We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Lion

Agoda.com$42*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Lion
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 398: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Lion
 Click to rate
Athens, Greece
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited Borovets during the easter of 2017. This period was the end of the season. Our first day in Lion Hotel was really bad. It was very noisy, full of kids running and screaming around. The dinner was poor and they run out of deserts as the kids ate them all in less than 15 minutes. At the swimming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kostas_relanti
LIONHotelsBG, General Manager at Hotel Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review, guest feedback is very important to us. We were indeed full with families with children for Easter and I am very sorry to see that this actually ruined your holiday. Our staff tries to control the behavior of the kids to the best of our ability but eventually it is the...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice hotel. Very modern, clean and well maintained. I got this with a package deal off wowcher and was really pleased with the standard of the hotel for the price I paid. I do think the food definitely needs improving as that was quite poor but other than that an excellent stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte W
LIONHotelsBG, General Manager at Hotel Lion, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte, Thank you for the great review. I can assure you we will try to address the food quality and selection so we can further improve the experience of our guests. Sincerely, Christian Ivanov GM

rishon lezion
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel very nice with nice pool and spa, staff very kind and nice forest and mountains view. But breakfast very poor although not many guests in the hotel. No vegetables no buffet not suitable for 4 stars hotel!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david b
LIONHotelsBG, General Manager at Hotel Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comment. We offer buffet breakfast when there is a certain amount of people in the hotel and a set menu breakfast when we only have few people staying in the hotel. You are completely right we need to work on improving the set menu breakfast and I can assure you we will...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 12, 2017

My wife and I visited for a weeks skiing 4th March. It was my wife's first time skiing so it was important for us to choose a comfortable hotel with good spa facilities (just incase she hated skiing). The Lion Hotel - Rooms: we were on the 4th floor looking out onto the forest, we had a large balcony which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matthew H
LIONHotelsBG, General Manager at Hotel Lion, responded to this review

Dear Matthew, Thank you very much for the great comment and kind words. It is really satisfying for us to see that we are managing to meet the expectations of our guests and keep up with the high standards we are trying to establish. We are already looking forward to welcoming you again next winter! Sincerely. Christian Ivanov General Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed April 6, 2017

Some parts of this hotel were good - the pool, the spa facilities, the large size rooms, excellent cleaning staff but everything else was quite bad. Food is pretty bad, not worth paying extra to stay here for it and the ski bus they provide is a joke - no room to fit enough people in and ends at 6pm,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BarbieMegaTraveller
LIONHotelsBG, General Manager at Hotel Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, There is nothing else I can do after your comment but to apologize for the inconvenience we caused you and take full responsibility for the poor service we provided. I will do my best to improve the flaws you pointed out without "kidding myself everything is going well". I do however believe that this is not the standard...

Reviewed April 5, 2017 via mobile

Accommodation at the hotel is excellent, lovely spacious rooms. However, there is a need for more wardrobe/drawer space. The standard of food in the restaurant was dreadful. There was nothing healthy, not a trace of brown bread, or anything even close to it at breakfast, nor any edible cereals. Each night we hoped for maybe one nice option at dinner,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Reidhchundul
LIONHotelsBG, General Manager at Hotel Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for finding time to share your experience with us. I apologize for the uninterested behavior of my colleagues and I consider it a personal failure as a manager to motivate them after the end of the active ski season. Sincerely, Christian Ivanov General Manager

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 27, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Lion earlier this month for a week after booking a ski holiday through Balkan Holidays and had no complaints at all. Having stayed in other hotels in the resort this one by far exceeded our expectations. It is not 5 star luxury but is warm, comfortable and just what you need after a day on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AbsF89
LIONHotelsBG, General Manager at Hotel Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful comment. We are very happy we were able to exceed your expectations and we hope to have the pleasure of your visit again. Sincerely, Christian Ivanov GM

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 22, 2017

Just back from our 3rd year running at this delightful friendly warm hotel. This year with extended family. Each year we see improvements, especially important this year is the new non-slippery tiling around the swimming pool. Food is plentiful and full of variety. We used the spa area for the first time and really enjoyed it. As usual we enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Virginia B
LIONHotelsBG, General Manager at Hotel Lion, responded to this review

Dear Virginia, Please, allow me to express the gratitude of the entire staff, Rosi included, for your wonderful comment. We are looking forward to welcoming you again next year! Sincerely, Christian Ivanov General Manager

Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 19, 2017

We stayed a week, skiing, at Hotel Lion, and found it comfortable and pleasant. The staff were friendly and helpful, though they emphatically could not help me with my request for a thinner pillow which implies I wasn't the first to ask. All the pillows were uniformly thick - very thick - and I had to take the pillow cases...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peronelle
LIONHotelsBG, General Manager at Hotel Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind comment. We are aware of the fact our pillows could prove to be too thick for some and we are working on ordering a few thinner ones this year. We provide instant and typical machine coffee at breakfast, as well as decaf. Espresso is always an option to be ordered from...

Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

No heating during the day, cold rooms, old furniture different from the pictures on the hotel site. The food is low quality. You have to pay for the parking of the hotel!!! In the rooms smells bad, it is humid inside. At all 3* hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neli N
LIONHotelsBG, General Manager at Hotel Lion, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comment, guest feedback is extremely important to us. We are very sorry about your not so pleasant stay with us but I can however assure you that the furniture we used for the pictures on our site is absolutely the same as the furniture in the rooms. Bar the flowers. Sincerely, Christian...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

278 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (219)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (109)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Borovets hotels
0.8 mi away
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
#3 of 29 in Borovets
310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rila Borovets
Hotel Rila Borovets
#6 of 29 in Borovets
761 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Yastrebets Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
Festa Winter Palace Hotel
#10 of 29 in Borovets
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radina's Way Hotel
Radina's Way Hotel
#7 of 29 in Borovets
206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Club Hotel Yanakiev
Club Hotel Yanakiev
#5 of 29 in Borovets
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In one of the more peaceful spots of Borovetz at the Rila Mountain, the renovated Lion Hotel Borovetz offers an indoor pool and a free shuttle service to the lifts.Each hotel room features a TV, a minibar, a telephone and private bathroom with a bathtub.You can work off some excess energy in the fitness center or relax in the sauna.Fine cuisine is served in the Lion Hotel's 2 restaurants, including a traditional 'Mehana' where you could sample Bulgarian food and drinks. Alternatively, the many fireplaces of the lobby bar make for an inviting sight after a day out in the mountains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Lion

Address: No. 21, Borovets 2010, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Borovets
Price Range: $41 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lion Borovets
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Borovets
#5 Romantic Hotel in Borovets
#6 Family Hotel in Borovets
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Lion staff and other travelers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Lion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“if you're not happy with a room, I'm sure the staff would change it, depending availability”
545virginiab, Mar 22, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a better room if you are given a poor one, as we were initially.”
Peronelle, Mar 19, 2017 | Read review
“One side of the building looks out onto the slopes but the hotel is in a forest. Nowhere in borovets is going to be a hotel with a view”
Casey168, Feb 13, 2017 | Read review
“avoid rooms on 2nd floor near games room.”
bobcar25, Jan 24, 2017 | Read review
“away from party music if you want a quiet night”
ginovandevelde, Jan 3, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Agoda.com
$42* /night
View Deal
HotelQuickly$74
Priceline
Elvoline
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates