We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sheraton Austin at the Capitol

#98 of 193 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
701 E. 11th St., Austin, TX 78701
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

764 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
NC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

While the stay here was not bad, per se, I would recommend staying somewhere else if in the area over the next few months. The renovations have really taken a lot out of this place and are on going. Basically a place to lay your head and that's it. I'm sure it will be nice when it's done but to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Outdoor328
Scott L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review

Dear Outdoor328, We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback about your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and that our staff provided you with excellent customer service! We are very sorry, though, that you were disrupted by our ongoing renovation project and felt that it took away from your overall experience.... More 

Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Perhaps once the work is completed the hotel will improve but the whole place needs a refurbishment to be honest. Just isn't up to standard. Staff were great and its an excellent location for exploring Austin and close enough to airport.

Helpful?
1 Thank TheGoodFoodBoy
Scott L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments – we’re happy to hear that you were impressed with our staff and location! However, we’re disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with our property or your experience overall. We’re very sorry for any disruptions that may have been caused to you by the renovation, but we are confident that the finished product... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I spent 2 weeks in this awful hotel for a convention. The conference room they gave us was horrible. I think that the carpet was not cleaned since 1980! Dust everywhere! The elevator sucks! Ten minutes at least waiting for it! And not stairs available! I would not suggest this place to everyone.

Helpful?
1 Thank MattiaSDM1
Scott L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review

Thank you, MattiaSDM1, for taking the time to share your experience. We're so disappointed to hear you were not satisfied with our conference rooms, as these were just recently renovated. We are also sorry for any inconveniences experienced from our construction; we have been trying our best to keep the hotel clean of any dust during this time, and I... More 

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Castelfranco di Sotto, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed several days, you you be surprised in negative. The room are awful, no fridge, old, a mountain of dust on the carpet, no hair dryer. For 140 $ each night you will find a better place for sure. The carpet in all the hotel is a mess. You will find mountains of dust all over yourself, i'm not sure... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mattia P
Scott L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It does sound as though your experience did not come anywhere close to meeting your expectations, and we are deeply sorry for that. It is true that we’re currently undergoing a major renovation, and this is the cause of the dust you have mentioned. We have been doing our best... More 

Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is great. Aside from that, I'm not sure our stay was really worth the "deal" we got for $150. Obviously they have some renovation going on, which is understandable. You only wish you somehow found out about it through booking rather than from review sites like this. Then there was this really nice KAYAK service... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MooseCalves
Scott L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review

Dear MooseCalves, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our downtown location and the quality of your room accommodations. We’re very sorry, though, for all the other areas in which we failed to impress you. We are so sorry for not following through with your request for a birthday... More 

Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a disaster. Laying in my bed trying to sleep but can't because all I can hear is the 1 functioning elevator going up and down on the other side of my bedroom wall. Hotel is under much needed renovations. I recommend waiting till they're done before coming here.

Helpful?
1 Thank RyanC78
Scott L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review

Dear RyanC78, Thank you for posting your feedback about your visit with us. I am very sorry to hear that the sound of the elevator kept you awake. I understand how frustrating it can be when you are trying to sleep but have to deal with disturbances and distractions. Please know for next time that we are more than happy... More 

San Francisco, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked a three-night business stay at the Sheraton Austin at the Capitol through hotels.com. I wasn't that familiar with Austin and thought I would be near the conference hotels, but ended up on the edge of nowhere (although close to the Capitol, but I have no business with the state of Texas). The hotel is under construction. The lobby... More 

Helpful?
Thank SFO2016
Scott L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. We are certainly disappointed to know that we failed to meet your expectations on so many levels. We want to apologize for any disturbance that was caused due to the changes being made to our property right now. While we know it will be worth it once we... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived around 3 PM and was told that our room was not available yet and that it was expected to be ready in 45 minutes. We had driven for most of the day so we were tired and was annoyed at the inconvenience but thought 45 minutes was reasonable. We went to explore the city and eat dinner, coming... More 

Helpful?
Thank MCX314
Scott L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review

Dear MCX314, I am glad to hear that you had great interactions with our staff, but am upset to know that you did not enjoy your overall experience. The fact that you had to wait for your room for such a long time is unacceptable. I would be just as upset if I had been in the same situation. I... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Austin Sheraton downtown on January 1 to celebrate the New Year.experience. We drove in from Dallas to check into a freezing lobby with a dusty makeshift counter with major demolition /gutting on the ground floor. The employ ees even had a portable heater at their feet because they were freezing also . No where to have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank erica c
Scott L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review

Dear Erica C., Thank you for choosing the Sheraton to help you celebrate the new year! From reading your comments, I can entirely understand your disappointment with your most recent stay. This is certainly not typical of our hotel or the service we provide. I am so sorry for any disruption that was caused due to the changes we are... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

We arrived at the hotel to find a line of people waiting to check-in, where most people were turned away as there rooms were not yet ready. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the desk and we offered a room upgrade (at no charge) to a King room versus a Double room as those were ready. We graciously... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brandi F
Theresa B, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review

Thank you very much for letting us know how we exceeded your expectations! While it is unfortunately true that it sometimes gets a little hectic around New Year's regarding reservations, we're glad that you were able to not only be checked in on time, but also receive an upgrade! Please know that we're working to further improve our procedures so... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (95)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#21 of 193 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 901 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay