We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

CabanaCopa Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
CabanaCopa Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

435 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 218: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I came home at 11pm at night to find they had packed my bags without my permission and shifted me rooms. They did this to accommodate another group that had booked and said they didn't ask for my permission as the internet was down. Then 2 days later they did exactly the same thing despite how angry I got at... More 

Helpful?
Thank MichaelRiverland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

staff are rude, receptionists are rude. They treat you badly. I saw other guests being treated so badly too. Breakfast is not so good. Rooms are very small and you cannot belive so many beds are fitted in such a small room. I also saw a guest being kicked out just because he made some complaints. Theh don't give you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mayk J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my friend had reservations for Friday and saturday, and the check in wasn't allowed until 12:00pm, but we arrived in Rio at 6am, and wanted to leave our backpacks at the hostel so we could go watch the games at the Olympic park. Not only did they not let us leave our bags there, but they didn't even... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Luis T
Muenster, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were a group of 12 friends travelling Rio for 4 days, the weekend before the olympic games started. The hostel is located perfectly in a safe street and close to subway station. It is also good to find. The staff is very helpful and speaks proper english. The beds were okay and the rooms clean. We really enjoyed our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Whabada
Ian P, General Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for the visit and review! We are glad you had a good time, you were a fun group for sure! :) We are upgrading the beds of all rooms, and soon the bigger and cheaper dorms will also have new spring mattresses. Safe travels and see you soon! CabanaCopa staff More 

Chernobyl, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016

I accidently paid for the same night/bed twice via credit card, making obvious mistake. I quickly contacted staff to cancel the resrvation and get my money back for one night. They did not respond AT ALL and at the spot they mentioned that they have no idea what I'm talking about. The place was really crowded, party hard hostel, with... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lubie_placki
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here 5 nights during the Olympics, so it's understandable that the place would be filled to capacity. The bed I stayed on was stuck between two bunk beds so every night people would climb on my bed to get to the top of the other bunks. Other than that the hostel was good enough for... More 

Helpful?
Thank sddeville99
Ian P, General Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for staying with us. We are sorry that during the Olympic games we were busier than ever before, specially now with the new rooms. We are opening 2 big new common areas, one terrace and one basement bar and it will make hostel feel more spacious. We do try the best to make everyone comfortable and happy. Hope... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here during olympics - the most dirty filthy place on the planet. Beds are covered with urine stains and the managements response when asked to change rooms was "you book a bed not a room" followed by "we are not responsible for what others do in a room" but they are responsible for making sure the room is cleanly.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hoda S
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016

I stayed at the Cabanacopa Hostel for 5 days and absolutely loved it! The rooms are nice and spacious, the beds really comfortable and they even have little curtains for privacy. The breakfast was yummy, especially the cheese and cake. The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. Would stay again any time!

Helpful?
Thank Annika L
Ian P, General Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for the visit! We are glad you had a good time, the new rooms are indeed very comfortable. Hope to see you back anytime soon. Safe travels! CabanaCopa staff More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

Dont stay here!!!! At first we thought it was okay but then it just kept getting worse. "Wifi available in all areas" is a lie. (Plus the wifi in the reception was down for a whole day, with no compensation) The cleaning of our room was terrible!!! First, they didn't clean our room for about ten days. Then they locked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra E
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

This place is rubbish. The only good thing about it is the location. We arrived there and had no wifi for the first 2days .. we payed extra to have private rooms but the dorms look nicer at least the dorms have tables and a mirror our room at 3 beds and not one other thing. Not even a mirror... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ruth m
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

265 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (65)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (97)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Dormitory (20)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (57)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Bamboo Rio Hostel
Bamboo Rio Hostel
#36 of 688 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti House
El Misti House
#15 of 688 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Copacabana
Villa Budget Hostel
Villa Budget Hostel
#28 of 688 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
#25 of 688 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 885 reviews
Discovery Hostel
#1 of 688 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#13 of 688 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Copacabana

Neighborhood Profile
Copacabana
The rowdy Copacabana is one of the most traditional and old areas from Rio de Janeiro. This neighbourhood is a blend of Brazilian soul - crowded, rowdy and traditional. This neighbourhood has a bit of everything: bars with music, pubs, street fairs, chaotic streets, and many shops. All these things and more live side-by-side. There are options for all price points and tastes. However, the most powerful draw in Copacabana is still the fantastic view of the coast and the incredible beaches.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just three blocks from the famous Copacabana beach, next to the metro and a beautiful national park, CabanaCopa is a new quality backpackers hostel in a street w/ 24hrs security with a warm & welcoming atmosphere of our friendly & helpful staff.A large colonial house fully renovated with clean spacious dorms and bathrooms, excellent social areas (indoor and outdoor) that include our CabanaBar w/ Live sports & music, a Games room w/ Pool table, cards etc., a Cinema room w/ 52” LCD HD Cable TV & DVD, a Computers lounge w/ Free 20Mbs Internet & Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about CabanaCopa Hostel

Address: Travessa Guimaraes 12 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 21721-560, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Price Range: $16 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — CabanaCopa Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your CabanaCopa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanacopa Hotel Rio De Janeiro
CabanaCopa Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay