We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Avenida Atlântica, 2064, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001 Brazil
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$130
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Lol.travel
$119
View deal
Priceline
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1987)
Room & Suite (737)
Dining (169)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 12/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Arena Copacabana Hotel
Updated 12/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#32 of 350 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Innaugurated in 2009 the Arena Copacabana Hotel is considered one of the best hotels in Copacabana Beach. Modern design with amazing oceanviews from the property, it features a rooftop with a pool, a wet bar, a small gym and a sauna, at the lobby you may find the Otaviano Restaurant that serves buffet breakfast in the morning and lunch/dinner with spanish and national/international gastronomy. We also offer free WiFi, super comfortable beds, acccoustic windows, central air conditioning among other amentities that places this property as a top choice in Copacabana beachfront properties.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Hiking
Children's television networks
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Solarium
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Air purifier
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian and 1 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
147Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
22Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2700Reviews129Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,435
  • 941
  • 210
  • 58
  • 56
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
barryspi wrote a review Sep 22
South Padre Island, Texas154 contributions23 helpful votes
The. Hotel staff was great. Rooms were clean and housekeeping was great. The problem is when you step out - the CopaCabana beach , sidewalks areas are high crime areas. We had a gold necklace snatched from our group and person was injured and two phones snatch and run. DO NOT GO TO RIO DE JANEIRO- city if crime and the cops do nothing at all.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Don’t wear any jewelry and hide your phone along the CopaCabana beach area.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerencia Geral Copacabana - Arena Hotéis, Diretor-Geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel
Responded today
Dear Guest, We appreciate your evaluation and comment regarding our Hotel, we work with commitment and dedication to serve our guests. Unfortunately, what happens in the city we have no control over, but we assure you that the authorities are working hard to improve the security of Rio de Janeiro, and the rates have dropped in recent months. But once what happened to you was an unfortunate fatality, where we reported it to the local authorities to increase security in the city. We are available for any doubt. Sincerely, Alex Melo General manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bertram zopple wrote a review Jul 2022
Hopton on Sea, United Kingdom4 contributions
Had a beach view room ,saw the sun riset everyday. Staff are very friendly and helpfull with all things ,such as tours ,directions and English is spoken very well ,buffe breakfast is included but is the same every day.goid for family and couples.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ney De Souza, Outro at Arena Copacabana Hotel
Responded Jul 10, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing the Arena Copacabana for your stay in Rio de Janeiro. Your comments are very important to us and we are very happy to know that your stay was great and that you enjoyed our really privileged location and fantastic view. We hope to receive your visit again soon. Ney De Souza Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
milena v wrote a review Jul 2022
Medellin, Colombia2 contributions
Super dishonest people This hotel adds what they call a "service tax" after the reservation is made. ck the bottom of your confirming e mail. that's where it is hidden. to make it worse they charged this made up "tax" again at ck in. Booking.com refunded me the first over charge but not the second because it was paid a ck in at the hotel. The manager gave me written letter saying I would get credit for the overcharge but it never appeared on my credit card. Nothing worse than staying somewhere that tries to con you the minute you walk in the door.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerencia Geral Copacabana - Arena Hotéis, Diretor-Geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel
Responded Jul 4, 2022
Dear Miss Emily. As discussed and explained to your father. The above allegation is unfounded. When booking through the agency of your choice, the voucher issued informs you that a 10% service fee will be charged at check in, where it is optional. After a few days of accommodation, you asked for a refund and were promptly attended to, where we delivered the credit card receipt informing you of the cancellation of the payment. Everything has been explained and made clear to your father, don't we understand where the dishonesty is? At least not on our part. Sincerely, Ney de Souza.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Timbo wrote a review Apr 2022
3 contributions
My partner & I stayed here for a week during Carnaval & we'll be returning. Across Avenida Atlantica is Copacabana beach - great location. The facilities are spotless, the staff is top-notch & attentive, and speak a variety of languages. They helped us with a variety of questions, always patient & smiling. In short, it's a GREAT place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerencia Geral Copacabana - Arena Hotéis, Diretor-Geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel
Responded May 2, 2022
Dear Mr. Davies. We thank you for your review and we are glad to have met your expectations, we will be informing the team of the good work done and we hope to see you again in our Hotel in the next opportunity. Best regards, Alexandre Melo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vasmar wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Great location and amazing sea view.The breakfast was great as well We come from Greece and it was our first time in Rio. Excellent service from Mr.Emerson and Mr.Rui at the reception. We will definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerencia Geral Copacabana - Arena Hotéis, Diretor-Geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel
Responded May 2, 2022
Dear Guest. We appreciate your comment and we are happy to be able to meet your expectations, we will be forwarding your comment to our team and with that it motivates them even more. Thank you very much and until next time. Best Regards, Alexandre Melo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arman D wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
This was our first time in Brazil and we are so happy with our decision to stay at the Arena Copacabana. The room is very clean and new and the sea side view is wonderful. Also, the breakfast is great and is a must for us as we like to eat big breakfasts with lots of breads and fruit. The best part is the staff that work because they are all so nice and helpful. Even though we don’t speak Portugese, there are employees who speak English and are very informative. At the rooftop bar, Jailton is a wonderful bartender and always has a smile on his face and makes our rooftop dinners very enjoyable! Overall, I would recommend Arena Copacabana to anyone who comes to Rio.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerencia Geral Copacabana - Arena Hotéis, Diretor-Geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel
Responded May 2, 2022
Dear Mr. Armand. We are very happy to have met your expectations, I will be forwarding your comment to our team and in this way encourage and congratulate them for the beautiful service offered. We hope to see you again at our Hotel. Best Regards Alexandre Melo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joseph Roque wrote a review Apr 2022
St. Augustine, Florida2 contributions
Perfect location in Copacabana Beach. Near to restaurants and in a very safe area. The hotel is very clean and we'll maintained. Modern facility. I advise to pick an Ocean View room. It is unforgettable to wake up to a sun rise at a beautiful beach. The staff is very friendly and always eager to help. Great breakfast and a nice bar at the roof top with the best view of Copacabana Beach. Would recommend this hotel for vacation or business
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: The entrance to the lobby in on the side street with reserved parking space for pick up and drop...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerencia Geral Copacabana - Arena Hotéis, Diretor-Geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel
Responded Apr 14, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, it helps and encourages us to further improve our services. We are happy to meet your expectations and hope to see you soon at our Hotel. Yours sincerely, Alexander Melo General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
k28s wrote a review Apr 2022
Wels, Austria4 contributions1 helpful vote
I had a wunderfull stay at the Arena Hotel at the Copacabana in RIO. The location was perfect overlooking the Copababana beach. The rooms were confortable and breakfast also good. The people at the reception were exceptional, so helpful and understanding of the tourist's needs. Mr Ney in particular was most helpful in sorting out my flights and registration formalities under Corona restictions. Everone at reception spoke good English, thanks again to all of you and good luck Heinz K.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerencia Geral Copacabana - Arena Hotéis, Diretor-Geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel
Responded Apr 4, 2022
Dear Mr. Heinz K We are happy to be able to meet your expectations. Rest assured that your comment will be passed on to our team. Once again, we thank you for choosing us as your Hotel in Rio de Janeiro, we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards. Alexandre Melo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laila wrote a review Mar 2022
Cairo, Egypt6 contributions1 helpful vote
The worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in. Staff r very unhelpful. Reception staff are extremely rude and never ever did I ask for anything and they made it happen. Whether inside or outside the hotel or reservations. Absolutely rubbish Hotel…..
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerencia Geral Copacabana - Arena Hotéis, Diretor-Geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel
Responded Mar 29, 2022
Dear Guest. We are very sorry that the impression left by our team was negative. However, all feedback is very important to us, we will be increasing our training and procedures to better serve all guests who stay here. We appreciate your feedback. Regards, Alex Melo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Luv2TravelFarNWide wrote a review Mar 2022
Phoenix, Arizona1205 contributions558 helpful votes
Lovely hotel, extremely helpful staff, perfect location. The view from the room is of Copacabana Beach, with no obstructions. The room is well appointed. The elevators are very slow, but the stairs work great and are not crowded. The breakfast buffet is great -- lots of options to choose from, including many Brazilian specialties. The rooftop bar (and pool) offer lovely views of the beach. And the caipirinhas are excellent. And the hotel is within walking distance of many great local restaurants, etc. Loved making this our first stop on a great trip to Brazil. Would recommend and would come back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: All rooms have views of the beach.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Orlando Machado, Outro at Arena Copacabana Hotel
Responded Mar 14, 2022
Dear Luv2TravelFarNWide, Thank you so much for writing your wonderful comments about your stay at our Arena Copacabana. Our entire team is very flattered by your words and that you enjoyed our hotel and for mentioning so many positive compliments. We are always focused on creating a pleasant atmosphere that can meet the expectations of the guests that we captivate every day. We are sorry that our elevators did not perform to your expectations, but please be assured that this was a one-time issue. Thank you so much for recommending us and saying you would be back. We hope you come back as soon as possible. Be sure that your stay will be even more special. Kind regards, Orlando Machado Operations Manager sub.gerencia@arenahotel.com.br
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$115 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BrazilState of Rio de JaneiroRio de JaneiroZona Sul (South Zone) / Copacabana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
135
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Arena Copacabana Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Avenida Atlantica (0.09 miles), Copacabana Fair (0.07 miles), and Estátua de Dorival Caymmi (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alfaia, Churrascaria Palace, and Galeto & Cia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Arena Copacabana Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Arena Copacabana Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fortaleza de Santa Cruz da Barra (3.8 miles), São Luis Fortress (4.8 miles), and Forte de Copacabana (1.3 miles).