We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea

Save
Share
Bp 3410, Maharepa 98728 French Polynesia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
4 people are viewing this hotel
eDreams
$397
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/01/21
Hotels.com
$396
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/01/21
ZenHotels.com
$399
$297
View deal
SAVE $102
FindHotel$332
Expedia.com$396
Trip.com$399
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (3084)
Room & Suite (769)
Pool & Beach (531)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 12/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 12/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 5 hotels in Maharepa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Manava Beach Resort & Spa Moorea nestles on the island shore, just by the village of Maharepa is an ideal location, between the majestic Cook’s Bay and the Moorea Green Pearl Golf Club. It’s very convenient location just 10 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from the ferry terminal, makes it an ideal base to explore the island. Close from the Resort, the Maharepa village offers a selection of boutiques, banks and convenients stores. The style of the resort is a tasteful combination of the traditional and the contemporary with a powerful sense of Polynesia. There are 28 over-water bungalows built over the lagoon on piles, 8 more bungalows on the beach and 28 spread through the beautiful grounds with their own private pludge pools and little gardens. The remaining 18 rooms and 8 duplexes of this 90-unit resort all facing the garden are in a small building. Whichever accommodation you choose, you will have air-conditioned comfort (the bungalows also have ceiling fans), an outside terrace, mini-bar, hairdryer, safe, flat-screen television and WiFi. From your hotel base we will be happy to arrange a full range of exciting excursions and activities and of course you can relax at the resort where you’ll enjoy one of the largest infinity pools of the island. Each bungalow has a sunny outside terrace with comfortable loungers. From the over-water ones, there is direct access to the lagoon. The premium over-water bungalows are especially well situated, close to the coral reef ledge so you can immediately swim off and discover a fascinating world of coloured fish and exotic corals. Near the over-water bungalows, we have developed our own coral nursery- To’A Nui - a coral regeneration project and part of our commitment to protecting the fragile environment that surrounds us. This site encourages the proliferation of marine life whose beauty is so easily enjoyed with simple snorkelling equipment. You will find a luxurious and convivial resort on a human scale, offering a warm welcome to honeymooners, romantic couples, families, nature lovers and scuba-divers. We have two restaurants - The Mahanai for breakfast and dinner and the Autera’a snack and bar with a teracce adjacent to the pool for sipping your favorite beverage. Other facilities include two meeting rooms, a boutique and a full range of activities and excursions both on land and on the water. We also have an on-site dive center and a spa. The Manea Spa specializes in massages and treatments using traditional Polynesian methods and 100% natural products from the island’s flowers and plants, including the famous monoi oils from the coconut palm. The spa has a hammam, jacuzzi and the "Rumi Avai" where you can discover the pleasures of our unique aquatic massages.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Poolside bar
Beach
Canoeing
Highchairs available
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Happy hour
Snack bar
Diving
Snorkeling
Car hire
Taxi service
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Japanese
2458Reviews110Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,309
  • 788
  • 240
  • 87
  • 34
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jody C wrote a review Jan 2021
2 contributions
My family of 3 stayed for 7 nights in January 2021 and had a wonderful experience. All of the staff from reception to housekeeping were extremely friendly and professional. Our family suite was very large (with loft) and had a large covered balcony. The room was very clean, pleasantly decorated, and had comfortable beds. The room had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The resort had well-kept gardens and a large pool. The food at the restaurant was very good as were the reasonably priced cocktails (5-7pm happy hour). The excursions we booked at the resort were all wonderful and reasonably priced. Lastly, we were royally pampered by Sunrise and Jojo at the resort spa...the treatments were so relaxing and a perfect way to spend our last day.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Directrice générale, Directeur général at Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Responded Jan 14, 2021
Dear Family 286jodyc, We would like to thank you for sharing with others members of this forum your 7 days stay with us. We are absolutely delighted to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your family vacations and that our Team Members as well as the quality of our Housekeeping was up to your satisfaction. Thank you also for mentioning the quality of the food served at the Restaurant. All your praise have been shared with our Team Members and it is very encouraging for them to read that their efforts have been recognised and appreciated. We would like to thank you once again for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again in our beautiful island of Moorea. Mauruuru and best regards,
Read more
HMcSloop wrote a review Jan 2021
Steamboat Springs, Colorado23 contributions9 helpful votes
Do not be fooled by the claim the over-water bungalows are the best! This overpriced resort was such a waste. Their customer service was atrocious. Our AC didn't work and they were hesitant to respond. The food was expensive and gross. Considering what you pay, you would think you'd have a high level of service, but this was opposite.Even when having the manager help with some of our issues, she was completely rude and quite mean. I WOULD NEVER GO BACK. The reef around the resort is not as good as other places on the island. The towels made everything they touched the color red. The place just did not hit any marks for the price your pay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Skip this place completely
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Directrice générale, Directeur général at Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Responded Jan 9, 2021
Dear HMcsloop, Thank you for your comments here on Trip Advisor following your recent stay over the festive season. We are disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations and we would like to apologise most sincerely for the inconvenience caused by the lack of cooling on the A/C in your children bungalow. We are pleased however that the change of bungalow on that same day contributed to resolve the issue. We appreciate constructive feedback from our guests and we are taking your feedback with the utmost seriousness it deserves. At the same time, for the benefits of all travellers and readers of this forum, we would like to reply to some of the points mentioned by you. 1. Food was expensive : The country is importing most of the food supplies hence price of goods are generally higher in French Polynesia than you may find it in your home country. We would like also to highlight that the Christmas evening dinner is obviously priced higher than on any normal day as you not only have a much greater food selection on the buffet, but also you are getting an evening experience that is not available on any standard evening. 2. Food was gross: Out of the 220 guests we welcomed on that Christmas evening dinner, we only received your negative feedback and we are very sorry that we were unable to satisfy you as well. We are however much thankful to all the guests who have approached us during, after the dinner and also upon their check-out to thank us for the evening and recognize the efforts put up by the entire team to make that evening a memorable one for them. 3. Manager was rude and mean: On the opening of the Christmas Eve buffet at 07:00 PM, while I was welcoming all the guests, you barged in explaining that “there is no way I would sit at the table allocated”. As I was dealing with many guests at the same time, I had requested you to bear with me for a moment until we could find an alternative solution. As we believe in going the extra mile towards making guests happy and resolving issues the guests may have, we did allocate an alternative table for you within 5 minutes of your remarks. 4. Towel was red: We did not encounter this issue previously with our towel and thank you for pointing that issue to us; please rest assured that our Housekeeper has already been informed in order to check what may have gone wrong and take the necessary corrective actions; 5. The reef is not good Unfortunately reef in Polynesia like all over the world are suffering of the global warming and some area less exposed to ocean currents can be even more affected. We hope however that you have appreciated our efforts to maintain a coral garden and produce coral cuttings that will be reintroduced on the damaged coral by our Marine Biologist. Thank you again for your feedback and we are sorry we were unable to make your stay a wonderful one. With best regards,
Read more
Syfy wrote a review Jan 2021
57 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
My first time visiting Moorea, hotel was not too big. Not too small. Beach was a bit peculiar for those who have garden villas. Because they have to look at the over the water Bungalows to look at the water horizons. Good thing is it is quite photogenic. I stayed at one of the over the water bungalow, room a spacious, deck was a big small but the view was great. Also bungalows end at the beginning of the deep water. Lots of natural corals under. So bring your water shoes to walk in the water. Overall staff was nice. There was a couple of stand out staff at the restaurant Teharati and Claudine. They were super nice , kind , friendly and very attentive Teharati gave me her necklace as a souvenir on my last morning of leaving the hotel. Food overall was ok. Not the best but not the worst either. But drinks are really good. Definitely strong for sure. They had a Tahitian dance show on Saturday night and I didn’t realized I need to make a reservation nor was I told in advance to do so until an hour before the show. Luckily I stayed by the bar side and have a great side view of the show. Location of the hotel was great too. You can rent a car or other activities across the street if you can’t book anything at the hotel. In my case everything was booked except for one activity. So I rented a car with them. I would definitely recommend the hotel to others.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Directrice générale, Directeur général at Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Responded Jan 9, 2021
Dear Syfyzinny, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us . We are delighted to read that you have found the Resort beautiful and picturesque and that some of our Team Members made your stay an even more enjoyable one. Thank you again and looking forward to welcoming you once again in the near future. Mauruuru and with best regards,
Read more
McLizzy wrote a review Jan 2021
Los Angeles, California19 contributions21 helpful votes
I stayed at this hotel a week on my own and then joined a friend at the Sofitel on Moorea the second week. These 2 hotels, ,with the Hilton, are essentially the only " resort" type hotels on the island since the Intercontinental closed. Here is comparison: Rooms: Stayed in over water rooms in both hotels . Almost identical decor, with the Sofitel being slightly bigger and a bit nicer. If you stay at the Manava try to get the rooms that face the ocean away from the beach . The water seems however a bit clearer at the Sofitel. The price at the Manava is usually at least about 20% lower Beach: The Sofitel is on the best beach on the island The Manava is very small. Location: The Manava is a close walk to the town of Maharepa, where there are a few good restaurants, The Sofitel is isolated. Good idea to get a car for a few nights unless you want to eat every meal at either hotel. Hotel Dining: Moorea is pricey for what one gets, but the Sofitel food was really expensive and pretty mediocre. The Manava menu was far more limited in choices ( burgers, pizza, one or 2 fish or meat entrees and the excellent ceviche ) than the extensive menu at the Sofitel. Service at Sofitel ,was almost laughably appalling. Waitresses ignored customers obviously ready to order even though the restaurant was almost empty, instead occupying themselves with tasks such as filling salt shakers. Hotel services : The Sofitel's spa was closed due to Covid as was the Manava . Both gave fins and masks .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Directrice générale, Directeur général at Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Responded Jan 3, 2021
Dear McLizzy, We would like to thank you for taking the time to describe and compare your two Resort experiences on Moorea island. We are pleased to read that you have appreciated your stay with us and that you enjoyed the ceviche at the Restaurant. For the readers of this forum, we would like to correct the fact that our Spa is opened but only upon reservation due to the COVID protocole that we have in place. We are sorry that you were unable to vist the Manea Spa. Thank you again for your comments and rating and we hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you once again should you be visit Moorea on another occasion. Mauruuru and warm regards
Read more
Jennifer F wrote a review Dec 2020
Boulder, Colorado302 contributions161 helpful votes
The Manava property is probably the 3rd nicest that we saw on the island. It is beautiful, more rustic but very friendly staff! The dive shop (which I highly recommend) is attached to this resort. The panoramic water bungalow views are not as spectacular as a couple of the other alternatives in the area, but they are lovely. The water is deeper from the deck of the room and not crystal blue and green. It is more of a dark blue and looks straight out into the ocean. We rented kayaks and paddleboards (free), and it was fun cruising around the property! We did six dives with the connected dive shop, and I highly recommend them! The coral all around Moorea has been dramatically affected by coral bleaching. It is quite disheartening but not the fault of the resort, of course. The Manava follows strict COVID protocols and is a drop off site for the mandatory COIVD tests after arriving in French Polynesia. Visit the Manava for the friendly staff, ocean views, dive shop, and chill vibes!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Over the water bungalow!
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Directrice générale, Directeur général at Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Responded Dec 31, 2020
Dear JenBoulder, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Manava Moorea. We are extremely pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you have appreciated the resort and its facilities. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and the entire team is taking this opportunity to wish you a wonderful New Year. Mauruuru and with best regards,
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$287 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
moorea pearl hotel maharepa, moorea pearl resort and spa, moorea pearl maharepa, moorea pearl resort & spa
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa
LOCATION
French PolynesiaSociety IslandsMooreaMaharepa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Which popular attractions are close to Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea?
Nearby attractions include Eva Perles Pearl Buying (0.3 miles), Have a Nice Pearl (0.04 miles), and Scenic Shopping Tour - Pure Passion (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rudy's, Carameline, and Manuia Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tiki Village Cultural Center (7.5 miles).
Does Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.