We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Alexandrian Old Town Alexandria, Autograph Collection

Save
Share
480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$208
View deal
Tripadvisor$208
Traveluro
Autograph$208
Travelocity$208
Booking.com$208
Hotels.com$208
View all 23 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (739)
360
Panoramas (7)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 07/15/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Alexandrian Old Town Alexandria, Autograph Collection
Updated 07/15/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#20 of 53 in Alexandria
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
4.3
GreenLeaders Gold level
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Conference facilities
Parking garage
Wifi
Paid internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
85Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
40Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2131Reviews37Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,256
  • 578
  • 174
  • 73
  • 50
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jigganilla wrote a review May 12
Virginia190 contributions33 helpful votes
This is by far one of the worst hotels I’ve ever stayed at. We called a day before our arrival to see if we might possibly be able to get an early check in. I spoke to a front desk clerk, who immediately cut me off before I could even finish my sentence and told me to call back the next day on our way. We called on the way as rudely requested, and were treated the exact same way. I understand if a hotel isn’t able to accommodate an early check in, what I did not appreciate was the instant attitude we received. We reserved a bi-level suite. When we arrived, we were told that the people that had our room requested a late checkout and our room still wasn’t ready. Again we tried to be understanding, but the front desk clerk we dealt with had a serious need of a training lesson in customer service. She cared less about us or our situation. After a very brief discussion, she said she’d call us when our room was ready. Of course, she didn’t. We had to be in DC that afternoon; when we arrived back in the evening, they gave us a room we never reserved. When I went down to the front desk to say something, they said I had to speak to a manager in the morning and they had over booked my room choice and there was nothing that could be done. For a total of $645 a night, it is completely wrong and outrageous that the room I reserved would just be given away after we were there before and at check in time. I will never stay at this hotel again. They have no care whatsoever for their guests. In addition to the the lack of regard and customer service, the hotel is run down and beat up. Our room was filthy. Just an awful disappointing stay all around.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Sundncr wrote a review May 7
Washington DC, District of Columbia957 contributions441 helpful votes
The location is just fantastic. I was here for the weekend. There was a farmers market diagonally across the street on Saturday. The waterfront is a few blocks down to the river, where you can actually catch ferries to DC and other river tours. If you walk and cross GW parkway, you are in the vicinity of a lot of shopping and dining options. I think you can walk to the big Masonic temple. The king street metro is on the way. The hotel has a nice restaurant attached. The lobby is plush. Reception was helpful. The rooms were luxurious with marble tiled bathrooms. The parking is on the lower levels for a fee. Great option for a staycation or a vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Debs91011 wrote a review May 4
New York City, New York67 contributions17 helpful votes
Good location for a hotel. Staff was wonderful, from housekeeping up to the managers. Property was clean. However, many little issues such as missing light switch knobs, peeling face on furniture. And again, the rooms were not designed with input from women. Even the only lit mirror was poor for make up application. The restaurant/bar on the property is closed Sunday & Monday! I would say that this is a 3 1/2 star property.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Harriet wrote a review May 3
1 contribution
Had the hotel amenities been more amenable I would’ve written a five star review. The only reason they are getting the review they are is because the staff are phenomenal. They are courteous they are helpful they are responsive some of the best staff I have seen in a long time. The location of the Hotel is great for walking around old town it is very conveniently located. However if you go on a Sunday or Monday do not expect the hotel bar and restaurant to be open because they are closed!!!! The other sticking point is quality of the accommodations. The rooms are looking a little worn and I understand that the bathroom amenities were of the caliber that they were probably I’m hoping only because of supply issues. I know it’s a silly point but the toilet paper was like sandpaper and the soap shampoo conditioners were all different manufacturers. We had all sorts of problems with the TV and the TV remote. Lamps were missing light switches. And although there was a refrigerator in the room there was no mini bar and whatever water was in the room was four dollars a bottle. Not certain I would ever wanna stay here again if it weren’t for the staff
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: There is on-site parking but make sure you check the height of your car once you receive the...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Alexandria Living Magazine wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
The team at The Alexandrian is phenomenal! The hotel hosted Alexandria Living Magazine for the annual Alexandria Wedding Showcase this year and we’re so grateful for their generosity and support. Their Director of Banquets, Kat Prescott, is an events wizard and really hustled to make everything happen for us, as did the rest of the team. Beautiful spot for a wedding or event in the heart of Old Town! Photo Credit: Emily Nicole Photography
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
redhead_roaming wrote a review Apr 2022
Seattle, Washington2350 contributions521 helpful votes
We stayed here 2 nights while in town for our friend's wedding. The location was amazing - we were close to great bars & restaurants. The lobby & our room, the only places we visited, were very clean and had a look & feel of sophistication. Our interactions with the front desk staff while checking in was nothing short of warm, friendly & professional and they provided us with the welcome bag from the bridge & groom.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Helpful
Share
N0vember17 wrote a review Jan 2022
Chapel Hill, North Carolina18 contributions33 helpful votes
Alexandria is my hometown, and whenever I go there, I always stay at this hotel. It is a lovely hotel, beautifully located, and quite reasonably priced. This is always my go-to hotel. However, in recent months, their communication leaves much to be desired, as does some of their customer service. I stayed here three times in November & December, 2021. In the first two cases, they mishandled my reservations, and I had to wait for them to clear things up. Both times, they said they would call or text me on my phone; neither time did they do so. I was thus left hanging through the afternoon waiting to hear. In one instance, they said they were booked solid (not true), but I found out that in fact, the communications and reservations systems were down. Why could they not just say that? The third time, over Christmas, I arrived early (I always do, as I prefer to drive early in the morning). Their app--which is totally worthless--allows you to post an expected check-in time, and it also says it will alert you when your room is ready. Not true on either counts, so I suggest you don't bother with it; they pay no attention. When I arrived, I told them I was early and just wanted to get an idea of when the room would be ready; I didn't expect it to be ready at that time. The gentleman at the desk told me that no early check-ins were allowed, that they were fully booked, and people checked out late, etc. etc. That was totally untrue; I had checked the reservations as early as the previous day, and there were many rooms available. I do not appreciate being lied to, especially as I am a regular visitor to this fine hotel. When I asked for an approximate time, he told me not until 4 PM--no way. I won't say he was rude, but he was quite curt and unpleasant. Again, he said they could text or call me when the room was ready. Again, they did not. I finally had to call them, and they said oh yes, the room had been ready. I don't know if management has changed or what is going on. To be fair, some of the front desk personnel are great, so it's a shame that some rude guy has to mar the reputation. I will continue to stay here, but please be aware that any guest may well be misled as to check-in time and other information. Their lack of communication is inexcusable. I will also say that the Hotel Indigo, where I stayed a couple of times, is an excellent alternative: great and honest service, and superb location. I'm quite sad that the Alexandrian has declined in service quality, especially when weary travelers seek some respite from the dreary virus situation.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Terrific Location
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tae Yoo, Guest Services / Front Office at The Alexandrian Old Town Alexandria, Autograph Collection
Responded Jan 17, 2022
Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback and being a loyal guest to The Alexandrian. I am sorry to hear your recent experience has not met your expectation. Providing warm welcome clear communication sets a tone for a great stay however we were not able to provide that during your visit recent visits. Our check in time starts at 4pm however we will try our best to accommodate guests arriving early if we have rooms ready prior to the arrival time. Your feedback has been shared with the Front Office team to provide consistent and excellent services to our guests. Thank you again for your candid feedback and consideration. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Alexandrian.
