We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Candlewood Suites Appleton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Appleton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 59: English reviews
Sturgeon Bay
Level Contributor
257 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you are not familar with a Candlewood Suites, they are very similar to a Residence Inn, but with slightly lower end furnishings. They also do not staff the front desk from 11pm to 7am, so if you are checking in during that time frame, you are given instructions for using the lock box to check in. The rooms are... More 

Helpful?
Thank vanclaners
Candlewood S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Appleton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. You really noticed all the little things about our hotel. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We have just put in new sofa sleepers a couple of weeks ago, and are planned for an extensive remodel shortly. It will have so many updates. We hope you... More 

Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Easy to get to from the Appleton airport and a very good price but nothing fancy. I appreciated the ability to cook my own food for a few days. It makes travel more affordable. As an avid runner, however, it was hard to find a safe path to run each day- there are very few sidewalks and the traffic gets... More 

Helpful?
Thank jsboregon
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

In town for just one night and needed a place that wouldn't cost an arm and a leg just to sleep. Couldn't have been more satisfied. Very very clean suite, and a comfortable mattress made this a great stay. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the AC smelled a little; nothing worth complaining about as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brad H
Candlewood S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Appleton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I apologize for the smell with the AC. I am very happy you had a good night sleep. Please feel free to let anyone here at Candlewood Suites know if there is an issue while you are here, we want your stay to be a 5 star always. Thank you,... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016 via mobile

So I have never stayed at Candlewood before. It was nice. I think I would like it for a longer stay with the kitchen ect.... The staff was friendly , the room was clean everything was fine. I just like places that have breakfast. If I was looking for an extended stay I would come back.

Helpful?
Thank Christy N
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Appleton, responded to this review

Dear Christy N, Thank you for your review. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best extended stay hotel around. It is my pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with the amenities, friendly staff and room accommodation. It encourages our staff to continuously work harder to delight our... More 

everywhere, US
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016 via mobile

All of the hotels in town were booked, had to take a room here. Normally Candlewoods aren't bad, and this one was par for the course except for the 1970's carpet and dial up Internet speed. Staff was professional and polite, and the location isn't bad. Room was clean and we'll maintained. The lack of coffee in the lobby is... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1911guy
Candlewood S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Appleton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I would like you to know we have 24 hour coffee available in our Candlewood Cupboard, (next to the lobby) and TWC has recently changed us to a dedicated fiber for internet. We are also in the process of upgrading all the recliners, and sofa sleepers. This will be completed... More 

Williamsburg, Va
Level Contributor
257 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2016

We booked this hotel based on the proximity to both our conference and the airport. Very friendly front desk personnel, but the desk hours are 7-11. That posed no issues, just beware nobody is there to assist overnight. The room was ok, small but had stove, microwave, refrigerator and all utensils needed. I did sleep extremely well on the bed.... More 

Helpful?
Thank 11Limited
Candlewood S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Appleton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, the light in the fitness Center should not go out, I will have maintenance check it. Once again Thank you and we look forward to you staying in the future. Julie More 

Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2016

We booked this hotel for a wedding so the guests could be shuttled to and from the reception as we were told they would do this. Don't book with that intention as there are multiple stipulations (must be booked 1 month in advance and 15 rooms). Really the invites aren't sent more than one month ahead of the wedding date.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lois P
Candlewood S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Appleton, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, please keep in mind the contract was signed and agreed to back in September of 2015. Gina who is very kind and helpful tried to help your group as much as possible. I hope your wedding went well. Thank you, Julie More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

The hotel staff were always very helpful. The hotel was in good shape, clean and appeared well cared for. The furnishings and rooms were dated in appearance. The Air/Heater unit was very loud, even more so than most of those wall type units. Things to be aware of on hotel charges: I had a rate based on a month stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hinzmoto
Candlewood S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Appleton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I do apologize for the billing issue, I would like to talk to you see what really happened. The reservations are made through our reservation line, not directly at the hotel, that may be where some of the issue came from, in any case I would like to view and get all the details and... More 

Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for business. Room was on bottom floor. Good insulation from floor to floor but every time a person was outside the room it was very noisy. Dogs are ok here which was not ok with me as my room reeked of urine and I could hear dogs barking from time to time. Room wasn't dirty, just dated and... More 

Helpful?
Thank keilani5
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Appleton, responded to this review

Dear keilani5, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work hard to make your stay comfortable and pleasant so we are pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and location of the hotel. It seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay with regard to the level... More 

Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015

Let’s start with what we didn’t like. First, the address listed (and provided by the Post Office) bears only passing relationship with the actual location. The entrance in NOT on W. College, as stated, but rather a block south on Lawrence Street, between S. Casaloma and S. Nicolet. The sleep sofa, while new, is not terribly comfortable either for sitting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joshua A
Candlewood S, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Appleton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, we are still working on upgrades and will have new sofa sleepers and recliners in Spring of 2016. We look forward to your next visit, and should you ever need anything please do not hesitate to ask. Thank you, Julie More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
1.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
0.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fox Valley Inn
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Appleton-Fox River Mall Area
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Appleton College Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Candlewood Suites Appleton offers a full kitchen in each room as well as complimentary wireless internet, a large fitness center, business center, complimentary laundry services, conference rooms and much more. New carpet in all guest rooms by end of 2013! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Appleton

Address: 4525 W College Ave, Appleton, WI 54914-3967
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Price Range: $103 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Appleton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Appleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Appleton Hotel Appleton
Candlewood Appleton
Appleton Candlewood Suites
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay