We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Elmina Bay Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Elmina Bay Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 210: English reviews
Indiana
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2016

This place was definitely a mix of good and bad. Everything was either amazing or terrible, hence the three stars. So I'll try and break it down some more: Good: The room itself was very nice. I had a king bed single room and there was plenty of space in it. The bathroom (washroom) was spacious as well. The A/C... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hoosier_Travel_Nut
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2016

We only had dinner here. 6 of us. A good meal, reasonably priced. I had a fish burger and chips, very good indeed. The rest of the party had grouper and potatoes, generous portion, well cooked, and snapper and rice, good sized fish and well prepared rice. We were fussy eaters and the chef came out to consult and all... More 

Helpful?
Thank ronald00001
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2016

Ben and Evelyn run a first class resort-having visited the Caribbean many times we woudl say Elmina Bay ranks with some of the best resorts around. Extremely friendly service Elmina itself is a vibrant and colourful fishing resort (get down there early one morning for an amazing spectacle) and the area is not only beautiful but has some great history... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2016 via mobile

We did not stay, but went there to take a look. It looked deserted and the pool was all green and dirty, not to swim in!!! There are better places to stay. And i dont have anything else to add xxxx xx xxxxxx

Helpful?
Thank DaanZA
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2016

I stayed here recently with a large (~30 people) group of graduate students on a study trip in West Africa. We were only here for one night while passing through the area and visiting cultural sites in the vicinity, such as the Cape Coast castle. My initial impression of the resort was fairly positive, as it looks well kept and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank darrenosaurus
Ben I, Director at Elmina Bay Resort, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments. Concerning the delay in delivering your food order for 30 guests, your tour guide had pre-ordered what he believed would meet you requirements; on arrival most of you chose to order independently. We did not appreciate that wifi had been so difficult; we provided our meeting room, which has wifi, free of charge for... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2016

Elmina Bay Resort met our (high) expectations. Being quit a distance from the 'main-road' the hotel offers complete peace and quiet. The view from the hotel is absolutely spectacular. The beautiful pool and the building layouts around it, right on the beach, makes for a premium feel. In general, the hotel is in good condition, clean and sufficiently maintained. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thoerring
Ben I, Director at Elmina Bay Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate and thank you for your comments, and we will continue working to give every guest the same enjoyable experience of Elmina Bay Resort. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile

I lived in Ghana for two years prior to staying here and returned with a group to do humanitarian work in the area. Let me say that this is one of the nicest hotels in the Cape area! The rooms were clean and well kept, the air con worked fine, hot water was good, although one day the water pressure... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kyle H
Ben I, Director at Elmina Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Maintaining a good water supply for our guests is a high priority for us, and so we occassionally have some challenges, depending on the flows from the Water company. Our pump system usually works to keep up the pressure level. We are approx 2 kilometres from a main road, in an area which is largely... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile

The resort have big property but poorly maintained. The reception staff was rude. Air conditioner was not working. Light was coming and going . Towel not ready . Pool was average and not cleaned . Breakfast was very slow and not choice available . in the name of fruit juice they were giving some local leaf juice. Not much activity... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amit M
Ben I, Director at Elmina Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for this review; you were able to make your comments directly to us before your family group left, and we appreciated the chance to speak directly with you. Air conditioners can be a bit unpredictable, and when yours failed, we moved you to another room which was satisfactory. Clearly, everything did not go well with your stay; we... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2016

The rooms are spacious, basic forniture and clean. The location of the hotel is nice, with a swimming pool overlooking the sea. The restaurant in the hotel has a good service (better if you order your dinner before, so you can get it on time). The food is good and the place is peaceful.

Helpful?
Thank pattytyger
Ben I, Director at Elmina Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review; because we offer a wide variety of dishes, and we want all of them to be prepared fresh, when you order, preparation times do take longer, but a timed order helps our kitchen to deliver to your wishes. We will keep trying to improve on this part of our service. More 

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2016 via mobile

This is indeed one of my favorite places in Ghana! Isolated from the rest of the world you can find peace and relax! All rooms are ocean view and with terrace. The size is great and bigger than average! Food is nice and fresh, in the morning we could see the chef buying fresh fruit from local producers! One of... More 

Helpful?
Thank 8traveler5
Ben I, Director at Elmina Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments; most guests appreciate the peace and calm of our setting, in a world which gets louder each day. We also try to buy most of our produce locally, as that ensures freshness and I'm not sure that you can beat the pineapples, mangoes and pawpaws grown locally. Thank you for staying at Elmina Bay. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

127 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmina
7.8 mi away
Brenu Beach Lodge
Brenu Beach Lodge
#1 of 7 in Cape Coast
80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coconut Grove Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Coconut Grove Bridge House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 7 in Cape Coast
27 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ko-Sa Beach Resort
Ko-Sa Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cape Coast
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anomabo Beach Resort
Anomabo Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Anomabo
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An ocean front hotel with high quality finishes, located in a beautiful setting, but only 10 minutes from historic Elmina Town, and 20 minutes from Cape Coast. All rooms have en-suite showers, TV, wi-fi internet, fridge, dressing area and sea facing balconies. A large and beautiful pool, conference room and gardens provide a serene setting for your getaway, meeting or leisure break.Enjoy balmy ocean breezes, beach side dining, with meals beautifully prepared by our kitchen. Come and enjoy service to make you smile. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elmina Bay Resort

Address: Mbofra Akyinim | PO Box EL 325, Elmina, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Elmina
Price Range: $135 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elmina Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Elmina Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmina Bay Hotel Elmina
Elmina Bay Resort Ghana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Elmina Bay Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a room on the second floor away from the restaurant for better views.”
 of 5 bubbles Hoosier_Travel_Nut, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“Every room is great with sea views”
 of 5 bubbles richards398, Jun 20, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure A/C works well and cools the room”
  • Shower faucet--no hot water
  • Bathroom
  • Decent guest toom
  • Shower faucet up high with no hot water
 of 5 bubbles xbl, Feb 29, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are nice”
 of 5 bubbles chimanu2000, Jul 15, 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room that looks out on the ocean rather than the back of the restaurant. Eastern side I think.”
 of 5 bubbles 619mlg619, Apr 12, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay