We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Save
B.P. 28, Moorea, Maharepa 98728 French Polynesia
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
20 people are viewing this hotel
Trip.com
$383
View Deal
Expedia.com
$430
$369
View Deal
SAVE $61
Agoda.com
$430
$368
View Deal
SAVE $62
Booking.com$368
Hotels.com$369
Cancelon$430
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (4751)
Room & Suite (624)
Dining (239)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#2 of 4 hotels in Maharepa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort is located on the North-East Coast of the island, just 5 minutes away from Temae airport, Vaiare ferries docks, the 18 holes international golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus®. This landmark hotel is built on the longest and most beautiful white sand beach of the island, within a protected marine area maintained by the CRIOBE®.From this hotel, guests have a unique panoramic view on the lagoon and the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a wide range of accommodation with a total of 113 Luxury Bungalows located in the gardens, directly on the beach or over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has the only Luxury Beach Bungalows on Moorea that have unobstructed views of the island of Tahiti, located directly on the beach. Historically, this hotel is the first of the island that built bungalows over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has now the largest Luxury Overwater Bungalows in Moorea (83 sq. meters).Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora also features 1 Luxury Villa with 2 bedrooms (150 sq.meters). It has 2 bathrooms, 1 lounge, 1 deck and 1 outdoor jacuzzi®, with a direct access into the lagoon and panoramic views of the island of Tahiti.Dine in Polynesian authenticity at the Pure restaurant with outdoor terrace dining offering complimentary and traditional dance shows every night or choose the barefoot elegance of K restaurant, gourmet dining, feet in the sand experience, with a unique dance show.For light snacks and exotic cocktails or premium alcohols while admiring the view, try the Vue bar overlooking the infinity pool, the lagoon and Tahiti with weekly live concerts. For light snacks and exotic cocktails during a farniente day on the beach, only steps away from the lagoon, try the Beach bar.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Public wifi
Paid wifi
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Diving
Entertainment staff
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, French
HOTEL STYLE
Park View, Great View
NUMBER OF ROOMS
112
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
3,763Reviews216Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,341
  • 944
  • 276
  • 124
  • 80
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Beautiful hotel on one of the best beaches in Moorea. Reception and welcome were lovely, a very Polynesian feel and whole resort is gorgeous. Room was not available for early arrival, but hotel has a nice shower and changing facility which was very welcome after the long trip. We were given comp breakfast on arrival also which was very generous, and much appreciated. The food in the breakfast buffet was exceptional, always fresh with a great selection. Try the “poison cru” which is wonderful, as well as perfect fresh baked breads and pastries. The magical omelet/egg chef is fantastic, always smiling and welcoming. We had a superior lagoon view room which was right on the lagoon with beautiful views... very authentic Polynesian rustic feel.... in need of perhaps an update! But, we really loved our room, very comfy bed! Wifi works great in whole resort. Pool is nice, but not luxurious.... if you want a 5 star luxury feel, you will be dissapointed, lounge chairs need replacing, and no pool chair service.... you are left to fend for yourself... a resort of this nature should have pool attendants to offer towels, umbrellas etc... especially for the price commanded. The bar has a perfect lagoon view, attentive service and excellent food.. and a happy hour! With reduced prices, for FP we found the prices to be ok and quality very good! All in all we loved our stay, a few upgrades would make the resort perfect, we visited the other major hotels and definitely were happy we chose Sofitel! We will return some day!
Read more
This is possibly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in ! Moorea is beautiful and that is what this hotel relies on. The hotel itself is filthy !!! Everything on the beach is broken we had to ask for some rope so that we could fix some sun beds to lie on , the service on the beach very slow as they let people in for the day which some days makes the beach bar very crowded. The floors in the main breakfast area absolutely disgusting and we had mice running over our feet under the table . This is not the paradise we were expecting and I am not sure why British agents are still sending people to this property.
Read more
Response from Didier LAMOOT, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Dear wiltshirelandford, I am sincerely sorry to read you left our property with such feeling. Since September, your last stay, we worked harder to offer a wonderful moment to all our guests. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you faced and be assured we always strive to improve ourselves and correct issues as we commit to provide an excellent service. I hope you will give us another chance to welcome you Sincerely yours, Anabelle Vignon General manager Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Read more
This hotel was great. We stayed in an over their Superior Horizon over the Water Bungalow Room 217. I can't recommend this enough. If you plan on an over the water bungalow you should definitely request 217. It has the best views. You have an amazing view of the sunrise with no other bungalows in the way. It honestly is paradise. The breakfast was delicious and the employee at the Omelet station was great. We did a couples massage at the spa and it was fantastic. A few items that keep me from giving them a 5 on this review. 1 - They were doing construction on some of the bungalows during our stay. It would have been nice to have been informed about this prior to our stay. The Hilton Hotel on Moorea was also doing construction during this time but was nice enough to inform everyone of this prior to the stay. This is why we ended up going to the Sofitel since they supposedly were not doing construction. 2 - Its very understandable that their prices are higher there. I definitely was aware of this before booking this. However they occasionally have a buffet dinner at the Pure restaurant. The cost per person is almost $89 per person. Its absolutely not worth the price they are charging for this.
Read more
Response from Didier LAMOOT, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Responded 3 days ago
Dear David J, What a nice comment after your stay at the Sofitel Moorea. We are delighted that you like our overwater bungalow and the view. We are sorry that you haven't been informed about the rejunevation of our bungalows. We hope you will be back to our Paradise. Warm regards, Anabelle Vignon General manager Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Read more
Very friendly hotel. The staff is courteous and polite. Close to the airport. We had overwater bungalow and could see lots of different variety fishes. The breakfast spread was great and was included in our package. The reception upgraded our room without asking for it. Very nice setup. Recommended 👍 for everyone.
Read more
Response from Didier LAMOOT, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Cher MrunlK27, A large thank you for your kind message after your stay at the Sofitel Moorea. We are pleased to welcome you in our Resort and we hope you will keep souvenirs from our island. Please be assured that we will be happy to welcome you again in our paradise. Warm regards, Anabelle Vignon General manager Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Read more
+1
Incredible views throughout the property. Looks like a tropical paradise. Delicious breakfast buffet with incredible fresh, warm chocolate croissants, fresh fruits, meats, juices, fish, omelet and crepe station where Heinz makes wonderful food with a fun presentation. You can order coffee drinks or French press coffee. Free minibar drinks with nespresso machine in your bungalow. If your accommodations are not ready when you arrive, they have a nespresso machine and delicious fresh meringues to enjoy while you wait. Really great free Polynesian show on Tuesday, Thursday, and Sunday evenings. Superior Horizon view is worth every penny for the view of Papeete as well as the gorgeous blue water lagoon. Such a fun experience. We figured it was a once in a lifetime kind of experience. In fact, we loved it here so much during our stay for two nights before our Paul Gauguin cruise that we came back for 2 additional nights after the 10 night cruise. Some of the best snorkeling is under the overwater bungalows as there are so many fish there. Best snorkeling reef on the island. Taxi from the ferry is 1500 xpf with luggage to the hotel. It is a five minute ride. They may say it is more but just wait for one who will do it for that price. No tip expected. Aremiti 6 is the best way to get to Moorea, by the way. So much nicer than the Terevau and not much difference in price. It is more comfortable, less crowded, better air conditioning (which is a big deal when it is hot and humid) and faster than the Terevau. The trip is only 25 minutes. They also offer a 60+ senior rate of 950 xpf. Do not confuse with the Aremiti ferry which is much older and not as nice. The only negative is that the Aremiti 6 does not run as frequently but it is worth waiting for their departures. I highly recommend getting long sleeve and long pant rash guard swimwear. This made snorkeling great as we never had to apply sun screen or worry about getting sunburned. We saw lots of other snorkelers who were quite sunburned because the sun is strong and the reflection off the white sand can cause sunburn quickly. We used the hotel fins free of charge for snorkeling but brought our own snorkel mask. The new full face ones where you can breathe normally through your mouth or nose were a game changer for us. Great field of vision. We found that food at the bar was great and Heimata recommended eating at the restaurant on the beach as he said the food was good there as well and fun to eat on the beach. We found the dinner food and service at the hotel were very lacking. It was expensive, service excruciatingly slow, and food only okay. I would recommend eating dinner at the bar overlooking the lagoon, which was very relaxing. Service was great and the food good. If you are going to watch the Polynesian show, you can just order food from the bar rather than the restaurant to save the frustration of the slow service and overpriced food. Highly recommend taking the Moorea Food Tour with Heimata. He'll pick you up in the morning at the hotel, take you to various local restaurants and explain the foods as well as the culture and history of the island since he was born and raised here. He is a professionally trained chef and enjoys introducing you to the best of each type of food on his island. We were glad we reserved this for our first morning on Moorea. This was one of the highlights of our two week trip to French Polynesia. We loved our four nights here and will most definitely look forward to going back! They were four lovely nights in paradise.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$336 - $573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sofitel moorea ia ora beach hotel maharepa, sofitel moorea beach resort, sofitel maharepa, maharepa sofitel
LOCATION
French PolynesiaSociety IslandsMooreaMaharepa
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Ron Hall Pearls (3.6 miles), Eva Perles Pearl Buying (3.2 miles), and Have a Nice Pearl (2.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Allo Pizza, Fare La Canadienne, and Rudy's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.