We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sampa Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sampa Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sampa Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 54: English reviews
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

I quite literally stumbled upon the hostel after (perhaps unwisely) deciding to wing it as far as accommodation plans on arrival in SP but boy was I glad I did. The location is tops and the staff are super-friendly and only too happy to share their knowledge of all the city has to offer. The dorms are modest but scrupulously... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Itopa L
sampah2014, Proprietário at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments! It´s really good to know that you had a nice time at the hostel and Vila Madalena, we are focused in give all the information that the guest need and also try to make this experience unforgetable. Hope to see you again around here! Best Regards, Sampa Hostel More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015 via mobile

The app won't me go back that far, but I stayed here in the Fall of 2008. My friend and I had a blast. The complimentary breakfast was good and Gonçalo was very helpful with directions and recommendations. He even introduced us to some cool locals and we randomly ran into him out one night dancing and enjoyed some great... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Merlin W
sampah2014, Proprietário at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Merlin, it´s time to come back! Gonçalo is still here and Vila Madalena is still an amazing place! Hope to see you again! Best regards, Deborah More 

South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

Was my first time I traveled to Brazil ... I felt relaxed, at home and the staff are always willing to assist you the best they can. There are always a respect for the next person. Whatever you need ... According to my experience ... SAMPA HOSTEL will always do their best. Also based at a very safe area ...... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Quin v
sampah2014, Proprietário at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Quentin! It´s time to come back! It was a pleasure to have you here with us, hope to see you again! Best regards, Deborah More 

Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

Very friendly staff and clean hostel. Has a very nice bar where I could make friends during my stay and discover the city with other BackPackers. Close to the popular bar area of the district. Well connected to the city center by metro. It is a safe area within Sao Paulo. I would definitely stay there again if I go... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Zsuzsi85
sampah2014, Proprietário at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks for your words! I´m glad that you had a nice experience here with us and at Vila Madalena, that is, as you said, a safe and wonderful neighborhood! Hope to see you again in your next trip! Best regards, Deborah More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

Sampa is a friendly, colorful hostel! The staff is super nice and so helpful, and made everyone feel comfortable. There were lots of fun events for hostel visitors. The hostel is in a great location in Villa Magdalena, so easy to get around, friendly, fun and safe! :-) Delicious morning breakfasts included with the stay!

Helpful?
Thank Olivia W
sampah2014, Proprietário at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Olivia, thanks for your comments, ita was really nice have you here with us! Hope to see you again! Best regards! Sampa Hostel More 

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

Great stay at Sampa Hostel: I had a great time at Sampa hostel! The staff is very kind and helpful and assists you with tips for Sao Paulo. The area is perfect to go out and safe as well. Enjoy your stay!

Helpful?
1 Thank favio_tps
Deborah_Cavalieri, Proprietário at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

We are glad that you had a nice stay here with us and had a good experience in Sao Paulo, hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Deborah More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015 via mobile

This place was recommended to be by Leo of Leo's clan hostel in Paraty, and it did not disappoint! Located conveniently in a quiet area of Vila Madalena, 10 minutes walk from the subway, the place is quiet, but still only 2 blocks away from lots of bars and restaurants. Decent, Brazil typical breakfast, nice common area (which is outdoors,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sascha L
Deborah_Cavalieri, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Sascha, thanks for your words! I´m really happy that you had a nice time here with us! Hope to see you again here maybe to play some guitar hehehe!! Best regards! Deborah More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015 via mobile

I can't fault this place. The bedrooms are clean and well equipped with lockers (and key given to you at reception), a personal plug, light and a small box to put personal possessions in are fixed by every bed so you have them at hand. The bathrooms too are sparkling with hot water throughout the day. The hostel is well... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pop M
Deborah_Cavalieri, Proprietário at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Pop! Thanks for your words, it was very nice have you here with us. Come back the time that you want! All the best for you! More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

I had high hopes for this place. The staff were really nice, helpful and friendly, yes, but unfortunately the one night I stayed in the girls dorm, I was bitten by something totally vicious and my entire right hand was swollen for 2-3 days after. I could barely sleep 2 hours that night. And no it wasn't a mosquito bite.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ZAlam84
Deborah_Cavalieri, Proprietário at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello dear, the weather was very dry the time that you stayed with us and yes there were some mosquitos because of the garden and the trees around the house, but you can´t say the type of the bug that bite you, for sure it´s not vicius as you sad because every three months a company certfied by Sao Paulo... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

Only here one night but was a nice place. In a very good area, Vila Madalena. Lots of bars just down the hill. 10 min walk from metro station. Dorms are clean and comfy. Was quiet here. Friendly atmosphere. Only negative was the free breakfast. Not good at all. Otherwise it's a decent hostel.

Helpful?
Thank MickJDD
Deborah_Cavalieri, Proprietário at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks for your words, we´re glad that you had a great time here even staying just one night. Our breakfast is simple that´s true, but very complete for a hostel, cake, bread, cheese, fruits, coffee, milk, tea, chocolate, biscuits, butter, jelly it´s not so easy to find in every hostel, maybe you´re used to stay in hotels and it´s... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
2:46
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Consolacao
Ibis Budget Sao Paulo Paulista
Consolacao
Bee.W Hostel
Bee.W Hostel
#3 of 518 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vila Mariana
Brazilodge All Suites Hostels
Viva Hostel Design
#9 of 518 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Pinheiros
Hostel Brasil Boutique
Hostel Brasil Boutique
#32 of 518 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Pinheiros

Neighborhood Profile
Pinheiros
Exploring Pinheiros, a neighborhood known for cozy restaurants and cafes, you will notice a youthful energy. Several cultural centers and institutes surround the area and even its main church, Calvário, hosts a traditional Brazilian “Festa Junina” - a celebration with traditional music, dance, and food during the months of June and July. On the weekends, residents gather at Benedito Calixto Square, a loud and crowded area where people enjoy live music drinks alongside the antiquities fair.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The perfect place for people with young spirit who look for an environment of integration, with an affordable price and safety as if they were in a hotel.Sampa Hostel is part of Hostelling International and is located in the center of Vila Madalena, a super cool neighborhood full of bars, clubs, restaurants and art galleries.Offering single, double, couple and family rooms and also dorms, Sampa Hostel has a 24 hour reception, personalized service and bilingual staff ready to provide full information on what to do in the city, where to go and how to arrive.Sampa Hostel is certificated as one of the Quality Hostels from HI.We are waiting for you to show the largest city in South America, in a totally different way that you have never seen so far. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sampa Hostel

Address: Rua Girassol 519 | Via Madalena, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 05433-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Pinheiros
Price Range: $17 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sampa Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sampa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampa Hostel Sao Paulo, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay