We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arena Copacabana Hotel

Save
Share
Avenida Atlantica, 2064, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001 Brazil
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
FindHotel
$92
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Prestigia.com$134
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1878)
Room & Suite (627)
Pool & Beach (290)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 12/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Arena Copacabana Hotel
Updated 12/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#22 of 338 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Innaugurated in 2009 the Arena Copacabana Hotel is the newest hotel in Copacabana Beach. Contemporary design with WiFi, king size beds, acccoustic windows, central Air Cond among other features place this property as a top choice in Copacabana beachfront properties.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Hiking
Children's television networks
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Solarium
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Air purifier
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian and 1 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
150Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
21Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2621Reviews128Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,380
  • 928
  • 208
  • 56
  • 49
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Vegae010 wrote a review Sep 2021
Las Vegas, Nevada11 contributions
My husband and I just spent a week at Arena Copacabana celebrating our 1 year anniversary! We had to postpone our original honeymoon for a year due to COVID 19. They were nice enough to give us a voucher to use this year. I was still nervous to travel but they take excellent precautions at the hotel and in Rio in general. I felt completely safe and we had a wonderful time exploring! Every one wears masks inside and outside and attractions are open. The hotel offers COVID 19 test in your room if you need one to fly back home. They were very accommodating and friendly. We had a great ocean view of Copacabana. The free breakfast was great to get our day started. Hotel is in a great location we would stay here again! Felt like home !
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerencia Geral Copacabana, Gerente geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel
Responded Sep 10, 2021
Dear mr vega, First of all thank very much for choosing the Arena Copacabana Hotel for your stay at Rio de janeiro city. we are glad to know that your reservation answered your expectation. be sure we are working hard to give the best service to our guest. best regards, Luis Henrique general manager
Read more
PacaRio wrote a review Aug 2021
Rio de Janeiro, RJ25 contributions1 helpful vote
This a worthwhile hotel to spend your vacation or work. Really awesome. The price is good, in front of the Copabana Beach with Sea View. The staff is amazing they helped me while I was with locomotion problems. Specially Mr Valentim and Mr João Vitor. Thanks and congratulations to bota and their colleagues.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerencia Geral - Arena Ipanema, Gerente geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel
Responded Aug 11, 2021
Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Arena Copacabana Hotel as your destination and for having taken your valuable time to comment your stay with us. We are delighted to know that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed your time spent in our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Yours Sincerely, Luis Henrique General manager gerenciageral.copa@arenahotel.rio
Read more
WaltMonk wrote a review Jan 2021
Arlington, Texas5 contributions5 helpful votes
I loved this hotel and we will be back. This was our first trip to Rio, and I am glad I looked at the reviews that said to stay here. The general manager is named Ney. Ney truly loves taking care of people. He and his whole staff are each what a lot of hotels advertise, but few deliver....a truly warm, helpful, friendly face in a new city. The hotel is very modern and clean, the view was spectacular, and the beach is very clean. It feels great on bare feet :-)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Our corner suite had two different great views of Copacabana beach.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerencia Geral - Arena Ipanema, Gerente geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel
Responded Jan 29, 2021
Dear Mr. Monk, First and foremost I would like to thank you for choosing the Arena Hotel and for your nice comment towards us. I am very happy that you had a wonderful stay and that we have managed to reach your expectations with our service. Your feedback is always a wonderful incentive for every member of our staff, who unceasingly seeks the satisfaction of our guests. Ney was very pleased to see your kind words !!! I hope that soon you can come back !!! If you need anything, my email address is gerenciageral.ipanema@arenahotel.rio, I remain at your disposal. Kind Regards, Beatriz Pereira General manager
Read more
Boarding_gate123 wrote a review May 2020
Helsinki, Finland2234 contributions327 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I stayed in a deluxe double room with sea view for 5 nights in December 2019/January 2020, i.e. we were also there over New Year's Eve. We'd specifically booked a hotel that would have a view to Copacabana beach. Overall, this hotel provided a disappointing price-quality ratio. This might partly have been due to the hiked prices over the New Year's Eve period, but there were so many annoyances that we would not return: - room wasn't particularly well-cleaned and towels were stained. - this was supposedly a four star hotel, but there were no slippers or bathrobes in room. - there is zero sound isolation. We could hear absolutely everything from the hallway and adjacent rooms and it drove us mad. - the lift/elevator is dangerous. Once, it stopped 0,5 metres from the ground and my husband almost broke his ankle when he stepped out. - we'd splurged on a full sea-view/beach view but were on such a low floor that we really just saw the street in front of us and a sliver of the sea. I'd been expecting to get the panoramic view of the entire beach. Indeed, the hotel's located in the middle of Copacabana beach, so if you're after the whole crescent view of the beach, you should instead pick a hotel at either end of the beach. - pre-communication with hotel was lousy. They kept sending us mails, urging us to check-in online in advance, which we dutifully did and spent a lot of time doing this. This information was in no way used or acknowledged at check-in. Furthermore, it took forever to book the New Year's party package. We also had to send our credit card details by E-MAIL (!!) for this, which is just a big no-no. Come on, it's 2020, there are a million different ways these details can be submitted securely online! - we asked them to book us a private airport transfer after our 24 hrs+ travelling. We were told they don't "provide that service currently." WHAAAT?! Again, first time ever. (We took a normal airport taxi instead, which turned out be easy and hassle-free, but if a hotel guest wants to book a more expensive option in advance simply for the ease of it, this should be available.) On the positive side, the minibar was good-sized, the AC was cold (but loud!) and the shower was efficient. The breakfast buffet was also relatively good. Location is obviously excellent for Copacabana beach and the shops and European-style restaurants and bars in the green zone. We walked on the beach and to restaurants nearby during the day and in the early evenings (when there were still people out and about) and felt safe. We wore no jewellery or watches and I did not take a handbag with me. For ease and safety, we booked the hotel's New Year's Eve party package, which cost R$ 950 pp and included a buffet dinner with all-inclusive drinks (cocktails, wine, sparkling wine) and a party on the rooftop with all-inclusive drinks (cocktails, wine, sparkling wine) and nibbles. For the price, I wasn't expecting lobster, truffles or foie gras. The food itself was perfectly acceptable, although not particularly festive or exciting. Drinks were very good and top-ups were generous and efficient. The views from the rooftop to Copacabana beach for the fireworks and people-watching were obviously excellent. However, the hotel had crammed the dining room full with tables so it felt extremely uncomfortable and the queues to the small buffet table were just too long. Queues to the two, already inadequate and downright scary elevators were long, and I actually ended up taking the stairs (a long and very sweaty work-out!) to the rooftop. Similarly, we were disappointed that the hotel had put extremely little effort into decorations. There were very small and humble DIY-looking centrepieces in the dining room, but no sparklers, headgear, balloons, confetti, chocolates or anything whatsoever had been left for guests either at the table or in the rooms. (The only notice we received in the room of this holiday was an A4 outlining all the changes to room service and laundry during this time.) There would have been potential for so much more and, considering what we were paying for the room during this time, it felt like the hotel was just trying to maximise their profits to the greatest degree possible. This lack of acknowledgment was a first for us when staying at a hotel over New Year's Eve. The New Year's Day brunch, which was included for guests, was literally leftovers from last night's dinner and a few of the normal breakfast items thrown in. Very disappointing. In conclusion, we were slightly disappointed with this hotel due to room issues (zero sound isolation, lack of cleanliness, and the view), communication issues as well as the hotel's slightly disappointing approach to New Year's Eve festivities.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: If you've booked a room with full sea view, ask for a room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerencia Geral ... A, Gerente geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel
Responded Jun 29, 2020
Dear Madam, We thank you for having chosen the Arena Copacabana Hotel and also for sending your comments to us. We noticed that you have enjoyed some aspectcs of your stay, however, we apologize for the inconveniences caused. Please be sure that action will be taken by our management to rectify our faults, that is why I would like to thank you for bringing the subjects to our attention, so we can work on better our services towards our Guests. Therefore, we thank you again for your cooperation and hope to welcome you again in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro. My e-mail address is gerenciageral.copa@arenahotel.rio. Sincerely, Beatriz Pereira General Manager
Read more
harrisonford13 wrote a review Mar 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom7 contributions15 helpful votes
We have always stayed at the Copacabana Palace, but since it has now become overated and overpriced, decided to spend 12 days at the Arena Hotel. Delighted we made the switch, and found a new "home" in Rio! Brilliant location for all amenities, and the hotel is spotless, serves a great breakfast (perhapss a small microwave in the area would be of benefit to people who like hot food?), in a restaraunt overlooking the beach. Didnt see any other hotels on the "strip" with this big plus. Book a Suite if you can, well worth the price difference. They provide great sweeping views, ceiling to floor windows, comfy bed and powerful shower. Pool area also very attractive, and thanks to Matheus there. Also want to thank our brill chamber maid of 905, tall girl and such fun. Whole place very clean. Wifi fast and reliable. Thanks to all at Reception, particularly Bruno and Felipe in reservations, especially during the "corona" period. ALL the staff handled the difficult situation with great professionalism, a credit to them. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Obrigardo John
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Book a suite if you can.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Clément I, Gerente geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel
Responded Mar 31, 2020
Thank you so much for staying at our Arena Copacabana Hotel! Your comments are very important to us and we were delighted to hear that your stay was great and that we met your expectations. We hope to receive your visit again soon! How about already booking your next stay with us? Sincerely, Clément Izard General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$72 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BrazilState of Rio de JaneiroRio de JaneiroZona Sul (South Zone) / Copacabana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
135
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Arena Copacabana Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Avenida Atlantica (0.09 miles), Copacabana Fair (0.07 miles), and Estátua de Dorival Caymmi (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alfaia, Restaurante Pérgula, and Churrascaria Palace.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Arena Copacabana Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Arena Copacabana Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fortaleza de Santa Cruz da Barra (3.8 miles), São Luis Fortress (4.8 miles), and Forte de Copacabana (1.3 miles).