Read more
SpanishteacherMD wrote a review Dec 2021
Ellicott City, Maryland1505 contributions152 helpful votes
+1
This is a lovely hotel in a very central location in Old Town Alexandria. Easy to get to right off of Route 1 and the Wilson Bridge. Easy to park the car (right underneath the hotel) and easy to get everywhere in the city. We stayed for one night as my wife and I had a chance to have a night away. The staff is fully masked and even in the room, we were provided sanitizing wipes to clean things if we had any concerns. Check in was at 4, but we were lucky that our room was available before then, all the way up on the 6th floor overlooking the hotel's courtyard. The room was far from the elevators and very quiet. A huge room, with a very large bathroom. Plenty of space and the king bed was beyond comfortable. Pillows were soft and inviting. The linens were beyond comfortable as well. Small refrigerator as well. Large TV and a relaxing chair by the window to read or just simply relax. The hotel staff was fabulous and friendly, very accommodating and willing to answer any questions or address any needs we had. I would highly recommend choosing this property if you find yourself in Old Town Alexandria. Very much worth the stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Facing the courtyard, a balcony or further from the elevators
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
914TNM wrote a review Dec 2021
New York5 contributions2 helpful votes
Using the pandemic as an excuse for absolutely dismal service is really unfortunate. No special touches for their highest level of loyalty ~ and then they have the audacity to arrange a phone call to discuss the experience and offer nothing, except, stay with us again, and we'll make it right. Really, over $300 and not even a bottle of water at check-in. What a shame... staff needs empowerment, they have none. They did nothing to make it right... and Marriott, it's your brand that Sage is tarnishing. FIX IT.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay at Residence Inn just 15 min walk and save yourself 50% and heartache...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Tae Yoo, Guest Services / Front Office at The Alexandrian Old Town Alexandria, Autograph Collection
Responded Dec 8, 2021
Dear 914TNM, We appreciate that you took time to let us know of your experience at The Alexandrian. I am truly sorry that we left such a negative impression, but I do want you to know that we are working hard to improve our product and service. I am sorry that our team were not able to provide a closure to the opportunities experienced. Please contact me directly tae.yoo@thealexandrian.com to further discuss. Tae Yoo
Read more
Wendy S wrote a review Nov 2021
Austin, Texas710 contributions178 helpful votes
I stayed several nights for a conference. There was a free trolly from the Metro station, although I had to wait 25 minutes for it (Uber quoted ~$9 for the 1 mile ride). The lobby was small but cute. The staff were friendly. Although I thought Virginia has an indoor mask requirement, guests were not reminded about it, although all the staff wore them. The wifi code was messed up on the night of my arrival, but worked after that. The breakfast that was part of my conference was more than an hour late on the first morning; it was tasty the 1st day, but became less and less satisfying for the remainder of my stay. The room was clean and comfortable, but the live music from the courtyard and loud heater made it tough to get to/stay asleep. I didn't have any problems, but some of my fellow conference attendees had trouble with a large deposit required, which took several days to fix (those that used their debit cards had that money on hold for up to a week).
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Use a credit card for deposits to avoid a hold on your checking account. Get a room away from...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$256 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel monaco alexandria kimpton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaAlexandriaOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
241
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Alexandrian Old Town Alexandria, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to The Alexandrian Old Town Alexandria, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include Escape Room Live Alexandria (0.2 miles), Alexandria's Christ Church (0.2 miles), and Old Town (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Alexandrian Old Town Alexandria, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Alexandrian Old Town Alexandria, Autograph Collection?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Alexandrian Old Town Alexandria, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Alexandrian Old Town Alexandria, Autograph Collection?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Alexandrian Old Town Alexandria, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Refuge Restaurant, Caphe Banh Mi, and The Warehouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Alexandrian Old Town Alexandria, Autograph Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does The Alexandrian Old Town Alexandria, Autograph Collection have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Alexandrian Old Town Alexandria, Autograph Collection offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Alexandrian Old Town Alexandria, Autograph Collection have airport transportation?
Yes, The Alexandrian Old Town Alexandria, Autograph Collection offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Alexandrian Old Town Alexandria, Autograph Collection located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Alexandria.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Alexandrian Old Town Alexandria, Autograph Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.