We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Save
Share
1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Expedia.com
$419
View deal
Travelocity
$419
View deal
Traveluro
$401
View deal
Hotels.com$419
Booking.com$419
Priceline$419
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (321)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (246)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 12/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Updated 12/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#15 of 52 hotels in Alexandria
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
The Embassy Suites Old Town hotel is located in the quaint historic area of Alexandria, Virginia with a full array of hotel amenities, this Alexandria hotel is ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Our hotel is directly across the street from the King Street Metro Station (Blue/ Yellow Line/Amtrak/Virginia Rail Express) two stopes to DCA and perfectly accessible to all Washington DC area attractions. Our hotel offers great family and business Packages and Hotel Specials. DC Attractions near the hotel: Washington Monument, Lincoln Memorial, US Capitol, World War II Monument, Vietnam Memorial, Gunston Hall Plantation, Capital One Center - Home of the Washington Capitals and Wizards, Nationals Park - Home of the Washington Nationals, More Washington DC Area Attractions. Attractions in Old Town Alexandria: Historic Old Town, George Washington Masonic Temple, US Patent and Trademark Office, Waterfront Scenery, Excellent Old Town Alexandria Restaurants, More Alexandria Entertainme
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking garage
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

Full view
98Great for walkers
Grade: 98 out of 100
45Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2505Reviews61Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,240
  • 816
  • 283
  • 111
  • 55
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Autumn wrote a review Sep 2022
Miami Beach, Florida3 contributions2 helpful votes
The hotel staff are warm, friendly and courteous. The rooms are clean, though a bit worn. The location is absolutely fabulous and transport to and from the airport is a breeze thanks to the metro stop on the doorstep. My only concern was the pervasive cold. My meetings were long and uncomfortable due to the continuous shivering I experienced at the 65 degree room temperature throughout the hotel. Of course it is very hard to please everyone, especially when it comes to the temperature of a room. Just a fair warning here for those who prefer 72 degrees as a norm, pack an extra sweater or two for your stay. Then you won't have to do what I did and wear my pajamas under my clothing just to endure my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
J9sling wrote a review Jun 2022
Melbourne, Florida82 contributions78 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We were visiting our daughter in Alexandria and chose this hotel for their convenient location next to the metro and short walk from Old Town. While those factors were important to us we had no idea of the exceptional service we would receive. We asked for a fan and firmer pillows and within hours were brought a floor fan and 4 firmer pillows - it looked like they just bought them! We also really appreciated the parking garage for our daughter when she dropped by to visit. Breakfast was delicious and having a Whole Foods and CVS across the street was very convenient for picking up drinks and snacks. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Feldman, Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Responded Jun 16, 2022
Thank you for posting a review. We are fortunate to be so close to the Metro and Old Town. It is always wonderful to read when we exceed expectations and I am glad this occurred for you. The team works hard to make this happen. Yes, to be within walking distance of many food and shopping options is a convenience many of our guests enjoy. Thank you again for the review and for staying with us. We look forward to your return! As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime. Happy travels - Kevin B. Feldman 703-842-7030 kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nikki wrote a review Sep 2022
6 contributions2 helpful votes
The reason I rated this hotel 4 stars instead of 5. It was food in the hallways, spots on the carpet, very dirty. . The rooms could use updating like the carpet. The location was perfect. I walked to the waterfront twice out of my 3 nights. It was about a 20 mins walk each way. I took the free shuttle to Target. It’s a CVS and Whole Foods a few blocks away and several restaurants. . The breakfast had some good options. The smiling faces at checkin was good. . . The rooms are huge with plenty of space. I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Capt_Rons_Diving wrote a review Aug 2022
Norristown, Pennsylvania111 contributions25 helpful votes
Shout out to Javon who was extremely helpful when our room was not ready. He made sure we were happy with the new room. I specifically requested a room with a view of the George Washington Masonic National Memorial and it was the best. All staff very friendly and concerned about your satisfaction. Breakfast at the buffet was rather cold but you do have the option of requesting a custom omelet, pancakes, etc. Use a small vehicle if planning to park in hotel garage.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Pick room on 8th floor, 816-818 for best view of memorial. It lights up at night
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Feldman, Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Responded Aug 24, 2022
Thank you for your review. Javon works hard to offer this impression to all the guests he interacts with so I know he will be proud & thrilled to read your comment. We are fortunate to have various room types and one of the most popular is one with a view of the Masonic Temple. It is nice you could enjoy that during your stay. Your comment on the team is very helpful. I am sorry you found the breakfast area to be cold, but glad you enjoyed the extensive options available. Having a smaller vehicle makes parking in any garage easier. As someone who drives an SUV into the lot each day, I know it can be done safely. A tip for all readers/ future guests: when you pull into the garage and get to the hotel parking area, be sure to go up one level. The main level tends to be the most congested, but going up one level offers a much easier parking experience. Thank you again for the review and for staying with us. We hope you choose to return soon. As always, I invite anyone reading my response to contact me anytime. Happy travels - Kevin B. Feldman 703-842-7030 kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J775KQmarg wrote a review Aug 2022
Steinbach, Canada2 contributions
Location! Location! Location! Embassy Suites has this in spades. From access to the subway/train across the street and free trolley car ride to the harbour to walking distances to a variety of restaurants and shops. Breakfast area is large. Unfortunately…It falls short in getting rooms cleaned or replacement towels and I stayed one week. Bathroom needs upgrading, too.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Feldman, Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Responded Aug 20, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Yes, we are so fortunate to be in a location that makes it convenient for our guests to enjoy the area, experience the Metro, or take advantage of the complimentary Old Town Trolley. I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. Thankfully, now that we are fully staffed, we have started daily cleaning for all suites vs. the opt in cleaning most hotels have due to the labor shortage. I am sorry we did not offer this when you stayed. Your suggestion for the bathroom upgrade is appreciated. Thank you again for your review and for staying with us. We hope you choose to return so we can offer you a better hotel experience. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime. Happy travels - Kevin B. Feldman 703-842-7030 kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ana44everus wrote a review Aug 2022
Frederick, Maryland2 contributions
Let me start off by saying this was my anniversary weekend, And and my husband and I haven't been the National Harbour in a while so we decided stay overnight. The reason I picked the Embassy Suites is because of my aunt, she live the Embassy Suites, especially the breakfast and evening cocktail social. Staff very friendly, had to pay for parking which was optional, but it was easier than trying to find a parking space on the street. Overall rooms were clean and very spacious,.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Feldman, Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Responded Aug 10, 2022
Thank you for posting a review and to your Aunt for being an advocate for Embassy Suites! It is nice to read that you had a nice stay with us and enjoyed the spaciousness of the suite. Thank you again for your review and happy anniversary to you. We hope to welcome you back soon. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime. Happy travels - Kevin B. Feldman 703-842-7030 kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bcfritch wrote a review Aug 2022
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma69 contributions7 helpful votes
Our family spent 6 nights at this hotel. Great location to the metro station (visit DC attractions) and King St in Old Alexandria with lots of shops and eating. We stayed in a room with two double beds and a pull out sofa in a separate room. Loved having the extra space. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning. Also, enjoyed the reception several nights. Do have to request housekeeping but they always did a great job and willing to accommodate if we asked at the front desk. Pros: friendly staff, great location, clean, breakfast proved, nightly reception. Cons: double beds, little outdated, ac worked but was a little warm. I would definitely recommend this hotel if staying in the dc area. It was a great spot for our family vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Feldman, Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Responded Aug 10, 2022
Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate you choosing to spend 6 nights with us and it is wonderful to read that you had a positive experience. We are fortunate to be located so close to the Metro and complimentary Old Town Trolley, which makes enjoying both DC & Old Town so simple. The amenities that Embassy Suites offer; the suite, the breakfast, and the reception, are all complimentary which offers great savings vs. staying at other hotels. Actually, now that we are fully staffed again in housekeeping, we are going back to everyday service for all guests. Your comment on the team and cleanliness are greatly appreciated. My apology your suite was a little warm. The ridiculously extended hot weather streak sure kept all A/C units in overdrive! Thank you again for your review and for the recommendation. We hope to welcome you back soon. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime. Happy travels - Kevin B. Feldman 703-842-7030 kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scarlett O wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Ya'll this is some customer service. I was extremely nervous about traveling away from my child and keeping my breastmilk frozen before I flew back home. But this hotel came through and purchased this for me and for future other mothers that may need this as well! Highly recommend the 5 star service they have provided. The freezer they ordered came in but didn't meet the general managers expectations and they quickly went to home depot to get this one!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Feldman, Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Responded Aug 4, 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience. Traveling away from the family is never easy, but I am glad we could help you in this stressful time. Mike (General Manager) and Roberto (Chief Engineer) really wanted to ensure you felt as comfortable as possible and will be so happy to know their efforts made a positive difference for you. We really prefer to know of anything we can do to help elevate a stay experience, so thank you for letting us know. Thank you for posting a review. It is rewarding to read that you had such a fantastic stay experience. I am glad our location was to your liking. Many of our guests love that the Metro is right across the street and utilize that to zip into DC. The complimentary Old Town Trolley is fantastic for our guests as it takes them right to the best spots in Alexandria. It seems that you enjoyed most of the amenities of the Embassy Suites that make the value of the brand so unbeatable. Breakfast for a family of 5 at other hotels would cost $100+ oer morning at other hotels so having it complimentary at the Embassy Suites offers quite a savings. Add on top of that a suite which is standard here vs. $25uograde at another hotel and the complimentary drinks; the savings per day are significant. Sorry that you missed the evening reception, but it seems like you had a packed agenda for the family, which is great! Thank you again for your review and for the recommendation. We hope to welcome you back soon. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime. Happy travels -
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tmariedill wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
This was the perfect place to stay for our family DC vacation with 4 kids. The location was perfect because it was right across from metro, right across from the trolley to make Old Town fun and accessible, and a short drive to Mount Vernon and into DC when we did drive. The hotel was perfect because the room was spacious to fit all of us comfortably. The complimentary breakfast was way better than most hotels including made to order omelets, etc. It was a very safe location so my kids could go to and from the room safely, and they loved the neat layout of the hotel. This was the first hotel I saw with a lifeguard on duty. The pool was small but good enough for the short time we were there. We never made it to the complimentary reception but in theory 2 drinks and snacks sounded awesome if our schedule worked. I can't imagine a better place for our family to have stayed. It was nice to be near the city but in the excitement of Old Town when we returned.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Feldman, Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Responded Aug 4, 2022
Thank you for posting a review. It is rewarding to read that you had such a fantastic stay experience. I am glad our location was to your liking. Many of our guests love that the Metro is right across the street and utilize that to zip into DC. The complimentary Old Town Trolley is fantastic for our guests as it takes them right to the best spots in Alexandria. It seems that you enjoyed most of the amenities of the Embassy Suites that make the value of the brand so unbeatable. Breakfast for a family of 5 at other hotels would cost $100+ per morning at other hotels so having it complimentary at the Embassy Suites offers quite a savings. Add on top of that a suite which is standard here vs. $25uograde at another hotel and the complimentary drinks; the savings per day are significant. Sorry that you missed the evening reception, but it seems like you had a packed agenda for the family, which is great! Kids love the pool and are amazing with the build of the atrium. It is wonderful to know that you left so happy with your choice to stay with us. Thank you again for your review and for making that choice. We hope to welcome you back soon. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime. Happy travels - Kevin B. Feldman 703-842-7030 kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
huffmt wrote a review Jul 2022
Waynesboro, Virginia35 contributions9 helpful votes
Weekend getaway.... The Good: Location, very close to Metro. Lots to do up and down King Street area. King Street area had good food and drink selections and not overly crowded for a weekend. Open bar (at hotel) both evenings was nice. Breakfast was set up to move fast, but food was just average. Staff was nice and polite. The not so good: I thought rooms were a bit dated. Musty smelling/damp and large amounts of carpet deodorizer had been used. AC struggled to keep up and room was warmish and even at lowest setting. Bed was not comfortable and both of our hips and backs hurt both mornings. The worst: Ther parking garage. SHORT ceilings. I drive a stock full size SUV and drug the roof on low hanging signs. Tiny and tight parking spots. Lot of opportunity to damage your vehicle.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kevin Feldman, Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Responded Aug 4, 2022
Thank you for taking the time for posting a review. We strive to be much better than just ok, so I am sorry that was the experience that you had. Like you, most guests find our location to be so convenient for shopping, dining, and touring. It is nice that you took advantage of the complimentary amenities and your comment on the team is very much appreciated. I am sorry you did not enjoy your suite accommodations. The team works hard to keep the hotel up to date. I wish you let us know about the air conditioner so we could have looked into it or offered you a suite change. I too drive a SUV into the garage so understand the parking of such a vehicle in the garage. A good tip for readers of this review, when you pull into the garage and get to the hotel parking section, go up one level. The upper level is much more empty than the drive in level which makes parking so much easier. Thank you again for your review and for staying with us. We hope to welcome you back soon. As always, I invite anyone reading my responses to contact me anytime. Happy travels - Kevin B. Feldman 703-842-7030 kevin.feldman@hilton.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$208 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
embassy suites alexandria-old town hotel alexandria, alexandria embassy suites
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaAlexandriaOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
268
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Which popular attractions are close to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town?
Nearby attractions include George Washington Masonic National Memorial (0.3 miles), Trademark Drink and Eat (0.3 miles), and Eclipse Chamber Orchestra (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town?
Conveniently located restaurants include BRABO Restaurant, Joe Theismann's Restaurant, and BRABO Tasting Room.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Alexandria's Christ Church (0.8 miles), Old Town (1.0 miles), and Arlington House - The Robert E. Lee Memorial (3.4 miles).