We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

550 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 523: English reviews
Del Norte, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Very pleasant stay. Staff was superb. Excellent location for enjoying this city. Breakfast was an afterthought, though -- otherwise, first class. It's a shame this idiotic form doesn't offer a character count, since the nerds who created it insist, but you can't hold that against the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank rathla
Saffron Walden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

This hotel is well run and clean but needs some modernisation. The location is very good for Alexandria with its many restaurants and tourist sites and if you want a trip to DC there is a hotel shuttle to the nearest Metro. They will also pick up on return. Unfortunately there is a problem with aircraft noise which would be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard T
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Richard T, I wanted to thank you for taking the time of give us a response on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear your enjoyed your time in the Old Town Alexandria/DC area. Please stop by and see us again if you are in our area. More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Hotel was good value for money. It came with free Wi-fi and complimentary breakfast. The hotel offer a shuttle service to old Alexandria and the nearest metro station to Washington D.C., very cobvenient.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Shawi50
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Old Colony Inn in Alexandria, Virginia in September. We heard that they have offer a free shuttle bus that provides a drop off to the subway into D.C, as well as to King Street which is the main area for shopping and restaurants in the Old Town. The hotel is just off a main... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 2Canadians_11
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Just wanted to thank you for your kind words about our hotel and glad that you enjoyed your time here in Alexandria and in the DC area. More 

Flatwoods, Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We stayed three nights, the staff was very helpful and took care of any needs we had. The shuttle to the metro was a great plus, the breakfast each day was different and good, the room was clean, overall we are very satisfied with the stay and we would come stay here again!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rita M
shelby77T, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Dear RitaM, First I would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out your review of your hotel on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear you had a good time at our hotel while you were visiting the DC area. Please feel free to come back and see us again when you are in the area.... More 

Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Rooms were clean and spacious, Housekeeping very accommodating. Breakfast was average hotel food. I ate out because of health limitations. Not happy about additional charges for micro, fridge or safe. Beautiful section of Alexandria. walking distance to the host hotel for our conference. Short driving distance to Arlington and monuments.

Helpful?
Thank maryg98
Bonner Springs, Kansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the Best Western Old Colony Inn. The decor is somewhat dated but everything appeared clean. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast of 2 hot items, variety of cereals, bagels, toast, boiled eggs, yogurt, waffles coffee and juices was good start to the day. Hotel shuttle was great -- pick up at airport, pick up and drop off at... More 

Helpful?
Thank HeartlandSunflower
South Plainfield, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in early August. What had been an adequate stay (we were considering a two or three out of five) was marred after we had checked out by a staff that clearly wanted nothing to do with us after we had pulled out of their driveway. Clothing that had been mistakenly picked up with the towels by... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GBorbs
shelby77T, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Dear GBorbs, I do want you let you know that I am sorry for the issues you had with your cloths. I did check into this and my staff said they did find the clothes in the laundry and when they did they mailed them back to you as fast as possible. More 

Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Hotel provides an excellent location for a visit to Washington D.C. , old town Alexandria and Arlington. Shuttle services from Reagan airport, to old town Alexandria and to metro station is convenient. Rooms are large and comfortable. Breakfast is good (cereals, fruits, yogurt, breads, variety of eggs each morning with either sausage or bacon, coffee, milk and juices). Metro services... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank FLtraveler115
shelby77T, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Flatraveler115, Just wanted to thank you for taking the time to fill out your review on Trip Advisor. Glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel while you were in the DC area. We would love to see you again. Shelby, General Manager More 

Unionville VA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Extremely slow check-in due to understaffing- only one lady @ front desk. Room was nice, breakfast before departure was tasty. Very close proximity to airport. Main complaint was that when we arrived, after dark, none of Best Western signs were lit up, so we drove right past it! (Bldg sits back from main rd, behind another hotel.)

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Patricia S, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you had a long check in process, I see you were here during a heaving check in time. Because of the size of our hotel, we only have one terminal at the front desk. Finding us at night is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Address: 1101 N Washington St, Alexandria, VA 22314-5352
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: $103 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay