We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hostal Dona Esther

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hostal Dona Esther
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 99: English reviews
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not only was the location ideal to walk around Otavalo but the room was quaint with fabulous wooden doors and the garden area was a great place to relax. Comfortable bed and good security. It's a couple blocks to the main square and a short walk to both the poncho market and the animal market.

Helpful?
Thank MarinaWelch
Pueblo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

We loved this hotel! It is so centrally located and charming. It is an easy walk, half a block, to the main square. About 5 blocks to the artisan market. Rooms all have doors and windows into a central courtyard and have great, old fashioned heavy metal keys. Noise is a slight factor, as you can hear noises going on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn H
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
78 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

We went to spend a week in Otavalo and someone we know well recommended we stay here. I have never stayed in a Hostal and should this be typical I will use them more often. Rooms were basic but complete and clean. The owners, a Dutch couple, were on site and spoke 3 languages. The best part was an outstanding... More 

Helpful?
Thank wwileyb
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

Our room was comfortable, attractive and surrounded by a courtyard The Hostal is centrally located, yet quiet The staff was friendly and very helpful They have an excellent restaurant and a nice library and sitting room

Helpful?
Thank SailorKarl
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

We stayed in a number of hotels in Ecuador and got an idea of what are standard amenities: free coffee/tea, filtered water, free breakfast, wifi. Dona Esther was missing the coffee/tea and free breakfast, which meant that the hotel is expensive for what you get. The grounds are very pretty, but the rooms are definitely lacking- the bathroom looked like... More 

Helpful?
Thank yay4jenn
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this review

Like said in an earlier response, breakfast is now included in the price, and you can have a choice of various breakfasts (I don't think that's among the standard amenities in Ecuador, so maybe we have a chance to stand out here). About a bathroom......I personally have no idea how a mental institution bathroom looks like...we usually hear more about... More 

atlanta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

Clean B&B rooms that open to an open courtyard. Rooms are somewhat traditionally decorated and are charming (quality is more like a B&B then a western hotel). Noise from the road would waft into the rooms in the morning but I found it charming to hear the hustle and bustle of this town. Water is potable. Management is honest- when... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank atlantaaunt
Flores, Guatemala
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016

The hotel is beautiful and in the middle of town. Unfortunately, it's a court yard with all the rooms exposed to the busy restruant and traffice of guests below. We stayed on a Thrusday and Friday and it was much too noisy to sleep. The shower was the best I've had in all of Ecuador but the towels are paper... More 

Helpful?
Thank kari562625
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this review

I think we helped you change rooms to a lower floor room, because you preferred that? I think we spoke to you also, but you never complained to us. The noise was only on the Friday night, since this was a holiday weekend, the first after the earthquake, and we had many visitors, also the first time after the earthquake,... More 

Pedasi, Panama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016 via mobile

Dona Esther is a great place to stay, also try out the restaurant, amazing food for very good rates! The location is good and rooms clean, colorful and cosy. The market is close by, walking distance. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Coming with a car, parking is just around the corner. Definitely recommended!

Helpful?
Thank 2703cindy
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind remarks! Hope to see you again. Groetjes, Wendy More 

Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

Our room was lovely with doors that looked out over the street. However, the doors didn't close well so it was quite draughty and cold at night. The wifi was free but patchy. The location was excellent, it's on a quiet road but right near one of the main squares. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank HLJHLJ
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at Hostal Dona Esther. Inn: Accessing the inn requires buzzing in through a gate (someone always opened it immediately). The ground floor has an office and small reading room, an one courtyard with tables, and the restaurant. The building is in a simple, but very attractive, colonial style. Room: Our room was on the top... More 

Helpful?
Thank Austin D
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your extended and wonderful review. We're very glad you were happy to stay with us. Hope to see you back next time! Best regards, Wendy More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
2.4 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
5.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
0.2 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#8 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#6 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#7 of 14 in Otavalo
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flying Donkey
Flying Donkey
#4 of 24 in Otavalo
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dona Esther is a small colonial style B&B in the center of Otavalo, near the famous Saturday crafts market and all other activity. With only 12 rooms and a family room for 4 on the top floor, we can keep it personal. Your room has a view on the green inner court yard, so you can take a seat outside your room and enjoy a glass of beer or wine after a day of activities. Our restaurant with a delicious and inventive menu is just downstairs, our reading room has enough books to buy or exchange and the Wifi is free for guests. A choice of breakfasts available. Restaurant closed on monday evening. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Dona Esther

Address: Juan Montalvo 4-44 y Bolivar, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Price Range: $55 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Dona Esther reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay