We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314-5700
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$135
View deal
Booking.com$135
Travelocity$135
Hotels.com$135
Westin.com$135
Priceline$135
FindHotel$135
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (247)
Room & Suite (140)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 10/15/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin Alexandria Old Town
Updated 10/15/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#19 of 52 in Alexandria
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.1
Value
3.8
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
The Westin Alexandria Old Town blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria, Virginia. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort near Washington, D.C. and Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Center with Internet Access
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Green
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1033Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 410
  • 400
  • 134
  • 53
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Christopher E wrote a review Jun 19
New York City, New York28 contributions41 helpful votes
The Westin Alexandria Old Town is a relatively upscale hotel that has almost all of the basics covered: an inviting lobby; clean, modern guest rooms with huge TVs; comfortable beds; and clean, spacious bathrooms with rainfall shower heads. The hotel restaurant, Trademark, has nice breakfast options. Both the front desk staff and the restaurant staff are attentive and helpful. The hotel just needs to upgrade its business center, which is currently two desktops and a broken home-office printer in the lobby. That’s fine at a Motel 6, but this Westin is located directly across from a federal courthouse, and the attorneys who stay here would appreciate (and pay for) the convenience of being able to print large files in a hurry. That small investment could make this a truly full-service hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Dan H wrote a review Jun 2021
35 contributions19 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
My family and I travel a great deal, and when we look for hotels to say at, we are looking for a high quality, modern hotel with great location, and fair pricing. The Westin Old Town Alexandria checks all of these boxes and more! A short distance from the water in Old Town, and walking distance to many attractions, this was a perfect place for a stay-cation for us. Everyone from the restaurant workers, to the front desk staff, to the manager Paul was exceptionally generous and accommodating. The rooms were modern, and of course had the heavenly beds that were so comfortable! The Westin brand delvers excellence every time, and this was no exception. I highly recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
AmyV1970 wrote a review Jun 10
Fishersville, Virginia2 contributions
There are a few good things, The staff were all quite friendly, and I admit this must be hard when dealing with angry guests because everything at the hotel is just BROKEN. It also seemed pretty clean. However, everything else was a nightmare. We decided to stay in the DC area on a Monday night in June 2022, and decided to treat ourselves to a "4 star" hotel, even paying the extra price for a room with a "city view". When we got to the hotel in the afternoon, the room was hot, but we figured the AC needed time to work. We turned it on (we thought), and went out to do stuff. Got back later at night, the room was still hot. Call the desk, they send up a "technician"-- at 9:30 pm. So, we sit there very awkwardly for half an hour, in our hot room, watching this guy move furniture around, unscrew stuff from the wall and whatnot, knowing there is no way he's going to be able to fix this room tonight. Finally, the guy is like "I can't fix this tonight", and we get moved to another room. We try to take our daughter's rollaway bed with us, they say, "no no, housekeeping will move it." This takes 45 minutes, meaning no one can even start getting to sleep until 11:30 p.m. AND THEN! Next morning, COLD showers. Not "not hot", or even lukewarm. COLD. They say they are working on it, but my husband and I have to take cold showers anyway. Not exactly the "luxury experience" I paid for. We complain at check out. They say that can't refund the room fee because I got it on Priceline, but they can not charge us for the rollaway bed and the exorbitant valet parking. Then, they proceed to charge us for the rollaway, the parking, and the room. The room which I had ALREADY paid for, remember. We spend the entire trip back home trying to get this straightened out. Priceline won't refund us anything, but they get the hotel to reverse the charges. So Thursday morning, we discover, the hotel has charged us the room fee AGAIN. For the THIRD time. My husband calls up the hotel. They say "oh, it will drop off in a few days". We are LIVID, because this is just outright goddamn fraud at this point. We are supposed to just wait around for you to return our money that you basically STOLE? I don't want any damn "points" or anything similar. I never want to stay at one of their rotten hotels, or let them get their hands on my bank account ever again. I'm going to report them to Attorney General of Virginia, because this seems like a deliberate pattern of behavior. How do you "accidentally" charge someone for something you shouldn't have charged them for TWICE? I will never use Priceline again, or stay at any Marriott Bonvoy hotel ever again. Amazing how a $260 room got up to nearly $400. Ended up with a "roof of the hotel plus a few buildings" view in the second room. It was like an 8 story building, we were on the 4th floor, somehow we got vast expanse of roof. I don't even know how they did that. That is some goddamn wizardry. Avoid this hotel. Nothing in it works, and if you let these vultures get their hands on your credit card, they will keep double and triple charging you as long as they think they can get away with it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Ravi Gaur, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria Old Town
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear AmyV1970 Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share these comments. Needless to say, I was disappointed to learn of the many inconveniences and difficulties you experienced and would like to extend my sincere apologies. Although your stay did not start well, clearly we had many opportunities along the way to recover and get things right for you but simply did not execute well on your behalf. I am emailing you in hopes to connect with directly to further address your concerns. If you could please reach out directly to me at ravi.gaur@westinalexandria.com with your contact information, I will immediately respond. Once again our sincere apologies.
Read more
Hope C wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
+1
The hotel was extremely nice the restaurant trademark had the most wonderful breakfast! The rooms were large and spacious the bathroom was very clean! My one complaint was they did not have a swimming pool!🤦🏽‍♀️ It was across from the courthouse and every day I look for someone very important to come out!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Kyle R wrote a review Apr 2022
135 contributions74 helpful votes
Lovely hotel in a lovely, peaceful area. If you're not up to the walk to the waterfront, the hotel does offer a shuttle. Very clean, striking decor, and very helpful, friendly staff, especially the bubbly Dana at reception. Kudos a d thanks for a great weekend in your beautiful city.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
chanteew wrote a review Apr 2022
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania15 contributions2 helpful votes
We only stayed there for one night. The bed was comfortable and the room was pretty standard Westin quality. My issue came after we checked out. We realized we left a set of headphones in the room on April 17th. We called the hotel and they directed us to ileftmystuff.com, which is completely fine. The website said "If you haven't heard in 2 days, then to contact the hotel directly to make sure they got our inquiry. I called back Wednesday, April 20th and left a voicemail with lost and found. No one has returned my call. I also called back again today April 22nd. If they couldn't locate our headphones, that's completely fine. Things happen. But I would rather someone have contacted me to let me know either way. Definitely colors my perception of The Westin for future stays.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Amya M wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
One word to describe this property...WOW! From interacting with Evagalina (I believe that's the blonde girl's name with the accent) at the front desk.. to the great and knowledgeable shuttle driver that brought us to a great local bbq place.... to Guillermo, Luis and Jenny on the banquet team.... to how clean and careful house keeping was (they made sure I had no lavender in my room because I was allergic)...to everyone in the Trademark (i forgot the young black lady who waited on our table but she has darker hair and was so kind and gave the best entrée recommendation!) EVERYONE was so great for our group! I am so glad we decided to stay here and with our long conference days because the sleep we got in our rooms was soooo great afterwards! I really hope we get to have another conference at this property!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: great beds!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
HDFireTrip wrote a review Apr 2022
Irvine, California46 contributions25 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel, and a great area to visit. Clean rooms, good restaurant in the lobby. It has a 24/7 gym facility. Even though the are going through renovations it was still a comfortable stay. In a central area to all the sights and easy to get to from Reagan international.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Tre E wrote a review Apr 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina34 contributions18 helpful votes
I drive 15 min away from my venue to stay in a heavenly bed. I was terribly disappointed to have a very uncomfortable stay in a double bed that felt like a forgotten 3rd rate motel. I don’t feel as though the front desk took me seriously in that they offered a $30 discount on a $300 night. Tired AND frustrated- I was mostly stunned with the attention given the situation. As a Bonvoy member - it’s been a while since I have been so disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Too many options in the area to spend the money here.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ravi Gaur, General Manager at The Westin Alexandria Old Town
Responded Apr 7, 2022
Dear tree2014, Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your feedback. We were disappointed to learn that your sleep experience concerning our Heavenly Bed fell far short of your expectations and further that we did not react appropriately when you brought the concern to our attention. I would like to offer my sincere apologies. We take great pride in consistently exceeding our guest’s expectations and this is certainly not the experience we would like you to have had with us. I hope you will be able to view this as the exception and not the rule and that we will have an opportunity in the future to make it right. Should the opportunity present itself for you to return, please reach out to me directly and I will personally arrange for your accommodations and look after your stay. Hoping to hear from you and to being of service again soon.
Read more
skdyer wrote a review Mar 2022
Atlanta, Georgia33 contributions41 helpful votes
I travel a lot and love to give a review when I find a great hotel. I have stayed at this hotel several times while visiting family in the D.C area. The hotel is clean, staff is friendly and is in walking distance to pretty much everything you would need.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$167 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
westin alexandria hotel alexandria, alexandria westin
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaAlexandria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
319
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Alexandria Old Town
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Alexandria Old Town?
Nearby attractions include Escape Quest (0.7 miles), George Washington Masonic National Memorial (0.3 miles), and Alexandria National Cemetery (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Alexandria Old Town?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Alexandria Old Town?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Alexandria Old Town?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Alexandria Old Town?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Alexandria Old Town?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vaso's Mediterranean Bistro, Vermilion Restaurant, and BRABO Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Alexandria Old Town?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does The Westin Alexandria Old Town have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Westin Alexandria Old Town offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Alexandria Old Town?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Westin Alexandria Old Town?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Westin Alexandria Old Town offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.