Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions

Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions

Praca Stella Maris, 200 Stella Maris, Salvador, State of Bahia 41600-500 Brazil
Traveler (3457)
Pool & Beach (669)
A vista do quarto onde estava.
Room & Suite (463)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 3 resorts in Salvador
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
3.9
Service
3.9
Value
3.8
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Gran Hotel Stella Maris is a hotel that uses the modern concept of an urban resort, where you enjoy an excellent infrastructure, with all the facilities of a big city, with a privileged location, comfortable apartments with spectacular views, gastronomic diversity, leisure and entertainment options for everyone, optimizing your stay for business, cultural and leisure tourism in the same enterprise, according to your preference. In addition, it has an excellent infrastructure of halls for events, congresses or business. The hotel is located in front of Stella Maris beach, one of the most beautiful in Salvador, close to Luis Eduardo Magalhães Airport, Aratu Industrial Center, Camaçari Petrochemical Complex and Salvador Norte Shopping. The Gran Hotel Stella Maris is just a few kilometers from some of Salvador's famous tourist attractions: Lagoa do Abaeté, Praça Vinícius de Moraes and the Itapuã Lighthouse, as well as the best beaches on the north coast of Bahia.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Game room
Kids stay free
Parking garage
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Mini golf
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Solarium
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese

Location

Praca Stella Maris, 200 Stella Maris, Salvador, State of Bahia 41600-500 Brazil
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 54 out of 100
54
Airport Luis E. Magalhaes
3,532Reviews213Q+A24Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,460
  • 1,044
  • 598
  • 231
  • 199
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Marcelo T wrote a review Jan 2020
Inverness, United Kingdom177 contributions58 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Good hotel with reasonable service. Clean but a little old fashioned needing a face lift for furniture and wall painting. With a big pool and few steps to the sand of beach, relaxing and fun guaranteed.
A little far from the city ( down town) of Sslvador but placed at the very best beach.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from S0L_Express, Central de Relacionamento com o Cliente at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions
Responded Feb 26, 2020
Dear guest I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as an option for your accommodation in Salvador and for informing us about your stay at the Hotel. The philosophy of the entire Sol Express chain is to receive our guests with high quality service, providing them with a stay that meets their needs and expectations. Upon your comment, I emphasize that the hotel is undergoing a modernization process and thus offer more comfort to all our guests. We look forward to your return in the near future. Sincerely, Sol Express Network, Customer Relationship Center.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jukkis2012 wrote a review Jan 2014
Windsor, United Kingdom46 contributions40 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Before booking looked at the reviews and was a bit apprehended but decided to have a go. When arriving the hotel it was a bit of a shock, especially coming from Morro de Sao Paolo posada de dos corales and earlier from Sheraton Salvador. The hotel is a big complex and the hotel is probably no more than three stars. First impression was disappointing. We got sea view room (not pool) and it indeed had lovely view. Asked for hammock for the balcony and got it after a while. Looks like all rooms have balcony. Lovely to lay on hammock and listen the Atlantic Ocean and waves making lovely sound. Room is good size but old. Bed is good. Bathroom is ok but would need repair and better cleaning although second day the cleaning was much better! The standard of the hotel is not the best and even lift have handrail falling off! Decor is bit 70'ies. Pool is nice size like other reviews tell and the beach is lovely. Breakfast was acceptable but no that great, nowhere close to Sheratons at 50% more expensive price!

The staff is very friendly and helpful! Cannot complain there, but only front desk speaks some English. Not massive problem as we speak Spanish so we can get by. But eg we asked about sunbeds one the beach. They said they do not have but after while we figured out that the hotel indeed has sun chairs on the beach, and free. We also asked about restaurants and they said there are none around! But after walking 400m on the beach road towards salvador center there was typical Brazilian close to road restaurant restaurante de brasa. The hotel is a bit in the middle of suburb. The hotel has buffet restaurant for dinner and a la carte Italian restaurant, which is not open on Tuesdays because the chef is off! And this is high season! The restaurants have no view, with a little better hotel design the hotel would have lovely spaces - missed opportunity.

There is a supermarket, pharmacy and cash points only one block inland, approx 300 meters. Apparently on that road there are other restaurants although we did verify it due to short time...

So staff lovely, location beachside lovely, although not even close to Morro, praia do forte or boipeba. Hotel ok, but not 5 star, staying few days ok, but not a week as there are not many facilities / restaurants around. Don't want to sound negative but you may expect a bit more... After first night though everything looks sunnier! Air con works, safe is ok. TV is a flat tv but only with Brazilian channels! Anyway continue enjoying hammock with sea breeze!
.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2014Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
klewis7945 wrote a review Apr 2015
Boca Raton, Florida192 contributions58 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Although locared with an ocean view the beach outside the hotel is a public beach. The swimming pool was large with a comfortable temperature. The location to obtain towels closed apparently at 3::00 PM a crazy hour to close.
I only recommend a room on the 5th floor to limit the noise from the swimming pool area.
The room was small and adequate, however there was only on electrical outlet where we could charge our laptop and I phones and that was next to the bed making it extremeny uncomfortable to work with.
I DEFINITELy do not recommend eating in the restaurant called Trattoria Abaete.. where we had the worst dinner ever. We returned our dishes for a secong try. The food was salty and the salmon was dried out like eating an old shoe. The staff was friendly, not their fault,,but the kitchen was a disaster,,,
I do not recommend this hotel only as a last resort.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrea L wrote a review Feb 2021
Embu das Artes, SP20 contributions19 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel claims to be a resort, but is in such a terrible state. The rooms smell, the internet does not work at ALL. The restroom is HORRIBLE, the room needs maintenance, in general the whole hotel needs an upgrade.
They are no sheets on the bed, terrible lighting and floors are dirty. Look at the shower head,so dirty (this is only one thing of many) .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort, Marketing at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions
Responded Mar 3, 2021
Dear guest, We're sorry that we didn't meet your expectations regarding your stay with us. The Gran Hotel Stella Maris was conceived in the rustic proposal of ancient Bahia by renowned architects André Sá and Francisco Matos. Maintenance is preventive and corrective, mainly due to the location by the sea. We have a guest service center (CAH) working to meet the needs and requests of our guests in the best way at all times. We hope to surprise you in the next opportunity. Best regards, Team Gran Hotel Stella Maris
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicholas A wrote a review Mar 2015
1 contribution7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is a dump. I stay in hotels all over the world for my job. The rooms are absolutely filthy. Upon arrival to my outdated hotel room there was clearly a lack of basic cleanliness. I took pictures of hair on the floor, stains on the bed (who knows of what). Paint is peeling off the walls and molding is pulling away. The beds have almost no linens on them. Two thins sheets and a quilt. The tile throughout the room is disgusting. Mold growing in the shower and all parts of the bathrooms. Stay away!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
R_TheReader wrote a review Jun 2014
Rio de Janeiro, RJ504 contributions319 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I got the indication of the hotel because a colleague liked the location (close to the beach). I knew the property before it became a hotel, so gave it a try. I was really (really) angry with myself for even thinking about this. The room had a bad smell as if it had remained closed for a while; turning on the air conditioning provided some air flow, but at the cost of a lot of noise from the fan. The toilet was also noisy and the water in the sink took a while to flow down the drain.

The hotel also requires you to wear a plastic bracelet, though the fee only includes room and breakfast. You might think the bracelet would help being identified as a guest? Not quite. I had to give my room number twice to have breakfast, and the doorman stopped my taxi to get my identification - with a very unfriendly tone.

The hotel is far from downtown Salvador, but since the hotel is so bad I decided to have dinner at the city. I was offered one of the "special" taxis from the airport (they use standard cars but have a special, more expensive fare), which I declined. The reception ordered a taxi that never arrived, I had to wait for a taxi that came in from the airport with a new guest. The people at the reception were quite puzzled when I complained. Taxi to and from dinner cost me about as much as the airfare.

In short: the stay was a complete nightmare. My tip: stay away.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Search for another hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
vivian g wrote a review Jul 2018
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I traveled 24 hours to get to our destination. We were so excited to finally sleep in after we arrived, but the minute I laid down to get some shut eye the hotel started blasting music and screaming into a microphone. This has been going on since 10AM and it’s 5:30PM now. I still have not been able to get any sleep. Normally I’d just ask for a room change, but the rooms wrap around the pool, which is exactly where they are blasting their music.

Okay, now the room and accommodations. They Only have a sheet on the bed and do not offer blankets. If you call the reception they’ll bring up a throw. The room we were given was obviously not cleaned because I can see dried urine on the bathroom floors.

It’s in a fantastic location, but they really need to change some things around here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlos D wrote a review Jan 2016
Hallandale13 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel does not offer In room comfort at all.
If you can check into a room with a clean toilet count yourself lucky.Im not having much luck..
The sheets do not fit the bed.Move a little and the sheets are all over the bed.
The furniture,if you want to call it that,has seen better days.
On this trip,the room entry light is blown out and there is something Red on the bottom of the toilet seat.
Guest should be allowed to service/clean their own rooms.
Even though my company pays for my room here,I'm thinking of paying for a room at the Novotel Airport Hotel
I must give credit to the staff.Most cases they cannot help you..but they work with any small tools they have.
The Management /Owners.....Really may want to come over one weekend and Clean this property.
I do not have to pay to stay here..YOU will.....Stay away!!!!
The Deville is not far away and is a very nice property.Also the Novotel/Ibis Airport.If you need to stay on the beach in Stella Maris,Check out the Posadas near by(Bed and Breakfast) on Trip Advisor..You'll save loads of money and have a clean room....Oh P.S.the Internet does not function well in the rooms(not at all for me/this trip)..the Star of the Hotel...The Lady that prepares the Omelets is Fabulous and very Gracious...My Dirty Toilet..Pubic hairs and the likes......below.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SkyVixxen00 wrote a review Apr 2014
Fort Lauderdale, Florida182 contributions41 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is a dirty dump. It has horrible wifi terrible food and bad customer service.

The only thing this place has going for it is the beautiful beach and awesome pool.... Yes there will be sand in your room they don't clean well.

There are also solicitors after you on e you cross the rope BEWARE
Read more
Date of stay: January 2014Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RBRSaoPaulo wrote a review May 2013
Sao Paulo240 contributions96 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this hotel for a meeting and was really disappointed (as well as most people in our group). This hotel does not seem to have a maintenance department. If they have, no one cares about it. Painting in my bathroom was fading, there was ink over the bathroom counter, and wall painting was careless. The sliding door of the closet was bent and out of the rail (I had to pull it with energy to open or close it). The safe does not have instructions on how to operate it (you have to call safety). There weren´t enough lights in the room and I had to request an additional light (that a colleague told me she had in her room). The desk available for work does not have enough space for your legs to get in (you need to stay away from the desk). The outlet is far away from the desk. There is a place in the room near the outlet that had a very small table. I request the hotel staff to put a larger and taller table there, but they could not provide one. Air conditioning is only on when you have the key inserted in the proper slot, it is difficult to adjust it to maintain a comfortable temperature (either it gets too cold or too hot), it is a noisy equipment. There were no diet soft drinks in the room refrigerator. Slow WiFi internet connection (poor signal), I got disconnected very often and could not connect with my company via VPN continuously. Only one device is allowed to connect to the internet at a given time. Therefore, if you have a notebook, a tablet and a smartphone, you cannot connect all of them to the internet at the same time.
It was raining a lot during the first days in the city and areas near the meeting room and the restaurant had a lot of water on the floor (hotel staff had to constantly sweep the water away). Two of our guests had water from the rain getting into their rooms even with the windows closed (site staff placed some towels there to try to relieve the problem).
One of my towels had a dead fly on it.
I hope I never have to stay at this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2013
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Andrea H
Brasilia, DF50 contributions96 helpful votes
Eu não iria ao Pelourinho à noite. Acho a região pouco segura.
480Emily asked a question Aug 2014
San Diego, California
Is there elevators available in this hotel?
Answer from Rede Sol Express
Salvador, BA
Yes!
Salvador, BA
Olá Danilo! Sim, aceitamos nos bares e restaurantes do hotel o pagamento em pix, cartão de débito ou crédito. Atenciosamente, Equipe Gran Hotel Stella Maris
Carlos Unda wrote a tip Dec 2022
San Diego, California2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look for other hotels. The beach in front of the hotel has rocks and could be dangerous. "
Read full review
Valeraine1 wrote a tip Jul 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Face the outside of the building to reduce ambient noise levels"
Read full review
Fernandosouzafilho wrote a tip Aug 2018
Sao Paulo, SP50 contributions37 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room with a beach view is good, but a bit noisy because of the pool."
Read full review
Lucinda B wrote a tip Feb 2017
Worcester, Massachusetts2 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best view faces east to the sun rising over the ocean."
Read full review
Kedma wrote a tip Feb 2017
Goiania, GO128 contributions21 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Corner suites are large and sunny and have a sea view"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Salvador area.
PRICE RANGE
$74 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BrazilState of BahiaSalvador
NUMBER OF ROOMS
334
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRAN HOTEL STELLA MARIS URBAN RESORT & CONVENTIONS $77 ($̶1̶0̶2̶)

Frequently Asked Questions about Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions
Which popular attractions are close to Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions?
Nearby attractions include Stella Maris Beach (0.3 miles) and Barraca Amigos Do Ricardo (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beach Stop Restaurante & Bar, Dona Eva Bar & Restaurante, and Donaeva.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Does Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Salvador HotelsSalvador Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SalvadorHotels near Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars