We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book Direct For Lowest Price!
Booking.com
$88
View deal
Expedia.com
Only 4 left at
$88
View deal
Priceline
Only 5 left at
$87
View deal
Travelocity$88
Hotels.com$88
ZenHotels.com$102
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (25)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Comfort Inn
Updated 07/28/22

About

#50 of 84 hotels in Birmingham
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
3.9
Value
3.9
The Comfort Inn(R) hotel is conveniently located near Interstate 65, just minutes from the Birmingham- Shuttlesworth International Airport. This Birmingham, AL hotel is also near the Samford University, Birmingham Zoo and the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute museum. UAB Hospital, The Kirklin Clinic and VA Medical Center are just five miles from the hotel.The Birmingham-Jefferson Convention Complex and the University of Alabama at Birmingham are both close by. The nearby Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail features some of Alabama's best courses, with 11 sites and 468 holes of challenging golf.Enjoy shopping for that must-have item at the Colonial Brookwood Village mall or the Riverchase Galleria mall, featuring an array of department stores, specialty shopsand full-service restaurants. A variety of entertainment venues, cocktail lounges and restaurants can be found in the surrounding area, including several within walking distance.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Microwave
Refrigerator
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct For Lowest Price!
123Reviews0Q+A17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 35
  • 44
  • 17
  • 11
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Randy S wrote a review Jul 2022
Goodlettsville, Tennessee505 contributions92 helpful votes
This hotel is right off the interstate near restaurants and gas stations. They had clean rooms and good Wi-Fi and the bed was OK. The only disappointment was the breakfast. I stay in Comfort Suites all over and they have fairly consistent breakfasts, but this one had fewer food options. In fact, I drove to a Denny’s and got breakfast. Otherwise, most everything was good.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at Comfort Inn
Responded Jul 13, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm so pleased that you found us a clean and friendly place to stay. We take real pride in this hotel and serving guests like you, and I'm extremely happy that you had a such a peaceful stay. We look forward to having you with us again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael Foland wrote a review Apr 2022
Avon Park, Florida102 contributions33 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
After arriving to the Comfort Inn from Motel 6 down the hill on April 15th, we were greeted by Latoya Moorer at Check In. We told her what had happened to us, and she even helped us with the room rate. We stayed in room 101! The bedding was extremely comfortable, and everyone was so hospitable. The lady at Check Out (forgot her name) was extremely hospitable and cared about us as well. This is what true hospitality looks like! Next step... What bedding do you guys use, and where can I order it from? God Bless! If I come back to Birmingham, I now know where to stay! Thanks Latoya :)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for room 103! Great view of the mountain!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at Comfort Inn
Responded Apr 25, 2022
Dear Michael, Thank you for indicating that you would stay with us again. That's the highest compliment possible. Our goal is an excellent experience for every guest, and I'm pleased we completely satisfied. We invite you to stay with us again soon so you can experience the many positive attributes of our hotel again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zander24 wrote a review Jun 2022
Batavia, Ohio80 contributions10 helpful votes
The overall look of the hotel is nice. Maxine (Front Desk) was awesome. She advised me that she has been there over 24 hours without going home because no one wants to work and Managers don’t want to work weekends. I get sorry for her. She was great. As far as the room, we ended up moving rooms because of screaming kids next door and Maxine was great to assist with this. The new room was a lot quieter but the floor was sticking and probably needed a really good cleaning. It says it was cleaned to hospital standards but wrong, not even close. As far as breakfast was concerned, the only thing left when we got there around 8:15 was waffles and a few muffins. The only positive about this hotel was it is right next Jim and Nick’s BBQ. That food was awesome. The area was questionable as well. When we come back this way, we will definitely be staying somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at Comfort Inn
Responded Jun 6, 2022
Dear Guest, Here at the Comfort Inn Hotel, we strive to provide outstanding service and it is encouraging to receive confirmation that our efforts make a difference. I will be sure to share your compliments with my staff, especially with Maxine. Management and desk staff were reminded of their responsibility to see that our valued guests remember to be thoughtful of their fellow guests. Please note that we have noted all your observations seriously and have taken remedial steps to see that things have been fixed. We would ask that if your travels bring you back next year to allow us another opportunity to showcase our hotel and services. Thank you for writing about your recent stay! Sincerely Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mcmac53 wrote a review Feb 2021
Saint Cloud, Florida294 contributions110 helpful votes
Average, average, average. At night, at check in the clerk wore a mask. It got noisy enough to wake us up at 2:30 am. At 8 am the housekeeping staff was quite loud. Going to Breakfast Room for coffee and checking out, the management staff, male and female, felt that they were too important to wear masks and paraded around the lobby without. The male manager also thought it was a good idea, while not wearing a mask to use a leaf blower during an airborne pandemic to clean the common areas of the hotel. Ever hear of a vacuum cleaner? Do better. Peace
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at Comfort Inn
Responded Feb 22, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank for the stay and the comments. It is pretty serious and we never condone such things. The matter will be investigated and strictly acted upon. Anyway, our apologies for all the inconveniences. This is an uncommon occurrence, Request your understanding and continued patronage. Sincerely, Hotel Management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ladavis88 wrote a review Jan 2021
Michigan123 contributions58 helpful votes
The property was very clean, and looked very modern and updated. The bed and pillows were clean and comfortable. There was no carpet on the floor, so I didn't feel like I was walking in someone else's dirt. The beds in our room were small (doubles), but there were two of them, so my husband and I went back in time to when husbands and wives each had their own beds, lol The air conditioner was a little loud, but it basically acted as "white noise" in the room. There was a refrigerator and microwave, and large flat screen tv. The regular breakfast has been suspended due to covid, but they still provided cereal, breakfast bars, coffee and juice. It was a pleasant stop after a 12 hour driving day, and we will probably make this our stopping point when we make this trip again next year.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at Comfort Inn
Responded Feb 1, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay and your special appreciation for the microwave, cleanliness, and tv. We have taken note of your suggestions also. You can expect a further improved stay next time. Visit us again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christopher Talley wrote a review Dec 2020
New Orleans, Louisiana21 contributions34 helpful votes
I can tell this property has been renovated to the nines. The bed is soooo comfy, I didn't want to get up the next morning. The staff and I mean everyone of them are so friendly and nice. To me this is from top down. You can tell the owner Al takes personal pride in this beautiful hotel. Next trip through Birmingham I am staying here even if it is out the way.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at Comfort Inn
Responded Dec 13, 2020
Dear Guest , We thank you very much for your kind comment and we are glad to read that you enjoyed our room, bed and staff, We are very touched and inspired through your feedback, Also we will pass on this lovely comment to our staff, who will be happy to hear that they are also appreciated by our guests. We hope that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you back to our Hotel and look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CordovaHerb wrote a review Oct 2020
Cordova, Tennessee68 contributions14 helpful votes
This inn is in a great location and was a great value. Everything was clean and attractive. The "hot breakfast" was comical, three breakfast bars for the two of us, but considering the price we could afford breakfast out.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at Comfort Inn
Responded Oct 17, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at our property. We understand the disappointment with the breakfast due to the Covid- 19 issues, It is heartening to note that you had a pleasant stay otherwise. We will ensure an awesome stay next time for privileged guests like you, Looking forward to your next trip. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
parrotheadtx wrote a review Oct 2020
texas36 contributions36 helpful votes
Was NOT recognized as Diamond level Choice Privileges member. I arrived at 2PM, I was told check-in time was 3PM. Young lady at the front desk told me there were "no rooms available". The hotel looked virtually deserted to me but she insisted there were "no rooms available". I had to kill an hour in a town I have never been in before. Miraculously, at 3PM, suddenly there were "rooms available". As a Diamond level member, early check-in is one of the perks. Never had a problem before. Wait...They did not even look at my status. A different lady at 3PM checked me in. Again, no acknowledgement and she parroted the same spiel as the earlier clerk. Makes me wonder why I am loyal to this chain. Maybe Wyndham will get most of my future business. Facilities are okay, sothing special.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ashok Patel, Owner at Comfort Inn
Responded Oct 6, 2020
Dear Micheal, Thank for the stay and the comments. It is pretty serious and we never condone such things. The matter will be investigated and strictly acted upon. Anyway,our apologies for all the inconveniences. This is an uncommon occurrence, Request your understanding and continued patronage. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harvey F wrote a review Feb 2020
Saint Louis, Missouri28 contributions28 helpful votes
Check in was nice and efficient. The rooms were great, really liked the tile floors! Enjoyed the nice, hot breakfast! Many options were available. Would definitely stay again! There is also a laundry facility on site.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ComfortInnBirmingham, Hotel Manager at Comfort Inn
Responded Feb 13, 2020
Dear Guest, It has been a great pleasure having you as our valued guest. Nice to learn that you enjoyed the friendly service extended to you by our team. We really do appreciate you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Look forward to the pleasure of serving you again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager. Comfort Inn Birmingham.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Localgirl6 wrote a review Oct 2019
Martinez, California57 contributions13 helpful votes
We booked this hotel about 2 months in advance and asked for adjoining rooms. When we arrived we discovered our rooms weren't even on the same floor. The person at the front desk, Chris, said he could do nothing to accommodate us and proceeded to scold me for booking on Hotels.com, as we could not make special requests through a third party site. (Our next hotel said "of course your rooms are adjoining" because we made that request- through Hotels.com!) When we got to our room there was no chair- just an empty space where one should be. I went down to inquire about a chair and Chris told me that things were taken out of the room for painting and, again, scolded me for booking through a 3rd party. He said he would get me a chair and came out with a kitchen chair, saying that was the best he could do. Another scolding. No apology, no attempt to make things right. My husband went down later to ask about a better chair and Chris had the audacity to suggest we just come and sit in the lobby with our friends! The rest of the hotel was fine. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was fine. I just can't give more than 1 star because of the rude treatment and lack of hospitality we received at the front desk.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ComfortInnBirmingham, Hotel Manager at Comfort Inn
Responded Oct 30, 2019
Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for your stay at the Comfort Inn Birmingham. We are very much concerned with your feedback. Our apologies for the bad experience. Our endeavor is to offer a nice stay to all our guests but failed this time. Actions shall be taken to improve everything on priority and you can have a good stay next time. I hope you will reconsider. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$110 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
comfort inn birmingham, birmingham comfort inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Ramada Inn
LOCATION
United StatesAlabamaBirmingham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
115
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Comfort Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Comfort Inn?
Nearby attractions include Urban Air Adventure Park (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Comfort Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Comfort Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Comfort Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Comfort Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Comfort Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jim 'N Nick's, Red Pearl Restaurant, and Mr. Chen's Authentic Chinese Cooking.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Comfort Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Comfort Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Comfort Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Sloss Furnaces National Historic Landmark (4.7 miles), Arlington Antebellum Home and Gardens (2.6 miles), and Carver Theater (3.7 miles).
Is Comfort Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.