We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel

Save
Share
1000 Riverchase Galleria, Birmingham, AL 35244-2301
4 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$220
Hotels.com$220
Travelocity$220
Hyatt.com$220
Priceline$220
Trip.com$220
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (217)
Room & Suite (112)
Dining (21)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 84 in Birmingham
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.2
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
Welcome to Hyatt Regency Birmingham – The Wynfrey Hotel; a $20 million dollar renovation with untouched southern hospitality. The transformation includes all guestrooms, meeting space, Regency Club Lounge, public space, and food & beverage outlets. The hotel now offers 329 modern guestrooms with features and amenities that allow for a convenient and comfortable stay. Each guest room has the Hyatt Grand bed, an in-room safe, 42" flat panel TV and a mini fridge. All 32,000 square feet of meeting and event space, including the Wynfrey Ballroom and over 22 meeting rooms, have been elegantly appointed with contemporary updates. A revitalized sense of arrival with an updated lobby coupled with a new restaurant, Merk’s Tavern and Kitchen, and a Hyatt StayFit fitness center, will complement the time-honored southern hospitality that awaits you at the Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Salon
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Green
1813Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 954
  • 397
  • 220
  • 140
  • 104
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Pam S wrote a review Yesterday
Niceviville, FL2 contributions
More training of personnel needed before next special event/occasion. Communication between front desk members could be improved. Mattresses too squishy, hard to turn over, the mattress kinda sucks you in like soft taffy. Deep cleaning needed in bathroom, black mildew on grout in shower.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
LaDarrius wrote a review Yesterday
Birmingham, Alabama1 contribution
Person at check in was really slow had no sense of urgency what so ever with a long line of customer. She continued to chat and even eat with other workers as customers stood there. Bathroom was dirty had hair in the shower and hair on the ceiling and idk how that was even possible. Hotel room when I first got in was super hot and I thought maybe I'll cut the air down it did event cool off but when I left the room and came back it was right back hot again and made it very uncomfortable to sleep. We were given a room connect to anther room as well and we could legit hear everything happening on the other side. Ordered room service only to receive a tasteless unseasoned burger and instead of ketchup I was given a tub of salsa and 2 packs of mustard. No mayo either.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Kanteh K wrote a review Jun 27
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution
I came to the Hyatt Regency for a friend's wedding. The concierge were extremely friendly and welcoming to me. I enjoyed my stay. Only qualms was that It was a bit expensive for a smaller city and housekeeping did not come during the day. For $250 a night I expected the room to be cleaned.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Kanteh, We're happy to hear that our property was the perfect home base for you to relax after your friend's wedding. Please know that while we provide housekeeping service on every third day of a reservation, any extra amenities can be requested at the front desk. Overall, we're glad you had a lovely time, and we hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, The Wynfrey Management Team
Read more
Jay a wrote a review Jun 25
3 contributions8 helpful votes
Hotel management needs to be fired. Arrived after driving six hours to find the room I reserved wasn’t available cause they overbooked. The woman working the front desk said she couldn’t upgrade or compensate because “she has never worked the front desk and usually only handles the books”. There were numerous other angry guests checking in with the same issue. When they finally did find us a room the bathroom sink didn’t drain and several outlets weren’t functioning leading us to have to be moved again. The self park and valet park are mixed in together. So the valet guys get mad when you self park cause they can’t make tips when the hotel automatically charges $16 a day parking. The only positive of this hotel is it’s location. They advertise as a 4 star hotel and this is by far the worst 4 star hotel I can honestly say I have ever stayed at. Staff tries with what they have but clearly needs more help.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for offering feedback about your recent experience at our hotel. While we're glad you enjoyed our convenient location, we're sorry you were disappointed with several aspects of your stay. Your comments are important to us, and we will use them as we continually work to improve our guests' visits. Given another opportunity, we hope you'll consider allowing us to host you again should you return to Birmingham. Cheers, The Wynfrey Management Team
Read more
Brian B wrote a review Jun 24
Memphis, Tennessee1 contribution
Management had to be called three times to ask the 10 people partying in the room next door to leave. Took until midnight. Other people had complained as well, according to the front desk, but front desk said they were too busy checking people in to address the noise complaint (from 10pm until Midnight when they finally came up after third call to front desk). This is not acceptable for 400 dollar room rate
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Brian, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Birmingham. We hope you enjoyed your time with us. Your comments are important to us, and we will use them as we continually work to ensure our guests' comfort and rest. Please consider allowing us to host you again at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel. Cheers, The Wynfrey Management Team
Read more
mnellist wrote a review Jun 24
1 contribution
Stay was awesome ! Our teams have loved the location ( connected to mall) Shaunte was an awesome host and we are looking forward to coming back at the end of July and next summer! Cant beat the staff and prices!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel. We are delighted to hear that Shaunte and the rest of our team provided an exceptional experience for you. It was a pleasure to read your wonderful review, and we can't wait for your next visit. Cheers, The Wynfrey Management Team
Read more
DIOGENES L wrote a review Jun 23
San Francisco, California575 contributions439 helpful votes
Our upgraded room (bi level suite) was mostly amazing. Bedroom and full bathroom on top (15th) floor with living room and toilet on the 14th. Great for 2 people wishing not to see each other the entire time while in the room. Some cons....The sleeper sofa was nice but visibly not so clean. Front desk was not easy to reach at times. When I finally reached them to request a late checkout, the man said he will only allow 12.30 pm. When I reminded him that Globalists are allowed up to 4 pm, he just put me on hold. Eventually, I had to come downstairs and request to see a manager. She was almost not happy with my inquiry and said that front desk is in training and "would not have known that you are a Globalist". On the bright side, Globalists do get free parking with paid or award stays. The hotel is connected to a decent indoor mall, also Costco is a very short 2 minute drive away.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Diogenes, Thank you for taking a moment to leave us your comments. We apologize for any response from our staff that did not meet your expectations and have passed along your feedback so we can better ensure a quality experience for all of our guests. Still, we're glad you enjoyed your bi-level suite, and we hope to improve your perceptions in the future. Cheers, The Wynfrey Management Team
Read more
jaliah h wrote a review Jun 23
1 contribution
Absolutely loved my visit at the Hyatt regency! Mr.Randall was a great help and very professional. The hotel it’s self was beautiful inside and out and I had no issues my entire weekend stay ! Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Jaliah, Thank you for your recent stay with us! We're so glad you enjoyed our friendly staff and beautiful accommodations. Your recommendation of our property is greatly appreciated! We would consider it an honor to welcome you back and we hope to deliver another stellar visit in the future. Cheers, The Wynfrey Management Team
Read more
Braden O wrote a review Jun 23
1 contribution
Enjoyed the ride. Very talkative and nice guy. Took us from the hotel to first watch breakfast spot. Told us some stories and was a very safe driver . I would definitely ride with Antoine again and will be calling.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Braden, Timely transportation is often crucial to many guests, and we're glad that the available shuttle was able to assist you in keeping all of your appointments. We're also pleased that you found the driver to be personable, and we'll be sure to pass along your comments. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future, so don't be a stranger! Cheers, The Wynfrey Management Team
Read more
Kolton I wrote a review Jun 23
1 contribution
Great ride to first watch. Ride was smooth and relaxing. Antwonne was a great driver and very good at conversation. Got to our destination in peace. Jfjsnsbrjshxndjsbabajfnejajzndjwajxnnesjznenajxndwj
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Kolton, Thank you for your compliments! We're thrilled that our shuttle driver was able to deliver a smooth and friendly ride, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel in the future! Cheers, The Wynfrey Management Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$155 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
wynfrey hotel birmingham alabama
LOCATION
United StatesAlabamaBirmingham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
329
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Riverchase Galleria (0.05 miles), The Stardome (0.5 miles), and Hammer & Stain Birmingham (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Redlands Grill by J. Alexander's, Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q, and Firebirds Wood Fired Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Hoover Historical Sociaty (0.5 miles).