We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Elmina Bay Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Elmina Bay Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 213: English reviews
Start your review of Elmina Bay Resort
 Click to rate
Accra, Ghana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed at Elmina Bay Resort for 1 night. Man am I happy we only booked one night!! This place is overpriced to the extent that I would call it fraud. I have no idea how this place can have any positive reviews online. Maybe if the price had been 1/3 of what we paid (around 100...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank metteliva
Ben I, Director at Elmina Bay Resort, responded to this review

We are disappointed with this review and sorry that you did not enjoy your short stay. We are particularly disappointed that at check in, the restaurant, at breakfast and at your checkout, despite being asked, you did not tell us that you were unhappy with your stay. We would always do everything possible to correct issues, and even if a...

Philly
Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

Quaint, secluded and cozy. Could be a fabulous place if the owner knew how to promote it. I feel like this little hotel is someone's "project" . They should promote it as a get-a-way from technology because there are no phones in the room.. if you wanted something from the front desk, you had to walk to tell them. Every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goddess69
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed January 8, 2017

we have stayed at nearby Coconut Grove resort and decided to try this one based on reviews...I would return to Coconut Grove (even thought their rooms are smaller) next time just for the ambience of the restaurant and beach views instead even if all had gone well with us at Elmina Bay (and it didn't)....we had two connecting rooms...high ceilings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane19482015
Ben I, Director at Elmina Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are also disappointed that your stay was not more enjoyable; we fell a long way short of the service we wish to give, but we appreciate and fully understand your comments, and will act on them. Thank you

Indiana
Reviewed October 17, 2016

This place was definitely a mix of good and bad. Everything was either amazing or terrible, hence the three stars. So I'll try and break it down some more: Good: The room itself was very nice. I had a king bed single room and there was plenty of space in it. The bathroom (washroom) was spacious as well. The A/C...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hoosier_Travel_Nut
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 19, 2016

We only had dinner here. 6 of us. A good meal, reasonably priced. I had a fish burger and chips, very good indeed. The rest of the party had grouper and potatoes, generous portion, well cooked, and snapper and rice, good sized fish and well prepared rice. We were fussy eaters and the chef came out to consult and all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronald00001
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 20, 2016

Ben and Evelyn run a first class resort-having visited the Caribbean many times we woudl say Elmina Bay ranks with some of the best resorts around. Extremely friendly service Elmina itself is a vibrant and colourful fishing resort (get down there early one morning for an amazing spectacle) and the area is not only beautiful but has some great history...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed May 5, 2016 via mobile

We did not stay, but went there to take a look. It looked deserted and the pool was all green and dirty, not to swim in!!! There are better places to stay. And i dont have anything else to add xxxx xx xxxxxx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaanZA
Redwood City, California
Reviewed April 3, 2016

I stayed here recently with a large (~30 people) group of graduate students on a study trip in West Africa. We were only here for one night while passing through the area and visiting cultural sites in the vicinity, such as the Cape Coast castle. My initial impression of the resort was fairly positive, as it looks well kept and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank darrenosaurus
Ben I, Director at Elmina Bay Resort, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments. Concerning the delay in delivering your food order for 30 guests, your tour guide had pre-ordered what he believed would meet you requirements; on arrival most of you chose to order independently. We did not appreciate that wifi had been so difficult; we provided our meeting room, which has wifi, free of charge for...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed March 29, 2016

Elmina Bay Resort met our (high) expectations. Being quit a distance from the 'main-road' the hotel offers complete peace and quiet. The view from the hotel is absolutely spectacular. The beautiful pool and the building layouts around it, right on the beach, makes for a premium feel. In general, the hotel is in good condition, clean and sufficiently maintained. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thoerring
Ben I, Director at Elmina Bay Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate and thank you for your comments, and we will continue working to give every guest the same enjoyable experience of Elmina Bay Resort.

Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile

I lived in Ghana for two years prior to staying here and returned with a group to do humanitarian work in the area. Let me say that this is one of the nicest hotels in the Cape area! The rooms were clean and well kept, the air con worked fine, hot water was good, although one day the water pressure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle H
Ben I, Director at Elmina Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Maintaining a good water supply for our guests is a high priority for us, and so we occassionally have some challenges, depending on the flows from the Water company. Our pump system usually works to keep up the pressure level. We are approx 2 kilometres from a main road, in an area which is largely...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmina
0.5 mi away
Coconut Grove Beach Resort
7.8 mi away
Brenu Beach Lodge
Brenu Beach Lodge
#1 of 7 in Cape Coast
87 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coconut Grove Bridge House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 7 in Cape Coast
30 reviews
8.5 mi away
Capital Hill Hotel
Capital Hill Hotel
#5 of 7 in Cape Coast
6 reviews
13.0 mi away
Anomabo Beach Resort
Anomabo Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Anomabo
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An ocean front hotel with high quality finishes, located in a beautiful setting, but only 10 minutes from historic Elmina Town, and 20 minutes from Cape Coast. All rooms have en-suite showers, TV, wi-fi internet, fridge, dressing area and sea facing balconies. A large and beautiful pool, conference room and gardens provide a serene setting for your getaway, meeting or leisure break.Enjoy balmy ocean breezes, beach side dining, with meals beautifully prepared by our kitchen. Come and enjoy service to make you smile. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elmina Bay Resort

Address: Mbofra Akyinim | PO Box EL 325, Elmina, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Elmina
Price Range: $109 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elmina Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Elmina Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmina Bay Hotel Elmina
Elmina Bay Resort Ghana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Elmina Bay Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a room on the second floor away from the restaurant for better views.”
 of 5 bubbles Hoosier_Travel_Nut, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“Every room is great with sea views”
 of 5 bubbles richards398, Jun 20, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure A/C works well and cools the room”
  • Shower faucet--no hot water
  • Bathroom
  • Decent guest toom
  • Shower faucet up high with no hot water
 of 5 bubbles xbl, Feb 29, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are nice”
 of 5 bubbles chimanu2000, Jul 15, 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room that looks out on the ocean rather than the back of the restaurant. Eastern side I think.”
 of 5 bubbles 619mlg619, Apr 12, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question