The Westin Alexandria Old Town

The Westin Alexandria Old Town

Traveler (267)
Room & Suite (140)
The Westin Alexandria Old Town
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

$206
$195
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#19 of 47 hotels in Alexandria
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.1
Value
3.8
The Westin Alexandria Old Town blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria, Virginia. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort near Washington, D.C. and Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Center with Internet Access
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314-5700
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 80 out of 100
80
Ronald Reagan National Airport
Dulles Intl Airport
23.5 mi
See all flights
Alexandria Station
6 min
1,056Review15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 421
  • 407
  • 135
  • 56
  • 37
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Anthony C wrote a review Jan 2020
Orlando, Florida19 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Westin Alexandria Old Town for one night and upon check in was given the usual redemption card for breakfast the next morning as a platinum benefit. The checkin agent was welcoming and acknowledged the platinum status, as well as upgraded to a higher floor.

The next day, the restaurant advised despite being platinum I can only use the benefit for continental breakfast (a fruit plate and a croissant). I asked if Marriott had changed their policy on this, as every property I have stayed in the past while platinum I was able to select a maximum of any two items from the normal breakfast menu. I ended up paying $16 for a mediocre omelet.

I called corporate Marriott about this to inquire about the change in service and they advised the breakfast selection is dependent on the decision and discretion of the individual hotel property general manager. I find it disappointing that the management of this property chose to do this as breakfast is a small gesture for loyalty to the brand. I would add that it is also a shame because the breakfast variety (for a platinum member) at lower Marriott brand is more than offered here. This is just another small item I have noticed since the Marriott takeover of Starwood that indicates more and more corporate greed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WestinAlexndria, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria Old Town
Responded Jan 22, 2020
Dear anthonyc, Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share these comments. I was glad to see that your platinum Bonvoy status was acknowledged upon check in and that you did receive an upgraded room. Concerning the breakfast selection, we do offer the continental breakfast for Bonvoy members as you point out. This is what is typically offered as part of the Bonvoy program benefits at Marriott hotels. I do realize that some hotels might expand on that offering given their circumstances and we will certainly take it under consideration. Thanks again for staying with us. We appreciate your loyalty. Rich Casale General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BBCNY wrote a review Dec 2022
Jersey City, New Jersey115 contributions91 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for two nights and liked the hotel overall. In terms of facilities at the hotel, there’s a gym and although there’s not room service, there is a restaurant in the lobby with a bar. Our room (617) was big and very comfortable with a desk, office chair, king size bed, and two chairs with an accent table and small ottoman. The room also had an empty mini fridge and single serving old school type of coffee maker with per-measured single serving Starbucks filters. There was also two wine glasses and a wine key in the cabinet with the fridge. I found the mattress to be a little too firm for me the first night, but after asking for 2 firmer pillows I was more comfortable. The water pressure was a little light in the shower and toilet, but that is common with hotels. Location-wise there is a shuttle to downtown Alexandria, and the Metro and VRE Stations are a 10 minute walk away from the hotel. Price wise the Westin was very affordable and their pet fee is only $25 per night, which is a very good deal for short stays. It was nice to have the in room coffee, but the machines were noisy and slow, I recommend they upgrade to k-pods.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
beeaed wrote a review Sep 2022
Boston, Massachusetts31 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Westin Alexandria earlier this month on business due to my usual corporate rate being unavailable at the nearby Residence Inn Duke. The hotel did a good job recognizing my Marriott status, offering free breakfast vouchers and an upgrade to a large suite.

The room was overall nice and clean, if a bit dated in the furnishings. The room upgrade gave me the opportunity to host a couple of local friends for a casual catch-up, which was much appreciated.

The daily breakfast buffet (free with Platinum or above Marriott status) is excellent—a mix of traditional American breakfast fare as well as healthier options like fresh fruit. The servers were attentive with drinks and taking away plates.

Overall, a good Alexandria hotel that I would recommend, especially to those with business at the Federal courthouse on the other side of the street.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
World T wrote a review Oct 2021
Clearwater, Florida56 contributions38 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, I was there for a high school reunion. The hotel had supposidly blocked off 30 rooms at a discounted rate for the event. When I originally booked my room, I was told there were no more discounted rooms available. One of my classmates, however, booked her room a month later, and was offered the discounted rate. I asked about this (when I checked out) and was told, "Sorry, we can't honor that". So I asked for a senior discount, I do qualify for that. I was told, "Sorry, you have to set up your reservation like that in the first place, we can't help you". Another classmate advised me they credited her bill $50 because the mini-fridge didn't work upon check in. Mine didn't either (which I reported), but my compensation was refused. The front desk personnel do not seem customer service oriented.
Housekeeping: The housekeeping staff does a terrific job, but the front desk personnel insist the guest make an appointment the day BEFORE to request housekeeping. I never know when I'll be leaving my room on any given day so it's cumbersome arranging and committing to an appointment for housekeeping. Other hotels have a different practice. Put the Do Not Disturb sign on the doorknob while inside, then flip it over and it reads Please Make Up Room, upon leaving for the day. So what I did was... when I left each day, I stopped by the front desk to request housekeeping. This worked fine for the first 2 days. After that, I was told firmly, NO. You have to make an appointment. After a couple of days with no housekeeping, I was arguing with the front desk clerk, letting her know my trashcans were all overflowing, etc. The manager happened to be there, he interrupted and asked me for my room number. He said he would see to it my room was made up. Management really needs to encourage their front desk personnel to be more accommodating to their customers. I appreciated his assistance, and the hotel room was adequate, plus housekeeping did a great job when they were allowed to make up my room. Otherwise, I would have rated the hotel TERRIBLE.
I won't be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ravi Gaur, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Alexandria Old Town
Responded Oct 13, 2021
Dear World T, Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay at the Westin Alexandria Old Town. I am very sorry to hear that you did not receive the excellent service from our front of the house associates, we are known for; I have passed your feedback to our colleagues for their immediate review. On the other note, I am glad that our housekeeping associates were able to leave positive experience. They really do work hard, especially during this tough times. Please know that we are working hard to improve our property in every way that we can and will be grateful for a second chance to earn your trust. I hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit. If and when, please reach out to the hotel directly as I would love to detail your stay personally.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JeninWV wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Overcharged and other issues with bill and charges. It took two weeks for the issue to be resolved.
The room was nice and clean, bed comfortable.
The staff was great upon checking in, not so much after that. Was short and abrupt when I questioned charges.
Be aware they hold out a $50.00 per day deposit. However they say it’s for the $36.00 per parking fee. They said they would deduct the $72.00 owed for parking and credit my account for the rest. However the took another $82.00 out of my account, with the two $50.00 still pending.
I called every other day trying to get it resolved. The gentleman repeatedly told me to wait 3-5 business day, the problem with that was it had been well beyond that.
If you’re a member double check the $9.99 internet charge if you use the WiFi. I was charged for it being a member. Know that if you aren’t a member you will be charged a $9.99 fee.
FINALLY after speaking twice with Beth and her being of no help. I thanked her and told her I would contact Marriott corporate office. She said they can’t do anything because we’re a franchise. However the very helpful lady I spoke with did not share the same info. Beth called me back to tell me she found the issue with being over charged and it would be credited to my account. She also said she would have someone call my bank and have them stop the pending $50.00. She did not, and it did not come off until I contacted my bank.
The stay is not worth the hassle of having to deal with this afterwards!
Because of this I cannot recommend staying here and I will not be staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ravi Gaur, Other at The Westin Alexandria Old Town
Responded Dec 1, 2020
Dear JeninW, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at the Westin Alexandria Old Town. We never wish for our guests to leave our property dissatisfied with any part of their stay, thus we are disappointed to learn that you did. I would also like to apologize for all the run around you had after the stay regarding your billing. I have addressed your concerns with my front desk team and importance of informing guest about the security deposit and internet fee at time of check-in. You can directly reach me at ravi.gaur@westinalexandria.com if you would like to discuss your stay further. Hope to see you back at Westin Alexandria soon! Best Regards, Ravi Gaur, Dir. Of Operations Westin Alexandria Old Town
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AlwaysPlanningCarrie wrote a review Nov 2023
348 contributions67 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
What I liked: Very clean, easy to get in and out of, valet parking was easy and efficient, polite and professional staff.  Bathroom had a handheld shower head, which to me is just essential for a good shower.  Great bed, nice pillows, lovely view.

What I didn't like: Room was set up for just one traveler -- only one robe, only one bottle of water, not enough towels.  No in-room information... Couldn't find instructions on wifi, there was only a QR code for the room service, which we couldn't figure out how to order on a Sunday morning.  Our room rate included breakfast, and when we went down, they had a buffet, which was okay... Parts were cold.  Bar was closed for a private event the evening we were there, which was disappointing.  They must have had a wedding or a party or something on the Saturday night, as we were treated to loud thumping music late into the night.  That coupled with a childrens soccer team that I swear was running drills in the hall after 9:30pm led to an interrupted sleep.  You're also near a train or metro station so be prepared for the whistles.  TV channels wouldn't load at all.

Overall, fine for one night, but no need to rush back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OteyFam wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Despite the situation with COVID, Westin managers and staff worked with us from beginning to end to make our event fun, safe, enjoyable and memorable. All of the Westin staff are excellent and went overboard! They were able to help make our event a great success and safe with about 100 guests. Our guests were all happy with how the event turned out with the social distancing measures and were glad to stay at the hotel overnight. They have an excellent chef as well who provided us with delicious meals for our guests! Our family highly recommends Westin Alexandria Old Town to anyone who is considering an event during this COVID time and in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bianca R wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here with my husband to celebrate my 30th birthday. We arrived to find that our room wasn't cleaned to the level that we had expected given that our check in time wasn't until 3pm. The carpet was dirty, there was a plastic food wrapper on the floor, a bottle of water that was not the hotel provided Evian (which is 46 by the way!), and a used face towel in the shower (we knew it was used because it was wet and had a hair on it). We had planned to go out for dinner but decided to check out the hotel's restaurant instead, the menu was lacking and differed from the website, I didn't want anything on the menu so we decided to go ahead with the original plan only to find that our car keys were misplaced by the valet ($36 they charge for this service) , so we had no choice but to eat at the in house restaurant. The food was fine, the drinks were good, both overpriced. I would not recommend this hotel, you don't get your money's worth.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dorothy S wrote a review Oct 2021
Davie, FL68 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’m sure I wouldn’t have found the hotel without my GPS, but it was well worth the trouble to find. All parking is valet only, and a valet will bring your belongings up to your room. There is a restaurant in the hotel, which is very convenient. The hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. My only complaint is that the small refrigerator in the room doesn’t have a freezer compartment.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tre E wrote a review Apr 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina38 contributions19 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I drive 15 min away from my venue to stay in a heavenly bed. I was terribly disappointed to have a very uncomfortable stay in a double bed that felt like a forgotten 3rd rate motel. I don’t feel as though the front desk took me seriously in that they offered a $30 discount on a $300 night. Tired AND frustrated- I was mostly stunned with the attention given the situation. As a Bonvoy member - it’s been a while since I have been so disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Too many options in the area to spend the money here.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ravi Gaur, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria Old Town
Responded Apr 7, 2022
Dear tree2014, Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your feedback. We were disappointed to learn that your sleep experience concerning our Heavenly Bed fell far short of your expectations and further that we did not react appropriately when you brought the concern to our attention. I would like to offer my sincere apologies. We take great pride in consistently exceeding our guest’s expectations and this is certainly not the experience we would like you to have had with us. I hope you will be able to view this as the exception and not the rule and that we will have an opportunity in the future to make it right. Should the opportunity present itself for you to return, please reach out to me directly and I will personally arrange for your accommodations and look after your stay. Hoping to hear from you and to being of service again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Culture660642 asked a question Mar 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
is there room service at this hotel?
Answer from Annie
3 contributions7 helpful votes
Yes
twinswin1 asked a question Apr 2019
Eden Prairie, Minnesota65 contributions60 helpful votes
Is there a swimming pool and, if so, is in door?
Answer from Rotsiefan
NJ729 contributions140 helpful votes
No pool. But they do have a fitness center.
Ammfamily5 asked a question Jul 2018
Fayetteville, Arkansas107 contributions16 helpful votes
Does this hotel offer shuttle service from the airport?
Answer from Theresa S
Olathe, Kansas79 contributions15 helpful votes
Exact metro directions, buy a smart trip card from a machine. take the blue line or the yellow line towards,Franconia Springfield. Get off at king street stop. About a 15 minute ride. I spent less than $10 and went everywhere.
Glowbtrahtter asked a question Sep 2017
Madison, Virginia19 contributions14 helpful votes
Is this hotel fairly isolated or are there restaurants in close proximity?
Answer from GPSpilot
Colorado Springs, Colorado66 contributions49 helpful votes
There are restaurants within walking distance. A ton of them, if you have a generous definition of "walking distance." For example, I walked to The Warehouse (rated #1 on TripAdvisor). It took 29 minutes each way... but that's good exercise.
jcskwells wrote a tip Mar 2024
st louis2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Trademark Restaurant is good to go! "
Read full review
James H wrote a tip Dec 2023
Hampshire, United Kingdom111 contributions107 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Uber from IAD at 11pm had a longer wait on the Saturday night, and would have been same price as the taxi that I took"
Read full review
AandK wrote a tip Aug 2023
Washington DC111 contributions113 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Inquire about the shuttle to Old Town"
Read full review
History-Lover-NY wrote a tip Jul 2023
New York75 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the valet parking offer. Worked great!"
Read full review
SteveRBoston_MA wrote a tip Jun 2023
Danvers, Massachusetts69 contributions66 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cheap parking is nearby. Do not valet for $40 per day."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Alexandria area.
PRICE RANGE
$167 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
westin alexandria hotel alexandria, alexandria westin
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaAlexandria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
319
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WESTIN ALEXANDRIA OLD TOWN $183 ($̶2̶2̶0̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Alexandria Old Town
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Alexandria Old Town?
Nearby attractions include National Inventors Hall of Fame Museum (0.1 miles), Carlyle Club (0.04 miles), and Trademark Drink and Eat (0.02 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Alexandria Old Town?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Alexandria Old Town?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Alexandria Old Town?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Alexandria Old Town?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Alexandria Old Town?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sweet Fire Donna's, Trademark Drink and Eat, and Quattro Formaggi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Alexandria Old Town?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Alexandria Old Town?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Westin Alexandria Old Town?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Westin Alexandria Old Town offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Westin Alexandria Old Town?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Alexandria's Christ Church (1.0 miles), Old Town (1.3 miles), and Arlington House - The Robert E. Lee Memorial (3.6 miles).
All Alexandria HotelsAlexandria Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AlexandriaHotels near The Westin Alexandria Old Town
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars