We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chengde Imperial Mountain Resort

Booking.com$148*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$171*
$148*
$171*
$148*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Chengde Imperial Mountain Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 27: English reviews
Start your review of Chengde Imperial Mountain Resort
 Click to rate
Beijing, China
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

We made a trip to Chengde from Beijing over the easter weekend. The hotel was absolutely beautiful, maybe even better than the pictures and what was expected. One disappointment was that we got a room in the basement although the hotel had available rooms on upper floors. A bit disappointed about that also considering the price. However even the basement...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iristaletta
Management response:

Dear Iristaletta, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your detailed and gracious review about experience you had while enjoying your recently staying at the Chengde Imperial Mountain Resort. From 1st, January, 2017, we redesign and improve our breakfast menu, added more western breakfast choices, but we know that we still need and have to make our...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 5, 2017

We travelled for a month in Chinal staying in some superb hotels - Six Senses, Angsana etc. We stayed here end October. Its a lovely hotel located exactly where you want it to be for visiting the temples and Mountain Resort. The latter is literally round the corner. The architecture is lovely. The staff were also lovely but had the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sparklex1
Management response:

Dear Sparklex1, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your detailed and gracious feedback and suggestions related to your October stay at our hotel. Continually improving our guests overall experience is our top priority. In fact, you’ve commented on two areas that we had identified as in need of improvement and we’re currently addressing; western dining options...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 16, 2016

A wonderfully traditional hotel but with modern facilities. Clean, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, nice restaurant and in close proximity to the Summer palace. A good choice for a short stay in Chengde.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CliveHelenFagin
Management response:

Dear Clive Helen Fagin, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your detailed and gracious review about experience you had while enjoying your recently staying at the Chengde Imperial Mountain Resort. I really enjoyed reading through your detailed description of our hotel and I also was happy to learn that you were ‘pleased’ with your overall stay...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile

Fantastic hotel in old chinese style but with western quality and cleanliness. Well kept rooms and surroundings. Just next to the palace gate. Pleasant staff (upgraded me right away as it was low season). Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ewa_Pinkowska
Management response:

Dear Ewa Pinkowska, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your detailed and gracious review about experience you had while enjoying your recently staying at the Chengde Imperial Mountain Resort. I really enjoyed reading through your detailed description of our hotel and I also was happy to learn that you were ‘pleased’ with your overall stay with...

Reviewed October 8, 2016

One of more expensive options in Chengde but worth it. We had a very nice and spacious family room on the ground floor for 3 family members. Coffee and shampoo etc is provided. It was comfortable although more efficient air conditioning would have been very nice. The shower has a frosted glass screen to the bedroom which is a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FromGB
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your detailed and gracious review about experience you had while enjoying your recently staying at the Chengde Imperial Mountain Resort. I really enjoyed reading through your detailed description of our hotel and I also was happy to learn that you were ‘pleased’ with your overall stay with us....

New Delhi, India
Reviewed April 30, 2016

The Hotel is situated within walking distance of the Summer palace. The building in the hotel were once a part of the palace complex. You feel that you are transported to the China of the Qing dynasty period in the hotel grounds. We went during a low tourist week and thoroughly enjoyed the quiet grounds. Hotel staff is very attentive....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank crispair
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your detailed and gracious review about experience you had while enjoying your recently staying at the Chengde Imperial Mountain Resort. I really enjoyed reading through your detailed description of our hotel and I also was happy to learn that you were ‘pleased’ with your overall stay with us....

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 14, 2015

Although a lot of the rooms are new build, the grounds and lobby and other buildings are all historical and beautiful buildings. My modern room was large, clean and comfortable. I'd definitely stay here again. The hotel is a two minute walk from the entrance to the Summer Mountain Resort.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YorkHiker
Management response:

Dear York Hiker, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your detailed and gracious review about experience you had while enjoying your recently staying at the Chengde Imperial Mountain Resort. I really enjoyed reading through your detailed description of our hotel and I also was happy to learn that you were ‘pleased’ with your overall stay with...

Shanghai, China
Reviewed October 6, 2015

I wasn't sure what to expect from a hotel sited within the grounds of the Emperor's summer resort but was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. The staff were very friendly and spoke some English. The interiors were modern and vaguely minimalistic in design (think Japanese/Danish) and the room was immaculate. The bed was also very comfortable. We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveller074
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your detailed and gracious review about experience you had while enjoying your recently staying at the Chengde Imperial Mountain Resort. I really enjoyed reading through your detailed description of our hotel and I also was happy to learn that you were ‘pleased’ with your overall stay with us....

Calgary
Reviewed May 2, 2015

It's in a great location right next to the Emperor's summer resort which is why we came came to Chengde. We chose this hotel because it used to be a part of the summer resort, and it did not disappoint. Friendly staff, gorgeous landscaping. FYI - while it has elevators, there are raised thresholds everywhere, a bit like a mini...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hk718
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your detailed and gracious review about experience you had while enjoying your recently staying at the Chengde Imperial Mountain Resort. I really enjoyed reading through your detailed description of our hotel and I also was happy to learn that you were ‘pleased’ with your overall stay with us....

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed April 5, 2015

The key advantage of this hotel is its location, against the summer palace, not far form the entrance. Its garden is absolutely nice, its architecture well in line with the local history. There are some "but" though... the rooms decoration is just simplistic, far below what we can expect from a 5 star. And the disaster comes at the breakfast......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JFChristin
Management response:

Dear JF Christin, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your detailed and gracious review about experience you had while enjoying your recently staying at the Chengde Imperial Mountain Resort. I am terrible sorry for give you the inconvenience and unsatisfied. I informed the Food & Beverages Manager to improve the breakfast quality already, and we increased...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Other (2)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chengde hotels
7.2 mi away
Chengde City Imperial Palace Hotel
0.0 mi away
Jinluan International Hotel
Jinluan International Hotel
#3 of 194 in Chengde
1 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yunshan Hotel
Yunshan Hotel
#55 of 194 in Chengde
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chengde Hotel
Chengde Hotel
#54 of 194 in Chengde
57 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shenghua Hotel
Shenghua Hotel
#33 of 194 in Chengde
16 reviews
8.8 mi away
Fumanjia Hotel
Fumanjia Hotel
#53 of 194 in Chengde
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Chengde Imperial Mountain Resort

Address: No.1 Bifengmen East Road, Chengde 067000, China
Location: China > Hebei > Chengde
Price Range: $115 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chengde Imperial Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Chengde Imperial Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chengde
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chengde
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Chengde Imperial Mountain Resort staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Chengde Imperial Mountain Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ground floor”
CliveHelenFagin, Nov 16, 2016 | Read review
“They have the cheaper rooms in the basement area. I suggest you pay a little more and book a room in the the ground or other floors.”
crispair, Apr 30, 2016 | Read review
“We loved the courtyard suites.”
PippaTrogs, Oct 31, 2014 | Read review
“If you prefer a room with sufficient daylight, don't book a semi basement room but a room at ground level or higher”
godelleiden, Oct 29, 2014 | Read review
“Be careful - the cheapest rooms are 3/4 underground”
jamiec464, Aug 7, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$148* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
TripAdvisor$148
Priceline$171
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates