We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Relais de Marambaia

Estrada Roberto Burle Marx 9346, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 23020-265 Brazil
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (444)
Room & Suite (116)
Pool & Beach (48)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 64 small hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.3
Value
3.6
Travelers' Choice

Finding an ideal romantic small hotel in Rio de Janeiro does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Le Relais de Marambaia, a nice option for travelers like you.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a minibar, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Le Relais de Marambaia features a 24 hour front desk, room service, and beach chairs. In addition, as a valued Le Relais de Marambaia guest, you can enjoy a pool and free breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of the nearby restaurants that are within walking distance of Le Relais de Marambaia, such as Bira de Guaratiba (0.3 mi), Bira Restaurante (0.3 mi), or Marambaia Cafe Restaurante & Lounge Club (0.1 mi).

Best of all, Le Relais de Marambaia makes it easy to experience some great Rio de Janeiro attractions like Roberto Burle Marx Site (0.3 mi), which is a short distance away.

Le Relais de Marambaia puts the best of Rio de Janeiro at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Free breakfast
Beach
Water sport equipment rentals
Spa
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Swimup bar
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Solarium
Steam room
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bottled water
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Portuguese

Location

Estrada Roberto Burle Marx 9346, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 23020-265 Brazil
Name/address in local language
Le Relais de Marambaia
381Reviews12Q+A8Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 220
  • 86
  • 39
  • 18
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ronald Rishagen wrote a review Nov 2023
Playas del Rosario, Mexico3 contributions2 helpful votes
Cabin III: Dirty hydro massage bathtub: Dirt ring around the perimeter of tub, jets hardware and drain dirty with rust and mold looking residues Bathroom glass door dirty Toilet has dirt ring around the perimeter. Bathroom floor dirty and stained Shower door dirty. Wood flooring at entrance to shower broken creating a potential foot injury.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: We always had to wear shoes around the room for fear of getting germs from the grimy dirty...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
maxw8822 wrote a review Dec 2022
Modesto4 contributions4 helpful votes
My cousin and I came and stayed here for 2 nights after staying in Rio for 4 nights. This hotel is about an hour out of the city and is the location and setting of the hotel once you get here is spectacular. Vincent the general manager is great, so helpful, goes out of his way to help you make plans in the area, he also speaks perfect English, as well as a handful of other languages. The breakfasts in the hotel are great, as well as a good lunch and dinner menu. I don't think it really matters what room you stay in as they all have a fantastic view out towards the ocean. Also I would like to make special mention of Nikki, Vincents wife, and also Ramon who mans the front desk/concierge, both very helpful people. If you are going to be in Rio de Janeiro, then make the hour trip and stay here for a few days also.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vincent ROUARD, Gerente geral at Le Relais de Marambaia
Responded Dec 17, 2022
Dear @maxw8822 Thanks a lot for your kind commentaries on TripAdvisor. It was a real pleasure to meet both of you. Hope to see you again very soon. Warm regards The team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
reintje wrote a review Jul 2022
Denver, Colorado6 contributions18 helpful votes
We rented all 7 rooms for a week this July to have our family (10 adults and 6 children) together when our youngest son married his Brazilian wife at a magical place, the Meio do Mato, close by. It could not have worked out more perfectly. First of all, the staff under the leadership of Vincent and Nikki was very personable and doing everything to accommodate our wishes. Furthermore, all 7 rooms were perfect and looked out on the swimming pool below and the ocean beyond. The hotel is not directly on the beach, but either a short swim (across a narrow estuary) or a brief walk away. There are many more beaches to explore and Ubers are quickly available and cheap. The restaurant is very good. Individual plates are very generous, and we quickly learned to arrange for family-style dinners with Vincent and the kitchen staff. Moreover, Barra de Guaratiba has many more restaurants within walking distance. What more to say? A perfect score!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Vincent ROUARD, Gerente geral at Le Relais de Marambaia
Responded Jul 23, 2022
@reintje Thanks for your kinds comments on TripAdvisor It was a pleasure to welcome all your family ; we are more than happy you enjoyed ''Le Relais de Marambaia'' for your stay and we hope to see you soon. Warm Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Matthew wrote a review Mar 2022
23 contributions29 helpful votes
+1
My wife and I loved our night stay here. Swimming off the dock in the morning and watching the turtles was just wonderful! We both thought the food was good including the breakfast. It’s an older place so if you’re expecting super new and modern then please temper expectations. Wi-Fi was decent and the rooms plenty spacious. Enjoy this stay for what it is because it’s awesome! @nothin_but_views
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Vincent Rouard, Gerente geral at Le Relais de Marambaia
Responded Apr 11, 2022
Dear Matthew Thanks a lot for your kinds comments on TripAdvisor. Hope to see you soon at Le Relais de Marambaia. Best Regards Team Le Relais de Marambaia
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kbrosnah wrote a review Jan 2020
Accra, Ghana148 contributions81 helpful votes
A great little place about an hour outside of Rio de Janeiro. Close to nice beaches in Gumari and Prainha and the Pedra Telegrafo. The pousada is nice. The rooms are clean with a view of the pool and overlooking the inlet. The view is stunning throughout the day and at sunset. The pool area is very nice with lots of room for sunbathing. The pousada only has seven rooms, so it doesn't get crowded. The restaurant is very good. Breakfast is great and dinner very good. The service can be slow, but there's no reason to hurry anyway. The spa is nice with two treatment rooms. We had massages in the afternoon and they were great. The staff are great. It's a pretty quiet place, but they are always around if you need them. Parking is very limited. They warn about that on the website, but you will need staff's help to get in and out.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from LeRelaisMarambaia, Gerente geral at Le Relais de Marambaia
Responded Jan 31, 2020
@kbrosnah We're happy you had a fantastic time with us! Thanks for your trust, we're thankful for amazing customers like you. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
M_T_Vargas wrote a review Jan 2020
Rio de Janeiro, RJ3 contributions1 helpful vote
I was looking forward to staying at this hotel for months, but my husband and I were enormously disappointed. Although the location and ocean view are truly gorgeous, the hotel itself is pretty run down and poorly kept. Breakfast was nice, but the food served at the restaurant is mostly below average. We had an issue with a really bad pasta dish which I didn’t like, and couldn’t eat for being way too heavy and rich, but the manager went ahead and argued with us about it, instead of simply removing it from the bill and apologizing. The communication with the staff throughout our stay was overall very bad. The reception staff seemed misinformed, and not very well trained to answer basic questions and requirements. We left upset, and with a general feeling that it is a pretentious and poorly managed place. Definitely not worth its price tag.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from LeRelaisMarambaia, Gerente at Le Relais de Marambaia
Responded Jan 5, 2020
Dear M_T_Vargas, Thank you very much for your comment Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Being known for our great customer service and our food quality , it came as a surprise, as the gnocchis are usually highly valued by our customers. We tried to explain you that this is a rich dish ,definetely not light, that you partially started and that we could not refund. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at direcao@lerelaisdemarambaia.com.br if you have additional information to share. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
706Connolly wrote a review Mar 2019
Perth, Australia196 contributions48 helpful votes
+1
Great Boutique hotel with a very intimate feel. Attentive staff and nice facilities. The view is fantastic. You can relax by the pool or stand up paddle in the ocean where you might see turtles. Ideal for romantic getaways. A hidden gem in Rio.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
darren_jcLondon wrote a review Dec 2018
london83 contributions52 helpful votes
Heard the beaches down here are fantastic so booked this place. Such a quirky and fun place. Lovely staff and the restaurant is lovely too Quite unassuming from the outside but the rooms all have great views and I suspect their own individual style It’s only 7 rooms and staffed accordingly Nice touches and the bubble bath was already full and waiting for our arrival Great if you like waterboarding and canoeing
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Diana G wrote a review Jun 2018
41 contributions14 helpful votes
I spent two days in the hotel with my husband celebrating our anniversary. We were the only guests during the week and we could enjoy silence, nature, massage and good food in our own time. After few hours by the pool looking at the spectacular virgin nature you just forget anything else and start enjoying the special things in life.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Save money on your room and spend taking the best massage you can. Enjoy the pool.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tamara P, Gérant at Le Relais de Marambaia
Responded Jun 24, 2018
Dear Diana, good morning,! We thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your anniversary! It was a real pleasure to serve you. Feel free to send your suggestions by e-mail, if you wish, to help us improving our rooms. We hope to welcome you again anytime soon. Best regards, Tamara
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
vivian m wrote a review May 2018
Limassol City, Cyprus36 contributions38 helpful votes
We had an amazing stay at Le Relais. The rooms are beautiful with a stunning ocean view. The service was great (Ramon made everything possible to make our stay perfect). The spa was great as well. I really recommend, its a great place very close to downtown Rio de Janeiro but it feels like you are in a different country.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tamara P, Gérant at Le Relais de Marambaia
Responded Jun 24, 2018
Dear Mrs Vivian, We thank you very much for sharing your very positif opinion about us! Ramon and all our team were very happy to read your comment and I am sure it will motivate them even more. We stay at your disposal for anything else and hope to see you anytime soon! Best regards, Tamara
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rio de Janeiro area.
PRICE RANGE
$118 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BrazilState of Rio de JaneiroRio de JaneiroZona Oeste (West Zone) / Barra de Guaratiba
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LE RELAIS DE MARAMBAIA $111 ($̶1̶8̶2̶) - Prices & Hotel Reviews - Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Frequently Asked Questions about Le Relais de Marambaia
Which popular attractions are close to Le Relais de Marambaia?
Nearby attractions include Pedra do Telégrafo (0.03 miles), Inferno Beach (0.6 miles), and Sítio Roberto Burle Marx (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Le Relais de Marambaia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Le Relais de Marambaia?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Le Relais de Marambaia?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Le Relais de Marambaia?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Le Relais de Marambaia?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pousada Marambaia Café, Restau De Marambaia, and Bira de Guaratiba.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Le Relais de Marambaia?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Le Relais de Marambaia?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Portuguese.
Does Le Relais de Marambaia have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.