We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

El Misti Botafogo

Rua Praia de Botafogo, 462, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22250-040, Brazil
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
El Misti Botafogo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

685 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 94: English reviews
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really liked the hostel for its staff. They were very helpful and talkative and just nice. One night, everyone went out to a party... The facilities, however, weren't as good. The kitchen was a bit dirty and the rooms were okay. The breakfast was good.

Helpful?
Thank Steffman
Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The only thing I have to advise is more attention to the cleanliness of bathrooms and I noticed one of the beds was broken. Otherwise I appreciated the rich breakfast, hot shower, nicely ventilated room, soft linen, comfortable bed, very helpfull staff, free room for my bike. The hostel is located 2 minute walk from the beach and a couple... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katerina B
El Misti H, Gerente de recepção at El Misti Botafogo, responded to this review

Dear Bartonkova First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you with a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, El misti botafogo Family More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I enjoyed staying at El Misti. If you like music and clubbing, then I recommend this place. The minute I walked in the door, I heard music and it was played all day which created a lively atmosphere. It also made me feel like clubbing every night and there are plenty of clubs in Rio to enjoy. El Misti was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alexa A
El Misti H, Manager at El Misti Botafogo, responded to this review

Dear Alexa, thank you for your comment about our property. I have shared your review to all the staff and we are glad to know that you had a great time with us and we'd hope to see you again in the future. Take care. More 

Sao Paulo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

It's a brand new hotel and have some details to fix, as usual. But the overall was really good. The high peak was the breakfast: Super! And the location is amazing. very easy way to downtown and the other touristic place of the city.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank marcosdiesel
El Misti H, Manager at El Misti Botafogo, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for leaving your comment about our property. We are happy to know that you had an excellent stay with us as we tried our best to make your stay memorable. We'd hope to see you again in the future and give you even better service with some better details as you mentioned. Take care. More 

Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

-The hostel has a really good location, staff were very helpful but at the end some new were very impolite. The staff can recommend a lot of places to go out. -Normally there are nice people to meet. -Bathrooms are not very clean because they have a rubber mat that looks dirty. -For a short term it would be nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank leonardolondono
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here 3 weeks ago, and I had a wonderful stay. The rooms were clean and they were comfortable. The attention and service that I received was really good. I would like to thank everyone that works here, for helping me have a wonderful stay. I will come back soon

Helpful?
Thank AlexanderKEvin
El Misti H, Gerente de recepção at El Misti Botafogo, responded to this review

Dear Alexander Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is great mostly because of the team which is nice, available and always listening to our needs. They advised us well in english, espagnol and french sometimes. The place is clean and the breakfast is great. It was a good solution for a young couple like us which is going on a 5 month trip in south america

Helpful?
Thank Guillaume S
Berlin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016

Misti was one of the very few options i found two weeks before carnival which was still possible to pay. Staff is nice and really helpful, and the dorms are ok. Unfortunatelly bathrooms are not clean and breakfast was nothing that helps you over your hangover.

Helpful?
Thank yannishaug
El Misti H, Manager at El Misti Botafogo, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your review about our hostel. Your review is very important for improvement of our services. During carnival the house was full and we really tried our best to keep the house clean, however, it is also a responsibility of every guest to have some collaboration on this part. It is a hostel anyhow, where people... More 

Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2016

Like the title says, location is right near metro, cool beds, normal hostel. But for 3 days there was no soap in the bathrooms, so kind of dirty, and one day the sink was clogged with pubes all day, so that seems like a basic thing to fix.

Helpful?
Thank Kiernan H
El Misti H, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate your detailed review and we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Please rest assured that we will address your recommendations for the improvement of our hostel. Kind regards, El Misti Botafogo More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2016

I spent 12 days at El Misti hostel, and I'm not disappointed at all. The staff is super helpful and really nice, they all do speak English, Spanish and Portuguese. The location is perfect, really close to the subway, bus stop and facilities like restaurants, mall and supermarket. The breakfast is huge, and every day we have coffee and cakes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne D
El Misti H, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services! There is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Leme
El Misti Leme
El Misti Leme
#346 of 638 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Rio
El Misti Hostel Rio
#19 of 638 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
#25 of 638 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#15 of 638 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti House
El Misti House
#13 of 638 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 651 reviews
Botafogo
Rio Soul Hostel
Rio Soul Hostel
#53 of 638 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Botafogo

Neighborhood Profile
Botafogo
In recent years, Botafogo has become one of the hottest neighbourhoods in Rio. It hosts many modern restaurants with contemporary food and many venues to listen to rock and electronic music. Its numerous bars and pubs make this area a great choice for anyone interested in a great nightlife experience - in fact, some bars in the area are open all night. Casa Daros, an art museum that showcases amazing artists from Latin America, is a must see located in a historical building in Botafogo.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about El Misti Botafogo

Address: Rua Praia de Botafogo, 462, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22250-040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Price Range: $17 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Misti Botafogo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your El Misti Botafogo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Misti Botafogo Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay