We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Avenida Niemeyer 121 - Leblon, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22450-220 Brazil
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Sheraton.com
$189
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/30/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$189
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/30/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$124
View deal
Expedia.com$189
Hotels.com$189
Trip.com$202
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2479)
Room & Suite (617)
Pool & Beach (383)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/08/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort
Updated 07/08/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#75 of 350 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
3.9
Travelers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Indoor play area for children
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Makeup services
Massage
Open-air bath
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Great View
Languages Spoken
Spanish, Portuguese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
77Somewhat walkable
Grade: 77 out of 100
14Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
5Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2489Reviews138Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,363
  • 716
  • 203
  • 95
  • 112
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
pablom344 wrote a review Sep 22
Canterbury, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
I had a great stay at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort. I would like to highlight that the service provided by different members of staff was exceptional!. Special mentions to Priscila in concierge, Jooe at the front desk, and Anna in the spa! Make sure you try the spa!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
themadprampusher wrote a review Aug 2022
Chester, United Kingdom151 contributions209 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We stayed here for 13 nights in July/August. We had an ocean facing room on the 9th floor. The hotel is built into the hillside, reception is on the 6th/ground floor. The room was reasonably spacious and had a small balcony (no room for chairs on it). It had a fridge, safe and coffee machine, TV had some international channels including a few in English like CNN and Bloomberg. The bed was large and comfy, the bathroom just had a walk in shower, no bath. Room was clean and functional. The hotel serves a nice breakfast, good choice of food, hot and cold and makes some dishes like omelettes to order. There are 4 on site restaurants, French on the top floor (looks pricey, we didn’t try it) an Italian (didn’t try) and two Brazilian which we ate at a couple of times, they were good but it’s cheaper to eat in restaurants in Leblon or Ipanema. The hotel is situated at the far end of Leblon on Vidigal beach with steps down to the beach from the pool area. This beach is smaller than it’s more famous neighbours, but is very picturesque and clean. The sea was very rough when we were there, some very big waves rolling in, I never got tired of watching them. It takes about 10 to 15 minutes to stroll down to Leblon from the hotel where there are plenty of shops bars and restaurants. We liked to stop and have a drink at Oka Vista on the way down/back. The hotel operates a shuttle bus several times a day which drops off at various places along the beaches and finally at Rio Sul shopping centre, it’s a very handy way of getting about. We also booked trips through the concierge as they were similar price to Viator etc., we did the Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf trip, the historic downtown trip and the hiking in the forest, I can recommend all these. The hotel has a gym which my husband used and a lovely heated swimming pool and hot tub, plenty of loungers so no need to get up too early to get the towels out! The hotel has good Wi-Fi and USB ports in the room for your iPhones to charge. A taxi to/from the airport (GIG) costs 150 reals (about £30), allow a good hour for the journey because the traffic in Rio is diabolical. Unfortunately there are roadworks outside the hotel, and although they aren’t noisy they do mean that at certain times of day it takes even longer to go places than it would do otherwise. We really enjoyed our stay in Rio, it was our first trip to Brazil and we would definitely like to come back. The weather was very pleasant, around 25 degrees and it only rained once. One thing to note is that English is not particularly widely spoken and a Portuguese phrase book might come in handy (obviously the people working in the hotel spoke perfect English). As for security and personal safety, we felt very safe here, at the hotel and around town and on the beach. There is a visible police presence, and they look like the sort of guys that you wouldn’t mess with! I think if you just take sensible precautions, the same precautions that you would take in any city, you will be fine. And the airport was fantastic, no queues and smiling people greeting us and welcoming us. That was a breath of fresh air, after certain UK airports which I won’t name, you know the ones I mean!! Anyway, we recommend Rio and would stay here again if we return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Josiah C wrote a review Sep 15
2 contributions
Everything was good and smooth, from check in / out, service was good. Alexandre at the entrance was kind, helpful. Restaurant service was fantastic. Food was perhaps not to my taste as it was a tad salty but that's just me being picky. I enjoyed the stay very much and would come back again with my family.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mobile223392 wrote a review Sep 3
Santa Ana, California1 contribution
My husband and I had a wonderful time. We stay for two weeks, we loved! The hotel is clean and have good choices on food. I like to say hello to the breakfast team Club Floor. Kaique, Marco, Denise & Marli. Professionals friendly and they really make us feel at home.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
toptravelreviewer wrote a review Aug 2022
Buenos Aires, Argentina1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
Have you ever stayed at a hotel where everything just seems perfect? Don’t get me wrong, while I know that perfection in the hotel industry just doesn’t exist, the Sheraton Grand Rio comes pretty close. This is my second stay of four nights at this property and I am once again really impressed. This hotel has a lot going for it, from the warm Rio climate to the unique location. It’s tucked away on a private beach with stunning views and a short 10-minute walk to Ipanema beach and the surrounding commercial zone. It’s obvious that the hotel doesn’t rely solely on these factors to wow guests. The establishment itself is a paradise (think boutique resort) with direct access to an amazing beach (waves can be intense, but doable most days), two large climatized swimming pools, a large hot jacuzzi, poolside food/beverage service, tennis courts if that’s your thing, full gym and spa with complimentary sauna, complementary bicycle use, club lounge, various restaurants with quality well-priced menu items, and complementary parking. I’m sure I’m missing something but you get the idea. I’m not a fan of resort fees but the daily $10 (per room) fee is on the lower end of the scale and I’d say you get your money’s worth at this property, including two welcome drinks/beers. The highlights for me were the newly renovated modern bright common spaces. Also the rooms are decent with in-room complementary Nespresso coffee/tea and all have at least partial ocean views. Ask for a room facing the pool for the best ocean/city views with sunshine…or if extra quiet is more important than views, request rooms that face the car lobby/hotel entrance. My only suggestion to hotel management would be to update room flooring (suspect this will be done soon). As a Bonvoy Titanium guest, I received priority check-in, an executive corner ocean view room with three balconies (thanks to a Bonvoy suite night award upgrade), free full breakfast buffet for two in either the main dining room (has more options) or the top floor restaurant (less options but quieter), 24h access to the club lounge with Nespresso coffee, teas, soft drinks and water, as well as daily hour d’oeuvres and unlimited wine/cocktails from 6-8pm. Plus, I was offered a 4pm late checkout and a 1000 Bonvoy points welcome gift. This property knows how to treat it’s Bonvoy guests! I don’t underestimate the effort required to operate a high performing hotel and for that reason, the friendly and kind front and back line employees running this establishment deserve some serious recognition.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
David B wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
I had the opportunity of staying at the Sheraton Grand Hotel and had the best experience. Once I arrived after a 9-hour flight from the states I was starving and asked the hotel for recommendations with fresh seafood. The concierge immediately made a reservation for the 3 of us at Gissipie (and the food was amazing the chef Reynoldo is truly skilled). We stayed for 7 days and rode the bikes and enjoyed the beach. I had 3 relaxing massages and they were superb. We had breakfast each morning and the food was great including the service. The drivers were extremely accommodating and made sure we were safe and enjoyed our stay. Most importantly the rooms were clean and the service is truly 5-star rated. I enjoyed my stay so well I choose to return next week for 6 days. I must say Rafael Araujo and Cristina Sales were truly amazing and accommodating and I look forward to seeing them again. I stayed in room 1863 and the views were impeccable (I suggest requesting it). I was able to see the city, the pool, and most importantly the ocean. I failed to mention, that the hotel booked our excursions which allowed us to view several tourist sites, hike, and obtain breathtaking photos that have created lifelong memories. Or that I left my debit card in the ATM machine. The staff locked my card up and placed a note under my door to retrieve it and left several messages. Thank you Sheraton Grand Hotel and see you Thursday!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Amazing Staff, Awesome Spa, Great Breakfast,
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
WakefulDreams wrote a review Jul 2022
New Jersey35 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
We had a really great experience at the Sheraton Grand in Rio. We upgraded to club level so we had an amazing view from our room. My favorite hands down was what I call breakfast in the sky. The view was phenomenal, the service top notch and the food delicious!! Definitely worth the cost. Overall we had a great experience with the staff and the property. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leandro Seabra, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort
Responded Jul 23, 2022
Thank you much for the comments! Hope to see you next time, in the next time in Rio! Regards, Leandro
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hussain wrote a review Jun 2022
18 contributions3 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed for 4 nights and for our first trip to Rio de Janeiro and the trip was spectacular. We arrived at midnight from a long travel from Peru and were tired but the staff was very welcoming and warm greeting us and checking us in. We went to sleep and woke up to the most beautiful ocean view from the balcony in our room--really breathtaking! The rest of our stay was amazing and all the staff--at Bene restaurant which we visited for breakfast and our Anniversary dinner, the front desk people, the staff at the entrance, the pool staff and even the Towel guy all made us feel very welcome with big smiles and warm greetings. Breakfast was delicious every morning with a great view. Sitting by the poolside and strolling along the beach relaxing was magnificent. My wife booked a massage at the Spa for a great value and had a terrific and relaxing experience in a private massage room with an ocean view. Truly a memorable and relaxing stay and we can't wait to return to Rio again one day.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Leandro Seabra, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort
Responded Jul 23, 2022
Thanks a lot for your comments!!! Hope to see again soon! Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Salvatore L wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions5 helpful votes
I booked at Sheraton using booking.com and then extended the reservation. The booking was changed from “free cancellation” to non refundable without my consent. I wrote and tried to contact the hotel multiple times, but no one helps. It’s just a terrible and unacceptable customer service. I am really disapppointed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leandro Seabra, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort
Responded Jun 27, 2022
Hello M5423CQsalvatorel, Thanks for your comments about your experience. If you can send me your name I can check what happened. From the hotel side, we do not change any reservation without any consent. Thanks, Leandro
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
superbolton wrote a review Jun 2022
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom116 contributions33 helpful votes
This would have been a 5 STAR review. Rooms, heated pool, beach, food etc all amazing. However, when you check in, they take £500 from your bank card. They says it will be returned, minus your stay fee when you check out. What they DON'T tell you , is that if you have a non-Brazilian card, it will be held for 30 days. I must have stayed in over 500 hotels across the world and I have NEVER heard of this before, let alone from a global chain. Disgraceful
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leandro Seabra, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort
Responded Jun 20, 2022
Hello Superbolton, First of all I would like to thank you so much for your stay! My apologies regarding your last experience with us. The pre authorization process made at check in time happen with all guests. Unfortunately the period for unlock the hold depend of the banks and not the hotel. It can varies from 1 to 30 days, but it´s not on our control. If you want to give me your name and some more details it will be a pleasure to better understand. My email is leandro.seabra@marriott.com Warm Regards, Leandro Seabra Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$141 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sheraton rio hotel rio de janeiro, sheraton rio hotel and resort, sheraton rio de janeiro, rio de janeiro sheraton
LOCATION
BrazilState of Rio de JaneiroRio de JaneiroZona Sul (South Zone) / Leblon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
538
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort?
Nearby attractions include Mirante Do Leblon (0.3 miles), Vidigal Beach (0.01 miles), and Trilha do Dois Irmãos (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include L'Etoile, Restaurante Casa da Cachaça, and Bene.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Spanish and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Forte de Copacabana (2.9 miles), Parque Lage (2.5 miles), and Casa de Rui Barbosa Museum (4.2 miles).