We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2221 Richard Arrington Jr. Boulevard North, Birmingham, AL 35203
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
Only 5 left at
$279
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$279
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/30/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
Only 5 left at
$279
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/01/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$279
Priceline$279
Westin.com$279
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (175)
360
Panoramas (48)
Room & Suite (203)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 05/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin Birmingham
Updated 05/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#17 of 84 hotels in Birmingham
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.3
Value
3.9
GreenLeaders Silver level
With a direct connection to the Birmingham-Jefferson Convention Complex (BJCC), a short trip to the University of Alabama at Birmingham and the Birmingham Zoo, and more downtown hotspots right outside our doors, The Westin Birmingham is the ideal staging point for your visit to Birmingham, Alabama. Our pet-friendly hotel is ready to help you start your day strong with a visit to our 24/7 on-site fitness center, or with a swim in our heated terrace pool with a view of downtown. We are also prepared to help make your event, meeting, or wedding the best it can be with our 58,000 square feet of event space featuring banquet halls, breakout rooms, and more. Whatever brings you to Alabama, treat yourself to a stylish break with The Westin Birmingham.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Patio
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
595Reviews14Q+A85Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 294
  • 156
  • 69
  • 35
  • 41
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Byron W wrote a review Sep 23
1 contribution
This is not Westin level quality. Do yourself a favor and never stay here. The whole place smells moldy and looks dirty. Marriott needs to rethink the “Westin”tier for this hotel. I’m stuck here because I used my BonVoy points. Huge mistake. Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Birmingham
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Byron W, Thank you for your loyalty to our brand. We apologize for the concerns you experienced during your time with us. We work hard to provide a clean and comfortable environment; therefore, we regret that this issue compromised your experience. We have reviewed your comments with our associates to prevent these issues from repeating. We hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your trust by staying with us again whenever your travels bring you to Birmingham. Best Regards, Nicole Smith Guest Experience Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa T wrote a review Jun 2022
Bradenton, Florida36 contributions61 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Hotel staff at front desk and the Pub restaurant were super friendly! We were nervous after reading recent reviews staying here. We picked this Westin for location! The Pub in the hotel has great food for lunch and dinner! Several other restaurants in walking distance. Rooms for a party of four are smaller with double beds! Overall nice hotel and we would stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Paige wrote a review Sep 14
1 contribution
This is by far the worst hotel experience I have ever had. I love traveling and staying in hotels. We traveled for a conference and had a total of 10 rooms because we were taking a HUGE group. We booked all the hotel rooms ahead of time and got confirmations for each room. When we arrived, there weren't the total number of rooms we needed in the system. The man at the front desk was passive aggressive and argued continually with us even though we had printed confirmations from the hotel, showing that we had that number of rooms. After 40 minutes, we finally received the keys to all of our rooms after being made to feel horribly. After traveling hours from out of state and the front desk fiasco, everyone got to their rooms and every single one was dirty. Multiple rooms had blood (yes blood) on the sheets. One room was completely trashed with food everywhere and hadn't been cleaned at all. Most rooms didn't have towels at all or only had a 2 (we had 4 people sharing per room). My room had pubic hair on the bathroom floor and sticky hand prints all over the wood closet door. We called housekeeping several times, told the front desk several times, and nothing was done. One room got new sheets but they were brought and sat on the floor in the room and weren't even put on for us. Most of the rooms we had to just stay in dirty because nothing was done about it. There is an obvious mold/musty smell that makes all of your clothes damp and stink. We had a 4 night stay-- so not having clean rooms was really difficult. For how expensive it is, and being connected to a conference center... it sure read like a pay by the hour motel instead of a supposed 4 star hotel. This place needs shut down for unsanitary practices. All of the women at the front desk were so nice and helpful but often it seemed like things were just out of their hands. I wish I could remember their names because they were so sweet and helpful. It was only the man that was the worst. Housekeeping needs a serious overhaul and taught how to appropriately clean and sanitize a room. All of us came home and had to wash and sanitize everything that was in those rooms because of the filth.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Birmingham
Responded 1 week ago
Dear paigedS885HC, Thank you for your evaluation of your time with us. We are truly sorry we did not provide you with the refreshing and revitalizing stay that you deserved. We take the cleanliness of our hotel very seriously, and steps are already underway to ensure this is not repeated. Also, we deeply apologize for the unpleasant occurrence with one of our associates you experienced during check-in. We never want our guests to leave with a contrary opinion and the instances you have outlined are not typical of our standards; therefore, we will escalate each of these concerns appropriately to guarantee that we serve you better in the future. We are very grateful for your patience and hope you all will consider giving us another opportunity to show you our commitment to providing each guest with an enhanced and meaningful experience. Thank you once more for staying with us, and we wish you all the best with your travels. Best Regards, Nicole Smith Guest Experience Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fizzy1991 wrote a review Jul 2022
Nashville, Tennessee5728 contributions454 helpful votes
+1
This was the saddest Westin I've have ever stayed at. The place was worn and dirty. We stayed four nights and had to beg for towels and the trash to be taken out. The sheets were NEVER changed and the room NEVER vacuumed. My stays at Motel 6 were better than this. The pub attached to the hotel was it's only saving grace. Don't stay here if you can avoid it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Birmingham
Responded Jul 28, 2022
Dear fizzy1991, First and foremost, we want to thank you for your loyalty to our hotels. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations with our services and accommodations. We are known for our attentive, seamless hospitality; therefore, we regret this was not your experience. We have reviewed your comments with our associates to prevent these issues from repeating. We hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your trust on your next visit to Birmingham. Best Regards, Daniel Baez Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tricia C wrote a review Jul 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
The first room we were checked into had a wad of hair in the shower & no washcloths at all. 2nd room had ripped sheets & Dirty floors as in candy from last guest in floor. 3rd room had multiple hairs on sheets, only 1 washcloth & dirty floors. We finally ended up in a 4th room and went to bed. AC wouldn’t cool well at all. Woke up to bites all over my legs. Another guest was complaining of bedbugs in front of us the next day as we were leaving!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Birmingham
Responded Jul 28, 2022
Dear triciac464, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your review. Relaxing and fresh accommodations are essential for every guest, and we apologize for the oversights in the guestrooms assigned to you. Proper action has been taken, and we are grateful for your patience. Furthermore, we are sorry for the specific issue you outlined. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and we hope you are doing well. You have our assurance that we will address your comments appropriately. Sincerely, Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lori Z wrote a review Jul 2022
Vero Beach, Florida21 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Room was outdated, dust and mold as you can see in the pictures- mattress looked clean, but there was no mattress cover just a “pad” no what you would expect from a WESTIN definitely NOT worth the money. Also, was only given 1 towel, 1 face cloth and 1 hand towel. 1 shampoo and a lotion?
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Birmingham
Responded Jul 23, 2022
Dear loriz655, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. Refreshing and rejuvenating accommodations are essential for an exceptional stay, and we apologize for the oversights in your guestroom. We have taken suitable action to ensure this is not repeated, and we appreciate your patience. We are grateful for your feedback as it helps us strengthen our guest experience. We hope you will give us another opportunity to make a favorable impression, and we wish you all the best with your travels. Best Regards, Daniel Baez Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
coloradograndee wrote a review Jul 2022
Ball Ground, Georgia36 contributions53 helpful votes
For a four star rating, this property falls very short. Not only was the service poor, I. E., Given information was never put into the record and my booking and bill were wrong even after I tried to correct it. Theproperty itself is shabby. I have never stayed in a hotel where my sheets were ripped and layers of dust on chrome and scratched and unpolished wood. It was very disappointing. I even went down and showed the picture of my sheets to the clerk at the desk and, although she said she would notify someone, I could tell by her expression that she wouldn’t. In addition, the pillow cases and dust ruffle were stained and had had noticeable red marks. Just about everywhere, the carpets looked like they needed cleaning. Elevators for shabby. I could go on.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Be sure to look at your invoice before you leave. Also, lower your expectations.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Birmingham
Responded Jul 5, 2022
Dear coloradograndee, We are grateful for your feedback. We are sorry we did not maintain the standards you should expect from us. We are disappointed to learn of the multiple issues you had during your stay, and we genuinely regret not meeting your expectations. We have shared your remarks and will use them as an opportunity to improve our accommodations. We are also sorry for the concerns you had with the billing. If you still have any issues, kindly reach out to the front desk. We appreciate your patience and hope you will consider a future visit so we can provide you with the personalized and meaningful stay you deserve. Best Regards, Daniel Baez Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Escape58778110246 wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
Stayed here for a convention. Start with the bright spot: Beniesha. She was the housekeeping supervisor we interacted with. She is by far one of the best I've met, going above and beyond what her job would require. She deserves five stars. We and others waited for a few hours for a room to be ready even though we came at check-in time. We paid for parking in addition to what we were charged each day, being told they would remove that charge at check out. They refused. We had a broken toilet seat and when my wife went to report it, the person at the desk said she'd take care of it, writing nothing down. The phones in the room did not work and if we used our cells there was no answer. What saved the day, see above...Beniesha. What was the worst was check-out. I asked for an itemized bill. The very rude front desk person said she is not authorized to give us a bill. That I would need to go to the Sheraton next door and talk to the manager there. I did that. He said the bill is paid and would not provide such a bill as my company was covering the bill. Now my own credit card is charged in addition to my company. Think twice is you wanting to use this facility and the convention center.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Birmingham
Responded Jun 28, 2022
Dear Escape58778110246, Thank you for the review of your time at our hotel. We are sorry that we did not provide you with the seamless and meaningful stay for which we are known. We strive to deliver refreshing, enhanced accommodations and exceptional hospitality to every guest, and we sincerely apologize for not meeting these expectations during your stay. We have shared your comments with our associates and will take the appropriate action to prevent these issues from happening again. Moreover, we are concerned to read about being charged again for your stay and the parking fee. We appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention and will be more than happy to take a closer look so that we can resolve your concerns to your satisfaction. On a slightly positive note, we are glad Beniesha stood out for the thoughtful service she provided. Your patience will be genuinely appreciated in the meanwhile. Best Regards, Daniel Baez Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Firstpersonisrael wrote a review Jun 2022
Bethlehem, Palestinian Territories62 contributions60 helpful votes
It was probably not a great idea to stay there from the start where weeks before my arrival I tried to call the hotel to ask some help with specific arrangements I needed and I had to call multiple times over a number of days before I was able to reach somebody. When I arrived at the hotel this week I was underwhelmed by the overall rundown state of the hotel, the furniture was worn the carpet was worn and much of the furniture in the lobby was stained. I stayed here because I have status with Marriott and thought it would be a treat to stay at the Westin hotel versus the lower end hotels in which I typically stay. I thought I would be in for a treat of some sort with a business lounge and a higher level of comfort. I found the overall service to be mediocre and special requests were unable to be accommodated. When I had called initially I was trying to get the name and email of the manager and nobody was able to provide that. It feels after staying there that there is no manager. and if there is a manager, that person is not doing a great job overseeing the maintenance and service of the hotel. I definitely learned that if I am back in Birmingham, this is not the hotel I will stay in.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Birmingham
Responded Jun 16, 2022
Dear Jonathan F, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We regret the difficulties you encountered initially in reaching out to us and apologize for any items that were overlooked with your room. We have addressed this with our staff, and we are grateful for your patience and all of your valuable feedback. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit the area. Best Regards, Daniel Baez Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brooke wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
If I could give zero stars I would. Absolute worst hotel I’ve ever stayed at. Rooms are filthy, front desk staff is the rudest in the United States, they have threaten to have Secuirty remove people from their rooms that have reservations, remove people from booked upgrades due to the overbooking, you can call the front desk for hours and they will not answer, they will come into your room with a DO NOT DISTURB on the door, then to you that you need to get out because you don’t have a reservation, they are unaware of putting you in that room in the first place, random charges on credit cards. The list goes on. First a foremost - customer service is a 0. Front desk goes straight to attitude and to throw you out for their mistakes. Good note I did finally see them actually using a vacuum for the first time after staying in the hotel for over 2 months. Sadly this hotel is in a booming part of a city that is thriving. They need to be trained and held accountable for their jobs. Corporate should have gotten involved a long time ago.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Birmingham
Responded Jun 14, 2022
Dear Brooke987654321, Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel. We are genuinely sorry for the occurrence with our associates and for the service issues in your guestroom. We strive to provide thoughtful and intuitive hospitality, and we are grateful for the feedback that helps us improve our guest experience. We have shared your concerns with the appropriate individuals to ensure this is not repeated. Additionally, we are sorry for any billing-related concerns that you might have. We are grateful for your thoughts on this matter and also for your patience. You have our assurance that we will address your comments appropriately. Best Regards, Daniel Baez, Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$272 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesAlabamaBirmingham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
294
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Birmingham
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Birmingham?
Nearby attractions include The Birmingham Historic Touring Company (0.4 miles), McWane Science Center (0.7 miles), and Birmingham Museum of Art (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Birmingham?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Birmingham?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Birmingham?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Birmingham?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Birmingham?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Barrio, Bistro Two Eighteen, and Paramount.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Birmingham?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Westin Birmingham located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Birmingham.
Are pets allowed at The Westin Birmingham?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Westin Birmingham offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Westin Birmingham?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Sloss Furnaces National Historic Landmark (1.0 miles), Rickwood Field Park (3.2 miles), and Arlington Antebellum Home and Gardens (2.5 miles).