We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostal Dona Esther

TripAdvisor$55*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$55*
$55*
$55*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hostal Dona Esther
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 108: English reviews
Start your review of Hostal Dona Esther
 Click to rate
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The receptionist checked us in swiftly and we were shown to our room up on the third floor. Simply and rustically furnished it had everything we needed for our stay. It was really clean. The bed was comfortable. Everything worked in the bathroom. Perfect. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful and taken in the on-site restaurant on the first floor. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travellin_Steve
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this review

Thank you so much, for your recommendation! We'll be happy to have you back some day. Best regards, Wendy

Champlin, Minnesota
Reviewed March 15, 2017

The rooms are around a courtyard filled with flowers and places for relaxing. The rooms were colorful and the desk people were helpful, speaking English because our Spanish was limited. Be careful when paying - three of us were unable to charge our stay because our cards didn't work (?). We had to either use Paypal or find an ATM...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rues427
Southwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 5, 2017

Located close to the main square and just a few blocks from the market. Rooms are accessed off a central galleried courtyard in typical Spanish style. Furnishings are simple but comfortable although hanging space was rather limited in our room which was a bit on the small side. The restaurant was fabulous however with excellent local food and brilliant pizzas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterandvivien
Smith
Reviewed March 2, 2017 via mobile

Our group of 5, visited hostel Dona Esther on the last two days of our month long Ecuador trip. I was very happy with our choice. The rooms were clean, quiet, and comfortable. The location was perfect. On market day we walked the animal market, the large mercado building, and to the plaza de poncho market, taking time for quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barb D
Reviewed February 14, 2017

Stayed for 5 nights, service was really caring, a comfortable retreat from the city but within walking distance of pretty well everything., nice and quiet (a change for Ecuador) Nice little book loan area. Food good, would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed November 15, 2016

The Dona Esther is a reasonably priced boutique hotel on three floors with a recommended restaurant. There is also a nice lounge with an extensive library. From here, you are within easy walking distance of most tourist sites, including the Plaza de Ponchos with its handicraft market. Service is friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
Reviewed November 5, 2016 via mobile

We paid $63 for two per night for 5 nights. Expected much more for this price. Staff were friendly & helpful. So disappointed with the breakfast. No cereal. Minimum rationing of scrambled or fried eggs or crepe with sliver of chocolate or marmalade. Asked for bacon to fill out the breakfast. Could hardly eat it as it was like leather,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robrev16
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this review

Comparing prices you shouldn't have been surprised about the price, we did not promise you anything you didn't expect. Not sure what though, a Jacuzzi maybe? Breakfast is a perfect breakfast, I really don't understand people who keep whining about breakfast, you have a choice between 4 different breakfasts included in the price and yes, there is also cereal, but...

london, ont.
Reviewed November 4, 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Dona Esther in Otavalo. The hotel is smack in the middle of town and a block away from the beautiful city centre square. The rooms are clean and simply furnished and the bar/ restaurant located on the main floor were an added bonus. The food is good and the beer and wine are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 564lulu
Beernem, Belgium
Reviewed October 19, 2016

Stayed here some days ago and we were really pleased about service and kindness of personnel! Rooms are quite spacious just with all you need for a few-days stay. Close to the markets and points of interest. Big advantage is the restaurant in the hostel: good quality and honest food at very reasonable prices. Nice breakfast inside or just outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RudolfMarcellina
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed August 12, 2016

Not only was the location ideal to walk around Otavalo but the room was quaint with fabulous wooden doors and the garden area was a great place to relax. Comfortable bed and good security. It's a couple blocks to the main square and a short walk to both the poncho market and the animal market.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarinaWelch
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (24)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
2.4 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Indio Inn
Hotel El Indio Inn
#5 of 14 in Otavalo
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#8 of 14 in Otavalo
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
0.6 mi away
Hostal Curinan
Hostal Curinan
#4 of 37 in Otavalo
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flying Donkey
Flying Donkey
#3 of 28 in Otavalo
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dona Esther is a small colonial style B&B in the center of Otavalo, near the famous Saturday crafts market and all other activity. With only 12 rooms and a family room for 4 on the top floor, we can keep it personal. Your room has a view on the green inner court yard, so you can take a seat outside your room and enjoy a glass of beer or wine after a day of activities. Our restaurant with a delicious and inventive menu is just downstairs, our reading room has enough books to buy or exchange and the Wifi is free for guests. A choice of breakfasts available. Restaurant closed on monday evening. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Dona Esther

Address: Juan Montalvo 4-44 y Bolivar, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Price Range: $54 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Dona Esther reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hostal Dona Esther staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal Dona Esther staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I would guess any of the rooms here would be good, perhaps quieter at the back.”
Travellin_Steve, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms in the back avoid street noise. You will always have barking dogs.”
Rues427, Mar 15, 2017 | Read review
“Bring ear plugs for a great night's sleep.”
bronwynh386, Jul 23, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are all about equal.”
wwileyb, Jul 22, 2016 | Read review
“Perhaps a room higher up woud help with the noise, but they all face the loud courtyard”
kari562625, May 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
TripAdvisor
$55* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$55
Priceline$55
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates