We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea

Save
Share
Bp 3410, Maharepa 98728 French Polynesia
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity$364
Hotels.com$364
Booking.com$458
Trip.com$459
Orbitz.com$364
eDreams$458
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (3363)
Pool & Beach (597)
Room & Suite (524)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 12/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 12/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Maharepa
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
The Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea nestles on the island shore, just by the village of Maharepa is an ideal location, between the majestic Cook’s Bay and the Moorea Green Pearl Golf Club. It’s very convenient location just 10 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from the ferry terminal, makes it an ideal base to explore the island. Close from the Resort, the Maharepa village offers a selection of boutiques, banks and convenients stores. The style of the resort is a tasteful combination of the traditional and the contemporary with a powerful sense of Polynesia. There are 28 over-water bungalows built over the lagoon on piles, 8 more bungalows on the beach and 28 spread through the beautiful grounds with their own private pludge pools and little gardens. The remaining 18 rooms and 8 duplexes of this 90-unit resort all facing the garden are in a small building. Whichever accommodation you choose, you will have air-conditioned comfort (the bungalows also have ceiling fans), an outside terrace, mini-bar, hairdryer, safe, flat-screen television and WiFi. From your hotel base we will be happy to arrange a full range of exciting excursions and activities and of course you can relax at the resort where you’ll enjoy one of the largest infinity pools of the island. Each bungalow has a sunny outside terrace with comfortable loungers. From the over-water ones, there is direct access to the lagoon. The premium over-water bungalows are especially well situated, close to the coral reef ledge so you can immediately swim off and discover a fascinating world of coloured fish and exotic corals. Near the over-water bungalows, we have developed our own coral nursery- To’A Nui - a coral regeneration project and part of our commitment to protecting the fragile environment that surrounds us. This site encourages the proliferation of marine life whose beauty is so easily enjoyed with simple snorkelling equipment. You will find a luxurious and convivial resort on a human scale, offering a warm welcome to honeymooners, romantic couples, families, nature lovers and scuba-divers. We have two restaurants - The Mahanai for breakfast and dinner and the Autera’a snack and bar with a teracce adjacent to the pool for sipping your favorite beverage. Other facilities include two meeting rooms, a boutique and a full range of activities and excursions both on land and on the water. We also have an on-site dive center and a spa. The Manea Spa specializes in massages and treatments using traditional Polynesian methods and 100% natural products from the island’s flowers and plants, including the famous monoi oils from the coconut palm. The spa has a hammam, jacuzzi and the "Rumi Avai" where you can discover the pleasures of our unique aquatic massages.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Poolside bar
Beach
Canoeing
Highchairs available
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Happy hour
Snack bar
Diving
Snorkeling
Evening entertainment
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French
2602Reviews117Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,401
  • 807
  • 257
  • 95
  • 42
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
BigCol63 wrote a review Oct 4
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom516 contributions330 helpful votes
Our disappointment with this hotel was primarily down to the fact we were given room 401 which is the overwater bungalow closest to the public jetty. That meant that we were woken by deliveries at 6am each morning and kept awake by the various trips collecting, boarding and leaving after that. Add to that the lack of privacy due to regularly having a boat of perhaps thirty people a matter of a few yards away from our balcony and you can see why this room is definitely one to avoid. We did mention our issues to the hotel reception but heard nothing from anyone – and that was the real disappointment. The hotel itself is nice without being stunning, probably less expensive than either the Sofitel or the Hilton and positioned close to a town which contains a handful of restaurants. Those facts alone probably make it the best choice of the three on the island – just avoid room 401 (or, indeed, 301 on the beach for the same reasons) if you can.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Avoid 301 & 401 if you possibly can - they are right next to the public jetty and there is no...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
SOBERCHERYL wrote a review Oct 2
Vancouver, Washington154 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
What a great way to start a vacation! The staff was wonderful, the grounds were immaculate, and the food was phenomenal! The location was perfect. it was walking distance to town. The pool and the pool side service were great. I recommend spending a lot of time doing nothing but laying by the pool and working hard to do nothing and if you really want to exert yourself, get a massage and then take a nap! The food was fantastic, and if you buy a pineapple on your adventures around the island, be sure to stop by the bar to have them cut it up for you and have them make a drink with it for you as well.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Richard wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
Very pleased with the customer service during and after the pandemic. They made every effort to accommodate us as we tried to get to French Polynesia during restrictions over a period of 18 months. They eventually refunded our two-nite room rate in full, in spite of the long duration of on again-off again planning. You have made customer service a priority and we thank you! We will see you soon!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea
Responded 5 days ago
Ia ora na RKE0653, We thank you for your patience and your comment concercing our customer service during and after the pandemic. Despite all this event we hope at the end to see you in our tropical polynesian paradise. Mauruuru !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
piney56 wrote a review Sep 2022
Taunton, United Kingdom203 contributions176 helpful votes
Excellently run hotel , fabulous room very friendly staff . Jade duty manager in particular so kind. Spent a few days after touring French Polynesia . Idyllic setting with lagoon in front of beach bungalow. First class cuisine . Thoroughly recommend wish we could have stayed longer
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea
Responded 5 days ago
Ia ora na piney56, What a fantastic comment. We are so delighted to read that your holidays in our great and idyllic resort were peaceful and that our team and specially Jade were kind. We hope to see you soon in our tropical polynesian paradise. Mauruuru !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Frank S wrote a review Sep 2022
Cary, North Carolina10 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
My wife and I stayed here in August 2022, and we booked through Costco travel. This was a good first stop on our trip through French Polynesia. We stayed in a deluxe overwater bungalow, and found it to be good value for money. I’m glad we stayed here first, as the resorts in Bora Bora (our next stop) were on another level. This place is really good, though. Definitely come to Moorea first :) They were able to get us into our room slightly before stated check-in time, but having to wait around is a bit awkward. In hindsight I might have changed into a swimsuit and gone snorkeling — changing rooms and showers were available to us, but it felt strange to do that before we got into the room. The facilities are a bit weather worn, but it is well maintained, and there were staff performing targeted maintenance (EG: fixing pool umbrella mounts, etc), so they clearly put effort into maintaining the property. When we booked the trip, the travel agent asked if we wanted to upgrade to the “deluxe” overwater bungalows, and I’m glad we did because I wouldn’t have wanted to be on one of the non-deluxe bungalows, whose deck faces the resort (and are in full view of the pool gawkers). So if you’re wondering if you should upgrade, the answer is yes, you probably do want to do that. The deck on the deluxe OWB wasn’t super-private (all the resort guests swimming around), but it was nice to have easy water access and good Star views at night that were undisturbed. I saw the grey blur of thr Milky Way from our deck which was a treat! The main draw for us to stay at this resort vs the Sofitiel or Hilton was the walkability—there’s a good restaurant across the street (open dinner only), and a food truck on the adjacent lot (open lunch only), plus all the restaurants about half a mile down the road. The Nutella crepes at Moz Cafe were a favorite, as was coffee and dessert at Carmeline’s. The nearby shopping area also has a supermarket where you can stock up on food and beer (yum Hinano). We were going to be resort-bound in Bora Bora (next stop), and wanted this leg of the trip to be more active. This was a good location to do that. The snorkeling at the resort was fantastic, as our bungalow was sited on top of a coral reef. We saw a 3 hawksbill turtles feasting on sea grass, underneath our bungalow (411). This bungalow got a lot of noise from the dock/platform area where the folks who are in garden rooms come. A little more traffic than we would have liked. The kayaks and stand-up paddle boards were available when we wanted to use them, and the towel guy was mostly there when we needed to exchange towels, but the staff for that area were more on the relaxed side, so there were times (EG: right at 7:00am when they were supposed to be open) when there was nobody at the hut to change out towels and we had to wait. The resort also had the towel guy double as the muscle to paddle breakfast out to the OWB deck. As we were still adjusting to the timezone (jet lagged), we hit the breakfast as soon as it opened at 6:30 daily. It was always fully stocked with a large variety of items at that time. I saw some folks complaining, but I guess they came later in the morning (closer to the time the buffet stops?), so it’s not surprising the food would dwindle in that situation. We didn’t do the Polynesian show/dinner, but we were able to sit outside and watch the dance part of the show for free. The show lasts an hour, and can be heard throughout the resort. As other reviews have noted, the mini fridge in the rooms are a bit underpowered, and we brought a collapsible cooler to ice our beers using the resort’s easily available ice machine. This was also a fantastic way to bring drinks (EG: grocery store beers) to the pool area. We bought a necklace from the pearl shop here — they had a design my wife liked. There were other nearby pearl shops, each with their own designs/layouts, so be sure to window-shop/take in the options if you plan to buy something. The front desk was super helpful arranging transportation. We wanted to go to the Moorea beach cafe for dinner, and they called to ensure the shuttle would pick us up. They also arranged a taxi for us to go to the Rotui juice factory (highly recommend—we did the tasting and stocked up on Pineapple wine, and Tahiti national drink). We also did a whale-swimming tour, and the tour company picked us up from the public dock adjacent to the property. Snorkeling with humpback whales was probably the highlight of our stay on this beautiful island. I’m an avid Pokémon Go player, and the resort had multiple gyms and pokestops. We could also see the gyms at the nearby shopping area for remote raids. The Southern Hemisphere exclusive spawns (Chatot and Orocorio) were frequently available. The in-game gym out by the coral nursery had some territorial players (possibly staff —in hindsight I should have asked?), but was still very enjoyable. All in all, a great stay in Moorea and I’d return to this resort without hesitation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Frank S Thank yo so much for your wonderful and detailed comment. We are really happy to see that you fully enjoyed our resort and all tis facilities as well as Moorea. It's also a pleasure to know that you'll return to our resort without hesitation. So we hope to see you soon in our tropical paradise. Mauruuru !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HeatherMegaMauriFan wrote a review Sep 2022
London247 contributions289 helpful votes
We stayed here for 4 nights, it was our first Polynesian experience. The Reception area is spacious and beautifully designed but then as you move around the resort into the 'inner sanctum' you discover it's just packed with chairs/tables/sun loungers with a view onto the water bungalows. The restaurant and pool bar areas are so vast that everyone congregates there so there's a sense of being over-crowded. There's not one area that's clear, and as you look out to the sea, your view is obstructed at every angle by a water bungalow. Customer Service: Restaurant and Bar - excellent staff and customer service Reception: Unfortunately the same can't be said for the Reception. We found the reception staff to be abrupt and with a focus on sending you off ASAP without really offering any help. We arrived early and were told check-in was at 2 pm. We had been travelling for over 24 hours and our luggage was still in Europe so we were feeling a little distraught. We approached Reception with a few questions as we needed help and were given advice that really wasn't helpful at all. There are young interns working at Reception and they are clearly inexperienced. We identified eventually some helpful staff and so only approached them once we had settled in. Pre-arrival: No customer service support - my emails remain unanswered to this day. I had emailed to enquire about whale-watching and got no response. We stayed in a family garden duplex which was clean and perfect for our needs, we didn't even use the upstairs. Location: Good location, good for whale-watching pick-ups Buffet: Very good buffet selection and staff very helpful and friendly. The individual tongs is a great idea, and very hygienic. Pool Service: Hit and Miss - on our first day they had no fins left and no snorkels/masks. We were told everything had to be returned on the day and re-rented the next - but this is not what guests did - they kept them for the whole of the stay so there weren't enough for everyone. Sunset: Best view up at reception near the concierge desk Hotel shop: Have a nice pearl/Thierry very good, best place to buy pearls
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea
Responded 3 weeks ago
Ia ora na HeatherMegaMauriFan, We are happy to read that you fully enjoyed your room, our restaurant and bar, our theme buffet, our boutique as well as our amazing sunset and our polynesian team. On the other side we are sad to know that we dind't meet your expections during your pre arrival and arrival time as welle as during the pool service. We sure apologize for that. We hope to see you again in French Polynesia. Mauruuru !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fatima wrote a review Sep 2022
Lima, Peru9 contributions
The hotel installations and the rooms were really nice. We stayed one night at a garden view and one night at an overwater bungalow. Also, the hotel staff were nice and helpfull all the time. The main problem was the restaurants... (both of them) We waited for over 30 minutes for someone to take our order, although we kept asking for a waiter to approach. The food wasn't good at all... we ordered a tuna tartare and it had almost no tuna, but cucumber. The main dishes were lacking flavor and were really small. We didn't enjoy the check out process either. Chek out time was at 11am, but one hour earlier we saw two guy taking our luggage to the lobby without our consent, we wanted to take a bath before leaving. It felt like there were pushing us to leave. We had to stop the guys mid way and take all our luggage back to our room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea
Responded 3 weeks ago
Ia ora na Fatimaabusada, We are happy to read that hotel installations and your room were really and also our team helpful all the time. On the other side we are sad to know that you didn't enjoyed our restaurant and we apologize concerning your check-out process as it not our purpose to push our guest to leave their room before the time. We hope to see you again in French Polynesia. Mauruuru !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jamar7 wrote a review Aug 2022
10 contributions1 helpful vote
We recently stayed at Manava for a few days and stayed in the overwater bungalow. The rooms were very dated and dingy. I buffet breakfast was not good. I would not recommend prepaying for this in your room. There are a couple of nice places down the road you can grab a nice snack or breakfast to mix things up. The front dest staff were nice with the exception of one of the staff who was a bit rude. Also the lady who managed the buffet breakfast was rude to my wife and I when checking in for breakfast. We couldn't be more happier to leave this resort and head to Bora Bora. If we happen to come back to Moorea we definitely won't be staying here. I wish I'd taken pictures of the room to show examples.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea
Responded Aug 31, 2022
Dear Jamar7, We are sad to read that you didn't enjoyed your typical polynesian overwater bungalow as well as your breakfast buffet. So we understand that our hotel was not up to your expectations and we are sorry for that. We hope that you had a pleasant stay in Bora Bora. Best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christy A wrote a review Aug 2022
Boise, Idaho7 contributions
+1
Wonderful stay at manava beach for our anniversary. The staff is so friendly and helpful we really appreciated them. They helped us book dinner reservations and a ride. Kimi, Sasha, Lou, Andy and many more went out of their way to greet us and make us feel welcome. The pool is wonderful and the bungalow was awesome. Really enjoyed watching the fish through the glass bottom in our room and snorkeling off our patio. This resort is not crowded which was wonderful. We had a fabulous time. The mango sorbet was so delicious we had it every day.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Easy to walk to town band restaurants.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea
Responded Aug 11, 2022
Ia ora na 128christya, We are so happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us for your anniversary and that you enjoyed all our facilities. We thank you for your amazing comment and we will share with our team all your dedicated thanks.We hope to see you soon in our tropical paradise. Mauruuru !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark K wrote a review Aug 2022
San Francisco, California72 contributions36 helpful votes
The hotel has terrible service and staff is poorly trained. We made reservations at the Spa for a massage for my wife and me. The spa was locked up tight when I arrived. I was really irritated as I had planned my day around our massages and could have done something with my day in Tahiti. The spa tried to charge extra for my wife’s massage saying she had requested extra services when she had not. We complained to the hotel about this and the activities desk called us at 8:30 AM to talk - we were still asleep as it is a vacation! The food is mediocre. I got up before ordering at dinner and the waitress wanted to take my order on the way to the bathroom. Then she wanted to take my order from my wife while I was away. It was 7:30 so it’s not like the kitchen was about to close. The waitress also took the menus away while I was gone, so we had to ask for them back. We also had a small issue getting towels at the pool - the attendant wouldn’t give us towels at 6:50 (the desk opened at 7:00). He said we should come back in 10 minutes. He then left and was gone for 20. Everyday there were aggravations and disappointing service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea
Responded Aug 11, 2022
Dear 239mark, We are so sad to read that you didn't enjoyed your holidays in our beautiful hotel and that our team was not able to take care of you. We apologize for this because we are committed to sharing our caring Polynesian hospitality. With our best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$301 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
moorea pearl hotel maharepa, moorea pearl resort and spa, moorea pearl maharepa, moorea pearl resort & spa
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa
LOCATION
French PolynesiaSociety IslandsMooreaMaharepa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea
Which popular attractions are close to Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea?
Nearby attractions include Eva Perles Pearl Buying (0.3 miles), Have a Nice Pearl (0.04 miles), and Pearls & More (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Carameline, Manuia Grill, and Moz Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tiki Village Cultural Center (7.5 miles).
Does Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.