We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions

Save
Share
Praca Stella Maris, 200 Stella Maris, Salvador, State of Bahia 41600-500 Brazil
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$186
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
Only 1 left at
$161
View deal
Expedia.com
Travelocity$186
Priceline$186
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2573)
Pool & Beach (635)
Room & Suite (393)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/21/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions
Updated 07/21/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 153 hotels in Salvador
Location
3.8
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
3.8
Value
3.6
Travelers' Choice
The Gran Hotel Stella Maris is a hotel that uses the modern concept of an urban resort, where you enjoy an excellent infrastructure, with all the facilities of a big city, with a privileged location, comfortable apartments with spectacular views, gastronomic diversity, leisure and entertainment options for everyone, optimizing your stay for business, cultural and leisure tourism in the same enterprise, according to your preference. In addition, it has an excellent infrastructure of halls for events, congresses or business. The hotel is located in front of Stella Maris beach, one of the most beautiful in Salvador, close to Luis Eduardo Magalhães Airport, Aratu Industrial Center, Camaçari Petrochemical Complex and Salvador Norte Shopping. The Gran Hotel Stella Maris is just a few kilometers from some of Salvador's famous tourist attractions: Lagoa do Abaeté, Praça Vinícius de Moraes and the Itapuã Lighthouse, as well as the best beaches on the north coast of Bahia.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Game room
Kids stay free
Secured parking
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Mini golf
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Solarium
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese

Location

Full view
75Somewhat walkable
Grade: 75 out of 100
62Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
3008Reviews196Q+A23Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,079
  • 962
  • 566
  • 218
  • 184
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
elquisson wrote a review Dec 2021
Lisbon, Portugal1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
I was here with my wife, we had a lovely time. During the day we enjoyed the pool area with really nice music and happy people. All people working is really nice and service minded, specially Luciano Brito. We got a lot of support and recommendations about drinks, food from him. At night we went to the restaurant and they had live music that was really good. Next year we will come back with our family. As they also have a lot of activities for children. I can highly recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort, Marketing at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions
Responded Dec 14, 2021
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as an option for your accommodation in Salvador and for informing us about your stay at the Hotel. We are extremely happy with your satisfaction with us and for giving us the maximum score for this evaluation. We look forward to your return in the near future. Best regards, Team Gran Hotel Stella Maris
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrea L wrote a review Feb 2021
Embu das Artes, SP22 contributions17 helpful votes
The hotel claims to be a resort, but is in such a terrible state. The rooms smell, the internet does not work at ALL. The restroom is HORRIBLE, the room needs maintenance, in general the whole hotel needs an upgrade. They are no sheets on the bed, terrible lighting and floors are dirty. Look at the shower head,so dirty (this is only one thing of many) .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort, Marketing at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions
Responded Mar 3, 2021
Dear guest, We're sorry that we didn't meet your expectations regarding your stay with us. The Gran Hotel Stella Maris was conceived in the rustic proposal of ancient Bahia by renowned architects André Sá and Francisco Matos. Maintenance is preventive and corrective, mainly due to the location by the sea. We have a guest service center (CAH) working to meet the needs and requests of our guests in the best way at all times. We hope to surprise you in the next opportunity. Best regards, Team Gran Hotel Stella Maris
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mariam wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Very good hotel with friendly staff and animation team ,,,,, Clean good rooms ...... The food is great... the night show is nice ,,, Bad review about the birds on the beach and pool.... big thanks to Martina 😘😘
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort, Marketing at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions
Responded Oct 26, 2020
Dear Mina, We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as an option for your accommodation in Salvador and for informing us about your stay at the Hotel. We are extremely happy with your satisfaction with us and for giving us the maximum score for this evaluation. We look forward to your return in the near future. Best regards, Team Gran Hotel Stella Maris
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marcelo T wrote a review Jan 2020
Inverness, United Kingdom185 contributions57 helpful votes
Good hotel with reasonable service. Clean but a little old fashioned needing a face lift for furniture and wall painting. With a big pool and few steps to the sand of beach, relaxing and fun guaranteed. A little far from the city ( down town) of Sslvador but placed at the very best beach.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from S0L_Express, Central de Relacionamento com o Cliente at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions
Responded Feb 26, 2020
Dear guest I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as an option for your accommodation in Salvador and for informing us about your stay at the Hotel. The philosophy of the entire Sol Express chain is to receive our guests with high quality service, providing them with a stay that meets their needs and expectations. Upon your comment, I emphasize that the hotel is undergoing a modernization process and thus offer more comfort to all our guests. We look forward to your return in the near future. Sincerely, Sol Express Network, Customer Relationship Center.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paulo wrote a review Dec 2019
Aveiro, Portugal148 contributions47 helpful votes
After a not very calm flight trip across the Atlantic, this Hotel made us feel really confortable since the time we arrive. It doesn't take long to reach from the airport and it is just by the beach, so it was a wonderful place to arrive when one comes from a winter tempest in Europe. The pool is marvellous! It has hot water and it is large enough to not feel crowded. The breakfast had everything I could wish for, fruits, many breads, and even more substancial foods. The staff was extremely helpful. I also felt safe and enjoyed being on the beach. Many nice beaches are very close by, as well as the Farol de Itapoã . We really enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from S0L_Express, Central de Relacionamento com o Cliente at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Dear Guest Through your feedback we realize that we provide you with a pleasant and comfortable hosting, and this shows us that our efforts to provide the best hosting are on the right track. We hope to see you in the near future! Sincerely, Sol Express Network, Customer Relationship Center.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter T wrote a review Aug 2019
Nijmegen, The Netherlands323 contributions242 helpful votes
Stella Maris tries to present itself - like all hotels try - to be that unique 5 star superb business-beach hotel. Although the entrance is quite majestic and the pool area is large and well located to the beach, the hotel itself is much more a 3 star Brazilian tourist hotel. Rooms are old, food is a reasonable buffet or pizza or a poor sitting outside pool restaurant with moqueca. The gym however is nice. And the pool itself very pleasant. And the breakfast restaurant opens at 6 in the morning. Great! Also as business traveller you still need to use the puls identification like a mass tourist traveller, which is very uncomfortable. And even worse, the Sunday at the pool is a shameful overloud DJ horror, which doesn’t even please the Brazilians. Nevertheless it probably still is the best option for business travelers that want to stay close to the airport. Or at least have a beach hotel as these are rare in Salvador city.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from S0L_Express, Assistente de Relacionamento at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions
Responded Aug 19, 2019
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We thank you for your choice for the hotel, the opinion of our guests is an excellent way of contributing to identify our positive and negative points always seeking greater excellence in our services. We look forward to your return in the near future. Regards, Sol Express Network, Customer Relationship Center.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Valeraine1 wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
It's very inexpensive and right on the beach, but if you order food from the evening restaurant for room service you will find it is really really bad. Your hot water might be sketchy, the power in your room might go in and out, the safe in your room is probably broken, the hotel phone might stop working (making it hard to contact the staff with complaints), the air conditioner might have a mind of its own or stop working altogether. You will be able to hear your neighbors so well it will be as if they are in the same room with you, due to paper-thin walls. If you call room service with a question like, "what is today's soup", and put in a partial order, they'll promise to call you back to answer your question about the soup, but instead, they'll just opt not to call you back and send up just your partial order instead, with the wrong drink. When you ask the front desk for a wake-up call the next morning and don't receive it, you're never sure if they just were too lazy, forgot, or if the phone stopped working sometime in the wee hours of the morning. When you go to order a classic Brazilian cocktail at the somewhat dismal lobby bar, the waiter gives you a grudging look, as if he'd rather being doing anything else. He then proceeds to wait on everyone else and spend time cleaning up the bar instead of making your drink. Then, a second wait person behind the bar notices you are being neglected and takes your drink order, after which point, she also decides to start cleaning the bar instead. It is as if they are attempting to make some kind of silent, passive-aggressive protest to your order of a Caipirinha. Eventually someone on the managerial level comes by and suddenly the first guy (the one who took your drink order originally) comes around and decides to make the drink after all. Perhaps the fact that the staff may not allowed to accept tips when you pay with your room card is partially to blame for their attitude. However, on the flip side, there is one advantage to all this laxity. On the day you check out, checkout time is officially noon, but if you ask, you will be told that there is a "maximum tolerance" of 2:00 PM. Which basically means you are allowed to stay in a room until someone else is scheduled to check into it. Guess how much cleaning that room is going to get! I can imagine the excuse: "We are sorry but the previous guest did not leave in time." If you really are set on this place here are some tips to improve your experience: 1) Don't eat at the hotel, unless it's the breakfast buffet or the food truck. At the breakfast buffet, meat and cheese are of dubious quality, but the fruit and pastries are usually good. 2) Immediately upon arriving in the room, and before unpacking, check that everything works (lights, electrical outlets, safe, refrigerator, air conditioner, TV, hotel phone, hair dryer). If anything vital to you is missing, ask for another room. It could be a long wait to get things fixed. 3) If you are at all sensitive to noise, bring earplugs or noise-cancelling headphones. The walls are paper-thin, and Brazilians on vacation are loud, and don't understand why everyone doesn't want to join their party. A room that faces outward (not inwards towards the courtyard) may be quietest, although an ocean view is less likely. 4) Wake-up calls are not guaranteed and no alarm clock is provided. Bring a travel clock and/or use your phone's alarm to wake up on time. 5) Try to frequent the area bars and cabanas within a short walking distance on the beach for an evening cocktail and meal and avoid the hotel bar. If you must order at the lobby bar, allow an extra 10 to 15 minutes for sour attitude and poor service. If you are alone, try to bring something to entertain yourself, such as a book or TV program to watch on your phone, as it may take the wait staff some time to overcome their reluctance to serve you. 6) Consider a later return flight and the possibility of procrastinating as long as possible the time when you must pack your bags and head out, by taking advantage of the "Maximum Tolerance" of checkout time at 2:00 PM. 7) Upon your return home, plan to wash EVERYTHING as your clothes will inevitably have a mildew like scent to them, as all the rooms in this hotel are somewhat musty due to the heat and humidity, and the unreliability of the air conditioning
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Face the outside of the building to reduce ambient noise levels
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from S0L_Express, Assistente de Relacionamento at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions
Responded Jul 8, 2019
Dear guest The Gran Hotel Stella Maris is a Urban Resort on the seafront, located in the urban perimeter, has diversified options with facilities for guests access in its surroundings. For being an Urban Resort it contemplates services differentiated of the other resort. The bars have pre-defined schedules, besides we have gastronomic options with themed buffets. We have partners such as Casa da Pão de Queijo, Baiana de Acarajé, Food Truck, Acai, we also have a pizzeria. The food and beverage sector is of the utmost importance, at all times we seek to innovate, qualify and invest in this area. Leisure has timely schedules and live attractions. The apartments are large and we are in constant innovation with a change of Tv greater 32 ', improvement in the illumination and reform in general. At the pool bar the bartender brigade acts with flame waiter, a watch on the handle that alerts when the host triggers the table and when the request is released by the kitchen, the staff goes through brienfing before going to the areas where leadership strengthens the menu and the procedures. The restaurant manager is on alert, intensifying corrective measures. We are already investing in the tablet system and will return with language courses, as well as recycling that we do at all times with reputable companies. We would like to know what the room service request was for an evaluation of the chef on this delicacy. Regarding the smell mentioned in the apartment, we are located by the sea, leaving us subject to the humidity of the air and sea air. The apartments in check out are tidy allowing the sea breeze to enter for greater air circulation. For improvement, the hotel uses ozone-based equipment that maintains the hygiene of the environment, with sterilization and purification through ozone. In addition to eliminating odors, ozone acts by eliminating fungi, bacteria, viruses, preventing reproduction. The water system in the shower is adjustable allowing use of cold, hot water or both. As for the maintenance items mentioned, we have a maintenance team that works 24 hours on duty to solve any situation that may happen and be flagged so that it can be solved. In addition to manager on duty 24 hours at disposal for any need of guest service. Telephone handsets have already been reviewed for best performance. The hotel has 334 apartments, the reservation is not confirmed with apartment numbering, so, in view of the occupation and before the time of departure, the hotel has the possibility to grant the kindness of a possible late check out, that is, without compromise the other apartments to arrive, due only to be possible in front of the lower occupation, where there is plenty of apartments to accommodate future guests. Already in high occupation this action is not possible. We deeply regret the facts reported, the managers of the sectors were called for investigation and alerted the team, in the face of the mentioned facts, that go beyond the procedures of the hotel. We apologize for not meeting 100% of your expectations. We hope to exceed your expectations in a next stay. Regards, Sol Express Network, Customer Relationship Center.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carlospa2019 wrote a review Oct 2018
20 contributions
It’s an amazing place to relax with your family. In this hotel you’ll find a great swimming pool, Game Center, good food and an adorable reception. I’m delighted with its infrastructure. I’m absolutely satisfied!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Fernandosouzafilho wrote a review Aug 2018
Sao Paulo, SP53 contributions35 helpful votes
- LOCATION: 15 minutes from the airport and right in front of the beach. We swim in the amazing pool, then walk 5 meters and... Voilá! We're on the beach. The very best part of this hotel was the pool. - ROOM: A TV set that seems to come from the 1980s is a really bad thing to say about the room. But cleaning was not good neither: bathroom was not really clean when we’ve arrived. - FOOD: The worst coffee (it tastes like boiled water with black ink) we have ever drinked in life, the worst pizza we have ever tried in life (ketchup in pizza is a matter of bad taste, but ketchup in pizza INSTEAD tomato sauce should be considered crime!). Breakast with just a couple of fruits (we were in Bahia, for God sakes!), horrible eggs, tasteless cakes. Only tapioca from Bel was really good. Tip: try the food truck (but don’t order their hamburger: it tastes like a flat tired!) and other places in the beach right in front of the hotel: it’s less expensive and really tasty. - STAFF: Friendly, polited. They were the best, really! - INTERNET: The best internet connection we have ever had in a hotel. Congrats for this! - TIP: Walk 5 minutes in front of the hotel and look for a supermarket and buy water, snacks etc. It’s ten times less expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Room with a beach view is good, but a bit noisy because of the pool.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
vivian g wrote a review Jul 2018
1 contribution3 helpful votes
My husband and I traveled 24 hours to get to our destination. We were so excited to finally sleep in after we arrived, but the minute I laid down to get some shut eye the hotel started blasting music and screaming into a microphone. This has been going on since 10AM and it’s 5:30PM now. I still have not been able to get any sleep. Normally I’d just ask for a room change, but the rooms wrap around the pool, which is exactly where they are blasting their music. Okay, now the room and accommodations. They Only have a sheet on the bed and do not offer blankets. If you call the reception they’ll bring up a throw. The room we were given was obviously not cleaned because I can see dried urine on the bathroom floors. It’s in a fantastic location, but they really need to change some things around here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$65 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BrazilState of BahiaSalvador
NUMBER OF ROOMS
334
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions
Which popular attractions are close to Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions?
Nearby attractions include Stella Maris Beach (0.3 miles) and Barraca Amigos Do Ricardo (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beach Stop Restaurante & Bar, Donaeva, and Dona Eva Bar & Restaurante.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Does Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Gran Hotel Stella Maris Urban Resort & Conventions accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.