We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Savoy Othon

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Savoy Othon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

650 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 66: English reviews
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great Location, and the Staff was so accommodating! Loved Deborah at the front desk, she is a treasure, her English is impeccable. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The beds were firm which I like. Breakfast was fine. Fresh Fruit, Hot and cold cereals, eggs, bacon and crepes. If you were looking a comfortable place to lay your head before... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neki M
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff were very helpful, they all spoke English fairly fluently. Rooms were clean and tidy. Set central Copacabana with lots of restraunts and cafes all within walking distance. Certainly felt very safe within the area, night market close by

Helpful?
1 Thank doddx4
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this review

Dear doddx Thank you for your comments of our Savoy Othon in Rio de Janeiro. We are very glad to know you approved your stay and considered our hotel as EXCELLENT SERVICE. We hope to welcome you in a near future. Norma Lanaro General Manager More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is amazing-the amenities are basic but the rooms and the hotel is clean. I did have issues with them complaining that the used towels were too dirty (makeup) and they requested we pay $20.00 USD per towel in order to recover the 'damages'. We insisted that it was removable with a strong detergent and the towels were thin... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roicia B
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this review

Dear Roicia B, Thank you for your comments of the Savoy Othon in Rio de Janeiro. We are glad that overall, your stay was nice and you enjoyed our rooms, cleaness and service. Sorry to charge for the tower that was very dirty with make-up. Some of the spots of make up and shoe shine too can not be removed... More 

Minneapolis
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2016

We wanted to stay near Copacabana beach and this fits the bill between cost and distance. Its a shot walk (5min) from beach with free towels avai at front desk. The hotel has free wifi in main lobby but room is extra fee. We didn't need it so no complains here beside if you are coming to Copacabana beach to... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Zeeshan S
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this review

Dear Zeeshan S Thank you very much for your comments about our Savoy Othon in Rio de Janeiro. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and aprove our wonderful localization, and enjoy too our services and staff. We hope to receive you or your friends in a near future. Norma Lanaro General Manager. More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2016 via mobile

The best thing with the hotel is its location - only one block from the beach. But the hotel is old and worn down, with terrible air-condition in the rooms. The rooms are dark and looks like an early 80s design. What REALLY suck, is that you have pay for the WiFi in the rooms. At the lobby it's free,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Håkon H
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this review

Dear Hakon H, Thank for your comments about your stay at our Savoy Othon last month. We are happy you aproved in general your stay: rate, location, breakfast and staff. We are sure that if you reserve a Superior Room next time, you will love the room too. To charge the wi fi in rooms is a corporate policy in... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

The location of the hotel is fantastic. It is a one minute walk to the middle of Copacabana beach. The room sizes are a good size with enough space however the bathroom is a bit run down and needs to be revamped. Its not the cleanest. The breakfast isn't great. I could only stomach the cereal and coffee. The Room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rehan H
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this review

Dear Rehan H, Thank you for your comments about our Savoy Othon in Rio de Janeiro. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and considered A GOOD BUDGET HOTEL WITH A GREAT LOCATION. We look forward to welcome your in a near future. Norma Lanaro General Manager More 

Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

The hotel was adequate for the price, somewhat tired and in need of a make-over. The room was a decent size, the facilities were just a bit in need of updating. The fridge was similar to the one we had at home in 1979, the TV had most channels - Italian, German, French, Japanese - but no English apart from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shally_D999
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this review

Dear Sahally_D9 Thank you for your Comments about your stay in our Savoy Othon in Rio de Janeiro. We are pretty glad you enjoyed it and found your choise good for price. We also thank for your appreciations of breakfast, room, staff. We hope to welcome you back in a near future. Norma Lanaro General Manager More 

Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

I had to go to Rio for a conference and a chose this hotel because of its location. It is one street behind copacabana beach and it was in the same street as the conference. The hotel was great, very clean with vey big rooms. The breakfast was good, not vey big but they had everything important. Next time I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anna P
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this review

Dear Anna P, Thank you for choosing our Savoy Othon in Rio de Janeiro. We are very happy to know you aprove our great location, big and clean rooms, and services. We are specially happy that next time you come to Rio you will always stay with us. Norma Lanaro General Manager More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

Stayed at this hotel for a night because of my flight cancellation. The hotel condition is pretty outdated, the room is not very well maintained , not very clean, the shower area is very tiny, the bed is not comfortable and no way to control the AC so it can get really cold at night. Free wifi at the lobby... More 

Helpful?
Thank sagicaprio
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this review

Dear Sagicaprio, Thanks for your comments about one night you spend at our Savoy Othon. We are satisfied that you appreciated very much our location, eventhough you considered the Hotel pretty updated. For your next visit to Rio de Janeiro, be sure that we will be pleased to welcome you after your special check up of all the hotels. Norma... More 

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
494 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015 via mobile

This is a great little hotel just a block back from the Copacabana Beach, but you wouldn't know based on the price! We spent 2 nights here and had a great stay due to friendly staff and a good selection at breakfast. Our one big problem with the hotel is the lack of free wifi in the rooms, it's free... More 

Helpful?
Thank MFC31
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this review

Dear MFC31 Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at our Savoy Othon. We loved to be called "a great little hotel" ..... We are glad to have a positive value for money and friendly staff and good breakfast. We are sending your opinion about charged internet in rooms to our Head Offices, as this is a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

175 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (140)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
#22 of 273 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Copacabana
Grande Hotel Canada
Grande Hotel Canada
#104 of 273 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Copacabana
Copa Sul Hotel
Copa Sul Hotel
#74 of 273 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Augusto's Copacabana Hotel
Augusto's Copacabana Hotel
#83 of 273 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Copacabana
Royalty Rio Hotel
Royalty Rio Hotel
#127 of 273 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Windsor Martinique Hotel
#42 of 273 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Copacabana

Neighborhood Profile
Copacabana
The rowdy Copacabana is one of the most traditional and old areas from Rio de Janeiro. This neighbourhood is a blend of Brazilian soul - crowded, rowdy and traditional. This neighbourhood has a bit of everything: bars with music, pubs, street fairs, chaotic streets, and many shops. All these things and more live side-by-side. There are options for all price points and tastes. However, the most powerful draw in Copacabana is still the fantastic view of the coast and the incredible beaches.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Othon

Address: Avenida Nossa Senhora de Copacabana 995, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22060-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range: $85 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Savoy Othon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Savoy Othon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Othon Travel Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Savoy Othon Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay