We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Vilas Rubin 1, Rovinj 52210 Croatia
E-mail hotel
Hotel direct offer!Stay longer, save more!
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (1881)
360
Panoramas (60)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/21/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Resort Villas Rubin
Updated 07/21/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#22 of 26 hotels in Rovinj
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
2.8
Service
3.0
Value
3.1
Only a few kilometers south of Rovinj, you will find Villas Rubin, a serene retreat blended harmoniously with the coastline in the shade of pines and olive groves.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Public wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Croatian
Hotel links
Special Price:Stay longer, save more!
300Reviews19Q+A14Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 44
  • 84
  • 80
  • 39
  • 53
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sebastien wrote a review Aug 2021
Fontainebleau, France4 contributions
Absolutely terrible. Given the price, I would have expected a pretty decent experience. On their website they only show photos of the pool, and there is a good reason: the villas are old, damp, dark and in great need of repairs. The place is overcrowded, far from a relaxing home away from home. The buffet restaurant is absolutely terrible. The food is worse than what you’d get in your school canteen. They advertise it as “full inclusive buffet” but then charge you for drinks… which explains why all the dishes are over salty: good way to up the sales… The place is only redeemed by its nice pool area… but be ready to queue up at 8am to drop a towel on a sun lounger, otherwise you’re out of luck and will have to enjoy the pool sitting on the floor. The staff is always on the “no” side of things, not willing to help. Overall I found them rather rude and felt that our mere presence was not welcome. The Covid-19 measures are a big joke, as they are obviously only imposed on the guests but not to the staff, who walks around with theirs under their nose… This is particularly worrying for the serving staff at the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Avoir this place at all cost if you don’t want to get ripped of.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Maistra Croatia, Other at Resort Villas Rubin
Responded Aug 28, 2021
Dear Mr Sebastian, thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at our Resort. We are very sorry to read that your stay experience was less than satisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for our services. We have shared it with the respective department to improve our service and communication in the future. We hope for another opportunity to deliver our improved services if you stay with us again in the future. Kind regards Villas Rubin Management
Read more
Carlos Garcia wrote a review Aug 2020
Vienna, Austria5 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
Amazing staff, friendly and smiley at all times. They have a mini club for kids to be babysit while dancing, coloring, playing. Almost every night there is entertainment with life music, mini disco and mini quiz for kids. Restaurants are good, pizza was nice and drinks were also good. Pool area very clean and spacious. Private beach at walking distance from apartments. Definitely recommend the apartments, individual little houses, about 45-50 sqm. Will definitely come back again next summer if I can. Mini market on the spot, more like a convenience market although prices compared to outside supermarkets were a bit high. But you find first need groceries. House keeping and other staff extremely nice and helpful. COVID-19 safe place as they are enforcing use of masks in all enclosed areas, tables and seats are properly distanced and there is hands anytime right almost every place you go to. Beach as said above was super nice and clean, little pebbles and shallow water makes it great for toddlers like mine. Sofa bed was a bit old dated so sleeping on it gave a bit of back pain, yet pool and sea gave me a great rest. Would definitely recommend
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Maistra dd, Other at Resort Villas Rubin
Responded Aug 23, 2020
Dear Carly, thank you so much for taking the time to write us a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to exceed guest expectations and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back. Best regards Villas Rubin Management
Read more
Zorana wrote a review Sep 2020
Novi Sad, Serbia12 contributions5 helpful votes
This place is old. The green areas are at some places nice, at some places high weed instead of grass. Accommodation is decent but aged. Pool is nice, with a sea view and a bar. Amazing 5km walking path by the sea shore to Rovinj, which was the highlight if the visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Alex M wrote a review Jun 2020
Sargans, Switzerland14 contributions3 helpful votes
Villas Rubin was available for booking on all platforms this year 2020 with opening date 18 June 2020. I made my reservation. When I have arrived today - I have been informed that resort is closed till 07 July and I have to go to resort Amarin, where I been given much worse room for the same price (for Rubin I had Superior Appt. first line sea view) saying that Amarin is much more expensive place. Be aware. CORONA is not an excuse for such a lies!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from MaistraCroatia, Manager at Resort Villas Rubin
Responded Jun 29, 2020
Dear Alex, The situation with COVID-19 has changed a lot of plans in the whole world. In normal circumstances, we would be opened from April. We did accommodate you in certainly better Resort for the same price of Villas. We are truly sorry if Amarin didn't met your expectations. We hope that we will be welcoming you again in some better times. Kind regards, Villas Rubin Management
Read more
Pathfinder585289 wrote a review Sep 2019
3 contributions
I can only review our chalet No 222 I think, but I was quite happy with ours. It was basic ,but clean and importantly shaded by pines, which does protect from the ,occasionally, blistering heat. Some of the reviews seem a little ungenerous , but that might be because of the apartments/chalets. There are areas where you feel you could be in a spaghetti western and I would recommend not booking in the first two levels down from check-in. What I did like was that the place was quiet, even when busy...except for the poolside bar continually and annoyingly blaring out music. We didn't use the onsite restaurant at all but mostly self-catered . There is a shopping area , includes three supermarkets inc Lidl thirty minutes walk away...I walked it so that time is accurate. The lawns and general state of the main areas are well maintained and clean, but if the resort owners invested , maybe £ 10 million on the whole place updating things ( being in construction i'd love to do it !) It would be a great place. If you hire a car, which I would deffo recommend, do so from the airport as taxi transfers are expensive , just pay the extra cover £99 CDW the hire company will push, covers most things. The towns of Rovinj Porec are really lovely especially 6pm onward. There is one sandy area about seven mins walk from our chalet . Rocky beaches, beach shoes a must .Thinking of moving to Istria after this , so chilled. Staff were excellent as well WiFi and TV reception poor 2/10 only for that.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from MaistraCroatia, Manager at Resort Villas Rubin
Responded Oct 1, 2019
Dear Mr./Mrs, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in room 222. We work daily on raising the level of service we offer to our valued guests and we hope you will return to experience the enhancements we made. Kind regards, Goran Monas
Read more
Peter R wrote a review Aug 2019
4 contributions2 helpful votes
The facilities are good; nice pool with slides (pay extra), soccer, tennis courts etc, kids club, video games room, decent restaraunts (the service is slow, but this is normal for the region in my experience). Right on a pebble beach from where you can take boat trips. The rooms were ok, clean and comfortable, reasonably modern looking inside. Shower curtain, rather than a door in which is pretty useless, but that's a small complaint. There was little or no Wi-Fi in the room. I notified reception every day, but nothing was done to resolve it. In the end, they said that while there was Wi-Fi in certain areas of the hotel, they do not guarantee it for every room. Pretty shoddy in my opinion. It was important to us to have Wi-Fi, and if I had known it was pot luck whether you got it or not, I'd probably not have booked this resort. The general presentation of the resort is poor. It looks run down, and in need of some maintenance. It wouldn't take a lot, to be fair- mow the green areas, clear weeds from paths, power wash paved areas, and paint some of the units (many had been the external plaster patched up, but not painted). This stuff is standard maintenance though, and shouldn't have to be pointed out to management. It's quite expensive to stay here in the peak season, and the minimum you would expect, is that the place is well presented. It lets down, what would otherwise be a nice resort. I won't be going back. From the responses posted here by management, to reviews with similar issues, it is obvious that they are aware of the problems, but uninterested in resolving them.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from MaistraCroatia, Guest Relations Manager at Resort Villas Rubin
Responded Aug 18, 2019
Dear Mr Peter, Thank you for your comments and detailed explanations. We would like to apologise for failing to meet your expectations. We strive every day to exceed the expectations of our guests, as their satisfaction is our priority. We regret that we did not do so in your case. Your helpful comments are much appreciated and your feedback will help us to continually improve our services. Also, thank you for the positive comments. Every praise is proof that we are on the right track and serves as an incentive for further improvements. We hope you will visit us again and give us a second chance to make the right impression. Best regards, Villas Rubin Management
Read more
FromGalway wrote a review Aug 2019
GALWAY15 contributions4 helpful votes
Just back from a fab visit to Croatia and stayed in the Villas Rubin. Fantastic resort in an amazing location. The accommodation is basic but next time we’d def upgrade to the more exclusive villas. Breakfast each morning was fab and plentiful and set us up for the day but the location on the coast was amazing. The facilities were super - we did a different activity on the water everyday and cycled a lot. Loved it here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from MaistraCroatia, Guest Relations Manager at Resort Villas Rubin
Responded Aug 14, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for the positive feedback! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to exceed guest expectations and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back. Kind regards, Villas Rubin Management
Read more
juhuski wrote a review Jul 2019
6 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at Villa Rubins for three nights with a family of four persons. What a nightmare. Fortunately we did not spend our whole holiday here and feel sorry for those who did. The pool area is nice and the reason to we booked this stay. However, it was open only 10-19 and you had to pay separately for using the water slide (thus, didn’t see anybody ever using it). This was not mentioned anywhere when booking was made. We were not aware of what the bunkers that they call apartments were before seeing them on spot. They were really old and terrible looking outside like garages or waste disposal areas. Inside the building the furniture was worn out and smelly. There were ants, bugs and cockrouches everywhere. One night a scorpion crawled out from our kids bed sheets! There were not enough utencils in the kitchenette and the garden area for the apartment was terrible. I’d say the place is, apart from the pool area, a place from a horror movie.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MaistraCroatia, Guest Relations Manager at Resort Villas Rubin
Responded Aug 4, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback. First of all, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced in our resort. By day-to-day work and maximum engagement to meet the set standards, we try to please all guests in a variety of ways. The fact is that we did not succeed, at least not in the way we intended, given that our service did not meet your expectations. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great resort experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Kind regards, Villas Rubin Management
Read more
Piritta K wrote a review Jul 2019
Turku, Finland3 contributions
Should we have spent the whole holiday here would have been a disaster. The pool area is nice for kids but you have to pay extra for parasols and water slides. On top there were not enough parasols even if you wanted to get one. The sun was burning hot so without the parasol we couldn’t stst there longer than 15 min. The ”villas”... what to say. Pay attention that they do not show pictures of the apartments and no wonder! From outside they looked like bunkers where you definitely do not want to spend your holiday. My first comment when we saw our ”villa” was that is this a concentration camp. Room had ants inside and kitchenette missing this and that. Wifi was bad but A/C worked well. So glad this was only a pit stop for us and we were able to leave the place behind for good after 3 nights.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from MaistraCroatia, Guest Relations Manager at Resort Villas Rubin
Responded Aug 4, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your impressions with us. We are truly sorry if in certain areas we didn't succeed to meet your expectations. Your comments are extremely important to us as they allow us to see what we do well and where there may still be room for improvement. This helps us identify ways in which we can improve our services, which, in turn, enhances the satisfaction of our guests. We hope you will visit us again and give us a second chance to make the right impression. Best regards, Villas Rubin Management
Read more
Emma C wrote a review Dec 2018
Oxford, United Kingdom2270 contributions339 helpful votes
I stayed here for 7 nights and was really quite disappointed with it. Let's start with the positives...It's on the seafront and the food in restaurants was nice. Things that let it down: the service (rude and disinterested), the dated accommodation, the lack of any cleaning or bin emptying at any point during my stay, being charged for using sunloungers and parasols (oh and the pool slides), the ridiculously expensive on site supermarket (the place is isolated so unless you have a car you have no other choice) and the price of food and drinks on site. There is a bus (not free) in to and back from Rovinj 6/7 times a day, but it's not really advertised. I guess this is because most people seem to drive there. I wouldn't go back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from MaistraCroatia, Guest Relations Manager at Resort Villas Rubin
Responded Jan 1, 2019
Dear Mr , I would like to take this opportunity to thank You on behalf of the staff of the tourist settlement Villas Rubin for staying with us as our guest and for finding the time to review us. Your suggestions and impressions are of the highest importance to us, because they provide us with an insight into the quality of our service and enable us to constantly improve. Yours faithfully, Resort Villas Rubin Management
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$87 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
villas rubin hotel rovinj, rubin hotel rovinj, rubin resort rovinj
LOCATION
CroatiaIstriaRovinj
NUMBER OF ROOMS
357
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Resort Villas Rubin
What are some of the property amenities at Resort Villas Rubin?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Resort Villas Rubin?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Resort Villas Rubin?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Resort Villas Rubin?
Conveniently located restaurants include BARBA DANILO tavern, Val Carpana, and Konoba Rovignese.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Resort Villas Rubin?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Resort Villas Rubin?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Resort Villas Rubin?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Croatian.
Are there any historical sites close to Resort Villas Rubin?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Monkodonja Hill Fort (1.8 miles) and Riberia Gallery (3.5 miles).