We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
458 Hill Farm Rd off Rte. 7A, Arlington, VT 05250-9663
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (166)
Room & Suite (37)
Dining (15)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hill Farm Inn
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 7 in Arlington
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
Hill Farm Inn is an upscale Vermont Bed & Breakfast perched at the head of fifty acres of pristine meadowlands and valley. Just minutes from world-class shopping, dining, and cultural sites, the inn combines regional history and small-town charm with the modern amenities essential for an unforgettable stay. Each of the renovated guest rooms offers beautiful, luxurious linens, individual climate control, and private baths. Days begin with a breakfast from scratch, featuring the very best local ingredients... Farm eggs, fresh jam, pure Vermont maple syrup. Common areas include the open, airy dining room and cozy Battenkill Pub, plus a great room with wood burning fireplace (perfect for relaxing or entertaining), a game room, and spacious, covered porches offering sweeping views of the valleys. Seasonal amenities include our heated, saltwater swimming pool, and 6 person hot tub.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Game room
Hiking
Highchairs available
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Canoeing offsite
Darts
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Romantic
182Reviews3Q+A35Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 165
  • 9
  • 1
  • 5
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
KBK316 wrote a review Mar 2022
Simsbury, Connecticut4 contributions
I have wanted to stay at Hill Farm Inn for several years and finally had the chance to experience the Inn this past weekend. We had an upstairs room in the 1790 house that was clean, comforting and quiet. (even the howling winter winds were welcome but we are New Englanders so we know weather changes quickly!) The gathering room with the fireplace is so welcoming and we had the room all to ourselves on saturday night, Taylor lit the fire and made us drinks to enjoy. The morning breakfasts were delicious and Maria greeted us with a smile each morning. My favorite part, besides the beautiful inn and lovely views were the two Inn cats, Tiger and Maple who joined us whenever we popped in. Looking forward to the restaurant that will be opening in the barn and also returning in the warmer months to enjoy the beautiful grounds, pool and fire pit. Thank you for a lovely stay. Be well.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Gina K wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
+1
My husband and I decided to plan a 3 day winter getaway to relax. The staff was amazing and greeted us at breakfast with smiles and conversation about activities and places to eat. The gorgeous lobby sitting room was perfect for drinks or reading a book next to the fireplace. Walks around the property provided much needed escape from our busy lives back home. Plenty of fresh air and beautiful views. Can’t wait till they add a restaurant and never have to leave. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hill Farm Inn, General Manager at Hill Farm Inn
Responded Feb 26, 2022
Thank you for your review. We're so glad this was just the peaceful getaway you needed. We are blessed with some amazing staff members who pride themselves on providing excellent service, and suggestions to some of our favorite local spots for our travelers to enjoy. Be sure to follow our social media for updates on the grand opening of our restaurant. We'd be delighted to welcome you back after its completion.
Read more
sj20132013 wrote a review Feb 2022
Boston, Massachusetts6 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed the weekend of Presidents Weekend (Feb 2022). The Inn is warm and welcoming, a charm that is entirely created by the staff that work there. We were greeted warmly on the Saturday night by the Assistant General Manager who chatted with us and showed us to our room. Or room was furnished impeccably, the bathroom is one of the nicest bathrooms I've ever seen in a hotel (so clean, so many towels, fab shower gels etc); our accommodation was luxurious and beyond comfortable. We had hoped to have a drink at the bar downstairs on the Sat night, there was a large friends/family gathering there, but no matter at all, we were very comfortable by another fire in another room and got to experience the inn. I must compliment the Assistant General Manager again here, who ensured that we were very well looked after, made to feel welcome and tried her best to ensure we had some space in the inn despite the larger group. That's no easy feat, and I commend her professionalism. Our breakfasts were absolutely delicious, and again the morning staff were so pleasant and welcoming. Overall, we had a 10/10 stay - I look forward to visiting again, and would not hesitate to recommend the Inn to anyone who wants to ski, hike, explore/adventure in Vermont. Is a lovely thing to be out and about during the day, and come back to a such a beautiful house in the evenings and be so well looked after. Well done to everyone and keep up the great work... looking forward to getting back there soon.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hill Farm Inn, General Manager at Hill Farm Inn
Responded Feb 24, 2022
We appreciate your kind review of our property & staff, and we're so glad you enjoyed your time here with us at Hill Farm. We always do our best to accommodate every guest, and we're very happy you were able to relax and enjoy our peaceful property. Please come visit again anytime, we always love to see our wonderful guests return year after year.
Read more
Li-Er F wrote a review Feb 2022
Westport, Connecticut2 contributions
What used to be a wonderful B&B to go to, is now a B&B to NOT go to. My family and I have stayed at Hill Farm Inn numerous times over the course of five years. This past President’s Day weekend, my family along with friends of ours (4 groups in total) booked rooms at Hill Farm Inn. We arrived Friday evening and were told there was new management and everything has changed. I am not going to tell you every detail about what went wrong this past weekend, but happy to speak with you if you want to contact me via messenger. A few issues. Nothing was shoveled and the entire property was icy. Our friend’s daughter slipped, fell back, and hit her head on the ice. When it was addressed to the staff member Maria, she replied, “This is Vermont weather”. Our friends emailed management, and still no response. Hill Farm Inn has a lovely communal room with a fireplace and a bar adjacent to it for guests, since there isn’t anywhere else to congregate. They also have a “game room” that has a pool table and darts. It was about 8pm and our kids were kicked out of the game room which we were told by Jules that it closes at 9pm. The adults were then told to congregate in our rooms, which made zero sense since the rooms consist of a room with either one or two beds. Jules made it clear that we were not welcomed and it was extremely awkward. We told the morning manager, Maria, about our experience. That evening, all the families left for dinner and my husband, daughter and I were the last ones to leave. Jules confronted my husband (who was with my 7 year old daughter) with so much hostility, that my daughter ran away, screaming for me. #1: You do not attack a guest like that, let alone when they are with a child. Jules was also with another staff member, named Taylor. They were both very mean and Jules was screaming at my husband. I stepped in and told her we did not feel welcomed and we will not be coming back. Jules first response was, “I refilled your water pitcher three times without you asking me and I also drove you to your room (via golf cart) with your luggage”. I told her it was absolutely impossible for us to bring our luggage ourselves across a non shoveled, icy path. Then both Jules and Taylor yelled at us saying, “We don't want you back here! We don’t want any of you back here!”, and Jules raised her arm and pointed to the door, and said to the three of us, “GET OUT!!”. She didn’t say this once or twice. She said this many times. We have never been treated this way ever, nor should any guest for that matter. The reason why we came back was because we had wonderful past experiences and unfortunately, Hill Farm Inn is staffed with insincere, unkind individuals filled with so much animosity, and who clearly do not know anything about guest services. P.S.: I will say one thing. Their breakfasts are delicious and the servers were very sweet. That is the only reason I didn't rate it terrible, as opposed to poor.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Hill Farm Inn, General Manager at Hill Farm Inn
Responded Feb 27, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and provide us with your feedback. We’re very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us this time at Hill Farm, and appreciate your patronage over past years. While it is true we are under some new management, we also have some long-standing staff members who pride themselves on the quality service, and positive guest experience that Hill Farm is known for. We offer special lodging packages for guests traveling as large groups to ensure the peaceful and quiet enjoyment of our property for all. It is often difficult to accommodate other guests in the hotel when we are not informed ahead of time of a group’s needs or expectations; but we do our best. We are working to correct the actions of our most recent hire and have been in touch with these guests regarding the issue to rectify it. This behavior is not indicative of the high standards of service we have for our valued guests. We appreciate your critique, and will use this as a constructive opportunity for improvement.
Read more
kristin wrote a review Feb 2022
Hoboken, New Jersey1 contribution
+1
This was by far my favorite B&B experience ever! Everything was absolutely perfect and exceeded expectations. Our room was beautiful and immaculate with a charming view of the mountains and farmland to wake up to. The property felt like home with the gorgeous living room area complete with a cozy fire, the wrap around deck to enjoy a warm drink (and views of the alpacas off in the distance), and the nice little bar area to enjoy some cocktails and craft beers (they had NA options as well which was great!). The staff was delightful - everyone was so accommodating and welcoming. And the breakfast…WOW! What a treat! From the blueberry pancakes to the quiche Lorraine, the food was absolutely delicious (and don’t miss the sweet biscuits!! They were a highlight!) We will be back for sure!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hill Farm Inn, General Manager at Hill Farm Inn
Responded Feb 24, 2022
Thank you for your kind review. We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us at Hill Farm Inn! We are certainly blessed with some amazing staff members here that are always happy to take care of our valued guests. Breakfast is always a highlight of staying with us; we're so glad you had the chance to experience and enjoy that. Please come visit us again.
Read more
Tom L wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Our experience at the Hill Farm Inn was nothing short of exceptional. The rustic property is gorgeous (we came in the winter — can only imagine the views in a Vermont fall!) and just a few minutes down the road from downtown Manchester. Our room was outstanding, the amenities were top-notch, and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay that much more enjoyable. The breakfast was a highlight — Maria’s pancakes are world-class! If you’re searching for a place where you can relax, recharge, and spend a weekend away, look no further than the Hill Farm Inn. We’re already looking forward to our next visit!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hill Farm Inn, General Manager at Hill Farm Inn
Responded Jan 25, 2022
Thank you, Tom. Our staff truly enjoyed having you as our guest. Anytime you feel the need to relax and recharge please come back and see us. The views in the fall season are quite breathtaking so come on up!
Read more
Victoria L wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
The Hill Farm Inn was the perfect place to stay for a weekend away. The property, rooms, people, food (Marias pancakes!!) & drinks are truly spectacular. Taylor went above and beyond, and made our experience that much more enjoyable/ memorable. It was our first time staying there and we will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hill Farm Inn, General Manager at Hill Farm Inn
Responded Jan 25, 2022
Victoria, Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure meeting you, and we're so glad you enjoyed your time at Hill Farm! We'd be delighted to welcome you back anytime.
Read more
Chandler wrote a review Dec 2021
New Haven, Connecticut7 contributions2 helpful votes
My husband (!) and I just had our dream wedding at Hill Farm Inn in December 2021. We contacted Taylor, Hill Farm's events guru upon a recommendation from a local florist/designer and immediately upon speaking to her knew this was the place for us. We originally began planning a ~75 person wedding for Fall 2022 and then did some soul searching and asked Taylor if we would be able to pull off a micro-wedding with 14 of us...in 4 months! She was completely game and made our vision of a New England Christmas-wonderland come to life, recommending all of her favorite vendors in the area, and running with our ideas in every way. She made planning SO easy, and really listened to everything we wanted, while adding in her own expertise in planning weddings (she's been doing this for many years at multiple respected venues). We rented the entire inn for the weekend and 12 of our nearest and dearest got to stay with us for the most magical wedding weekend that ever existed. Taylor and the ENTIRE staff (Jules the bartender, Maria the breakfast server, and the list goes on and on and ON!) were not only consummate professionals, but made sure to go above and beyond at every step for our entire group. They became part of our family for the weekend, and pulled off something that I don't think I'll ever be able to put into words. Hill Farm is one of the most quaint, beautiful, quintessentially Vermont places I've ever stepped foot in, and if you're on the fence about booking an event or just a few nights away, DO IT! You will not regret it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hill Farm Inn, General Manager at Hill Farm Inn
Responded Dec 17, 2021
Chandler, It was such a pleasure to help host your wedding weekend. Our staff is thrilled it turned out just how you pictured it. Hill Farm really has a magic about it, and we're so glad you got to share in that for such a special occasion. Congratulations again to you and Dan! We can't wait to have you visit again.
Read more
Lynn M wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
+1
We had an amazing time at the inn!! The views from the porch and the viewing deck were stunning. The inn itself was immaculately kept with a perfect homey and comfortable feel. The staff was beyond friendly and helpful, especially Sunny!! We will definitely be visiting again!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Make sure to visit the alpaca on the property
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Hill Farm Inn, General Manager at Hill Farm Inn
Responded Nov 4, 2021
It was great to meet you Lynn. We can't wait to see you again !
Read more
Barbara M wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Hill Farm Inn is lovely. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. All the staff were gracious, professional and welcoming. Sonny, Maria and Taylor made the experience feel as if we were staying with newly found family. Our room was comfortable, very clean and charmingly appointed. Breakfast was delicious with a buffet of biscuits, jam,coffee, fruit and yogurt for early risers. Sitting on the porch with coffee and biscuits seeing the beauty and feeling the peace was a great way to start the day. If you are looking for the quintessential Vermont Inn experience Hill Farm Inn is the place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hill Farm Inn, General Manager at Hill Farm Inn
Responded Nov 4, 2021
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return !
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$257 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hill farm hotel arlington
LOCATION
United StatesVermontGreen MountainsArlington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hill Farm Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Hill Farm Inn?
Nearby attractions include Hildene, The Lincoln Family Home (3.0 miles), Equinox Preservation Trust (4.2 miles), and Sugar Shack (2.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hill Farm Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hill Farm Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Hill Farm Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Hill Farm Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hill Farm Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Silver Fork, The Reluctant Panther Restaurant, and The Copper Grouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hill Farm Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a heated pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hill Farm Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Hildene, The Lincoln Family Home (3.0 miles) and Wayside Country Store (4.4 miles).
Does Hill Farm Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.