We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 3 left at
$349
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Travelocity
Only 3 left at
$349
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
FindHotel
$331
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/06/22
Booking.com$349
Hotels.com$349
travelup.com$421
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (547)
Room & Suite (205)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 05/13/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Updated 05/13/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#59 of 241 hotels in Austin
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.5
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
A new hotel in downtown Austin's Rainy Street District.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Secured parking
Pool with view
Pool / beach towels
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Entertainment staff
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Happy hour
Wine / champagne
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Sofa
Telephone
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand movies
Radio
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Modern
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available
1198Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 776
  • 202
  • 104
  • 60
  • 56
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jim O wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
We spent 3 nights at the hotel. Lightbulbs were out in the bathroom. A dog barked for 22 hours in the room across the hall. There is major construction on both sides of the hotel. They are building two separate high-rises and construction nose started at 5am! The hotel put earplugs next to the bed! Maybe this will eventually just be a party hotel for kids...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Book opposite Rainey street.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alexander J wrote a review Jun 2021
Los Angeles, California3 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Excellent hotel with great customer service and nice touches. Check-in Minimal wait time for check-in offered free beer and water which was an excellent touch. Upgraded me for free due to being an IHG Spire member. Room Rooms are excellent here. Rooms are clean, as expected, beds are super comfortable and room furniture is top notch. No complaints here Pool Area During this time, the pool was at limited capacity. The area in previous years was always a party. This was during covid, so the pool was basically empty when I went but still nice. There was some construction equipment for painting or window washing but it did not bother me. Happy Hour There's a free happy hour daily! This is one reason I love going to Kimpton hotels. Free happy hour daily which is always a good time and definitely a nice touch. Location You're right on Rainey Street. Now that I'm in my 30s dirty 6th is no longer my thing. The more chill vibe on Rainey Street is perfect for my tastes. Lots of cool dive bars and restaurants as soon as you walk out the door. If you're here for a conference, the convention center is a 10 minute walk easily. The rest of downtown is also easily accessible. Cons Price, this hotel is generally more expensive than most of the other downtown hotels. If you take advantage of the amenities and location, it's probably worth it. Also, if you're trying to work from home during the week (I was) there are limited areas to do so. All of the common areas in the hotel are playing music that can be heard so it's not a great place to take business calls unless you're doing so from your own room. The business center was also closed due to Covid-19 when I was there so maybe this has changed. Should you stay here? Yes! This hotel is normally pricier than some other downtown hotels. I have stayed in a few other hotels downtown and this one always takes the cake. The staff here does an amazing job and even if it's a little bit more expensive, if you want great location and plan to go out on Rainey Street and make use of the pool and happy hour, you definitely won't regret it. If you're a business traveler and plan on only sleeping at night and maybe driving to another part of the city without taking advantage of the amenities, it's probably not worth the premium.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Y, Other at Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Responded Jun 9, 2021
Dear Alexander J, Thank you for the recent visit and your loyalty as a Spire Elite member! Love the fantastic overview of the property highlights! We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Austin. All the best, Nick
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GeoffB13 wrote a review Sep 2022
Bellingham, Washington8 contributions13 helpful votes
We stayed at the Kimpton Van Zandt for a week in September of 2022. A combination work trip, 4 days, and 3 days to enjoy Austin Texas. 1. Check in: Very smooth, they offered us an icy cold beer that was truly appreciated. Staff was helpful throughout our seven day stay. 2. Room: 13th floor overlooking Rainy St. A little small, the bathroom door is one of those barn sliders you see these days that opens all on its own at the most unfortunate times. The 40 inch TV seems small for 2022 and offered no streaming opportunities. The Hotel TV system is horrendous and must go away soon. Wi-Fi was fast and included for IHG loyalty members. Why just one chair, please include a second! Very little storage, small closet and no dresser forced us to live out of our suitcases. No clock is provided, and charging opportunities are limited. The maid was forced to unplug our devices to make the bed. 3. Pool Deck: Beautiful, but a Plastic Surgeon rents out a cabana to show off his work on a regular basis. Watching young women with plastic boots and very small bikinis is really damaging to the Kimpton brand. Everyone poolside was uncomfortable! 4. Location: Near the river on the edge of downtown should be a great location. However the blaring music went on each and every night, all night long, sleep was impossible until 2 am. Really destroys this hotel. 5. Conference Facilities: Perfect throughout the four day conference. Extremely well run! 6. Restaurant: Just one and so very disappointing. All items served alacart a two person meal is a $200 minimum. The Cafe closes at 2pm. The pool offers a limited menu, however they would not serve us at 6:15. Surrounding restaurants are full of boozing college kids or are very expensive. No place for a sit down meal nearby in the $80 dollar range, except for IHOP, no thanks. Summary: Modern hotel that is so very loud and offers very little value.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jeff H wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Let me preface this rant with this - I LOVE IHG properties and have been a rewards member for well over a decade now. So I give these hotels a lot of grace. However, this one I will not let slide. This overpriced dump is stealing from people. I booked a recent 2-day stay for some family members to have a nice weekend away (my treat). Well first - they were billed $57/ night for parking. $57/night??? Parking is cheaper in Manhattan than this. Does that include a full detail? But this wonderful property didn’t stop there. On top of the healthy room fees, and the inflated parking fee, there’s a $60/night “guest fee”. Excuse me?? Isn’t my room rate my “guest fee”? Upon further inquiry the “guest fee” includes “complimentary coffee” in the lobby. Well that’s awesome - I get charged for something that’s labeled “complimentary”! So at the end of this 2-day weekend getaway that cost me nearly 90,000 Rewards points, my family members received a bill of $247 on their credit card. The card they left for incidentals, of which they should have had none. Incredible failure by Kimpton Hotels. Thanks for the reward weekend, you guys really know how to make a loyal patron feel special!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
traveler352 wrote a review Sep 2022
Burlington, Canada1 contribution
Haven't written a review in a long time, but feel the need now. Am a former Four Seasons Hotel Alumni so I feel I can fairly access hotel value & service. Paid a steep $545 Cdn for 1 night. Surprised by addt'l parking fee @ $60 US, I guess a new norm post pandemic, +$27 US for a hotel fee (internet, welcome drink (beer was the only option), printing (?), food credit...etc, etc.)...none of which we used...just opportunistic gouging by this hotel. Was charged for someone else's dinner on our account, adjusted after we pointed out the error. No complimentary water in the room for guests....instead, 2 bottles of water @ 8 US$ ea. The room was new and clean, but small, basic and boring with depressing decor. The lobby was nicely designed but the vibe was unfriendly. The service from the staff was aloof, unwelcoming and entitled. The bellman on checkout, was the bright light of our stay...very friendly and helpful and a breath of fresh air. Wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone unless your company is paying for it. Walking back from a nearby hotel to watch the bat show...we were followed and felt we had just avoided being mugged...(not the hotel's fault...can happen anywhere), but we decided not to report it to the hotel because of the general malaise & aloof vibe of the staff. Ho hum...travel post pandemic in some hotels is not the same kind of delightful experience, but instead hotels like make you feel badly...expensive, uninspiring...and killing the joy of travel adventure.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Suryavarman wrote a review Aug 2022
Livingston, New Jersey460 contributions1133 helpful votes
Was here for a seminar and thoroughly unimpressed by the staff. The hotel is gorgeous but the staff and the hotels maintenance is another story especially the front desk and whoever answers the phone call from the rooms. 1. On the night before leaving, I asked for a wake up alarm for 4am because I had a flight to catch. Then there was no call at 4am. This is just rude. I luckily woke up myself and when I asked them at checkout, there was no answer why I never received the wake up call. 2. The hotel sits next to a bar that plays loud music. So if you are in one of the lower floors and trying to sleep, I wish you luck. I didn’t have any luck. 3. In trying to be trendy, the hotel misses out on regular stuff like having a coffee maker in the room. I asked for one which they got and it never worked. 4. Rooms were never cleaned even at 5pm. I think that’s just not right. I came back from my seminar to see that my room was not done even thought I asked them at 9am to get the room cleaned up. 5. After I checked out, I was charged for food in the mini bar which I never had. Mistakes happen but why is everything going wrong at this hotel only and in the 2 nights I am there? 6. Room has a locker but it does not work. 7. The light fixtures have switches all over the places which was not very convenient. 8. The shower has just one pressure setting and the shower area is only half glassed. So expect the whole bathroom to get wet whenever you get a shower. In trying to be trendy, this hotel ends up messing up the basics. Based on the experiences above I don’t recommend this hotel until there is a new management in place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauren B, Guest Services / Front Office at Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Suryavarman, I am so sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We will be following up internally about the missed service opportunities and the issues with room condition to prevent them from happening in the future. We are situated next to Rainey street which does tend to be a bit noisy on the weekends. We do have earplugs, fans and white noise machines available to help our guests drift off to sleep if needed. We do hope you will give us another chance if your travels bring you back to Austin. All the best,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TexasGal97 wrote a review Aug 2022
San Antonio, Texas146 contributions102 helpful votes
The man with 90s hair at the desk (reddish blonde and wavy with a goatee) needs manners and a lesson in trying not to act condescending and self righteous. Apparently, I was booked under the wrong rate when traveling - I am a state government employee rather than a federal. I have not had this issue before and was told I showed the wrong ID when attempting to check in here. Note IHG Government rate policy: "We offer government rates at participating hotels to the following personnel on official travel: ​​• All government employees (federal, state, county, local governments)​​. " I was shamed at the desk by the man after not showing the proper id for the rate and inquiring about best rates for the day. The reservation was cancelled by another desk employee (kind and lovely I might add) for no charge at my request. As a result, I checked into another nearby IHG property after making some calls. I called the IHG customer service line and discussed the matter with the representative. This matter worked out the way it should. I stayed at another hotel without construction going on around it and slept peacefully [rather than here]. A happy ending from an unkind incident. Beautiful hotel with cool atmosphere, Another time perhaps. He's done it to others and basically told me so and enjoyed it too. A narcissist at the desk. Try to avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauren B, Guest Services / Front Office at Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear TexasGal97, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so sorry about your check-in experience with us. That is definitely not the normal service for any of our employees but we will definitely use it as a training opportunity for all Front Desk staff moving forward. We hope you will give us another shot when your travels bring you back to Austin.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brad C wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We were given a room on the East side of the hotel, right next to a window thumping dance club. The music rattled our room until 2AM The really annoying part of this is the Hotel knows they have a problem with that area and put us in the room anyway. When I complained they said they knew and were trying to work with the club. The hotel charged us the full rate, plus $60 to park, plus resort fee...... Very poor experience .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauren B, Guest Services / Front Office at Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Responded Aug 13, 2022
Dear 626bradc, Thank you so much for choosing Kimpton and the Hotel Van Zandt. This review is disappointing to read. While Rainey St is usually a pretty active street with some noisy neighbors the response from our team is not what we would expect. I'd love to get more details about your experience. If you have the time please reach out to TalkToUs@hotelvanzandt.com with more information so we can help make it right.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kyle Andrew Payne wrote a review Jul 2022
9 contributions6 helpful votes
My wife & I stayed for 3 nights while visiting family in the area. Hotel is centrally located near Rainey St in downtown Austin. The daily happy hour is a nice touch and the room was very clean and incredibly decorated. The hotel has a great vibe with good music and a nice pool area. The front desk staff was excellent and gave us a couple of solid late night dining options! We highly recommend this property!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Valet parking is a bit pricey.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauren B, Guest Services / Front Office at Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Responded Jul 23, 2022
Dear kpayne22, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are so glad you were able to enjoy everything the hotel has to offer, from our amazing staff to complimentary happy hour! We hope we can welcome you back soon when your travels bring you back to Austin.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin S wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I stayed here a weekend in July 2022, and would love to highlight the amazing staff I worked with during my stay- all of them contributed one way or another. Aaron helped me pre-arrival, and Erin, Clarissa, and Nathan took care of me while I was staying. The room was comfy and had a nice reading nook facing town lake. I requested a room facing away from Rainey (one of Austin’s party streets) and on a high floor. I requested this due to my pooch, and the requests were enthusiastically honored. Things of note: 1. They’re really, really dog friendly. You can even arrange a dog sitting/walking service for your pooch during your stay. This does mean others will have their dogs with them as well. Waiting for us in the room were bowls, a doggy bed, and a rug toy. 2. They’re on Rainey and there’s a lot of construction going on around there. So if it’s a busy time… getting in and out with a car is tough, so I recommend checking in during off-peak hours. The construction can also be loud in some rooms facing the lake/pool. I’m also unsure if the new construction will obstruct the lake views on some rooms in the future. Speaking of noise- even facing away from Rainey I could hear some loud noises and music from Rainey due to the high rises bouncing sound up and down. Not a dealbreaker for me since I wasn’t going to bed early either night, but for folks that like to get up early, make sure to ask for a room facing away from Rainey. 3. While they do have two peloton bikes with SPD/Hybrid pedals, they’re in desperate need of repairs/replacement. I got lucky- the settings were close to my bike at home since one bike wasn’t adjustable in the seat (knob broken) and the other bike the handlebar mount was broken. Not a deal breaker, but needs fixed. 4. Geraldine’s was great, but ordering from the pool bar sometimes involved quite a wait since the staff also takes care of the restaurant. I had two meals at Geraldine’s, and the food was okay- wouldn’t have eaten there twice if it wasn’t for credit I had via AMEX Hotel Collection. Overall- next to smaller boutique hotels and one other chain, this may become my mainstay in Austin!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: If your plan on turning in early, especially on weekends, ask for a room facing away from Rainey...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauren B, Guest Services / Front Office at Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Responded Aug 13, 2022
Dear Kevin S, Thank you so much for you detailed feedback! The most important part of our business is the people, both our guests and employees. It makes me so happy to here that Aaron, Erin, Clarissa and Nathan all took such good care of you while you were here. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$338 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesTexasAustin
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Which popular attractions are close to Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt?
Nearby attractions include Rainey Street (0.09 miles), Craft Pride (0.2 miles), and Container Bar (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include complimentary tea, entertainment staff, and free instant coffee.
Which room amenities are available at Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt?
Top room amenities include blackout curtains, a desk, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt?
Yes, secured parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt?
Conveniently located restaurants include Moonshine Patio Bar & Grill, Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken, and Fogo de Chão Brazilian Steakhouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt?
Yes, guests have access to a pool with a view during their stay.
Is Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Austin.
Are there any historical sites close to Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Texas State Capitol (1.0 miles), The Driskill (0.6 miles), and O. Henry Home & Museum (0.4 miles).
Does Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.