We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
48 Camping on Battenkill, Arlington, VT 05250-8565
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (33)
Pool & Beach (1)
Room & Suite (1)

About

#1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Arlington
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.7
Value
4.6
Camping On The Battenkill is a quiet nature orientated campground on 35acres of land that offers large spacious private sites in 30 Acres of forest, 2 rivers and a large open field area for group bookings. The beauty of The Battenkill and Roaring Branch rivers can be experienced throughout the varied terrain of the campground. We have RV Sites and Raw Camping sites that are situated on the Battenkill River the other sites are located in the forest or open field. Life does not get better than this! A natural swimming hole with a sandy beach lies in the midst of the campground with all campers having access to it for long cool summer’s day experiences. Campers also enjoy tubing and canoeing on the river as well as basking in the sun, or taking their pets for long cool walks through the forest. The Battenkill is noted as an exceptional trout stream for fishing and we even offer guided fishing tours right from the campground. On rainy days campers can enjoy the games room or take a covered bridge tour nearby the campground. We offer a mobile honey wagon service for campers who require longer stays. The campground is well known for creating memories and experiences that last a lifetime so book your stay now and start making memories.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Lazy river
Beach
Badminton
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Paid internet
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Canoeing
Game room
Hiking
Billiards
Fishing
Walking tours
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Gift shop
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Washing machine
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
49Reviews2Q+A7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 33
  • 11
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Captainmessy wrote a review Jul 2022
Newton, New Jersey5 contributions
My wife and I planned on taking a trip through VT and end at a CG we have been to for 15 years… we both got Covid and asked to have our Res moved back. I was told I would lose my deposit but I can rebook. 2 other CG’s (no history) moved and wished us well.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Don’t get Covid within 14 days of going to Battenkill… they will stick to their cancellation...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
share_the_road_10 wrote a review Jul 2022
Cave City, Kentucky151 contributions72 helpful votes
We have camped across the country and this place is above expectations. The bathrooms are clean. The sites are a nice size. If you can book a river site. They are amazing. The kids floated on inter tubes from a he beach to the last camp site on the river. I hope we have a chance to return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
SBR wrote a review Jun 2022
Belchertown, Massachusetts53 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
We visited right at the beginning of the season. Our site was right on the river and was a really nice view. The owners were so sweet! We are headed back again soon because we had a really nice experience on our first visit. This time we’ll plan to check out the swimming area. We had site 2 and the river was rough so we weren’t able to go in from our site.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Johnny Greenwood wrote a review Sep 2020
Temecula, California1 contribution
This place is amazing, the campsites are well maintained and the restrooms are spotless. The view of the trees and nature right on the river is breathtaking. If you are looking to get some R & R with the family this is the place to go. The staff is friendly, we will be coming back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley-Ann Hincks, Owner at Camping on the Battenkill
Responded Jan 4, 2021
Hi Freedom, what an outstanding review. We do appreciate you taking the time. We look forward to your return.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Frank L wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
Beautiful campsites clean bathrooms very nice helpful staff will definitely come back again and again Well-maintained beautiful running river beside it nice quiet camping spots level with fire ring and picnic table
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley-Ann Hincks, Owner at Camping on the Battenkill
Responded Jan 4, 2021
Hi, thank you for taking the time to give us such an awesome review. We do look forward to your return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Valerie L wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
Absolutely maintained to accommodate your every need. Restrooms are clean - campsite is clean plus, gorgeous views of nature around you. I highly recommend for campers of all set up to come. Staff is friendly and helpful
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley-Ann Hincks, Owner at Camping on the Battenkill
Responded Jan 4, 2021
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and recommendations, it really means a lot to us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GainsboroSage wrote a review Sep 2020
7 contributions
I solo camped at Camping on the Battenkill this Labor Day weekend and it was wonderful! Both owners (in the office and outdoors) were warm and assisted my requests at a moments notice. The campground itself is breath-taking - being connected to the banks of two rivers really got me the nature quiet time I was looking for! With space for pups and children to play, and extremely well maintained campsites I wish my family were closer so that they could have enjoyed the space with me. It was an extremely busy weekend, and additional restroom facilities were well maintained in terms of cleanliness and accessibility (regarding COVID-19) and for that I am grateful as I am actively trying to socially distance still. Can't wait to get back ASAP.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley-Ann Hincks, Owner at Camping on the Battenkill
Responded Sep 9, 2020
Hi, what a wonderful review, much appreciated that you can see the true value of our campground and very happy that you had such a great time and shared that with all!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judy J wrote a review Sep 2020
Salem2 contributions
Camping on the Battenkill is truly a gem in the Green Mountains. Excellent location and quiet campground with Battenkill swimming and world class trout fishing. It features, wooded, sunny and on the river sites. WES is available at some sites and WE at others (nearest the river) as well as tent sites. All these sites are very roomy/private, with pull thru's available and back-ins. There are two newly renovated immaculate bathrooms. A lovely well maintained grassy play area, and great dog area for play/exercising.The camp office/store has also been all redone and has a great mix of items/supplies. There are washers/dryers on the grounds as well as firewood and ice available to purchase. A game room was recently added in another building for rainy days/bored teens!! We are very happy seasonal campers. It is under new ownership and the new owners are just spectacular. Alan and Shelly Ann go out of their way to be extra helpful and accommodating. Our site has S W E with cable and wifi (to be enhanced in weeks to come!), and is nicely shaded-23b. We are here April 23-Oct12, and sad to leave every year and anxious to return every spring! This is truly a lovely and pretty park. We camped at Camping on the Battenkill in a Fifth Wheel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley-Ann Hincks, Owner at Camping on the Battenkill
Responded Sep 9, 2020
Hi Judy, What wonderful things you have to say about our campground and we truly appreciate that you recognize all the hard work that has been done. We do all this because we value our campers and treasure our campground. THANK YOU SO MUCH!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scenic612925 wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
It's a pretty campground but the showers were very dirty. They need to be cleaned better and more often. The camp site we had was nice and flat. It was reasonably quite. The location is great for cycling.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley-Ann Hincks, Owner at Camping on the Battenkill
Responded Sep 9, 2020
We are so glad you enjoyed your campsite, and we are sorry that you had that experience with our restrooms. Is there any reason you didn't bring your concerns to us at the office so that we could remedy the situation for you on the spot? Being a family owned and operated campground we sometimes rely on the open communication of our dedicated campers (some of whom have been coming to the campground for 50+years) to best support and serve them during their time with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian M wrote a review Aug 2020
Watervliet, New York2 contributions
We stayed a weekend with a group of friends. We have been going to other campgrounds in the area when we go to arlington to go tubing on the battenkill. We have found our regular campground now. Plenty of wooded area and open space. When we went in june it was too cold to go on the river so we just hung out at the campground. With the exception of a seasonal camper nearby running a loud generator all day we had a great time. There is plenty of wooded area as well as open field in the tent area where we were able to play football. We are leaving this afternoon to spend another weekend. Looking forward to it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley-Ann Hincks, Owner at Camping on the Battenkill
Responded Sep 9, 2020
Hi, thank you for taking the time to write us a review you are much appreciated. Also thank you for letting us know about the generator that we where unaware of. We will investigate as they are not allowed here . We are so happy to hear you say you have found your regular campground and we look forward to hosting you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesVermontGreen MountainsArlington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
111
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Camping on the Battenkill
Which popular attractions are close to Camping on the Battenkill?
Nearby attractions include Sugar Shack (0.1 miles), Mount Equinox (3.8 miles), and Norman Rockwell Exhibition (0.10 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Camping on the Battenkill?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, kids activities, and internet access.
Is parking available at Camping on the Battenkill?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Camping on the Battenkill?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chauncey's Family Dining, West Mountain Inn's Restaurant, and Arlington Inn Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Camping on the Battenkill?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Camping on the Battenkill?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Camping on the Battenkill?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to Camping on the Battenkill?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Wayside Country Store (3.2 miles).