implemented to make sure this never happens again.We invite you to stop by once again. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2016

We stayed for one night on a weekend with friends and took 4 rooms. Though the check-in took a while - almost half an hour and the initial room key was not working but they gave us an alternate room. The rooms are good size with modern and clean bath and facilities. The AC was a bit noisy and not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Obii1
Rowland M, Front Office Manager at Elmina Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank You very much for your review and apologize for the issues you had while staying with us.Management is addressing the issues raised and we can assure you your experience will be different on your next trip to the hotel.Please Visit us again. More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2016

The hotel is in a good location, right on the coast. Unfortunately, the beach is eroded and rocks separate the water from the hotel grounds. Don't expect to take a long stroll on a sandy beach! I don't think you can swim in the water (too rocky), you would have to swim in the pool. If you want that seaside... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn C
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2016 via mobile

The restaurant needs some renovation. Rooms and hall setup seem pretty ancient . Nice view of the sea for lunch and dinner.. Pretty much located in the center of town in Cape Coast and easily accessible. Service is also pretty much average...

Helpful?
Thank jazzyboyjeff
Faro District, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

Worst experience of my hotel life! We booked the hotel in the (Sunday) morning of our intended arrival. We got there to check in in the evening, but were greeted with very annoyed receptionists, who made us feel we had intruded and annoyed them with our presence! We were then told that they close the Internet on a Friday, so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mimisuzz
Rowland M, Front Office Manager at Elmina Beach Resort, responded to this review

Hello I am the New Front Office Manager and wish to apologize for the poor service you had at the front office.I can assure this will not happen again,Please visit us again for all new exceptional guest experience More 

Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
504 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015

We booked a hotel down the coast a bit and on arrival, took one look and walked out-it was disgusting. Therefore ANYTHING would have been better than it was. I thought the room was spacious, the aircon worked well, but the mattress and pillows were awful (glad we packed our own pillows). We needed lunch and were told it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank justjans
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmina
0.5 mi away
Coconut Grove Beach Resort
7.8 mi away
Brenu Beach Lodge
Brenu Beach Lodge
#1 of 7 in Cape Coast
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coconut Grove Bridge House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Atlantic Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus Atlantic Hotel
#1 of 14 in Sekondi-Takoradi
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 7 in Cape Coast
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elmina Bay Resort
Elmina Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Elmina
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Elmina Beach Resort

Address: 1 JJ Rawlings St., Elmina 00000, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Elmina
Price Range: $139 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmina Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Elmina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmina Beach Hotel Cape Coast
Elmina Beach Resort Ghana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay