We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Poblado Kimal

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Poblado Kimal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 90: English reviews
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed three nights at the Poblado Kimal. The rooms are clean, bathrooms also. The rooms are in individual yurt type of cabins. The environment is rustic and charming. Bed was very comfortable. Reception staff is very helpful. Wifi works well. I early enjoyed my stay and would definitely come back. The "excursiones" through Kimal were excellent. We did Valle... More 

Helpful?
Thank Monica R
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Poblado Kimal for 3 nights in November and loved it so much that we wanted to extend our stay but unfortunately they were fully booked. The hotel is located in the middle of San Pedro and the rooms themselves are fitting for the area. Just wanted to say a big thank you to the receptionist working in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bryan-Ryan
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It's a very nice hotel with individual huts which are very nice and cosy. Very wide selection of foods in the breakfast buffet and you get a welcome drink and a discount of 10% if you're in the mood for a relaxing massage. But the staff isn't really there for you, they seem to really don't care. Except for one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle1309
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2016 via mobile

Stayed 1 night at this very quaint hotel in San Pedro which we found to be rustic and charming and certainly blended into the environment. It was clean, spacious for a hotel in that area and quite comfortable.The hotel staff are to be commended for their eagerness to please their guests and were genuinely happy to be of service. Mention... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue C
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2016

This hotel shares the structure of Hotel Kimal, just across the street. The rooms are confortable and the restaurant is good. A little bit overpriced as all other hotels and restaurants in San Pedro. Breakfast is very complete, but if you order it in a box (very common since many daytrips starts early in the morning), it gets real poor.... More 

Helpful?
Thank dvts2016
pobkim, Director Comercial at Hotel Poblado Kimal, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments dvts2016. I´m glad you enjoyed the rooms and restaurant. I would like to respond briefly to your complaints. The noise you mention would be on account of your stay being over the period of Independance Day celebrations because the whole town is subjected to loud music till the early hours which is clearly not something the... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2016

Nothing negative to report about this hotel. Great location in the heart of (really small) San Pedro... but not on the main street so more quiet. Super clean, super staff. Looooved the individual huts, with a cute little balcony. The included breakfast is pretty solid, not just bread, jam, butter and juice like some other places. It's definitely an option... More 

Helpful?
Thank sleclerc
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2016

Excellent position just off the foot of the shopping / tourist street. Comfortable rooms with a nice atmosphere and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Has a swimming pool and spa, outdoor areas for relaxation.

Helpful?
Thank Hb02
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2016

You will stay in a hut with enough space for twin beds or a double bed with a simple but clean and functional bathroom. You will want to take a shower after the tours and visiting different sites in the Atacama desert. The huts made of sun dried mud bricks, hay and wood resemble a small village and will give... More 

Helpful?
Thank Taotenui
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2016

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff were extremely personable and helpful, answered all our questions and gave us suggestions where necessary. We had our own car so did not book and tours but they assisted us with directions and suggestions. The rooms are well appointed and warm. The restaurant was fantastic, service and food quality both of a very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hannah19192014
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2016

The hotel had a resort feeling. Each room was in a detached building set in a simple garden and connected to reception and the other rooms by a path made of timber planks. The room was comfortable with the usual amenities except for TV which may have seemed out of place in a frontier town where the single story buildings... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ernest H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

153 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (133)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.2 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#6 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#5 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kimal
Hotel Kimal
#13 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Casa de Don Tomas
La Casa de Don Tomas
#9 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#7 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
581 reviews
0.4 mi away
Altiplanico Atacama
Altiplanico Atacama
#8 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just off the main street, the 21 charming wood and adobe cabin-like rooms with terrace, distributed amongst the fruit trees and shady paths reminiscent in its arrangement and calm, of an ancient settlement – is Hotel Poblado Kimal. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Poblado Kimal

Address: Domingo Atienza esquina Caracoles | Centro Histórico, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range: $171 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Poblado Kimal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Poblado Kimal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poblado Kimal Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Poblado Kimal staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Poblado Kimal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I enjoyed room #41”
 of 5 bubbles monicar895, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms are quite equivalent. Unfortunately all of them will be reached by the noise coming from the street bars and restaurants.”
 of 5 bubbles dvts2016, Sep 26, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to the back south side of the hotel will avoid you hearing the sound of other guest dragging their trolley suitcases.”
 of 5 bubbles Taotenui, Jul 23, 2016 | Read review
“All the cabins are the same”
 of 5 bubbles Y5448UGkarenw, Feb 4, 2016 | Read review
“I was in 37 and 38 they were great !”
 of 5 bubbles yvonnec106, Jan 7, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay