We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Villa

Certificate of Excellence
Rua Dr. Julio Otoni, 254, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-400, Brazil (Formerly Rio 180º Suites & Cuisine)
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Villa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 156: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This boutique hotel has breath taking views of the city of Rio de Janeiro. I had gotten the standard room, and when I entered the room, I thought there was a mistake. The room, had a lot of space, high ceilings, modern decor, comfortable bed, and the water pressure in the shower was the best. There is really good free... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura D
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016

I loved this place- view was beautiful, staff accommodating and kind. Would return here again. i am a serious world traveler and look for out of the ordinary experiences , The villa was exactly what i thought it would be.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank joic521
TheVillaRio, Gerente at The Villa, responded to this review

Dear Guest We would like to thank you for the feedback. I am very glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you soon. Kind Regards Maura More 

Millport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

Fantastic sunrise over Rio with a vKew of both Sugarloaf Mountain and Christ the Redeemer.. Most of the staff speak very good English and offer ideas for trips out and places to eat. The restaurant serves very good food and we ate there both nights it was open. Would certainly recommend as a contrast of the busy city centre.

Helpful?
Thank 616LAM
TheVillaRio, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review

Dear Guest I woud like to thank in taking the time to review us. I am very happy you have enjoyed your stay! Kind regards Maura More 

Nancy, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

Our stay at the Villa was a real delight. We stayed there 6 nights and enjoyed it all the way. The view from our room (Lapa) is amazing: what a thrill to wake up every morning in front of the sun rising over the bay... The room is really comfortable, clean, with an amazing terrace. The place is really quiet.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LorraineandGilles
TheVillaRio, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine and Gilles I am very happy to know you have enjoyed to stay with us! And as well I am happy we were here for you!! Kind regards Maura More 

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016

Very nice hotel with absolutely stunning views over Rio. Room was clean, stylish and comfortable. Disapointed by the fact that no bed for the kid was prepared (and no one could prepare one when we asked, even paying for it), and by the feeling that staying only 1 night, the staff didin't care that much. But they were still nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank delisley
TheVillaRio, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review

Dear Delisley I am sorry you didnt have an extra bed put up in your room before your arrival. Please kindly send me an email for me to investigate what happened. As well if you paid for the bed we will refund you. Please email me at manager@thevillario.com Kind regards Maura More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in the master suite. Very nice hotel with an astonishing view with the statue of Christ on your right and the city with the beaches and sugar loaf mountain to the left. Friendly and very helpful reception! Breakfast was fine compared to the size of the hotel. The view from the restaurant however was beautiful, so they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rudi J
TheVillaRio, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review

Dear Rudi Many thanks in taking time to write a review. We are very happy you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you soon. Kind regards Maura More 

C
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2016

I cannot express in words how breathtaking the view from our room 'Lapa' was - we spent most of the first day just staring at it! Yes, you have to get a taxi (cheap & quick) or bus (cheaper) to get around but being up high away from the hustle & bustle is sort of the point of this small,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dsch2016
TheVillaRio, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review

Dear Guest It is our pleasure to receive you in our Hotel. We are greatfull for your preference and hope to see you soon. Kind Regards Maura More 

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here 10 nights. Villa had an incredible view and athosphere was very calm! Breakfast was excellent and the room was beautiful and had a nice access to pool from front of our room. Location was remote but the area surrounding villa was calm. By walk it takes 45 minutes to closest metro station (Largo do Machado) where you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Smashedjukka27
TheVillaRio, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review

Dear Jukka We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us. I have made the note regarding the cleaning of your room and restaurant, we appreciate the feedback. Kind Regards Maura More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this gem of a hotel for 6 nights in the carnaval suite. From the moment we arrived the service we received from all the staff was excellent. Daniel on reception booked us an excellent day trip to sugar loaf and Christ the redeemer. We had heavy rain the first day and the cleaners moved our suitcase to... More 

Helpful?
Thank shoes4
TheVillaRio, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your feedback!! We appreciate it! It is lovely to know you had spent a good time with us. We hope to see you soon. Best Regards Maura More 

Seaford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2016

The views and the restaurant were superb although no lunch available and closed on Tuesday .Staff friendly , its position was quite remote and we had to use taxis to get around . These were quite inexpensive around £4 to £5

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 637jop
TheVillaRio, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for yor feedback. We are very happy you had a good stay with us! Kind regards Maura More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

251 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (210)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Gavea Tropical Boutique Hotel
#171 of 267 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Santa Teresa
Santa Teresa Hotel RJ MGallery By Sofitel
Santa Teresa Hotel RJ MGallery B...
#14 of 267 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Copacabana
Mirador Rio Hotel
Mirador Rio Hotel
#65 of 267 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hote...
#10 of 267 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 2,033 reviews
Vila Gale Rio de Janeiro
#16 of 267 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#5 of 299 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Rio, in the historic and bohemian town of Santa Teresa, The Villa is an 11-room boutique hotel with a hilltop position and a million dollar view! From the hotels main terrace, guests can take in the sweeping vista over the Guanabara Bay and the green hills of Santa Teresa, while enjoying the view of world famous art deco statue Christ the Redeemer and Sugarloaf Mountain. The hotel is only 15 minutes away from the beaches of Copacabana and Ipanema, the samba clubs of Lapa and the Sambodromo stadium. Described by those in the know as the South American Montmartre and one of Rio's hidden gems, Santa Teresa is packed with local artists, galleries, cafes and some of Rio's best small restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Villa

Address: Rua Dr. Julio Otoni, 254, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-400, Brazil (Formerly Rio 180º Suites & Cuisine)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $60 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio 180
The Villa Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#38 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay