We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

827 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 812: English reviews
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks while we toured Washington and area. Free breakfast, free wifi, free shuttle to metro and local tourist spot. We had a great room with 2 queen beds and a sofa bed. We are all adult sized people and felt our room was comfortable for those days that we rested from the heat and walking.

Helpful?
Thank Tamie R
Warwick, Rhode Island
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Hampton Inn Alexandria Old Town Area South, Alexandria, VA from Aug 3-9, 2016. We checked out at 3:53am on August 9th because we had a long drive home. Needless to stay at that hour of the morning, my brain wasn't fully awake and I left something of value behind in the room. I had left my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kitkat814915
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and I am so happy your lost item was found. Lissette is a wonderful Executive Housekeeper and I will share your comments with her. Hope to have you as our guest again. More 

JANESVILLE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We came here for part of are family vacation and i was really impressed with this hotel. We stayed 3 nights and it was reasonably priced and very clean but it had some spiders which they made good with me for. The staff was very friendly and it was very quiet. Breakfast was a winner with my kids and my... More 

Helpful?
Thank GARY A
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear about your stay with us. I hope to have you as our guest again very soon. More 

Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Prompt check in. Clean room everyday with supplies restocked. Cookies for the kids and coffee and water always available. We were never able to use the pool since there were storms every night. The breakfast area was always stocked well and the employees were always cleaning up tables. It did get a little crowded but we were always able to... More 

Helpful?
Thank m0mmy0f2inct
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the candid comments on your stay and we appreciate the feedback. We love knowing we are doing things right. Hope to see you again soon as our guest. More 

Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Shuttle can run a little late- aside from that it was absolutely perfect. I would 100% recommend this location and hotel. The staff was very helpful and kind. Rooms were private, clean, and extremely comfortable. With the shuttle there's access to just about everything at anytime. First time in D.C. Area and we had a blast.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank s13_cwilliams
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your first visit to DC. I hope you will plan a return trip and stay with us again. More 

Wintervile, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Clean and quiet room even with the hotel being completely booked. Used the check-in online and it made it very easy to get into our room when arriving late at night, no wait are front desk to check in.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Willie G
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

I am so glad you too advantage of the E-check-in. We have had great feedback from our guests on how easy it is to use. See you again soon I hope. More 

1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very frustrated with this place. They messed up my payment information, had me on the phone with my bank for a half hour because they put my card information in wrong. Knowing I had the money in my account it was very embarrassing. Then, once it was all handled, they lied and said they wouldn't charge me until the end... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alexis S
Farmingville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great time under the circumstances. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable of the area and traffic considering it was Wash, DC. They even ran shuttles to the old town area of Alexandria for the customers convenience as well as dining recommendations.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ronald D
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. I am sorry for the reason you stayed with us, but glad we were able to assist your family. More 

Harborcreek, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was very nice, convenient to everything. The 24 shuttle service was great. Everyone who worked there was very nice. The breakfast was worth it. Wished they had real eggs though! Overall a great stay!

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the nice comments on your stay with us. I hope you will think of us should your travel plans bring you back to the Alexandria area. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Delta airlines arranged this hotel for us during their computer crash chaos. Excellent big hotel, very friendly staff, Glenn checked us in and was so nice and helpful. Each member of staff was warm, professional but also very personable and joked with you and really made you feel welcome. Lovely big room with all you need for a stay including... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlanLpool80
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

I am so glad that Glenn made your trip a little better. I hope you can come for a visit and stay longer. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

387 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (292)
Viewed
Amenities (81)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (48)
Viewed
King Studio Suite (66)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range: $100 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay