We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bessemer

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bessemer
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 163: English reviews
Kemp, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Good rooms, large bathroom, large breakfast area, nice pool and hot tub, exercise equipment, meeting rooms, nice staff. Small disappointments on the 2nd stay; TV remote would not work, nor did replacing the batteries or replacing the remote. Someone had stolen the toilet paper dispenser "roller" from the bathroom. The room REEKED of cigarette smoke; the whole hotel is supposed... More 

Helpful?
Thank GS2669
Management42, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bessemer, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with our services and amenities. We strive to give you a great experience, and I am pleased to learn that we were able to meet your expectations in many ways; though I regret to hear that you weren't thoroughly impressed with our tv remote and smell of smoke in your... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Been staying here for around 2 years,always good,close to shopping,resturants,gas stations,easy on-off exit from I20/59 interstate,well maintained hotel,well lit parking lot,rooms always clean,breakfest real good as always,staff very helpful if any problems arise,never had any problems,complaints,will comtinue to stay there ,there at least 8 to 14 days amount for job,never had any problems

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Marc C
Management42, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bessemer, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments and review regarding your most recent stay with us. I can't begin to express how much it means to our management and staff to hear from guests like yourself who have found our accommodations and services to be so welcoming and convenient throughout the years. We can't begin to tell you how... More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I do not normally do reviews. But, this experience was so bad that I felt compelled to write one. We were a little concerned when we walked in to the lobby to find filthy floors. After checking in, we walked into the room to find closet doors off the track and leaning against the wall, toilet paper in the toilet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Traveller555123
Management42, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bessemer, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. I apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bessemer hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived to check in but decided to cancel our reservation. The hotel is run down, smells bad and is filthy. The worst part of it are the unattended children running loose. From other reviews it looks like they are the staff's children. If you are looking to stay in Bessemer, keep looking.

Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
Management42, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bessemer, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as can be. We want you to experience the best value for your money, to feel comfortable, and to... More 

Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came in for a family event that stretched across 5 days. Our room was well-prepared and it was a nice bonus to see a real porcelain tub with granite surround. The breakfast was included and adequate (nothing special). I was a bit annoyed by the smell of smoke in the halls, a result of some rooms on our floor... More 

Helpful?
Thank drdon100
Management42, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bessemer, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We strive to give you a great experience, and I am pleased to learn that we were able to meet your expectations in many ways; though I regret to hear that you weren't thoroughly impressed with our breakfast and you smelled smoke . Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience... More 

Baton Rouge, La.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

Not a bad place to stay. Newer property, close to food and Walmart. Good, well-stocked breakfast, with eggs,sausage, and biscuits and gravy. Waffle iron is also there, along with cereals, fruit, and plenty of strong coffee. Room was above average, clean, open and not cramped.

Helpful?
Thank sascoach2003
Management42, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bessemer, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your compliments to our breakfast options and service. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the accommodations and service to be satisfactory. We're glad you had a great time with us and we look forward to serving you again More 

Lilburn, Georgia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

Do not stay here. This hotel is very poorly run and the staff is very unprofessional. We arrived late and when we arrived there was water all over the lobby floor where the pool had overflowed and the rooms were even more disgusting. We had dirty carpet and our floor had hairballs all over it. Its clearly not being cleaned... More 

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank mayfield2016
Management42, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bessemer, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated, though it is very disappointing to learn of the bad impression we made with the state of our accommodations. I am sorry for any rudeness that you encountered with this situation and I assure you that your comments have been addressed with our entire staff and management team to ensure that no similar incident occurs... More 

Travelers Rest, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

This hotel needs some major changes. The rooms were dirty, flies everywhere, and the rooms felt wet. I'm pretty sure the manager just had friends and family staying there because there were kids in and out of the staff area all morning. The breakfast was under stocked, dirty and I'm not sure the man restocking food even worked there. No... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca M
Management42, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bessemer, responded to this review

Thank you for reporting this incident you had in the hotel. We are already making reports about this so the management will be informed by this news. We are very sorry about your disappointment but rest assured, your concerns will be highly appreciated to better our services to our dear customers. We hope you can consider us again after the... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Great location, new hotel, lots of potential. But when u walk around there is litter all over the place, hallways, stairs, grounds. Now the room was nice, which was actually surprising. Large bathroom, very clean room. Its appears to me its a management issue, the attendants/employees just sit around when someone should be cleaning the grounds.

Helpful?
Thank Dwf7303
Management42, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bessemer, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and review regarding our high standards of cleanliness and great location. It is good to hear from you, though I'm sorry to learn that you did not fully enjoy the service, accommodations and hospitality that we hold to such a high degree of importance in our hotel. We greatly appreciate your time in bringing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bessemer
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bessemer Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Bessemer
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham/Bessemer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bessemer
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 13 in Bessemer
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 13 in Bessemer
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bessemer

Address: 4895 Academy Court, I-20/59 Exit 108, Bessemer, AL 35022
Location: United States > Alabama > Bessemer
Price Range: $71 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bessemer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bessemer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Bessemer
Country Inn & Suites Bessemer Hotel Bessemer
Country Inn Bessemer
Bessemer Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay