We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Samona Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Samona Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 67: English reviews
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed December 7, 2016

The lodge is very well located, very close to the laguna, and 2 hours by boat to the bridge (the departure place at the entrance of Cuyabeno). Our room was very good (nb: we had a suite) and the relaxing area too (hamacs and books). We really appreciated the food, meals were both very tasty and different everyday, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pierre s
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Samona lodge is authentic and rustic and exactly what you would want for this kind of experience. There is a lovely area to relax in hammocks, a tower from which you can bird watch, The food portions are very generous and there is a great group atmosphere amongst the guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Billie T
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

I always wanted to go to the Amazon basin and I am glad I did. Samoan lodge delivers on all counts. It's a budget Eco lodge and that is what it is, do not expect more otherwise you will be disappointed. The staff bend over backwards to make your stay memorable and comfortable. The place is clean and it's open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie6969
Bovingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

We had an amazing time here - our highlight of Ecuador. The lodge itself was basic but has everything you might need - great food (and catered for vegetarian diet), lovely chill area with hammocks, comfortable beds with secure mosquito nets. The highlight of our trip was the guide Fabricio - he was so knowledgeable and passionate about the Amazon...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank atat1995
tierradefuego-ecu, Owner at Samona Lodge, responded to this review

We are working to improve everyday. Thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again.

Reviewed June 27, 2016

I was part of a group of 4 friends on an Amazon tour at Samona lodge. We were there for 5 days and 4 nights. We were put together with our guide Romulo and 5 others who we did not know, and who were staying for one day less than us. Our tour was done with the same guide and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ernie L
tierradefuego-ecu, Owner at Samona Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for describe your experience at Samona Lodge. It is important for us to improve everyday. Your comments are welcome. We are working in many upgrades. Next year we will have new facilities in Samona Lodge

Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Samona lodge for 4 days, 3 nights. It's a lodge that offers everything you need at a basic level, including clean rooms with good mosquito nets, good food, a nice chilling area and all the needed equipment for the tours. The water in the showers is cold, there was free coffee and tea. Overall it's a really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank re85al
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewed January 12, 2016

There are no words to describe the feeling you get of being part of the nature! I have been to Samona 2 times and in both I have seen different animals and travelled along different rivers and lagoons. The food at the lodge is expectational good, the accommodation is great as well: clean rooms with private facilities for the price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dollhous3
tierradefuego-ecu, Propietario at Samona Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we want to thank you for your comment, and of course we are pleased you had a great time at Samona Lodge Next time you visit our beautiful country it will be a pleasure to help you with tour to other places. Best regards Samona Lodge by Tierra de Fuego

Mundelein, Illinois
Reviewed December 30, 2015

The food was great. Accommodations basic, but that is to be expected if you are looking for a true amazon experience. My only complaint with the place is that there isn't enough to do each day. After speaking with other travelers on our trip, they did more and thus saw more wildlife then us staying at other lodges.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
tierradefuego-ecu, Propietario at Samona Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest We want to thank you for your comment and let us know how we can improve our itineraries and the activities. We will take all your comments in order to offer better services. If you come back to our beautiful country, it will be a pleasure to help you with other tours. Best regards Samona Lodge by Tierra...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed November 6, 2015

Food was great, guides were great. Rooms were very basic, cold water, no electricity, poorly maintained, and as far as we could tell, there was no difference between regular and superior rooms (which we paid for). Rooms are open air style so expect lots of critters for company. Beds have mosquito nets. I would gladly accept these things in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CC841r54w55464
tierradefuego-ecu, Owner at Samona Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest We want to thank you for your comments about Samona Lodge, as you know it is very important for us your opinion. We would like to know the names of the guest that were with us, as well the dates you were at the Lodge and where you bought the package. Please we would like to correct all...

Connecticut
Reviewed October 29, 2015

My friends and I did a 4D/3N jungle package with Samona -- and are so glad we chose this budget place! The lodge was clean and comfortable with a fabulous communal area in the middle, complete with hammocks and a (basic) book exchange. Our rooms were cleaned each day, the beds made and the garbage taken out. Mosquito nets on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VancouverBeck
tierradefuego-ecu, Propietario at Samona Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest We want to thank you for your comment, all suggestions are important for us in order to improve our service. We are pleased your trip was great, Regarding the guide we have taken all necessary measures in order to solve the situation. Once again thanks a lot for all your comments. Please feel free to look for us...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
0.0 mi away
Tapir Lodge
Tapir Lodge
#3 of 3 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yarina Eco Lodge
Yarina Eco Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jamu Lodge
Jamu Lodge
#2 of 10 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cuyabeno River Lodge
Cuyabeno River Lodge
#6 of 10 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
La Selva Amazon Ecolodge
#1 of 4 in Yasuni National Park
406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sani Lodge
Sani Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yasuni National Park
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Samona lodge is a natural paradise located in the heart of Cuyabeno, the biggest Wildlife Natural Reserve in Ecuador. An amazing forest rich in fauna and flora unique in the world. In here you can will as well the natural sightsseing, the encounter with exotic animals and the hospitality of a category lodge. We count with adecuated bungalows to complement a great for you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Samona Lodge

Address: | Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve, Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Sucumbios Province > Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Samona Hotel Cuyabeno
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Samona Lodge staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Samona Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“ask for the suite if the lodge isn't fully booked, the view to the river is amazing”
 of 5 bubbles pierres260, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the one floor bungalows for less noise overnight”
 of 5 bubbles 101billiet, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
“Remember to put your food in the bin, otherwise your room will be filled with bugs.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahwQ6534EP, Dec 30, 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are spacious but depends with how many people are, very good service.”
 of 5 bubbles joselynr953, Jun 7, 2015 | Read review
“Book in the dorms not the private cabins, the private cabins tend to have tarantulas, none of the dorm type rooms did, ceilings are not high. The tarantulas tend to like high celings”
 of 5 bubbles samanthaw957, Jan 23, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question