We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Savoy Othon

Cancelon$69*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$81*
$69*
Great Deal
$81*
$81*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Savoy Othon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

731 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 69: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Savoy Othon
 Click to rate
New Delhi, India
Reviewed December 21, 2016

The location is pretty great - just a block away from Copacabana beach. The building is old and tired. The room service food is pretty terrible. The room safe was not working and upon calling the reception was told that it would take 2 hours to fix. Hotel is clean, rooms are clean as well but old and the age...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dreamcaster123
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this review

Dear dreamcaster123 Thank you for staying at our Savoy Othon in Rio de Janeiro. We are satisfied that you enjoyed our location, and cleaness of the Hotel; and we are making verifications of the room service food and the delay with the safe box, in order to improve this services. We hope you will give us another oportunity when you...

Santiago, Chile
Reviewed October 18, 2016

The hotel has a good location, they provide a good service, secure, cleaning rooms, and the hotel offers a great breakfast. A metro station is two blocks away from the hotel. Bus to Rio downtown runs frequently. The lifts are old.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this review

Dear Michael A, Thank you for your comments about our Savoy Othon in Rio de Janeiro. We are very glad to know our hotel is a good place to stay em Copabana, not only because of the excelente location, but good servisse, clean room, great breakfast and secure. We are considering your comment about lifts. We hope to see you...

Sainte-Julie, Canada
Reviewed September 15, 2016

Beautiful location. Hotel clean but nothing more. Every night we heard a dog from apartments around the hotel yap non-stop so it was hard to sleep. Also, we had problems with the safe so we called the service and they came about an hour and half after to fix it. Breakfast is correct. There are many homeless people sleeping directly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Epicurienne00
gerenciasavoy, Gerente geral at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this review

Dear Epicurienne00 Thank you for the comments about our Savoy Othon in Rio de Janeiro. We are glad you enjoy our location, Housekeeping and Breakfast services. and are checking the delay to fix the safe in your room, because the delay is out of our standards. Next time you come to Rio de Janeiro, please contact us to reserve your...

Reviewed August 24, 2016

Great Location, and the Staff was so accommodating! Loved Deborah at the front desk, she is a treasure, her English is impeccable. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The beds were firm which I like. Breakfast was fine. Fresh Fruit, Hot and cold cereals, eggs, bacon and crepes. If you were looking a comfortable place to lay your head before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neki M
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this review

Dear Neki M, Thank you for your comments about our Savoy Othon during Olimpic Games. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay, our hotel and specially our service and atenttion. We are sending them to our staff as we know they are very important to estimulate to continue these efforts of the whole team to give our best. We...

Victoria, Australia
Reviewed August 5, 2016

Staff were very helpful, they all spoke English fairly fluently. Rooms were clean and tidy. Set central Copacabana with lots of restraunts and cafes all within walking distance. Certainly felt very safe within the area, night market close by

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank doddx4
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this review

Dear doddx Thank you for your comments of our Savoy Othon in Rio de Janeiro. We are very glad to know you approved your stay and considered our hotel as EXCELLENT SERVICE. We hope to welcome you in a near future. Norma Lanaro General Manager

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed August 4, 2016

The location is amazing-the amenities are basic but the rooms and the hotel is clean. I did have issues with them complaining that the used towels were too dirty (makeup) and they requested we pay $20.00 USD per towel in order to recover the 'damages'. We insisted that it was removable with a strong detergent and the towels were thin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roicia B
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this review

Dear Roicia B, Thank you for your comments of the Savoy Othon in Rio de Janeiro. We are glad that overall, your stay was nice and you enjoyed our rooms, cleaness and service. Sorry to charge for the tower that was very dirty with make-up. Some of the spots of make up and shoe shine too can not be removed...

Minneapolis
Reviewed January 16, 2016

We wanted to stay near Copacabana beach and this fits the bill between cost and distance. Its a shot walk (5min) from beach with free towels avai at front desk. The hotel has free wifi in main lobby but room is extra fee. We didn't need it so no complains here beside if you are coming to Copacabana beach to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Zeeshan S
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this review

Dear Zeeshan S Thank you very much for your comments about our Savoy Othon in Rio de Janeiro. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and aprove our wonderful localization, and enjoy too our services and staff. We hope to receive you or your friends in a near future. Norma Lanaro General Manager.

Reviewed January 9, 2016 via mobile

The best thing with the hotel is its location - only one block from the beach. But the hotel is old and worn down, with terrible air-condition in the rooms. The rooms are dark and looks like an early 80s design. What REALLY suck, is that you have pay for the WiFi in the rooms. At the lobby it's free,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Håkon H
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this review

Dear Hakon H, Thank for your comments about your stay at our Savoy Othon last month. We are happy you aproved in general your stay: rate, location, breakfast and staff. We are sure that if you reserve a Superior Room next time, you will love the room too. To charge the wi fi in rooms is a corporate policy in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 10, 2015

The location of the hotel is fantastic. It is a one minute walk to the middle of Copacabana beach. The room sizes are a good size with enough space however the bathroom is a bit run down and needs to be revamped. Its not the cleanest. The breakfast isn't great. I could only stomach the cereal and coffee. The Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rehan H
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this review

Dear Rehan H, Thank you for your comments about our Savoy Othon in Rio de Janeiro. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and considered A GOOD BUDGET HOTEL WITH A GREAT LOCATION. We look forward to welcome your in a near future. Norma Lanaro General Manager

Reviewed December 4, 2015

The hotel was adequate for the price, somewhat tired and in need of a make-over. The room was a decent size, the facilities were just a bit in need of updating. The fridge was similar to the one we had at home in 1979, the TV had most channels - Italian, German, French, Japanese - but no English apart from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shally_D999
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this review

Dear Sahally_D9 Thank you for your Comments about your stay in our Savoy Othon in Rio de Janeiro. We are pretty glad you enjoyed it and found your choise good for price. We also thank for your appreciations of breakfast, room, staff. We hope to welcome you back in a near future. Norma Lanaro General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

221 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (151)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
#32 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
635 reviews
Copacabana
Vilamar Copacabana
Vilamar Copacabana
#135 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
237 reviews
Copacabana
Augusto's Copacabana Hotel
Augusto's Copacabana Hotel
#75 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Windsor Martinique Hotel
#37 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,093 reviews
Copacabana
Grande Hotel Canada
Grande Hotel Canada
#110 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
439 reviews
Copacabana
Olinda Rio Hotel
Olinda Rio Hotel
#93 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Copacabana

Neighborhood Profile
Copacabana
The rowdy Copacabana is one of the most traditional and old areas from Rio de Janeiro. This neighbourhood is a blend of Brazilian soul - crowded, rowdy and traditional. This neighbourhood has a bit of everything: bars with music, pubs, street fairs, chaotic streets, and many shops. All these things and more live side-by-side. There are options for all price points and tastes. However, the most powerful draw in Copacabana is still the fantastic view of the coast and the incredible beaches.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Othon

Address: Avenida Nossa Senhora de Copacabana 995, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22060-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range: $65 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Savoy Othon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Savoy Othon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Othon Travel Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Savoy Othon Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Savoy Othon staff and other travelers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Savoy Othon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We also stayed at a more luxury hotel however it was away from all,the action”
doddx4, Aug 5, 2016 | Read review
“the reception is very helpful, I'm sure they will help if you need anything”
annapZ905XX, Nov 1, 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are very good!!!”
JanK374, Jan 8, 2015 | Read review
“Don't choose a room on the street (Nossa Senhora ) side”
Donaldinho035, Dec 8, 2014 | Read review
“Try for a superior room. Much bigger.”
TandDAustralia, Jun 24, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Cancelon
$69* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com$81
TripAdvisor$81
Booking.com$81
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates