We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (388)
360
Panoramas (27)
Room & Suite (119)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#7 of 31 hotels in Porec
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
LAIDBACK BEACH HOLIDAY AT AN UNBEATABLE PRICE At Crystal Sunny Hotel you can enjoy simple vacations in your own rythm. Relaxed beach lifestyle culture is sewn-in in the very fabric of each element, so soak up every moment of your holiday and create unforgettable memories. Sunny Breakfast & Brunch service in the hotel restaurant features an open door concept from early morning to 13:00 allowing guests to freely enjoy breakfast and brunch. After chilling on the pool terrace and having a blast at Chill & Play Zone take your time for a delicious themed Sunny Dinner. A large choice of different room types, outdoor pool, sport activities and entertainment programmes makes this hotel an ideal choice for an unforgettable holiday. In the nearby Valamar Diamant Hotel, you'll find a wide range of sports amenities and a first-class wellness centre where you can dedicate some quality time to yourself.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Boating
Canoeing
Diving
Hiking
Tennis court
Table tennis
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Croatian, German, Italian
617Reviews65Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 293
  • 220
  • 74
  • 17
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Bexxy63 wrote a review Sep 2023
Shropshire, United Kingdom19 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
Well, you call yourself a four star hotel and restaurant? I've been to many four star restaurants and everyone has surpassed this one! To be honest, I would give this 2 to 3 stars at best. Why? The basic rooms are very basic. Two beds but two people can not pass anywhere at any given time. Double doors that open onto railings. Rooms with balconies are small to say the least and very tired. The shower is tiny and in a corner which doors barely open without falling off of the rails. Apart from the shower, the bathroom is spotlessly clean thanks to the wonderful cleaning staff. Staff as a whole are extremely hard working and very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is without doubt the best available meals. At least there is a chef who can cook eggs well. More choice available from cold meats, cheeses and fresh bread. There is a really nice selection of cereal, milks, yoghurt and northern European hot food. Dinner: Tonight's offering was abisnal. No cheese of any kind. Luke warm spaghetti with apparently bolognaise (not made with beef or tomatoes). Neck of lamb stew , more bones than meat. Chicken and fish, neither of which smelt appetising. Desert consisted of sliced pink and white grapefruit, two bowls of tinned fruit salad and a few squares of cake. Pictures attached.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Kinčić, General Manager at Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar
Responded Sep 14, 2023
Dear Bexxy, Thank you for choosing Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar and for sharing your experience. We are sorry to read that you were not satisfied with our service. We always strive to provide the best possible guest service and we will discuss and use your comments to improve. Warm regards, Martin Hotel manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Pete T wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
When we first arrived I thought that the hotel looked a bit tired from the outside but inside it is lovely. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable with great showers, air con and WiFi. The food was lovely. My wife doesn't eat meat and my daughter is very fussy but we all found plenty to eat. The restaurant is open from 7am to 1pm and then from 7pm to 9pm. It would have been better if the lunch service was extended to 2 or 3pm. All meals are sel service and it can get quite hectic at times, especially in the evening. There is no entertainment but you can go to the Diamant hotel next door. This is not a party hotel but great for a relaxing family holiday. T
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Kinčić, General Manager at Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar
Responded Aug 14, 2023
Dear Pete, Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. Although there is room for improvement, we are glad to hear that you enjoy your stay. We hope to welcome you again at Hotel Valamar Crystal. Warm regards, Martin Hotel manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Filip Ć wrote a review Jul 2023
Zagreb, Croatia1 contribution
IT WAS VERY NICE. THE RECEPTION IS VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL, THE ROOMS ARE CLEAN. THE FOOD IS GOOD. DEFINITELY RECOMMENDED. CENTAR GRADA JE VEOMA BLIZU, LIJEPA JE ŠETNICA. THANK YOU EVERYONE FOR A NICE HOLIDAY.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Kinčić, General Manager at Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar
Responded Jul 25, 2023
Dear Filip, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Valamar Hotel Crystal, and for taking the time to share your experience. Your review was an absolute pleasure to read. We are always ecstatic to hear we did our job and you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope that you will visit us soon and discover more of our hotel and Poreč! Martin Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mum75 wrote a review Jul 2023
69 contributions31 helpful votes
Not a 4* hotel but decent enough if you're on a budget Six of us just returned from a 2 week holiday in this hotel. It's not a UK 4* standard, but a decent 3* hotel. The reception area is modern and welcoming, reception staff friendly and helpful. My room was a classic double on the 6th floor, it was small and a little tired, but had everything you needed. You could have a daily clean if wanted, and the cleaners did a fantastic job. The rooms were spotless. AC was good. Food was ok, sometimes barely warm and a little 'school canteen' at times, but they tried to offer as much variety as possible and the freshly made pizza's were lovely. There was something for everyone. It could get really busy, being the only restaurant (buffet style). You could sometimes queue for 5-10 mins for the soft drinks machine and then another 5-10 mins for your food. We found going up early (they open the doors just before 7pm) was best. Restaurant staff were fantastic so friendly and cleaned away dirty plates, etc, promptly. A special thank you to Renato who was great, very hard working and we always had a warm welcome and a friendly smile from him 👍 Drinks at the hotel were expensive, €2.90 for a small bottle of water. €4.50 for a larger bottle. Other than the reception area the hotel was a little tired and is in need of an upgrade/freshening up. Some areas were not the cleanest either. The tops of the AC units in the restaurant were filthy, not nice to sit next to when you eat. The pool are is very poorly maintained with floor tiles missing or broken, again I am not sure how often the pool area is cleaned. We came down one morning to dirty cups under the sundbeds and bottle caps on the table. Another morning we came down to a dirty ashtray under one of the sunbeds close to where we sat, it was there for 2 days in a row, in the end my husband moved it to a table near the pool bar. Plenty of sunbeds, never had a problem getting 6 together and plenty of seating near the self-serve pool bar, which was open 14.00 - 18.00. Had plenty on offer but again expensive. No daytime or evening entertainment, very quite in the evenings with very little atmosphere. However, you could go to their sister hotel next door for entertainment or walk into Poreč if you needed some 'life'. The hotel staff are a credit to the hotel. They were all so friendly and helpful. Could not fault a single one of them. Hotel was a 5 min walk from the sea. There was a great little bar down there. It was a 15 - 20 min walk to Poreč or you can catch the tourist train there for €2 each (if you can get a seat as always full). Lots of water sports availble too at a charge. Overall - Croatia is beautiful and the people are wonderful. The Crystal Sunny is ok if you're on a budget but it's not a 4 star standard. Cleanliness in some of the communal areas could be much better. The staff are a credit to them.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Kinčić, General Manager at Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar
Responded Aug 9, 2023
Dear Mum75, Thank you for choosing Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar and for sharing your experience. We are sorry to read that you were not satisfied with our service. We always strive to provide the best possible guest service and we will discuss and use your comments to improve. Warm regards, Martin Hotel manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
611Jono wrote a review Jun 2023
Bakewell, United Kingdom41 contributions26 helpful votes
Food is only 3*. Limited choice. Dogs allowed in restaurant, which should be a definite no. Rooms comfortable but very dated. No evening entertainment. Definitely not a 4* hotel. Needs a lot of updating in bathrooms.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Kinčić, General Manager at Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar
Responded Jun 30, 2023
Dear Jono, Thank you for choosing Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar and for sharing your experience. We are sorry to read that you were not satisfied with our service. We always strive to provide the best possible guest service and we will discuss and use your comments to improve. Warm regards, Martin Hotel manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marko R wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution
The best ever! Good food, good receptionists and great staff overall. It has great accesories for children like pool and billard. Rooms have everything you need own bathroom and ac also they have nice big balcony. Food is amazing and you have a lot of options to choose from.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Kinčić, General Manager at Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar
Responded Jun 26, 2023
Dear Marko, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Valamar Hotel Crystal, and for taking the time to share your experience. Your review was an absolute pleasure to read. We are always ecstatic to hear we did our job and you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope that you will visit us soon and discover more of our hotel and Poreč! Cheers! Martin Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Massimiliano B wrote a review Jun 2023
Ruvo Di Puglia, Italy1 contribution
Perfect reception. Nice place with beautiful persons! Perfect job. I passed one week there and everyone was really kind with me. We find collaborative persons in a very nice place. Everything was unbelievably ok, and every littlw problem was solved.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Kinčić, General Manager at Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar
Responded Jun 25, 2023
Dear Massimiliano, Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are happy to hear you had such a great time and to hear you enjoyed our hotel so much. We hope to welcome you again at Hotel Valamar Crystal. Warm regards, Martin Hotel manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
moodyman77 wrote a review May 2023
Oxford53 contributions38 helpful votes
We have been to this part of the world before and loved it, so at last we returned. A party of 9 of us including 2 baby twins. Well. For starters this is NOT a 4 star hotel. In my opinion it's a long way off! Just take a short walk to the neighboring hotel (also graded 4) and you'll notice the difference. The Crystal Sunny is dated, in need of a facelift and some alterations to the rooms, the pool area and some of the general areas within the complex. At best I would say it's an acceptable 3 star. But this is just my opinion. The hotel has a bizarre layout where the main lifts are not even on the ground floor! There is a small set of stairs to navigate. The only way to ascend these if you have mobility issues or a large pushchair is via a slow and cumbersome stairlift. This I feel is a massive design floor and in this day and age with accessibility so important, it's a major inconvenience and let down. That said, there is nothing anyone can do about this but it is a little ridiculous. The ground floor has a nice lobby and bar area. It also has a pool table and fusball table, a rudimentary children's area and a basic younger children's room (which for us was heaven sent). My advice to the hotel would be to replace the hard, tiled floor in the kids area and throw away the dated, and dangerous rug on the floor. If this is to be a kids room long term, then make it fit for purpose and safe. The rooms (we had a Junior sweet to accommodate two cots) are basic and in desperate need of modernization and decorating. Flakes of paint were scattered on the floor near the skirting boards and the balcony (with stunning views of the carpark) was old, weathered and like so many areas of this hotel - in need of attention. We also shared our room with a lot of ants! The restaurant was big, had plenty of food options and was regularly populated with friendly, efficient staff! The food we found was very good although I would recommend a variation on the jelly-like bite-sized cakes you served up daily. These were a bit samey and tasted of nothing really. The homemade cakes were delicious! Lastly, the pool area. This was a nice size and had plenty of beds and umbrellas but again (spot the theme?) these were tired and in need of replacement. Many of the beds around the pool had stains on the mattresses. Not pleasant. The two bed frames we regularly used were rusting and had seen better days. Also, why position a waste bin directly next to a sun bed?? The kids pool was a nice size but there was no sun canopy. We twice used the pool in the neighboring hotel which had one. Do you want little ones to burn? The walkways around the pool area were crumbling and presented a trip hazard. Going back to the rating. If you're a 4 star, you would at the very least expect some kind of presence poolside, staff taking drinks orders perhaps? At a lot of 4 star resorts we have visited this is a given! And the other hotel had a small café poolside, so if not waiter service perhaps this? It's touches like this that make it for some folk. It would certainly help to warrant your claim to be a 4 star. Everyone's idea of what constitutes a 4 star hotel will be different. But what we have experienced over the years in terms of a 4 star far outshines this hotel. We will absolutely be returning to this part of the world, but not to this hotel. With a few touches here and there it would be a perfect place to camp for a week or two and relax. As a base to explore the area, it's fine.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: If you're travelling with twins, get the most compact buggy you can find! Disabled users ask for...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Kinčić, General Manager at Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar
Responded Jun 16, 2023
Dear moodyman77, Thank you for choosing Crystal Sunny Hotel for your holidays and for the time you took to write your comments. We always welcome our guests’ feedback and use it to constantly improve our service. Warm regards, Martin Hotel manger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
amdgriggs wrote a review Oct 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom1585 contributions659 helpful votes
Medium-sized 70s style hotel on the edge of Porec, close to the sea, with nice large pool, buffet-style dining, pretty good food, perfectly adequate rooms, comfortable beds, and terraces looking out onto the extensive trees around. I was here with a walking group and some of us did have problems with noise from several noisy groups of guests carousing till the early hours - which the hotel didn’t seem to be able to do much about. There were quite a number of groups staying, many of them tennis groups (younger, fit, and loud!) OK base for a walking holiday when we were out most of the time, and only an attractive 15-20 minute walk into the old part of Porec, but not for example a good choice for a romantic stay in Croatia….
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Weronika wrote a review Sep 2022
Katowice, Poland2 contributions2 helpful votes
Everything seems fine at first glance, but with the passage of time, unfortunately, the good impression disappears. It quickly turned out that the only cool things about this hotel are the location and the food - you can't really complain about that. BUT... air conditioning is a mockery - eventually you can call it ventilation, while the "cooling" system is so ineffective that it is hard to stay in the room (not to mention the fact that you expect to cool down). After several interventions (apparently someone was in the room to fix the "air conditioning"), my husband and I decided that it was pointless, as nobody takes us seriously (I have to add that I informed them that I was pregnant). We were treated completely frivolously :( The icing on the cake was that on the day of our departure, we found out that we had to pay 25 € per day for one dog (we were with two Westie small dogs). Despite our requests to the manager of the hotel to charge us for one dog, we were ordered to pay the full amount. In combination with the above-described situation related to the lack of air conditioning (everywhere the hotel boasts of working air conditioning), it was absolutely unacceptable for us and I do not predict a bright future for this place. Despite the fact that we love Porec, we will never choose a hotel from the Valamar chain anymore - their approach to customers is embarrassing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Kinčić, General Manager at Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar
Responded Sep 26, 2022
Dear Weronika, Thank you for choosing Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar and for sharing your experience. We are sorry to read that you were not satisfied with our service. We always strive to provide the best possible guest service so on the day of your arrival after you complained about air conditioning, as an apology we upgraded your room to a bigger one with better working air conditioning. Regarding pets, it is communicated on our website and on the booking confirmation that there is an additional charge for pets, and you agreed to it at check-in after the price was communicated to you. Our goal is to have satisfied guests and we try very hard to meet the expectations of our guests in every aspect. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and we are sorry that you feel that in this case that we fell short. It would be our pleasure if you give us another chance despite a bad first impression to earn back your trust. I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great experience that so many of our guests have had. Warm regards, Martin Hotel manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Porec area.
PRICE RANGE
$163 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
valamar crystal hotel porec, kristal hotel porec, kristal hotel valamar crystal
LOCATION
CroatiaIstriaPorec
NUMBER OF ROOMS
223
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CRYSTAL SUNNY HOTEL BY VALAMAR - Prices & Reviews (Porec, Croatia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar
Which popular attractions are close to Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar?
Nearby attractions include Parish Of The Assumption Of The Blessed Virgin Mary Cathedral (0.4 miles), Grad Poreč (0.7 miles), and Obala Marsala Tita (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gostionica Tri Bacve, Grill&Fish Skipper, and Konoba Monte Rosso.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Porec.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Crystal Sunny Hotel by Valamar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Italian, and Croatian.