We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2221 Richard Arrington Jr. Boulevard North, Birmingham, AL 35203
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$269
Tripadvisor$269
Hotels.com
Booking.com$269
Travelocity$269
Priceline$269
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (183)
360
Panoramas (48)
Room & Suite (203)

About

#19 of 84 hotels in Birmingham
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.3
Value
3.9
GreenLeaders Silver level
With a direct connection to the Birmingham-Jefferson Convention Complex (BJCC), a short trip to the University of Alabama at Birmingham and the Birmingham Zoo, and more downtown hotspots right outside our doors, The Westin Birmingham is the ideal staging point for your visit to Birmingham, Alabama. Our pet-friendly hotel is ready to help you start your day strong with a visit to our 24/7 on-site fitness center, or with a swim in our heated terrace pool with a view of downtown. We are also prepared to help make your event, meeting, or wedding the best it can be with our 58,000 square feet of event space featuring banquet halls, breakout rooms, and more. Whatever brings you to Alabama, treat yourself to a stylish break with The Westin Birmingham.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Patio
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid public parking on-site
Paid wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
601Reviews14Q+A85Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 295
  • 156
  • 72
  • 36
  • 42
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ryan L wrote a review Nov 2022
Chicago, Illinois6 contributions5 helpful votes
Moldy bathroom (see photos). Had to ask three times for room to be serviced. Hallway smelled like a toilet. They have a rude elevator cop at night (just install key card for elevator). No one staffed the sundry at night and elevator cop told me to go back to the front desk to pay for chips. No one from front desk ever came out. Many better places to stay in Birmingham.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Birmingham
Responded Nov 19, 2022
Dear KYDERBY312, Thank you for the review of your time at our hotel. We are genuinely sorry for the occurrence with our associates. We strive to provide thoughtful and intuitive hospitality and are grateful for the feedback that helps us improve our guest experience. We have shared your concerns with the appropriate individuals to ensure this is not repeated. We also apologize for the issue you encountered in your bathroom and for the frustration it caused. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will address your comments regarding this, and thank you for your patience during this time. Best Regards, Nicole Smith Guest Experience Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa T wrote a review Jun 2022
Bradenton, Florida38 contributions62 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Hotel staff at front desk and the Pub restaurant were super friendly! We were nervous after reading recent reviews staying here. We picked this Westin for location! The Pub in the hotel has great food for lunch and dinner! Several other restaurants in walking distance. Rooms for a party of four are smaller with double beds! Overall nice hotel and we would stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Crawfish Boil wrote a review Nov 2022
Tuscaloosa, Alabama121 contributions106 helpful votes
Pros: Excellent location for BJCC concert. 9th floor room was quiet. AC worked well. Bed was comfortable. Cons: Only one wash cloth provided. Coffee packets were too large to fit in the Mr. Coffee basket leading to water overflow. Desk leg supports were broken. In house pub didn't have sufficient help so we left. No "thank you" from the front desk when we departed.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Birmingham
Responded Nov 14, 2022
Dear CrawfishBoil, Thank you for your loyalty to our brand. While we are happy to learn you liked our location and beds, we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. We are sorry for the issues you encountered in your guestroom and the inconvenience this caused you. We have reviewed your comments appropriately to prevent these concerns from repeating. We hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your trust on your next visit to Birmingham. Best Regards, Nicole Smith Guest Experience Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob wrote a review Nov 2022
10 contributions
An apparent misunderstanding, led to us not being able to use Bonvoy Gift Cards for our stay as planned. General Accountant Nicole Craft stepped in to more than make things right. The speed and generosity of her resolution exceeded expectations. Things are going to go wrong. If things had gone as expected, our expectations would have been met, and our stay at the Westin Birmingham would have been just another forgotten stay. When things did not go as expected, Nicole demonstrated a memorable commitment to customer experience excellence.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Birmingham
Responded Nov 2, 2022
Dear H3353MMbobf, Thank you for your feedback and for your loyalty to our brand. We are sorry for the issues you experienced during your visit; however, we are pleased that everything was resolved to your satisfaction. She is dedicated to providing genuine hospitality, and we will share your compliments. It was a pleasure accommodating you, and we look forward to hosting you again soon at The Westin Birmingham. Best Regards, Nicole Smith Guest Experience Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle wrote a review Oct 2022
New York City, New York62 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
We wound up staying here after stopping to check out another Marriot property in the area. The other property was significantly more expensive for a one night stay so we went to the Westin. After having a great stay at the Westin in Memphis, we were looking forward to another good experience. Unfortunately, the Westin in Birmingham was not up to par. The hotel itself is nice, as you would expect. The room/cleanliness; however, was subpar. The photos show the things that bothered me most: - There was a stain under the glass on the TV stand, a very large stain. - The comforter cover appeared to have stains. Likely it was badly stained and washed, but not good enough. The sheets underneath and pillowcases we're clean and white so I was comfortable enough to sleep there for the night. - Obvious mold/mildew in the shower - Stains and spots on the bathroom door Also, the upholstered chairs in the room didn't seem to be the cleanest and the carpeting in the hallways appeared very worn down in the center. The gym was ok, small, nothing great, but usable. Again, we only stayed for one night so I can't speak to much else besides the room but if this would have been my first Westin experience, I would not look to stay in another Westin in the future. Thankfully thought, the Westin in Memphis left a very good impression.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Birmingham
Responded Oct 11, 2022
Dear M G, Thank you for your review. We regret not meeting your expectations during your time with us. We apologize for the service issues you endured in your guestroom. We aim to provide a revitalizing stay for our guests, so we are sorry that was not your experience. We have shared your comments with our associates and taken proper action to ensure we do not repeat these concerns in the future. We are grateful for your patience in these matters and hope you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with the exceptional hospitality and accommodations you deserve. Best Regards, Nicole Smith Guest Experience Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JAD055 wrote a review Oct 2022
Irvine, California15 contributions47 helpful votes
Upon arrival I was thinking this should be a wonderful stay. Great location, well appointed lobby and very friendly front desk staff. The issue was house keeping. Despite asking for service over 6 time (no exaggeration) over my 3 day stay, I never once recieved service. Although it might seem to be a first world complaint, I really love returning to a freshly cleaned room. After all, isn't that included in the extremely high hotel rates we pay? Very disappointing. If you are like me and you expect full service at a full service hotel I'd suggest looking elsewhere while visiting Birmingham.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Birmingham
Responded Oct 10, 2022
Dear JAD055, Thank you for choosing us for your Birmingham visit. We apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered in your guest room and that your request was not honored by our associates. We regret the inconvenience this caused you and will share your concerns with the appropriate individuals to ensure this is not repeated. We are grateful for your patience and hope to have an opportunity to provide you with the enriching hospitality for which we are known. Best Regards, Nicole Smith Guest Experience Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
outoftownvisitor_11 wrote a review Sep 2022
Huntsville, Alabama168 contributions54 helpful votes
I've stayed at this property before and normally have nothing but nice things to say but something seemed to be off this particular visit. I arrived at the hotel at around 3:30 yesterday and was informed that the only room available was an accessible one which I didn't assume would be a big deal. The room itself was decent size but the shower is minute in comparison to that in a normal room. Housekeeping was still walking the floor so I asked what was going on with rooms available and was told there were several on the floor that were ready and they told me to go back to the front desk and just tell them I wanted to switch. Housekeeping was even kind enough to let me see the size of the shower in the regular room. I went to the front desk and was told that there were no rooms available by the staff at the front desk so I ended up being stuck with the small shower despite the fact that numerous clean rooms were vacant. It was a one night stay so I decided to just suck it up!!! The room itself looked like a few of the cleaning aspects had been overlooked. The floor definitely needed to be vacuumed. There was all kind of debris near the table and chair in the room. The body wash dispense in the shower was empty too. This was definitely not the experience I anticipated at a Westin property. This stay had me feeling like I was in a Budget Inn rather than a select Marriott property. Westin is still more modern than the Sheraton next door but I may have to explore other options if I need a place to stay in Birmingham in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Birmingham
Responded Sep 29, 2022
Dear outoftownvisitor_11, Thank you for taking the time to leave your constructive comments and your loyalty to our hotel. We apologize for the cleanliness issues and the other concerns you encountered in the assigned guestroom and that we were not able to relocate you to the other accommodations. We appreciate your feedback and will share your remarks with the appropriate individuals to ensure suitable actions are taken. We are grateful for your patience and hope you will reconsider another visit so we can show you the hospitality you deserve. Best Regards, Nicole Smith Guest Experience Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Byron W wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
This is not Westin level quality. Do yourself a favor and never stay here. The whole place smells moldy and looks dirty. Marriott needs to rethink the “Westin”tier for this hotel. I’m stuck here because I used my BonVoy points. Huge mistake. Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Birmingham
Responded Sep 23, 2022
Dear Byron W, Thank you for your loyalty to our brand. We apologize for the concerns you experienced during your time with us. We work hard to provide a clean and comfortable environment; therefore, we regret that this issue compromised your experience. We have reviewed your comments with our associates to prevent these issues from repeating. We hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your trust by staying with us again whenever your travels bring you to Birmingham. Best Regards, Nicole Smith Guest Experience Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paige wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
This is by far the worst hotel experience I have ever had. I love traveling and staying in hotels. We traveled for a conference and had a total of 10 rooms because we were taking a HUGE group. We booked all the hotel rooms ahead of time and got confirmations for each room. When we arrived, there weren't the total number of rooms we needed in the system. The man at the front desk was passive aggressive and argued continually with us even though we had printed confirmations from the hotel, showing that we had that number of rooms. After 40 minutes, we finally received the keys to all of our rooms after being made to feel horribly. After traveling hours from out of state and the front desk fiasco, everyone got to their rooms and every single one was dirty. Multiple rooms had blood (yes blood) on the sheets. One room was completely trashed with food everywhere and hadn't been cleaned at all. Most rooms didn't have towels at all or only had a 2 (we had 4 people sharing per room). My room had pubic hair on the bathroom floor and sticky hand prints all over the wood closet door. We called housekeeping several times, told the front desk several times, and nothing was done. One room got new sheets but they were brought and sat on the floor in the room and weren't even put on for us. Most of the rooms we had to just stay in dirty because nothing was done about it. There is an obvious mold/musty smell that makes all of your clothes damp and stink. We had a 4 night stay-- so not having clean rooms was really difficult. For how expensive it is, and being connected to a conference center... it sure read like a pay by the hour motel instead of a supposed 4 star hotel. This place needs shut down for unsanitary practices. All of the women at the front desk were so nice and helpful but often it seemed like things were just out of their hands. I wish I could remember their names because they were so sweet and helpful. It was only the man that was the worst. Housekeeping needs a serious overhaul and taught how to appropriately clean and sanitize a room. All of us came home and had to wash and sanitize everything that was in those rooms because of the filth.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Birmingham
Responded Sep 14, 2022
Dear paigedS885HC, Thank you for your evaluation of your time with us. We are truly sorry we did not provide you with the refreshing and revitalizing stay that you deserved. We take the cleanliness of our hotel very seriously, and steps are already underway to ensure this is not repeated. Also, we deeply apologize for the unpleasant occurrence with one of our associates you experienced during check-in. We never want our guests to leave with a contrary opinion and the instances you have outlined are not typical of our standards; therefore, we will escalate each of these concerns appropriately to guarantee that we serve you better in the future. We are very grateful for your patience and hope you all will consider giving us another opportunity to show you our commitment to providing each guest with an enhanced and meaningful experience. Thank you once more for staying with us, and we wish you all the best with your travels. Best Regards, Nicole Smith Guest Experience Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fizzy1991 wrote a review Jul 2022
Nashville, Tennessee5728 contributions460 helpful votes
+1
This was the saddest Westin I've have ever stayed at. The place was worn and dirty. We stayed four nights and had to beg for towels and the trash to be taken out. The sheets were NEVER changed and the room NEVER vacuumed. My stays at Motel 6 were better than this. The pub attached to the hotel was it's only saving grace. Don't stay here if you can avoid it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Birmingham
Responded Jul 28, 2022
Dear fizzy1991, First and foremost, we want to thank you for your loyalty to our hotels. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations with our services and accommodations. We are known for our attentive, seamless hospitality; therefore, we regret this was not your experience. We have reviewed your comments with our associates to prevent these issues from repeating. We hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your trust on your next visit to Birmingham. Best Regards, Daniel Baez Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$272 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesAlabamaBirmingham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
294
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WESTIN BIRMINGHAM - Prices & Hotel Reviews (AL)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Birmingham
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Birmingham?
Nearby attractions include The Birmingham Historic Touring Company (0.4 miles), McWane Science Center (0.7 miles), and Birmingham Museum of Art (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Birmingham?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Birmingham?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Birmingham?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Birmingham?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Birmingham?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Barrio, Bistro Two Eighteen, and Paramount.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Birmingham?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Westin Birmingham located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Birmingham.
Are pets allowed at The Westin Birmingham?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Westin Birmingham offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Westin Birmingham?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Sloss Furnaces National Historic Landmark (1.0 miles), Rickwood Field Park (3.2 miles), and Arlington Antebellum Home and Gardens (2.5 miles).