We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Av. Atlantica 2064, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001 Brazil
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Package deal
$96
View Deal
Free cancellation until 01/07/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Snaptravel
eDreams
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1648)
Room & Suite (565)
Pool & Beach (269)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Arena Copacabana Hotel
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#29 of 308 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Opened in 2009, the Arena is the newest hotel in Copacabana Beach. Contemporary design with WiFi, King Size Beds, Accoustic Windows, Central Air Cond, among other features place this property as a top choice in Rio de Janeiro.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Steam room
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
153Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
21Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2,500Reviews121Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,278
  • 919
  • 201
  • 54
  • 48
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Boarding_gate123 wrote a review May 2020
Helsinki, Finland2,237 contributions277 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I stayed in a deluxe double room with sea view for 5 nights in December 2019/January 2020, i.e. we were also there over New Year's Eve. We'd specifically booked a hotel that would have a view to Copacabana beach. Overall, this hotel provided a disappointing price-quality ratio. This might partly have been due to the hiked prices over the New Year's Eve period, but there were so many annoyances that we would not return: - room wasn't particularly well-cleaned and towels were stained. - this was supposedly a four star hotel, but there were no slippers or bathrobes in room. - there is zero sound isolation. We could hear absolutely everything from the hallway and adjacent rooms and it drove us mad. - the lift/elevator is dangerous. Once, it stopped 0,5 metres from the ground and my husband almost broke his ankle when he stepped out. - we'd splurged on a full sea-view/beach view but were on such a low floor that we really just saw the street in front of us and a sliver of the sea. I'd been expecting to get the panoramic view of the entire beach. Indeed, the hotel's located in the middle of Copacabana beach, so if you're after the whole crescent view of the beach, you should instead pick a hotel at either end of the beach. - pre-communication with hotel was lousy. They kept sending us mails, urging us to check-in online in advance, which we dutifully did and spent a lot of time doing this. This information was in no way used or acknowledged at check-in. Furthermore, it took forever to book the New Year's party package. We also had to send our credit card details by E-MAIL (!!) for this, which is just a big no-no. Come on, it's 2020, there are a million different ways these details can be submitted securely online! - we asked them to book us a private airport transfer after our 24 hrs+ travelling. We were told they don't "provide that service currently." WHAAAT?! Again, first time ever. (We took a normal airport taxi instead, which turned out be easy and hassle-free, but if a hotel guest wants to book a more expensive option in advance simply for the ease of it, this should be available.) On the positive side, the minibar was good-sized, the AC was cold (but loud!) and the shower was efficient. The breakfast buffet was also relatively good. Location is obviously excellent for Copacabana beach and the shops and European-style restaurants and bars in the green zone. We walked on the beach and to restaurants nearby during the day and in the early evenings (when there were still people out and about) and felt safe. We wore no jewellery or watches and I did not take a handbag with me. For ease and safety, we booked the hotel's New Year's Eve party package, which cost R$ 950 pp and included a buffet dinner with all-inclusive drinks (cocktails, wine, sparkling wine) and a party on the rooftop with all-inclusive drinks (cocktails, wine, sparkling wine) and nibbles. For the price, I wasn't expecting lobster, truffles or foie gras. The food itself was perfectly acceptable, although not particularly festive or exciting. Drinks were very good and top-ups were generous and efficient. The views from the rooftop to Copacabana beach for the fireworks and people-watching were obviously excellent. However, the hotel had crammed the dining room full with tables so it felt extremely uncomfortable and the queues to the small buffet table were just too long. Queues to the two, already inadequate and downright scary elevators were long, and I actually ended up taking the stairs (a long and very sweaty work-out!) to the rooftop. Similarly, we were disappointed that the hotel had put extremely little effort into decorations. There were very small and humble DIY-looking centrepieces in the dining room, but no sparklers, headgear, balloons, confetti, chocolates or anything whatsoever had been left for guests either at the table or in the rooms. (The only notice we received in the room of this holiday was an A4 outlining all the changes to room service and laundry during this time.) There would have been potential for so much more and, considering what we were paying for the room during this time, it felt like the hotel was just trying to maximise their profits to the greatest degree possible. This lack of acknowledgment was a first for us when staying at a hotel over New Year's Eve. The New Year's Day brunch, which was included for guests, was literally leftovers from last night's dinner and a few of the normal breakfast items thrown in. Very disappointing. In conclusion, we were slightly disappointed with this hotel due to room issues (zero sound isolation, lack of cleanliness, and the view), communication issues as well as the hotel's slightly disappointing approach to New Year's Eve festivities.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: If you've booked a room with full sea view, ask for a room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Gerencia Geral ... A, Gerente geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel
Responded Jun 29, 2020
Dear Madam, We thank you for having chosen the Arena Copacabana Hotel and also for sending your comments to us. We noticed that you have enjoyed some aspectcs of your stay, however, we apologize for the inconveniences caused. Please be sure that action will be taken by our management to rectify our faults, that is why I would like to thank you for bringing the subjects to our attention, so we can work on better our services towards our Guests. Therefore, we thank you again for your cooperation and hope to welcome you again in your next visit to Rio de Janeiro. My e-mail address is gerenciageral.copa@arenahotel.rio. Sincerely, Beatriz Pereira General Manager
Read more
harrisonford13 wrote a review Mar 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom7 contributions9 helpful votes
We have always stayed at the Copacabana Palace, but since it has now become overated and overpriced, decided to spend 12 days at the Arena Hotel. Delighted we made the switch, and found a new "home" in Rio! Brilliant location for all amenities, and the hotel is spotless, serves a great breakfast (perhapss a small microwave in the area would be of benefit to people who like hot food?), in a restaraunt overlooking the beach. Didnt see any other hotels on the "strip" with this big plus. Book a Suite if you can, well worth the price difference. They provide great sweeping views, ceiling to floor windows, comfy bed and powerful shower. Pool area also very attractive, and thanks to Matheus there. Also want to thank our brill chamber maid of 905, tall girl and such fun. Whole place very clean. Wifi fast and reliable. Thanks to all at Reception, particularly Bruno and Felipe in reservations, especially during the "corona" period. ALL the staff handled the difficult situation with great professionalism, a credit to them. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Obrigardo John
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Book a suite if you can.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Clément I, Gerente geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel
Responded Mar 31, 2020
Thank you so much for staying at our Arena Copacabana Hotel! Your comments are very important to us and we were delighted to hear that your stay was great and that we met your expectations. We hope to receive your visit again soon! How about already booking your next stay with us? Sincerely, Clément Izard General Manager
Read more
Sergey S wrote a review Mar 2020
7 contributions
+1
First time in Rio. My childhood dream. In reality - earthly paradise. Telling my friends in US - they don't believe, the never ever imagine place like this. Great, clean white sand beaches, most friendly people on the earth, very safe - walking on the beach until midnight. Nobody ask for money! In Cambridge will ask every 5 min. Food is amazing, plenty restaurants, service is great. Taxi drivers are so polite and knowledgeable. Practically without Brazilian (Portuguese) and little Spanish, we can communicate with people and even make friends. Taxi driver in our ride to Christ the Redeemer even made 20 min lecture about statue and Rio, on mix of Brazilian, Spanish and English.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are the best, open window, you do not need AC, fresh ocean air in the room....
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Clément I, Gerente geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel
Responded Mar 18, 2020
Thank you so much! Your comments are very important to us and we were delighted to hear that your stay was great and that we met your expectations. We hope to receive your visit again soon! How about already booking your next stay with us? Sincerely, Clément Izard General Manager
Read more
LouAnn Z wrote a review Mar 2020
Antelope, California6 contributions1 helpful vote
What can I say, I booked a partial beach view and ended up with the beach to my left and Christ the Redeemer to my right, I guess that will do!!!! This place is a wonderful hotel, right in the middle of the beach walk from end to end of the cococabana, I would say, best location, and service, we were completely impressed by Lucas and Matheus, while everyone was great, Lucas and Matheus made our week stay above and beyond, from morning breakfast with Lucas to afternoon drinks by the pool with either Lucas or Matheus. Both speaking English or Spanish with us to help with the language barrier, not just that but, over all very professional, but also friendly and welcoming, when you are at a place for a week, having staff treat you like a friend really makes a difference, we will remember them both for the great service. The hotel rooms are very clean, professional to get work done if you need, have a safe, extra blankets if your husband freezes you like mine, wonderful shampoo and conditioner and kept daily. The breakfast was a huge plus for us, so hearty that we only really ate one other meal a day, if you have no had pineapple from south america - go to Brazil just for that!!! All around just wonderful, the pool was so clean and refreshing, the bar and drinks so tasty, I just cannot say enough. 32 countries 6 continents - I rate this one high.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: 1202 - beach one side, christ the redeemer on the other!!!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Clément I, Gerente geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel
Responded Mar 16, 2020
Thank you so much for staying at our Arena Copacabana Hotel! Your comments are very important to us and we were delighted to hear that your stay was great and that we met your expectations. I will certainly inform Lucas and Matheus of your comments! Our vocation is to welcome our guests in the way that they feel in a house of dear friends and we are extremely happy that their perception of our hotel is exactly that. We hope to receive your visit again soon! How about already booking your next stay with us? Sincerely, Clément Izard General Manager
Read more
minxypie wrote a review Mar 2020
Buckingham, United Kingdom53 contributions20 helpful votes
Felt safe security in the foyer lovely roof terrace view of the beach and Christ the redeemer lovely poo Yes there was only one lift working it was not an issue really But I would say check your bill we found a smoking charge added they didn’t point it out and we don’t smoke so we were a bit outraged requested second check and it was removed from bill . It wouldn’t deter me from recommending this hotel though
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Clément I, Gerente geral at Arena Copacabana Hotel
Responded Mar 16, 2020
Thank you so much for staying at our Arena Copacabana Hotel! Your comments are very important to us and we were delighted to hear that your stay was great and that we met your expectations. We hope to receive your visit again soon! How about already booking your next stay with us? Sincerely, Clément Izard General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$72 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BrazilState of Rio de JaneiroRio de JaneiroZona Sul (South Zone) / Copacabana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
135
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Arena Copacabana Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Avenida Atlantica (0.10 miles), Copacabana Fair (0.08 miles), and Estátua de Dorival Caymmi (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zoe Bistro' Copacabana, Restaurante Pérgula, and Alfaia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Arena Copacabana Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Arena Copacabana Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Arena Copacabana Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fortaleza de Santa Cruz da Barra (3.9 miles), São Luis Fortress (4.8 miles), and Forte de Copacabana (1.3 miles).
Does Arena Copacabana Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.