We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Arlington Gateway

Save
Share
801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203-1825
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Westin.com
$170
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/21/21
Booking.com
$170
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/21/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
$170
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/21/21
Hotels.com
Expedia.com$170
ZenHotels.com$218
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (130)
Room & Suite (68)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 01/21/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin Arlington Gateway
Updated 01/21/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#19 of 51 hotels in Arlington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in vibrant Northern Virginia near world-famous attractions including top destinations in Washington, D.C., The Westin Arlington Gateway features spacious guest rooms and suites with award-winning Westin Heavenly® Beds and deluxe amenities. Reach downtown Washington, D.C. in minutes from the Ballston Metro Station, just a short walk from our hotel in Arlington's Ballston area. Dine in our on-site restaurant and lounge or grab a quick coffee and pastry from the full-service, on-site Starbucks®. Enjoy our complimentary WestinWORKOUT® Fitness Studio and our indoor pool and whirlpool. Explore area universities, Pentagon City and other exciting things to do from our well-placed Arlington hotel. Our capital location places you just four miles from Reagan National Airport and a brief Metro ride from D.C. and Northern Virginia attractions.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
88Good for walkers
Grade: 88 out of 100
88Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
5Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
483Reviews19Q+A64Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 216
  • 166
  • 56
  • 28
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Diane C wrote a review Sep 8
Trumbull, Connecticut52 contributions39 helpful votes
I was excited about my stay at the Westin Arlington but left feeling somewhat disappointed. First the good things, the view from our room was great and the hotel is in a great location in Ballston - it’s close to the highway as well as shops and eateries. Another huge plus was the water pressure in our room - it was excellent. The hotel staff were nice, though no one inquired about how we felt about our stay at check out. Unfortunately, the stay and our room felt very “no-frills” and was not that clean, which was surprising considering the hotel’s stated “commitment to clean.” When we arrived, there was one tiny bottle of shampoo, a tiny bottle of body wash and two small bars of soap, for two people staying for 3 nights. I requested conditioner, which took quite some time to arrive and never received the lotion that I requested. No one came in to clean our room on the first day and while that surprised me, I ended up not being too upset about it. The lack of cleanliness in our room was also a surprise. I went to make tea and the coffee maker was filthy. I attempted to clean it and then just gave up because it was pretty bad. As a practice, I wipe things down when I arrive at the hotel and noticed, during this process, that the phones were pretty dirty. With a few tweaks this could’ve been a perfect stay but it wasn’t.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Arlington Gateway
Responded 1 week ago
Good Day, Thank you for staying at The Westin Arlington Gateway. Maintaining a clean atmosphere within our guest rooms and common areas is always a key priority, especially during these unprecedented times. On behalf of the entire team at the Westin Arlington Gateway, I sincerely apologize for falling short of not only meeting your expectations, but ours as well. Rest assured, the feedback provided will be shared with the appropriate hotel team to ensure we consistently deliver upon guest expectations.
Read more
Dorothy492014 wrote a review Sep 7
Chicago, Illinois6 contributions6 helpful votes
Very good location, walking distance restaurants. The rooms are nice and clean, Receptionists are pleasant. Although it is a dog-friendly hotel so there might be barking on some floors which we heard.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
business traveler wrote a review Aug 2021
Alabama1 contribution
Great service in a great location with the right amenities! The Westin did a great job! From the check-in experience through check-out, they always do a great job of customer service and accommodating. I highly recommend this hotel for any trip to the Arlington/Dc area
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
ScrewLucy wrote a review Aug 2021
Lynchburg, Virginia274 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
I think this hotel probably does have some customer service issues. I'm not sure what's going on there and I try to be mindful of the lack of workers/stress/etc going on because of the pandemic. But our stay began waiting half an hour for our room to be cleaned. I was supposed to meet clients in our room, so this was actually a major inconvenience. But I mean, I guess the room was cleaned so...it could be worse? I'm an rabid optimist. There's a garage with a fee for parking. I have parking anxiety and I panic any time there's not just a huge, open parking lot with no cars in it. If this is also you, have someone else drive. We booked a suite. It's not a huge suite, but enough for just a weekend. I chuckled when I saw the little sanitary remote sleeve because before I left, one of my clients mentioned the filthiest thing in a hotel room is the remote. I thought the bathroom was a little lacking, with a closet-like bathroom, but I don't like showering anyway and avoid it at all costs, so not a huge deal to me. I prefer tubs on vacation, which a friend of mine advised me "is so gross." I advised her I'm a rebel. We checked out the gym area and my 61-year-old husband knocked on the glass to show the young guys lifting weights his muscles, then went in to show them how "it's really done." Things like this don't embarrass me any longer and I just made eye contact with one of them and shook my head. It appeared to be a nice facility. The pool area is hot, but our son loved spending time in the pool and that's all that matters. I sent my husband down to get me dessert from the restaurant because they all sounded so fabulous, but they didn't have any of them, apparently because of the pandemic. I was disappointed, but it's not a huge surprise or big problem when there's so many nice restaurants in the area. The best part about this suite was that it had a doorbell. I've never seen a room with a doorbell. I asked the front desk guy downstairs about it and inquired if perhaps there were friends we could rent to come ring the doorbell so I could feel important or maybe he could just send up housekeeping to ring it just to get the full experience of a hotel doorbell. He didn't think I was cute. There are vouchers for a Starbucks breakfast in the morning, I think around $20. It's connected to the hotel. The staff there is great and I eat an apple for breakfast every morning, so $20 was more than sufficient, even though their coffee is what--$6 a cup? Good dietary options. I got the little egg cups. I wouldn't refuse to stay again, but would probably look for another hotel in the same area first. It's lovely area--laid back, the people are fabulous, there's a variety of places to walk to--anywhere from a church to a Target to restaurants. Arlington is a super place to be!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Arlington Gateway
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good Day, Thank you for staying at the Westin Arlington Gateway. We appreciate all the feedback for the hotel. We love hearing how we can improve the hotel for better service. We have shared the information given to our valuable team to ensure you have a better stay in the future. thank you.
Read more
Ellen T wrote a review Aug 2021
Princeton, New Jersey2 contributions
Stay was okay. The hotel has restaurant open and Starbucks off lobby. They are pet friendly. Phone was not working properly to get wake up call , but , the room appeared to be clean. Covid distancing reminders were throughout the hotel. Staff wore masks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Arlington Gateway
Responded Aug 17, 2021
Good day, Thank you for staying at The Westin Arlington Gateway. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Starbucks and restaurant. Thank you for the honest feedback. We do hope to see you again in the near future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$112 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the westin arlington gateway hotel arlington, arlington westin
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaArlingtonBallston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
338
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Arlington Gateway
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Arlington Gateway?
Nearby attractions include 5 Wits Arlington (0.2 miles), Zero Gravity Corporation (0.2 miles), and First Down Sports Bar & Grill (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Arlington Gateway?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Arlington Gateway?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at The Westin Arlington Gateway?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Arlington Gateway?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rus-Uz, Big Buns, and Ser Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Arlington Gateway?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Arlington Gateway?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Westin Arlington Gateway?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Westin Arlington Gateway offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Westin Arlington Gateway?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Westin Arlington Gateway?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Arlington National Cemetery (2.5 miles), Ford's Theatre (4.9 miles), and Anderson House (4.2 miles).