We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lorien Hotel & Spa

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (416)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (372)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#12 of 47 hotels in Alexandria
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.6
Value
4.4
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, our luxury boutique hotel is a collaborative dream. Renowned interior designer Vicente Wolf created a space that is reflective of the past and grounded in modern sensibilities. Combined with the stylish calm of our spa, our destination restaurant, BRABO, a striking environment and the amenities expected of Lorien Hotel & Spa unites the elegance of yesteryear with the comforts of modern-day living.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
4.5
1,578 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Lorien Hotel & Spa garners applause for its prime location on King St, nestled in the charm of Old Town Alexandria, with convenient access to various attractions. While the rooms are celebrated for their cleanliness and comfort, critics point out certain shortcomings with lighting and amenities. The hotel's array of amenities, including the dining experience, is generally praised, though some guests miss better coffee options and note dated features. Service at the hotel is often described as commendable due to the staff's attentive and accommodating nature. Despite these positives, opinions on value are divided, with some visitors feeling the hotel doesn't quite hit the mark.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1578Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,060
  • 322
  • 126
  • 43
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Socrates B wrote a review Feb 13
1 contribution
I used an Amex card that says upon arrival make an upgrade, I asked for it and they denied it. They have charged me an extra $113 and I am still waiting for my account statement that they gave me that they were going to send me by email. For my first time at this hotel, it was super bad.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: That they fulfill what they promise on their website of 25% discount and upgrade Ben Castillo.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Lorien Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Socrates, We're disappointed that your first visit did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us, and we would like to look into this matter further to ensure accuracy. Please reach out to us offline at your convenience so that we may assist you. We value your decision to stay with us and will strive to improve your next experience. Warmest Regards, Wilson Anthony Rooms Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Brittney B wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Absolutely the best stay I’ve ever had at a spa hotel in the VA area! The balcony is such a nice touch! It smells amazing in the courtyard area as well as throughout the hotel. Very cozy! The bed slept AMAZING! Will always return in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Lorien Hotel & Spa
Responded Dec 3, 2023
Dear Brittney, We're thrilled to hear that your stay at Lorien Hotel & Spa was the best you've ever had in the VA area! We're also glad our bed provided an amazing night's sleep, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for your kind words! Warmest Regards, Lisa Adams Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Kenna G wrote a review Nov 2023
Richmond, Virginia54 contributions31 helpful votes
I recently stayed at this hotel and I had a wonderful experience. The staff was very pleasant from the beginning. I arrived in the morning and they checked my bags so I could explore Washington DC for the day. My room was spectacular. Very modern, clean and large ( i had a corner room) I attended their happy hour in the lounge and had great conversation with other guests and made a friend in the process. I highly recommend this hotel based on location to the metro, Amtrak along with all of the King St shops, the amenities, cleanliness and excellent customer service. I look forward to another stay with them in the very near future.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: They offer luggage check in if you arrive before check in time. Happy hour with wine and snacks....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Lorien Hotel & Spa
Responded Nov 30, 2023
Dear Kenna, From our friendly team members to our clean, spacious accommodations, we're so happy to know that everything was in order for your visit. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review, and we hope to see you again soon. Warmest Regards, Lisa Adams Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
PistolPete2009 wrote a review Nov 2023
London, United Kingdom349 contributions195 helpful votes
A very nice hotel in an excellent location in the delightful old town. If visiting DC definitely consider staying here. You get the charm of the old town and you’re only a mere 30 mins by any form of transport from DC itself. We tried the boat which was fun! The metro is quick and safe though. Ubers are plentiful and reasonably priced. At the hotel there is a nice spa and a restaurant which was good. There are also a multitude of breakfast and dinner options nearby. We stayed in a Diplomat Suite which was very spacious and quiet as on the top floor. The staff at reception, especially Ashley, were very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Lorien Hotel & Spa
Responded Nov 17, 2023
Dear Pete, Thank you for your excellent review! We're thrilled you enjoyed exploring the area from our hotel's prime location. It's also fantastic that you enjoyed our spa and restaurant and the variety of dining options nearby. We're glad you found comfort and tranquility in our Diplomat Suite and that Ashley's helpful service at reception made your stay even better. We truly appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back to Lorien Hotel & Spa soon! Warmest Regards, Lisa Adams Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
George O wrote a review Nov 2023
Jackson, Wyoming107 contributions105 helpful votes
[I try not to be negative in my reviews, but sometimes I can't help it.] Positives: nice location; a signature restaurant [apparently, but i didn't eat there]; nice enough lounge area; pleasant staff. Negatives: Design of my terrace suite was terrible: 1. nearest chest of drawers to the bedroom was on the far side of the living room; 2. horrible lighting--only ONE bedside lamp in bedroom and no other lighting; 3. had to use my iPhone light to see in the closet; 4. the door locks didn't work twice; and, worst, 5. the water in the bathroom sink was stone cold four days out of five! We need a good hotel in Alexandria, but this isn't it! I'll not go back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Lorien Hotel & Spa
Responded Nov 7, 2023
Dear George, We appreciate you sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay. While we're happy you enjoyed our wonderful location and the friendly service our team provided, we're disappointed to hear that we fell short of meeting your expectations. Please accept our apologies for any issues you encountered with the hot water in the bathroom sink; we encourage our guests to notify our front desk team so we can find a solution and ensure you have a comfortable stay. We will certainly address the items you mentioned in regard to the layout and lighting internally to review where improvements could be made. We consider all feedback an opportunity to continually review guest satisfaction. Thank you for your valuable input. Warmest Regards, Lisa Adams Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wilson7 wrote a review Oct 2023
Bradenton122 contributions107 helpful votes
I would have definitely given the hotel an excellent for its location, nice rooms, and friendly staff. However, after having a night of no sleep due to kids using an adjacent room for a party that lasted the entire night, my rating is average. The staff knew what was happening, and at least once, came up to ask them to keep it down. I emailed after my stay to ask if it is customary/policy for patrons to utilize rooms in this “quaint” and “boutique” hotel for all night events, and this was part of the response: “Our largest suites are on the 6th floor so when you stay with us in the future, I recommend you stay on any other floor.” That would have been great info at the time of booking & interesting to know the best rooms are for kiddos, which seems to be the favored guest based on this experience and response after the fact.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Lorien Hotel & Spa
Responded Oct 31, 2023
Thank you so much for your helpful feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our excellent location, accommodations, and staff. However, we'd like to sincerely apologize for the noise you encountered from other guests during your stay, and we want to assure you we'll be speaking with our whole team about your experience to determine how we can best address this. Your comments are important to us, so thanks again, and we hope you'll allow us another chance to impress you! Warmest Regards, Lisa Adams Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jeff W wrote a review Oct 2023
16 contributions2 helpful votes
This hotel was pretty disappointing for the cost. The room was very clean so that was certainly a plus. Beyond that there wasn't much to say. The room itself only had some espresso machine that wasn't very good. When we looked for coffee in the lobby the front desk seemed confused by the request. They do have free coffee available in the morning in the restaurant but if they are closed there is nothing available. The spa was closed on Mondays so we couldn't do that either. Our only window looked at the neighbor's balcony so we couldn't even leave the blinds open. The location is decent but is a mile from the river. We managed to walk back and forth several times but it is pretty much at the end of the main King St. stretch. There are free trolleys available as an option. We ate one breakfast at the restaurant and found the food and service mediocre. Also parking costs $40 a night and has mandatory valet. The first half of our trip we stayed at a budget hotel and felt like we got way more amenities there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Lorien Hotel & Spa
Responded Oct 28, 2023
Dear Jeff, Thank you for sharing your experience. We're pleased the cleanliness of the room met your standards, but clearly, we have areas that need improvement. Your concerns about the coffee and other amenities are noted. We will look into refining these aspects to serve our guests better. Your feedback is invaluable as we strive to enhance the guest experience. Warmest Regards, Lisa Adams Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CR141 wrote a review Oct 2023
257 contributions129 helpful votes
I really liked this hotel. It was clean, had nice staff, and had a great environment. I do wish they would have had a king bed available, but such is life making arrangements on short notice. The location on king street was fantastic. I will say the drinks at the hotel restaurant bar were the absolute best I had the entire trip to DC. Stop by for a drink if you aren't able to get a room reservation. Our bartender's name was Wilbur.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Lorien Hotel & Spa
Responded Oct 26, 2023
It was such a pleasure having you as our guest at Lorien Hotel & Spa. Our location is a guest favorite, so it's great to know it was for you too. Wilbur will be thrilled to know he made the best drinks in town during your stay! Thank you for the positive review, and please make plans for another visit soon. Warmest Regards, Lisa Adams Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AGrassini wrote a review Oct 2023
Durham, North Carolina175 contributions114 helpful votes
I stopped at this hotel on two separate occasions within the same week. The service I received from the Valet (Mark) was above and beyond—and as I was tired after a long car drive, it made the first impression of the hotel even better. The first room I had (610) had a terrific terrace (though there was no awning or umbrella to truly enjoy it!). The claw footed tub was ok and the shower excellent. The carpet and the tub could have used a deep cleaning. In room 610 there was also a lot of blue light from the thermostat that shined right in my eyes—as well as a very bright alarm clock. The ac also could not be regulated and blasted on and off. Overall, not my favorite room, though it was large and had a fantastic view. On the return visit, we stayed in a suite that was super comfortable and very clean. There we had no thermostat or ac issues. Please note that the reservation system does not specify that certain type of rooms are all next to the elevator. As I travel with a dog and find that we do much better away from the elevator, I had to ask to have my room changed—hence the upgrade (for a fee) to the suite. I would say that if you have specific needs about your room location, you may want to call ahead. The one weak spot of the hotel was their restaurant. Outdoor service was spotty and the food was not prepared with the modifications I had requested. As a result, we did not stop there on the second visit. The location of course is excellent and the quality of the bed also what you would expect at this level of hotel. The Lorien used to be a Kimpton, and their personnel is still very welcoming to dogs. There is an amenities fee that is steep—and for those who do not drink wine or use any facilities, it really means we got 2 small bottles of very expensive water. I wish they figured out how to calculate their rates in a way that didn’t require the extra fee.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Lorien Hotel & Spa
Responded Oct 13, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It was a pleasure having you join us recently, and we appreciate your kind words about our pet-friendly atmosphere, excellent location, and hospitable team. Your feedback regarding the aspects of your stay that could have been even better is gratefully received and allows us to continually review and improve guest satisfaction. Take care, and know we'd be thrilled to welcome you back anytime your plans bring you this way. Warmest Regards, Lisa Adams Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bryan D wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
The property was excellent as were the staff. Located near the metro and within walking distance of the waterfront or hopping on the free shuttle that ran every 15 minutes. Very comfortable rooms and just a fantastic place to stay. I will definitely be staying here on my next visit!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Lorien Hotel & Spa
Responded Oct 4, 2023
Dear Bryan, We're so happy to know that our amazing service, comfortable rooms, and prime location all added up to an amazing experience! Thank you so much for the perfect rating, and we hope to see you again soon. Warmest Regards, Lisa Adams Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Alexandria area.
PRICE RANGE
$213 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lorien hotel kimpton
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaAlexandriaOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
107
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LORIEN HOTEL & SPA $183 ($̶3̶2̶9̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - Alexandria, VA

Frequently Asked Questions about Lorien Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Lorien Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Escape Quest (0.2 miles), Freedom House Museum (0.2 miles), and Victorins (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lorien Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Lorien Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Lorien Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Lorien Hotel & Spa?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lorien Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vaso's Mediterranean Bistro, Vermilion Restaurant, and Joe Theismann's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lorien Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Is Lorien Hotel & Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Alexandria.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lorien Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Lorien Hotel & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Lorien Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.