We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Pousada Aquarela do Brasil

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Pousada Aquarela do Brasil
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 8: English reviews
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

I stayed 8 nights at Aquarela do Brasil and I felt very well. The location is in the center of pelourinho... Cesar & Edina are very lovely and helpful. They do everything to make their guests comfortable. The room and all the pousada are very clean, big breakfast... I recommand this place 100%.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hakimthai
Brisbane
Level Contributor
319 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Although the staff were quite helpful and went to some trouble to sort out my airline booking, I did not find the accommodation particularly enjoyable. The room was large with comfortable beds but there was no fridge, no tea and coffee facilities and whilst they made some tea when requested, we could not wake up and have a quick cup... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank OceanWandererOne
GutootuG, Gerente at Pousada Aquarela do Brasil, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, its always good to hear what our costumers think about the service and the place. We are always trying to improve the place, as you may know the building is from the 18th century. We always are crystal clear with our costumer in what we are offering. A home like place inside Pelourinho, with the basic,... More 

Adelaide
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

When i booked this place Aquarela Do Brazil, it was advertised as a hotel, which it is not, far from it, more like something in between a bed and breakfast and a hostel. They have a list of rules stuck on the back of the door, see pics. Located near the main square of Pelourinho in Salvador (I would avoid... More 

Helpful?
Thank adelaidesurflifesavr
GutootuG, Gerente at Pousada Aquarela do Brasil, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience, its very important to us to know what´s good and whats not so good about our place and service. Your booking was not made directly with us. We provide full and truly information to our suppliers, but unfortunately we cannot grant that the third parties envolved are always working as they are supposed to be.... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Comfortable spot, steps from the main square in Pelourinho. I really appreciated Cesar and Edina's warm hospitality. Don't miss the record shop across the street, and Geronimo's performance nearby on Tuesdays. Simple rooms without A/C, but the breeze in the evening and a fan kept the room comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank jonbfrombrooklyn
GutootuG, Gerente at Pousada Aquarela do Brasil, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks for staying with us and sharing! It’s a pleasure for us to have such a great opportunity of working with well-being of many good people coming from so different places. We always try to provide useful information when we see the person wants or need it. On the future we may be installing A/C, but its a long... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Pousada is very well located if you want to be located in the old part of Salvador. It's a couple of hundred yards from the Pelourinho square and close to everything you would want to see in this fairly compact part of the city. The people who run it are very friendly, very helpful and easy to communicate with... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julian I
GutootuG, Gerente at Pousada Aquarela do Brasil, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks for sharing your experience with us and the community. Sorry for the salty eggs! I had it too, thought it was just an error on mine, but we have warned Ninha again to avoid excess on salt and sugar. (By the way our juices are made from the fruit, with no sugar added). Waiting for you next year!... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
268 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This B & B is right in the heart of Pelourinho and an easy walk (wear good shoes as it is all cobblestones) to all the attractions. Edina and Caesar were good and helpful hosts. Caesar spoke English, Edina spoke Spanish and French or we often used the translator on the PC which worked quite well. Our room was basic... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2BISCUITS
italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

A really comfortable place in the heart of Pelo with caring owners and very reasonable rates, which are hard to find in this area if you wish to have a certain standard. The beds are new and very comfy, room is clean, tv and fan available; though the decoration is quite simple, the room feels cozy. You can close the... More 

Helpful?
Thank zazabelle1
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were lucky, we met the owner who was very kind. Eventhough they were renewing the hotel, they received us and treated us family. Delicious breakfast and located in the center of Pelourinho. The street at night was amazing. Im definitevely coming back.

Helpful?
Thank KarinaDavila
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 113 in Salvador
5.0 of 5 stars 944 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bahiacafe Hotel
Bahiacafe Hotel
#7 of 113 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 stars 540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Bahia
Villa Bahia
#10 of 113 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Studio do Carmo Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pestana Convento do Carmo
Pestana Convento do Carmo
#16 of 113 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Solar Dos Deuses - Suites De Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Historic Center of Salvador, The Pousada Aquarela do Brasil is a warm and cozy place, with a real touch of being at home.Its an strategic place in the middle of Pelourinho, deep in the heart of it, where all takes place.We have 6 rooms, with TV, ventilators, hot water and free Internet Wi-fi. We offer a nice breakfast, wich is served from 7:30 to 10:00 A.M.If you´re staying in Aquarela do Brasil, you´re close to many touristic points in the city, and have many options of places to eat and to have fun without having to go far from it. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pousada Aquarela do Brasil

Address: Rua Maciel de Cima 23, Salvador, State of Bahia 40026-250, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Price Range: $34 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pousada Aquarela do Brasil 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada Aquarela do Brasil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Aquarela Do Brasil Salvador, Bahia, Brazil
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay