We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

627 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 611: English reviews
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is older, the bar closes at 11, and there's no room service past 10 pm. We had several days of housekeeping issues, and finally stopped ordering breakfasts in the room because they couldn't get the orders correct. That said, they did have a free shuttle to King Street that ran twice an hour, a free shuttle to DCA... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie B
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Carrie B, Thank you for your comments on your experience with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry to hear about the difficulties you had during your stay. We will work to improve our room service and housekeeping to avoid any issues in the future. We hope you return and afford us... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel, nice rooms, good breakfast, with choice of continental or full English. Free shuttle bus, was much appreciated, the friendly driver, even gave us some tips for places to eat, would recommend

Helpful?
Thank linzxx
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear linzxx, Thank you for your complimentary review of our hotel. We are happy that you were please with your accommodations, and our ability to help during your stay. Commending our services is always a great thing to hear, we strive to exceed the expectations of our guest. It is our goal that each guest would have a great overall... More 

Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is the third Crowne Plaza that I have stayed in, and I was disappointed when comparing it to the other ones. The room itself was nice but the overall experience wasn't great. No breakfast, $20 parking per day, and poor service. I booked a second night online on my first day after deciding to extend my stay an extra... More 

Helpful?
Thank hlawlor24
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear hlawlor24, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We apologize that you were not pleased with your experience with us. It our goal, that all of our guests would have a great overall experience from the time of making your... More 

north
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is an old fashioned hotel not like any other Crowne Plaza I have stayed in. When you check in there is a lucky dip, some scratch cards in a goldfish bowl and you can win prizes ranging from a bottle of water right up to some reward points, a free drink in the bar or a free nights parking.... More 

Helpful?
Thank NorthSimon
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear NorthSimon, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your breakfast price or temperature of your meal in our restaurant. We will... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was there for the night for business and it was perfect. Clean, great price, close walk to awesome restaurants and staff were friendly and accommodating. The bed was super comfortable and the room was in great order. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Marci R
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Marci R, We are super happy that the accommodations perfectly fit your needs. We enjoyed your comment and happy to know that the bed at the Crowne Plaza was very comfortable during your business trip. We're happy to know you would recommend us we hope you come back to visit us again soon. More 

Ohatchee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good breakfast buffet, clean room, comfortable bed. What every business traveler wants. Shuttle to old town is convenient and airport shuttle is on time. Great restaurants and shops nearby. Hotel front desk staff not as attentive and friendly as on previous stays. Everyone else was excellent .

Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Kathy, Thank you so much for your kind review, I was very pleased to hear that we had the perfect accommodations for your business trip. We love knowing that we have succeeded in making your stay a wonderful experience. It is our pleasure to serve you. We're just sorry that our Front Desk Agent was not up to par... More 

UK
Level Contributor
137 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel might be too far away from the centre of town for some - about a 20 minute walk to King Street or the nearest metro strop at Braddock Road. But its location overlooking the Potomac offers a very peaceful stay and the walk along the river is a pleasant one. This is your standard Crowne Plaza, with its... More 

Helpful?
Thank BritTraveller68
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear BritTraveller68, Thank you for your complimentary review of our hotel. We are happy that you were please with your overall experience. We love knowing we have accomplished our goal. I am sorry you were unaware of our complimentary shuttle service; we have 2 shuttles one that will take you to Reagan Airport where there is a metro that passes... More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly welcome, nice room, comfy bed, clean bathroom, useful shuttle service down to King Street or Reagan airport. If you turn left out of the door and head for the water there are lovely parks and gardens to walk or jog through. Pool available in the sister hotel around the corner. English style café over the road (Extra Perks). I... More 

Helpful?
Thank OldWulf
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear OldWulf, Thank you for giving us the opportunity to stay with us. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the trail and park that are right behind the hotel and the surrounding restaurants. I am sorry we did not have all the amenities that you were expecting. Please next time your here, let our front desk know... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The room was clean and staff were nice. However, the toilet was broken (which they fixed quickly) and there are few restaurant options within walking distance. There is a shuttle over to King Street, which has fun shops and many restaurant choices.

Helpful?
Thank Tabitha T
Adely G, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Tabitha T, We appreciate your compliments and feedback on our hotel. It is our pleasure to serve you. I am sorry to hear that your toilet was broken when you checked into the room, but I am glad we were able to fix the issue. One thing everyone should do is visit the vast amount of attractions in Old... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

8 days and still no deposit return.. no communication returned by hotel after patiently 7 business days..now they ignore our contacting them asking what's going on. Don't expect your deposit returned!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

158 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (104)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#18 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to our New Old Town Alexandria Hotel You'll enjoy a convenient location and top-quality amenities when you stay at the newly renovated Crowne Plaza of Old Town Alexandria. Our hotel is only two miles from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA). Located near Washington DC, our Alexandria, VA hotel is in close proximity to many attractions. We're only eight blocks from the shops and historic homes on Old Alexandria's revitalized waterfront. Walking tours of the city of Old Town and Potomac River Cruises of the nation's capital's monuments begin just a few miles from our Alexandria hotel. Our hotel near Washington, DC is also ideal for business travelers because we're a short drive from many corporate offices, like Robbins Gioia, International Association of Chiefs of Police, the Pentagon and the many museums, bureaus and government offices of Washington, DC. We also offer the convenience of eight meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center and high-speed, wireless Internet access. While lodging in Alexandria, Virginia, hotel guests can enjoy a relaxing setting with our fitness center, Sleep Advantage program with new, comfortable beds and spectacular views of the Potomac and city from many rooms. From our hotel restaurant, Chequers, to our complimentary shuttles to the airport, Metro/Subway and King's Street, a convenient stay awaits you at the Old Town Alexandria Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Address: 901 N Fairfax St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1501 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: $105 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Alexandria
Alexandria Crowne Plaza
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay