White Rock Castle Suite Hotel & Wellness

White Rock Castle Suite Hotel & Wellness

Akad. Daki Jordanov Str. 22, Balchik 9600 Bulgaria
the lobby
Traveler (170)
Room & Suite (66)
Балчик. Исторический музей. Античная скульптура.
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#4 of 23 hotels in Balchik
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.0
Value
4.2
White Rock Castle —a unique suite hotel on the Bulgarian coast, with spacious rooms designed for both long stays and for a short week-end break. Great location, near the entrance to the Botanical Garden in Balchik.All rooms White Rock Castle, Suite Hotel are decorated in an elegant modern style. Every room is equipped with a flat screen TV, air conditioning system, working desk, personal safe, with Wi-Fi free of charge we also take care of slippers and a bathrobe.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Car hire
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Romantic

Location

Akad. Daki Jordanov Str. 22, Balchik 9600 Bulgaria
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 63 out of 100
63
Varna Airport
20.3 mi
See all flights
151Reviews6Q+A15Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 56
  • 57
  • 17
  • 12
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Larisa C wrote a review Mar 2021
Bucharest, Romania327 contributions107 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
White Rock Castle is a beautiful hotel with amazing services and kind staff. I laughed myself to tears seeing my dad jumping in the pool and my mom grabbing to my watermelon floatie for life :)) It was a much needed break and I loved the little beach from Balchik for sunset, but during the day we’ve spent most of the time at the pool. It is super large and with a kids dedicated area, good music and a pool bar. Everything you might need for a nice vacation. Our room was super clean and nice, extremely close to the pool, so we would just open the window and get right on the sun lounges.
The breakfast was an open buffet with everything from fruits, to omelets, cheese, yogurt with oats and passion fruit and so much more. So each morning we’ve had a lazy breakfast, then fun at the pool, after lunch we would go to the Botanical Garden which was just across the street and then went on a nice walk on the beach till that wooden deck from my previous post. It was a nice getaway and I’m glad I got to do it with my parents. Truly recommend White Rock Castle Suites for a great family summer holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Violetta wrote a review Sep 2020
5 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel as we were making a road trip around the north coast of Bulgaria.
The hotel is clean and quiet and offers a free underground parking with indoor access to the elevators. It’s on the main road which makes traveling easy. The hotel is also very close to the famous Balchik Castle and it’s Botanical gardens, which lead directly to the beach. Definitely nice, if you are a first-timer here.

However, the hotel is not very close to the main pedestrian walking lane, which is by the beach and has all the nice restaurants around. You can either take a 15-20 mins walk or go by car. There are free parking spots.

In general we had a pleasant stay in the hotel, and recommend if you are a traveler and staying for a short weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adriana T wrote a review Sep 2020
Voluntari, Romania1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an apartment for one night. Very comfortable, the room is big enough, with 2 bathrooms, the personnel is very friendly and ready to help at any time. Everything was just great for us. The breakfast is good, but nothing special.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Loredana A wrote a review Aug 2023
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice place, clean room, good view to pool and the town. Quite and relaxing. They rent bikes which is great. Food is quite dietetic with vegetables, eggs and cheese, not too much meat which was good for us.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
transilvania2015 wrote a review Sep 2023
Bucharest, Romania18 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is just near the Castle of Queen Mary. The stuff professional. The rooms are comfortable,, large rooms, very nice bathrooms. Clean and well decorated. The breakfast very good. Bar and very nice garden. A garage and parking place for free.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: book this hotel if you want to visit the Castle.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sab2na wrote a review Apr 2015
Haifa, Israele43 contributions72 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
we booked 2 rooms (bed and breakfast) -- the one with bathroom was with balcony and sea view -- the other one -- no view. both room were large and clean.
nice design in the hotel and in the rooms

very poor breakfast under expectations .(not for a 4 stars hotel at all) ..not even a glass of juice/water -- only coffe or tea
for espresso we had to pay suplimentary
(the worst breakfast from our trip)
the restaurant and the bar were not open (not for lunch and not for dinner) so we have to drive to find a restaurant - for people without a car it could be difficult
in the room with kitchenette there were no pots for making even a coffee/tea -
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Preslava3, Front Office Manager at White Rock Castle Suite Hotel & Wellness
Responded Jun 18, 2015
Dear guests thank you very much for youre remarks, we take every oppinion very seriously so every new visit in our hotel is made better than the previous one. We will be expecting you next time when you visit Bulgaria to proove you that we offer the best service in the region.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel M wrote a review Jul 2014
1 contribution5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in White Rock Castle hotel with my family (2 adults and 3 kids) for a week and we have fantastic time there, everything was perfect, location is the best if you want to visit Regina Maria castle, staff is superb and room cleaned everyday. With a big pool for adults and other for kids, restarurant is excellent, great value for money, we will definitely be back
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Preslava3, Public Relations Manager at White Rock Castle Suite Hotel & Wellness
Responded Jul 15, 2014
Dear Daniel M and family, It is great to read here that your holiday at White Rock Castle, Suite Hotel was nice and enjoyable. We would like to thank you for sharing your experience and to assure you that you and your family are always welcome in our hotel!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathryn D wrote a review Sep 2017
Edinburgh, United Kingdom1,051 contribution430 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful stay here for 6 nights in August. On arrival we were upgraded from a junior suite to a 1 bedroom suite, which was lovely and airy and spacious, with a balcony and two chairs and table with a sea view. Fridge, 2 cooking rings, microwave, kettle, very limited cutlery and crockery but we ate out every night in any case. Large bedroom with absolutely loads of storage and very comfortable bed. Excellent air conditioning. Slightly small bathroom, but good shower. Large couch with coffee table and dining table and four chairs. Everything nice and light coloured and airy. Television with lots of channels, many in English (also French and German).

I'll address other people's complaints on TripAdvisor:

English speaking - very good English speaking by the receptionists, who were always lovely and friendly and happy to help.

Cleanliness - our room was cleaned every day, including washing floors, changing towels, bathroom. Sheets changed every other day. The whole hotel seemed to be full of cleaners at times!

Breakfast - not much changed each day but plenty of food and constantly being replenished, even just before breakfast closed at 10. Cereals, yoghurt, bread, rolls, butter and jam. Hot food - scrambled egg, various sausages, bacon, tomatoes. Salad stuff, an excellent selection of good quality cold meats and cheeses. Fresh pastries and an abundance of fresh fruit. Three choices of juice - orange, peach and apple. Reasonable coffee, or you could pay extra to have cappucino, latte etc. Pleasant breakfast area which becomes the restaurant, with conservatory area. Very busy staff - constantly bustling around cleaning up tables, but still very friendly.

Wi-fi - different user names for different parts of the hotel, but never had a problem connecting.

Swimming pool - plenty of sunbeds and chairs and umbrellas, so never a problem finding one. Pool looked extremely clean. Pool towels available from pool bar (not really used as a pool bar), although a couple of times we were unable to get any due to laundry delays and the lifeguard/pool attendant was unbelievably unhelpful - preferring to sit with her friends, so we took towels from the room. Even when the towels were brought, she made no effort whatsoever - the only member of staff we met in the hotel who was unhelpful and unfriendly. Drinks at pool bar overpriced - more expensive than the actual bar - unsurprisingly with few takers!

One downside - some of the corridors, such as the one leading to the pool, were very dark, making them look a bit dingy. Parking wasn't a problem for us, not having a car with us!

Ate here at lunch time a couple of times - buffet for LV 14. Good selection or you could choose a la carte. Drinks reasonably priced at LV 2.50 for a beer and served promptly and with a smile! Excellent work by the two waiters.

Two supermarkets next to the hotel and four restaurants on the road leading down to the Botanical Gardens with very reasonable prices and excellent selection of Bulgarian food. Local buses down to the beach or the hotel runs a free shuttle in the morning, returning at lunch-time.

All in all an absolutely excellent stay and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Not luxury, but you're not paying a luxury price !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Firicel M wrote a review Oct 2017
Vienna, Austria60 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is 300 meters away from the Queen Mary's Castle. The room we chose was one with a double bed. The room where we were accommodated was 201, a chic, clean, quiet room ... but with some deficiency: lack of batteries remote control air conditioning (the only source of heat), lack of hot water ... in the morning of day 2 connected to a suite where the boiler is there, the boiler was turned off ... and 2 hours was not hot water from 8 am to 10 am (there was a telephone at the reception, no one came, I went down ... and I was explained that it is that closed boiler ... solved the problem after 2 hours ... what if we had to leave earlier ???) SPA area is SUPER: two types of jacuzzi, wet and dry sauna, Scottish showers - the entrance is 10 leva Breakfast was good, ham - various assortments, omelette, very good cheese, fresh croissants, roses jam, cereals, fruit juice and coffee. reasonable 2.5 leva a large beer of 0.5l draft, a 7 leva pizza, various pasta assortments at 8 Left. They also have free underground parking for hotel guests.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucian C wrote a review Aug 2015
82 contributions29 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has "good bones" and with a little attentions to details and some improvements can reach a true 4 * rating. 1st thing that they need to change is their catering service/kitchen staff because food is terrible, no use to repeat what the others allready said, I can only confirm it. Another good thing would be to check the room functionality before giving it to the customers; we stayed for 2 nights and we had 2 problems with our room: when we arrived the AC was not working( in august) and because it was holiday nobody could fix it that day; in the second day there was no hot water, it seems that there is one boiler for two rooms so if the room with the boiler is vacant then somebody from the hotel must restart the boiler, you only find out this trick after a visit to the reception.
The best things about this hotel are the location (near the botanic garden and the castel which are the best things to visit în Balchik), SPA area,the rooms and btw internet connectivity was ok in our room.
Have a nice vacation!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from wrchotel
Balchik, Bulgaria
Dear Susan, we are happy to get your question. Balchik is a beautiful destination with great number of activities to do & places to visit. ROMANIAN QUEEN MARIA’s PALACE “QUITE NEST” (ALL YEAR) 300 meters from the hotel. Romanian queen summer residence builded in 20th century as a meeting place with a loved one. BOTANICAL GARDEN 250 m from the hotel. The territory of the park is 65 km2, with 3 000 species of rare and exotic plants, 200 species of trees, 250 species of cactuses. Often hosts: art expos, music & film festivals, weddings, interactive games. CULTURE in Balchik (ALL YEAR) Archeological museum , exhibits 4000 BC & from Cybele goddess temple. Ethnographical museum. Art gallery. Oldest school in the area. BALCHIK PROMENADE Côte d'Azur Great choice of restaurants along the coast & over the water. Foie gras, mussels, fresh sea food, great wine. SHOOTING FROM A REAL GUNS (APRIL – NOVEMBER) Great open location.Qualified instructors (a champion of Bulgaria in sport shooting).Hand gun to a stable target & skeet shooting. Can be in a championship format. HORSE RIDING (ALL YEAR) 10 km Qualified instructors.Beautiful riding areas: Beach or riding manege.Optional riding in a forest with a picnic. PHOTO HUNTING (ALL YEAR) Incredible experiences. Different animals depending on a season & good luck. PHOTO TOUR (ALL YEAR) Award winning photographer. Individual or group photo tour with a personal professional photo shooting. Tailor made program which includes lectures, editing & photo shooting in selected areas. GOLF COURSE (MARCH – DECEMBER) 12 km 18 holes, designed by Ian Woosnam. Member of the BGA and the EGA. 6100 m golf course EGA Slope System- Slope 128; Rating 70. Green Area- 11 560 m2 Tee’s Area- 36 000 m2 Fairway’s Area- 222 000 m2 Rough Area-580 000 m2. Lakes- There are 5 lakes with total area of 33 000 m2. BEACH (SUMMER) 400 m Daily scheduled shuttle to the sandy public beach (summer). Choice of 4 different beaches nearby from 400 m to 10 km way from the hotel. You can choose sandy or rocky. Albena, Kranevo sandy beaches - 10 km to the south; Tuzlata area, Kibela, Tulenevo to the north. TUZLATA CURING MUD (ALL YEAR) 5 km from hotel. Warm mud in Tuzlata rehabilitation center (all year) Open air mud (June - September). It is the main method for treating diseases of the musculoskeletal system, peripheral nervous system and the spinal cord, as well as gynecological and other conditions. PARAGLIDING (APRIL – OCTOBER depending on the weather) Tandem & single flights. Paragliding school. Flying over the sea, fields or famous monuments. YACHT CRUISES (SUMMER) Trip on board the yacht "Shaman". Departure from the Port of Balchik. Sea picnic, fishing and water sport. Dinner on-board + fireworks. Trip to Cape Kaliakra. KAYAKING (SUMMER) Private & group kayaking trips in various locations, trip to Cape Kaliakra. CAPE KALIAKRA One of a hundred most famous and interesting sights of Bulgaria. Historical Battle place WINE DEGUSTATION (ALL YEAR) Bulgaria 2nd largest producer of wine in the world in the 1980s with unique types: Dimyat, Mavrud Internationally recognized & award winning Queens’ Winery House, 300 m from hotel Exclusive wines: aronia wine, wine aperitifs with honey, with almonds, with Bulgarian rose, snow wine, cantaloupe digestif, dessert wine with smoky aftertaste, pumpkin digestif, aged brandy. We hope this gave you an idea & an inspiration to come.
Answer from gmwrchotel
Dear Sean, At the hotel we have the following: - open air kids playground and kids room inside the building - 25-meter swimming pool supervised by life guard + pool bar - professional equipped fitness room As for the night bar we can recommend a bar in the Marina City complex on the sea shore.
Answer from wrchotel
Balchik, Bulgaria
Hello Hernies, thank you for your question. Please give us your contact email adress and we will be happy to advise you some good golf courses with current costs. With best wishes & looking forward for welcoming you here.
Answer from wrchotel
Balchik, Bulgaria
Vicki, we will be happy to arrange an airport transfer and see what we can do about a local entertainment. In 2 bedrooms apartment there are 2 beds (Twin/ Double) and 1 extendable sofa, suites for 6 people. Please give us all necessary details as soon as possible and we will be happy to take care of your holiday. Lorenzo, thank you for your comments.
transilvania2015 wrote a tip Sep 2023
Bucharest, Romania18 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"book this hotel if you want to visit the Castle."
Read full review
ondrejpeki wrote a tip Jul 2019
Prague, Czech Republic26 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is better to have rooms on the south and in the higher floors."
Read full review
Bogdan M. wrote a tip Jul 2019
Bragadiru, Romania22 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid junior suites located at first floor with pool view. It is not a good choice."
Read full review
John C wrote a tip Aug 2018
Wickersley, United Kingdom51 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel has some level changes which would be a problem for wheelchairs. Ask when booking. Best views from the front."
Read full review
bfredericksen wrote a tip Aug 2017
Munich, Germany20 contributions20 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the junior suite or better. The junior suite came with free spa access."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Balchik area.
PRICE RANGE
$41 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BulgariaDobrich ProvinceBalchik
NUMBER OF ROOMS
76
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WHITE ROCK CASTLE SUITE HOTEL & WELLNESS $41 ($̶9̶6̶)

Frequently Asked Questions about White Rock Castle Suite Hotel & Wellness
Which popular attractions are close to White Rock Castle Suite Hotel & Wellness?
Nearby attractions include Palace and Botanical Gardens of Balchik (0.3 miles), Queen's Winery House (0.3 miles), and Ceramic Studio Mildov (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at White Rock Castle Suite Hotel & Wellness?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at White Rock Castle Suite Hotel & Wellness?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to White Rock Castle Suite Hotel & Wellness?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bistro Kestena, Restaurant Selena, and Peperoncino Balchik.
Are there opportunities to exercise at White Rock Castle Suite Hotel & Wellness?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
All Balchik HotelsBalchik Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BalchikHotels near White Rock Castle Suite Hotel & Wellness
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars