We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,677 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,231: English reviews
Start your review of Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is my 3rd time to this resort. Obviously I was pleased in the past to return again. Something happened with this hotel since our last visit. I immediately left regardless on the no-refund policy for my booking and went to another hotel on the island. I made very specific requests prior to my booking and prior to my arrival...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Utlonghorns09
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Ia Orana and thank you for taking the time to share your experience which is very important to us. Despite all the excuses we have given you, the bungalow number you requested was only available the next day. It was reserved for you. We are sorry again for this problem and wish you an excellent stay in Polynesia.

Caracas, Venezuela
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

It's is a 4 stars nice hotel, my overwater bungalow was ok for a couple. Really, it's wonderful place to do snorkeling, they have like a reef's garden around the bungalows. But a weird thing is to find "Roosters" on the property. "K" restaurant was open and it had a "Polynesian Style Cabaret Show" which was very nice and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ACJI97
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana and thank you for sharing your Magnifique experience at Sofitel Moorea ! We were very delighted to host you and we look forward to welcome you back again ! You were lucky enough to attend our first cabaret evening show which will be held every third Friday of each month. We are very glad you had a great evening....

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort was the first Polynesian resort I went to. I was impressed by the friendliness of the staff, cleanliness of the beach, quality of the food, and amazing views. I enjoyed great food and their infinity pool. It is a resort with an air of peace, delightful atmosphere, and perfect for a family vacation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juan F
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana and thank you for sharing your experience ! We are very delighted that you had a Magnifique and unique stay in our little piece of paradise. We hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Perfect situated Hotel on a private Beach and Lagoon with reef and view to Tahiti. Very welcoming reception and very nice staff. We enjoyed our Beach Bungalow a lot and also the perfect service. Nice large breakfast and very good food in both restaurants. The kids also loved the hotel. We would recommend this hotel and always would return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndiStone
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

What a Magnifique share of experience ! Ia ora na and Mauruuru as we say in Tahitian, for taking the time of such nice comments and for having stay with us the entire team is proud to know that their efforts are well appreciated. All the team is very touched by your comment. We are very delighted that you had...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

If you are going to fly this far get the hut on the beach. We have a water room booked for later, but so far this is absolutely amazing. Our room is right on the beach with a balcony. The staff here are super helpful and nice. The breakfast buffet is great, and strangely enough the coffee in our room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kathleen W
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Ia ora na and Mauruuru as we say in Tahitian, for taking the time of such nice comments and for having stay with us the entire team is proud to know that their efforts are well appreciated. We take into consideration your remarks about the communication problems to improve our guests’ experience. We were very delighted to host you and...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Wrapping up a visit with 6 couples. The hotel is a little worn down. All of us have had issues with locks not working on our rooms. Have been made to feel as though we are an intrusion not a guest. For the high price you pay to stay here expectations were high but even if they weren't they would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mike s
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mike S., Thank you for choosing Sofitel during your stay. Please, be sure that we will take in consideration each point you mentioned in your comment to improve our guests’ experience. We are very attached to the security aspect for our customers, it's why we can not accept unauthorized cars within our premises. This is only for the safety...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Currently into night 2 of a 3 night stay at Sofitel Moorea la Ora Beach Resort and finding the accommodations and staff supberb. Staying in a deluxe over the water bungalow, the room is spacious, clean and well maintained. A beautiful view of the beach to one side and Papeete on the other side. With a few steps down off...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kirby D
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

What a Magnifique share of experience ! Ia ora na and Mauruuru as we say in Tahitian, for taking the time of such nice comments and for having stay with us the entire team is proud to know that their efforts are well appreciated. All the team is very touched by your comment. We are very delighted that you had...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The over water bungalows are stunning and by far the best way to go. The resort is clean and beautifully kept. The staff are all beyond friendly and accommodating. The food is amazing, the breakfast is huge with something for everyone! The best thing about this place is how friendly everyone is. We will definitely be coming back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa Q
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana and thank you for sharing your Magnifique experience ! We are very delighted that you had a Magnifique and unique stay in our little piece of paradise. We hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Zürich
Reviewed 1 week ago

The resort is ideally situated at a magnificent sandy beach with panoramic view to the island of Tahiti. Our spacious beach bungalow with a wonderful ocean view was located just adjacent to the beach. The nice sandy area in front of our bungalow was almost our private sector due to the fact that the shore is rather stretched and only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie55Z
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

What a Magnifique share of experience ! Ia ora na and Mauruuru as we say in Tahitian, for taking the time of such nice comments and for having stay with us the entire team is proud to know that their efforts are well appreciated. All the team is very touched by your comment. We take into consideration your remarks about...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a late review. I stayed here for our honeymoon and really did enjoy it. We are greeted with some gifts which was really nice. The rooms were big however didnt really look very 5 star however the location and over water bungalows were very nice. enjoyed our stay. not a lot of activities here though compared to other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darsh566
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana and thank you for sharing your experience at the Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora ! We take into consideration your remarks to improve our guests’ experience. We were very delighted to host you and we hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3,234 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3135)
Viewed
View from Room (341)
Viewed
Room/Suite (355)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (479)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (470)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (154)
Viewed
Bathroom (95)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1234)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (99)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
2.9 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
12.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
3.6 mi away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
610 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#3 of 3 in Maharepa
281 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort is located on the North-East Coast of the island, just 5 minutes away from Temae airport, Vaiare ferries docks, the 18 holes international golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus®. This landmark hotel is built on the longest and most beautiful white sand beach of the island, within a protected marine area maintained by the CRIOBE®.From this hotel, guests have a unique panoramic view on the lagoon and the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a wide range of accommodation with a total of 113 Luxury Bungalows located in the gardens, directly on the beach or over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has the only Luxury Beach Bungalows on Moorea that have unobstructed views of the island of Tahiti, located directly on the beach. Historically, this hotel is the first of the island that built bungalows over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has now the largest Luxury Overwater Bungalows in Moorea (83 sq. meters).Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora also features 1 Luxury Villa with 2 bedrooms (150 sq.meters). It has 2 bathrooms, 1 lounge, 1 deck and 1 outdoor jacuzzi®, with a direct access into the lagoon and panoramic views of the island of Tahiti.Dine in Polynesian authenticity at the Pure restaurant with outdoor terrace dining offering complimentary and traditional dance shows every night or choose the barefoot elegance of K restaurant, gourmet dining, feet in the sand experience, with a unique dance show.For light snacks and exotic cocktails or premium alcohols while admiring the view, try the Vue bar overlooking the infinity pool, the lagoon and Tahiti with weekly live concerts. For light snacks and exotic cocktails during a farniente day on the beach, only steps away from the lagoon, try the Beach bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Address: B.P. 28, Moorea, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Price Range: $319 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Prestigia, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Hotel Maharepa
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Sofitel Maharepa
Maharepa Sofitel
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort French Polynesia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort staff and other travelers.
124 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (124)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I prefer the rooms in the lagoon”
 of 5 bubbles juanfP6858PD, 4 days ago | Read review
“Over the water bungalows or beach front.”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 week ago | Read review
“Beach Bungalow have a nice view”
 of 5 bubbles Jackie55Z, 1 week ago | Read review
“Over the water bungalow facing the ocean, cooler in the afternoons.”
 of 5 bubbles 843andrewm, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Beachfront direct access have guests walk directly in front of room. Lagoon view are set back a bit and seem more private.”
 of 5 bubbles justAuckland, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question