We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

662 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
See the most recent reviews
Showing 645: English reviews
rshkj
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This stay was alot better than the first. The rooms at the Crown are very nice, and the staff was very nice this time. The problems are the internet is slow and the food is not good and bar service is not very good either. There are several restaurants close by so it is not that big of a deal,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rshkj
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear rshkj, Thank you so much, for your comment we always look forward to hearing from our guest on where we can improve. I am sorry that you had an issue with our restaurant staff's services and our WiFi which is being upgraded to improve our guest connection. It is our goal to make sure every one of guest has...

Reviewed December 11, 2013

I wrote a review for this hotel prior, as I have stayed here quite a few times. While I give the hotel a mediocre rating, as it's a business hotel in a quiet side of town, I'm not expecting anything fancy, but I feel the hotel isn't being very well maintained. I just checked in for a multi-night stay, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mikelogan2
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Mikelogan2, Thank you for your valued comments. We look forward to hearing what our guest think of us and have experienced. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We apologize that you were not pleased with your experience with us. It our goal, that all of our guests would have...

Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Reviewed December 5, 2013

There are so many hotel options available in the DC metro area, sometimes it is a challange to make a good choice. On our last trip to the area, we decided to take the opportunity to visit Old Town Alexandria on a Saturday and Sunday. We decided on this hotel because it offered a Potomoc View King Room for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patti B
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Patti, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We really appreciate your recognition of our staff, we take pride in our staff's ability to serve our guest. We are glad...

Bridgewater
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I liked this hotel very much, got upgraded due to Platinum status, and had a very large suite. The hotel was clean and well kept but the internet service was horrendous. I sat down to get work done after returning from dinner and ended up getting nothing done because the internet was so slow.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flashbridgewater
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear flashbridgewater, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. It is our goal to make sure every one of guest has an absolutely fantastic stay. We apologize that you were not...

Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I travel a lot for business and I know the game. Business travelers are a lot less discerning with their corporate card than they are with their own money. This hotel capitalizes on that fact with nickle-and-diming practices that most leisure travelers would never accept. My wife and I spent a night here while driving to our Thanksgiving destination. Being...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pat M
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Pat M, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We apologize that you were not pleased with all the aspects of your stay. Though we would prefer you...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The room was pretty good. The night we showed up to the hotel, the desk worker wasn't very friendly. The other workers the next day were very nice and friendly. Other then that it was good. Parking is expensive. But overall it was a good stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kay b
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Kay B, Thank you for your valued comments. We look forward to hearing what our guest think of us and have experienced. We utilize your comments to better assist and serve our guest. We are happy you found your accommodations to be clean and comfortable. I am sorry that you had an issue with our staff's services. We train...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Arrived late but transfer bus from Reagan airport was efficient and easy to find. Reception enthusiastic, but no upgrade as an IHG platinum. Asked at reception and told hotel at 60% so no excuses, just a broken promise from another franchisee. Room not bad, but bed and bathroom linens felt cheap and old. Not soft and warm like you normally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear David H, Thank you for your valuable comments and feedback. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We regret we did not obtain that goal in your instance. I am sorry that you had an issue with our staff's services. We are constantly training our staff to...

Chesterfield, NJ
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This hotel was okay and not particularly exciting or special. Rooms were clean, elevators worked, food was available and staff was pleasant. Easy walking distance to food stores and a bit further to restaurants. Not a quaint area but quiet at night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Weism
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Weism, Thanks for the observations and the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We apologize you were not entirely pleased, that you did not have an exceptional stay just an Ok stay. We do...

Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Aside from the title the hotel personnel WERE wonderful and courteous. Given my grievance i feel the hotel does NOT have protocols to deal with bigoted and insensitive patrons in public areas... I sat in the hotel bar, after a 10 hour drive from South Carolina and a interview in the area.. The last thing i wanted to listen to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lissa M
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Lissa M, Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. Your comments are important to us. In light of your recent experience in the restaurant, we would like to say here at the Crowne Plaza we celebrate our diversity of cultures, beliefs, races. We believe that all of our employees that work here are so diverse,...

Ellison Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked 5 nights with breakfast (for a fee). Unfortunately, Crowne Plaza’s restaurant is ill-equiped to serve regular hotel patrons when hosting large conferences. Unless a first arrival at 6 am (we arrived at 8; breakfast served 'til 10), tables stand with dirty dishes (gross), at least half of the buffet servers are empty, hot food (what remains) is lukewarm...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 385cjh
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear 385cjh, Thank you so much, for your valuable comment we always look forward to hearing from our guest on where we can improve. I am sorry that you had an issue with our staff's services and our ability to address the issues you had with our restaurant service. We are constantly training our staff to make sure our guests...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

174 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#15 of 53 in Alexandria
585 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 N Fairfax St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1501 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: $124 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We were able to see the river from our room, so that was nice.”
 of 5 bubbles wendyo854, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“""The suites are breath taking with the water view, very spacious, warming and great for a intimate get away or large families""”
 of 5 bubbles ameellahi, Feb 15, 2017 | Read review
“The upper floor with a scenic Potomac river view room was our choice, photos attached.”
 of 5 bubbles Donald988, Feb 5, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room facing the water”
 of 5 bubbles Sharonladybug, Feb 5, 2017 | Read review
“Hotel offers a great view of the Potomac River”
 of 5 bubbles westwill18, Jan 1, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question