We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Sheraton Austin at the Capitol

Show Prices
#89 of 198 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

866 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 849: English reviews
PA
Level Contributor
365 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at the Sheraton in Austin. I booked it with hotel tonight because of a very reasonable rate. Professional staff, clean and comfortable rooms. Note: self parking $22 and $33 for Valet parking. A little pricey.

Helpful?
Thank PITTparent
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

From the beginning. The parking garage is very cramped and difficult to maneuver in. There is not an elevator in parking garage so you must carry all luggage to the ground floor entry to the hotel. Stairwells are enclosed but very dirty and nasty and dimly lit. Our room was small and had trash left in it, the bathroom was... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravlinMan61
Scott L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking a moment to bring your experience to my attention. While we do have an elevator in the garage, we sincerely apologize that you were not made aware of this during your stay. I'm also very disappointed to see the condition of your room upon check-in, we understand how that would leave a negative impression... More 

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Room was dirty....hairs on bathroom sink, carpet with dust and debris buildup. Old and outdated. Did not feel good about staying here. Hoping the sheets were changed, not just a "flip" as some do. Lazy housekeeping and management for allowing this room to be so unclean. Yuck.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Scott L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. Please accept our apologies for the unsatisfactory state of your room. Please know that what you describe here is not the level of service expected of our employees and our product. We work hard to make sure our housekeepers keep each and every guest room and bathroom clean.... More 

Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Received decent rate for a business conference, which the hotel was able to handle appropriately. Excellent staff, and the rooms were clean. But, even though the 15th floor room appeared to have a recent makeover, the room was small, especially bathroom area. Also, no microwave nor frig, and had to ask for an alarm clock. Also, the hotel was somewhat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike R
Scott L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review

Dear Mike R, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We love to hear that you received excellent service from our staff during your stay, but we are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your overall stay. We are happy to share that we do have mini fridges and microwaves available upon request. We apologize that you were not... More 

Pearland, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Older hotel but very up to date, clean great staff. Room nice, comfortable, quite. The view from my room was not good but did not go there to look out window. Bar was nice, looked out over either pool or lake. Cheese/meat plate was wonderful. Bar staff great. Room was quite and clean.

Helpful?
Thank jacktn13
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I found the check-in staff marginal, the condition of the room filthy and rundown. Stains everywhere, peeling chrome off the faucet, noisy air conditioner, running toilet, no power outlets by the bed, etc.

Helpful?
Thank dhp333
Scott L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review

Thank you dhp333 for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry you found our check-in staff marginal I will address this with the Front Office Manager. If possible could you reach out to me directly at 512-478-1111 and ask for Bailey, I would love to address the issues you found in your room I just need to know... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently were lucky enough to have a few days off in Austin and I stayed for 4 nights at the Sheraton. We showed up very early in the morning and immediately got my room key. My wife had already checked in and was asleep (3:40 AM). I quietly tried to open the door but my key was not working.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jon S
Scott L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review

Dear Jon S, Thank you taking the time to post a review of your stay and for being a loyal SPG member. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the unsatisfactory experience you had during your time with us. Please know that what you describe here is not the level of service expected of our employees and our product. We regret... More 

Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is walking distance to the university, the capital, 6th street and Franklin BBQ :) This especially useful after a night out in 6th street. Being right of I35, it is easy to get to, if you don't have waze or google maps to guide you. Rooms are clean with all necessary amenities. There is parking but there is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alphonse Lae P
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was still in the mist of a makeover but wasn't to bad. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly. They have a nice indoor and outdoor pool and gym. The weekend brunch was decent. Close to six street an area of town with bars and some good restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank lesurfer888
Scott L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review

Dear lesurfer888, We greatly appreciate your feedback as our guest, and it is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your overall stay at our property. We are constantly working towards creating a better experience for our guests and we hope that in the future we can welcome you back to show you the outstanding service and amenities we provide.... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Summary - staff were great, rooms were average, room service was disappointing. The reception area was beautiful, our check in by Louie was 5/5. I wish every hotel checked people in like him. Parking - we did self parking for $22 and they reduced that for $15 plus tax as a special. Self parking was painless. They also had valet... More 

Helpful?
Thank J20ELA111
Scott L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We cannot wait to share your positive feedback with Louie, he will be thrilled to hear your comments! We would like to apologize for the food service issues you encountered, it is not typical of the service we offer. We appreciate your feedback as we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

152 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (121)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Austin Downtown - University
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Sheraton Austin at the Capitol

Address: 701 E 11th St, Austin, TX 78701-2622
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Price Range: $169 - $677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Austin at the Capitol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Sheraton Austin at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Austin
Austin Sheraton
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Austin
#63 Business Hotel in Austin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay