We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Roost Bed and Breakfast

Save
Share
1900 S Lee St, Appleton, WI 54915-4261
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
FindHotel
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (62)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (4)

About

#2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Appleton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Roost Bed and Breakfast has received nothing but positive guest reviews since it opened! That fact alone speaks volumes. An established, award-winning bed and breakfast located in a quiet residential neighborhood just 1.8 miles from downtown Appleton, The Roost is only 30 minutes from Lambeau Field and the Green Bay Packers, 30 minutes from Oshkosh and EAA AirVenture (“The World’s Greatest Aviation Celebration”), and minutes away from Lawrence University, the Fox River Mall (the second-largest indoor mall in Wisconsin), the Fox Cities Performing Arts Center, museums, dozens of fine dining options, Lake Winnebago, outdoor activities, and much more. Five contemporary guest suites are decorated in a French Country/Tuscan décor and feature private bathrooms, two-person air-jet spa tubs, fireplaces, mini-refrigerators, and other amenities.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Breakfast in the room
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
158Reviews2Q+A35Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 147
  • 6
  • 0
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Extraordinary318335 wrote a review Oct 7
6 contributions
The best bed and breakfast in the Appleton area!!! De Ann is the best!!! Wonderful to work with ! She makes amazing breakfast. A must is to stay in the Bella room!!! Love coming here. Been here many times and will keep coming!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from De Ann Nikolai, Owner at The Roost Bed and Breakfast
Responded 2 weeks ago
We love accommodating your stay each time you are able to make it to the Appleton area! Looking forward to your next visit! Until next time....keep it real and keep on bowling!
Read more
westonfrancie wrote a review Aug 2020
Weston, Missouri46 contributions20 helpful votes
We are especially cautious about traveling in these times, and The Roost B&B was perfect! We are used to staying in older homes turned to B&B so this was a different experience. The home was built around 1981. The rooms are much larger than we are used to. They are beautifully decorated. We had wonderful baths, fireplace, great beds, wine in the room, small refrigerator, and all of the amenities we needed. We played games at the dining room table. In the morning we took a wonderful walk down to the Fox River before returning for a fabulous breakfast of a blueberry french toast casserole, sausage and scrambled eggs with some of Dee Ann's father's homemade salsa! Dee Ann was a wonderful hostess and took care of our every need. It was a wonderful experience!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The Bella Suite was fabulous! Huge room, great fireplace, wonderful sitting area and a bathroom...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from De Ann Nikolai, Owner at The Roost Bed and Breakfast
Responded 2 weeks ago
Overjoyed you had an exceptional visit and we look forward to your next stay!! Come on back to 'The Roost'!
Read more
miguelacho1 wrote a review Jul 2020
Libertyville, Illinois117 contributions16 helpful votes
We enjoyed the comforts of the Hunt Suite in this total experience. A glass of delicious red wine opened our evening aside our fireplace. Comfort and charming detail everywhere. We had our breakfast served in our suite. It was all so fresh, tasty and creative.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: All beautifully decorated with fireplaces and Jacuzzi tubs, all very clean, like new.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from De Ann Nikolai, Owner at The Roost Bed and Breakfast
Responded 2 weeks ago
OOoohhHH! Comfort and Charming Detail is what we strive for! Thanks for your visit; your compliments and we look forward to your return!
Read more
CASEY M wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
De Ann is actually a very horrible person to deal with. We had booked through Hotels.com and tried on multiple occasions to cancel through Hotels.com, but they'd state they'd need the authorization from The Roost B&B but De Ann refused to answer multiple times to have everything authorized, even though I just spoke with her a few minutes prior. Hotels.com would call, they'd go straight to voicemail and rinse and repeat. This began about a month ago(well within their cancellation policy of two weeks, -$25 cancellation fee which we'd be happy to give up). Finally my wife got a hold of her again on the Friday of check in and she tried having a conversation with her. I got on the phone and De Ann asked me direct whether we still wanted this reservation and I told her absolutely not. We've been asking for this to be cancelled for a month. I called up Hotels.com and talked it over with them and they would call her and deal with her direct. It got escalated and the lady said "Don't worry, we'll take care of it". So, I can now breath easy. NOPE. WRONG AGAIN! Email came through from Hotels.com stating that they cannot get a hold of her and it seems we're subject to the fees. So I called De Ann again direct. She kept spouting the same thing even though the charges went through back in April. So she is NOT a straight shooter and refuses to work with us. She refuses to work this out with me and I'm afraid I'll have to take her to small claims court over something so simple as ANSWERING THE PHONE and doing your job. I am appalled at her behavior and lack of professionalism. We followed the policy but apparently that's not how she works.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Stay away from this place
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from De Ann Nikolai, Owner at The Roost Bed and Breakfast
Responded 2 weeks ago
This reservation was made through Hotels.com. Unfortunately, when booking with a third party, the business nor the owner can control the reservation nor the decision the guests choose to make regarding their arrival. Our sincere apologies; however, the Hotels.com team would have to override their own same day cancellation policy.
Read more
Kathy W wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
Quiet setting, gracious host, delicious breakfast, romantic beautiful rooms. Thank you for a much needed retreat! The nicest bed and breakfast we have stayed in. Met wonderful guests and had great conversations. Will definately be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from De Ann Nikolai, Owner at The Roost Bed and Breakfast
Responded 2 weeks ago
Ideally it is the charming nature of a B&B that lends itself to idyllic meet-ups and memorable conversations! So happy to hear of your wonderful stay and we look forward to your return!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$195 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesWisconsinAppleton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Roost Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to The Roost Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Escape Room Wisconsin (3.1 miles), Fox Cities Performing Arts Center (2.0 miles), and Hearthstone Historic House Museum (1.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Roost Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Roost Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Roost Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Roost Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Apollon, Sai Ram Indian Cuisine, and Mark's East Side.
Are there any historical sites close to The Roost Bed and Breakfast?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Hearthstone Historic House Museum (1.9 miles).