We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 335: English reviews
Start your review of Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I don't often stay in roadside hotels/motels but there was an urgent need and this was available. It was only 45 minute commute into DC at 830am rush hour. 10 minutes without traffic. I opted to reserve on the king size deluxe rooms and booked for a super reasonable price last minute when all the DC hotels were jam packed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander C
Naples, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

My 11-year old daughter and I stayed for 3 nights to participate in the recent inauguration. They claimed restaurant and public transportation within walking distance. We tried it the morning of the inauguration. We had to walk a fast paced 15 minutes to the Metro. Upon our arrival, we elected to take a cab to Walmart for in-room snacks. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank michelwaldr
Montgomery, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stay at Red Roof about 70 days a year and I have never had a problem until this place. My issue is that I booked a room thru red roof's website at one price and upon checkout I was charged $20. extra. When I questioned the clerk, she grabbed my check- in sheet and asked if it was was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Patrick M
Bikas S, Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

I am so sorry that happened to you! This is a very non-standard business practice for us. Please contact me, the hotel manager, at 703-960-5200 so we can get this straightened out for you right away. Thank you for your honest criticism!

Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed January 17, 2017

This hotel is conveniently located to the Huntington Metro Station, a large number of places to eat, and only a few minutes' drive to Washington D.C. The rooms smelled like cigarette smoke even though the property is suppose to be 'non-smoking' but otherwise it was a great stay. The staff is friendly and the rates are reasonable.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank marinexbiologist
Bikas S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear marinexbiologist, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive. I am disappointed to hear that our room service and housekeeping staff didn't meet your expectations. This critical feedback will be used in training our staff. Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon. So sorry about the smoke!

State Road
Reviewed January 8, 2017

I stayed at this hotel when I attended the 2016 Military Bowl. My standard king bed room was a little small, but very clean. Everything in the room worked like it was supposed to. The staff, especially Sarah and Cedrick were very professional and helpful. The hotel is about a mile from the Huntington Station which is a 'Yellow Line'...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mmclean427
Bikas S, Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear mmclean427, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at our hotel. I'm glad that you found our location convenient. Our locations is definitely one of the things we are very proud of about our hotel. We are so lucky to have a property in the heart of Alexandria and a very strategic...

Grayson, Kentucky
Reviewed December 19, 2016 via mobile

Working in the area and stayed at this motel. I found it to be clean and my interaction with the staff behind the desk was friendly and helpful. The area is close to the interstate and pet friendly. It was quite with decent tv.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevprichard
Bikas S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Kevprichard, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that our staff made your feel at home. This is really one of the things that we try to maintain in our hotel. Hoping to see you again soon! Sincerely, Bikas S

Laurinburg, North Carolina
Reviewed November 21, 2016

Me and my friends wanted to visit Washington D.C for the weekend but didnt want to stay in D.C. We chose this hotel because it was 1 mile from metro station. The hotel was clean and staff was nice. The price was great. I would return again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank akaAB
Bikas S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear akaAB, Wow! What a wonderful review, we truly appreciate your business and your trust in us. I am very happy to hear that our staff and location met your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future if you find yourself back in DC! Sincerely, Bikas S

Loganville, Georgia
Reviewed November 20, 2016

The front desk staff was absolutely fantastic!!! Both Sarah and Debbie were very understanding and helpful with all of the problems I experienced there. In fact, I cannot express in words how wonderful Cedric was. To wit, he singlehandedly helped me to plan our entire 6 days in D.C. I am so indebted to him for his assistance. Unfortunately though,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lawrencefinocchi
Bikas S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear lawrencefinocchi, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall your experience with Sarah and Debie was positive. I am disappointed to hear that our service and housekeeping staff didn't meet your expectations. This critical feedback will be used in training our staff. Thank you. Sincerely Bikas S

Tyler, Texas
Reviewed November 14, 2016 via mobile

Great service, great room, great price but most of all great location. There is a bus stop across the street to the left about 1/8 of a mile that will take you to shopping of all kinds. Across the street and around the corner to the left there is a bus stop that takes you to the yellow train line...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DCPJJ
Bikas S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear DCPJJ, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at our hotel. I'm glad that you found our location convenient. Were you able to explore the area? If not, you can visit us again and we are happy to share with you the must-visit attractions as well as some hidden treasures in the...

Peterborough, Canada
Reviewed October 26, 2016

We paid for the Premium rooms...which are on the second floor. Unfortunately for most of our two day stay the elevator was not working and the centre staircase was being painted. That meant we had to lug our heavy luggage a lot further than we would have liked. However, that was more about bad timing than anything permanent. Other than...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Martin C
Bikas S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Martin C, Thank you for your positive comments and I am pleased that you had a good stay overall. However, I apologize for the inconvenience with the elevator that you experienced during your stay and don't hesitate to call me to share more information and I will try my best to rectify the situation. Our elevator is now functioning...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#31 of 53 in Alexandria
188 reviews
1.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Eisenhower Ave.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#18 of 53 in Alexandria
428 reviews
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just one mile from the Metro for easy transportation, and accessible from both I-95 and I-495, Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is 2 miles south of Old Downtown Alexandria and only 5 miles from National Harbor and Crystal City. The White House is a mere 9 miles away. The Pentagon, Arlington Cemetery, downtown Washington DC, Ft. Belvior, and Mt. Vernon are all within 10 miles of this hotel. Located just minutes from restaurants and shopping. The friendly staff and the convenience of being just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC make this location a great place to stay.Red Roof Washington DC Alexandria is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair, in-room safes, coin laundry facility, and more. Mini-Refrigerators and microwaves are available in Superior King and Deluxe Double room types. All rooms offer free WiFi. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, and movies, as well as music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

Address: 5975 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1804
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: $85 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Alexandria
Red Roof Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a room that faces away from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles marinexbiologist, Jan 17, 2017 | Read review
“The best choice would be a room on the rear side but the traffic noise on the highway side was not really a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles 962MartinC, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms facing the highway as they are noisy during peak traffic periods.”
 of 5 bubbles NKC, Oct 10, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the back have a bit of forest view.”
 of 5 bubbles joesA5112CI, Sep 23, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the back side will be more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles abbyb1967, Sep 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question