We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
310 E 5th St, Austin, TX 78701-3614
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$237
View deal
Booking.com$237
Westin.com$237
Tripadvisor$237
travelup.com
Priceline$237
Trip.com$237
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (331)
360
Panoramas (24)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin Austin Downtown
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#29 of 241 hotels in Austin
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1130Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 744
  • 219
  • 88
  • 43
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Quinton M wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Crystal, Cole, Jorge, Nick, Aubrey from valet were amazing immediately since we arrived. We didn’t even drive and they treated us like royalty. It was what we expected but they went above and beyond with the white glove service. Absolutely amazing. John at front desk was also amazing! Will stay here again based on the hospitality alone.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cesar Brand, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Austin Downtown
Responded Jun 9, 2022
Dear 12quintonm, On behalf of the entire hotel team, I want to thank you for sharing about your recent stay with us. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most our guests! Your feedback has been shared with our entire hotel staff. Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Cesar Brand Front Office Manager
Read more
MarcBRS wrote a review Apr 2022
Hanham, United Kingdom473 contributions202 helpful votes
We arrived after driving from Dallas and were checked in by Ranee. What a delight, this is how you do hospitality and welcome guests. We instantly relaxed. Great room and facilities, the lobby bar team are experienced and friendly without obviously tip shopping. We have enjoyed our first Westin and it won't be the last
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cesar Brand, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Austin Downtown
Responded Apr 18, 2022
Dear MarcBRS, On behalf of the entire hotel team, I want to thank you for sharing about your recent stay with us. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most our guests! Your feedback has been shared with our entire hotel staff, specially Renee. Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Cesar Brand Front Office Manager
Read more
Shant K wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Important attention to detail is always kept at the Westin. The reception is very welcoming and eager to recommend and satisfy! I recommend anything about this Hotel very enjoyable pool, gym, bar, and guest services. Their rates are truly favoring the hotel guests for what you get!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cesar Brand, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Austin Downtown
Responded Apr 6, 2022
Dear Shant K, On behalf of the entire hotel team, I want to thank you for sharing about your recent stay with us. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! Your feedback has been shared with our entire hotel staff. Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Cesar Brand Front Office Manager
Read more
Vanessa Estebanez wrote a review Mar 2022
6 contributions2 helpful votes
We arrived late, around 8:45pm and the rooms were not ready with the roller beds. After calling several times, they brought them, let them vertically, and gave us the sheets to install and make the beds ourselves. There was a homeless in the restroom located at he lobby, my kids were shocked. The staff not very friendly, I would not recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cesar Brand, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Austin Downtown
Responded Apr 6, 2022
Dear Famgarest, We recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have provided. In order to better uphold our commitment to deliver exceptional service to every guest, I have shared your feedback with our team. We will work to improve our arrival experience and do our best to prevent this inconvenience from occurring in the future. I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area.
Read more
Dave B wrote a review Mar 2022
Brighton, United Kingdom417 contributions137 helpful votes
Very clean, modern rooms. The restaurant on site (Stella San Jac) was excellent for dinner and breakfast. The location was okay, but there was a shooting around the corner the night we arrived so the city needs to work on this. Free coffee would be a nice addition. Staff very friendly
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cesar Brand, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Austin Downtown
Responded Apr 6, 2022
Dear daveb506, On behalf of the entire hotel team, I want to thank you for sharing about your recent stay with us. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! Your feedback has been shared with our hotel team and will take under consideration. We hope to see you soon. Sincerely, Cesar Brand Front Office Manager
Read more
Elizabeth O wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Absolutely wonderful experience at the tail end of SXSW. Wonderful welcome experience and clean, nicely appointed rooms. Special shout out to Beatriz and the rest of the team from Valet. The street was blocked with various SXSW trailers, EMS, etc. which limited pull up space to the hotel. However, this team hustled and got cars in and out with amazing precision. So many cats and this team stayed on point. They were friendly and warm and inviting. Great experience all around!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Valet was awesome! Beatriz is amazing. Helpful, friendly and a hustler!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cesar Brand, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Austin Downtown
Responded Apr 6, 2022
Dear elizabetho808, On behalf of the entire hotel team, I want to thank you for your recent stay with us and sharing your feedback. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! Your feedback has been shared with our staff, specially valet as a way of celebrating the great guest experiences we delivered. Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Cesar Brand Front Office Manager
Read more
poliana23 wrote a review Mar 2022
Rio de Janeiro, RJ119 contributions189 helpful votes
I stayed at the Westin in Austin for the first time for this year's SXSW. I was there for 5 nights but what a disappointment! To be fair, let's start with the good points. It's the perfect location for SXSW participants as it's central enough to all the other hotels and a block away from the Austin Conference center and close to all the bars and good restaurants downtown. The room is large and although a bit dated, it's ok. The beds and sheets are traditional Westin style, so all good. The bathroom is also large but the sink and counter space are so small. The lobby area was large and comfortable enough for a quick meeting or chat with someone. Now let's switch to what needs improvement. First of all, they need to significantly improve their service and how they treat their guests. I understand they were booked with SXSW goers, but they were just bad! My problems started during check-in on a Friday afternoon when I found out laundry service was only available during the week so I had to wait until Monday to send my clothes in. Having come from another long trip straight to Austin, I expected I would get my clothes washed right away. The girl at the check-in counter told me to take my laundry to the laundromat downtown. Really? I called asking to have some boxes delivered and the answer was "no, we don't have anyone available to take them to you". When my laundry was finally delivered, I had to follow-up and ask them to deliver it to my room and the answer was also no. After arguing with them, they finally sent the laundry and boxes up. I also called asking to have the room properly cleaned as after 3 nights, the room was never really cleaned! Instead of doing a proper cleaning that day, they didn't even clean at all. I showed up at 6pm and my room was still messy and dirty. I also called a few times about the air conditioner that was making a rattling noise and they never fixed it until again, I got mad at the front desk and they finally sent someone up on my last day at the hotel. The shower gel container fell from the wall on day 2 and nobody fixed it! It was just sitting on the shower floor for days... In terms of structure, the shower needs improvement as the water pressure is so low. It takes forever to take a shower as hardly any water comes out. Additionally, the towels were so small they looked like hand towels! Now, let's talk about food. The hotel restaurant wasn't good at all. I tried having lunch once and ordered a salad. It was nothing to write home about. Breakfast was not good. They didn't really have a breakfast menu. It was called brunch but there wasn't anything great there. Service was iffy as well so I ended up having most of my breakfasts at other places around the hotel. After bringing up these issues to someone at the reception desk during my last day, they apologized and sent someone to clean the room and fix the air conditioner. They also offered to give me 100,000 Bonvoy points which was a nice gesture but those points still haven't shown up in my account :(. So all in all, I wouldn't stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Perez, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Austin Downtown
Responded Mar 21, 2022
Dear Poliana23, I like to start off with an apology to how your stay was and that you had these issues. This isn't our typical practice and I'm sorry you had to experience this . As for he points they should be viewable in your account shortly. We have made sure leadership is aware of these issues and can share with their teams this experience you had to endure. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and also bring to my attention when we spoke about these issues and had them addressed immediately. Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to share your experience.
Read more
Tori A wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
My best friend and I booked a room from Wednesday-Sunday. After working on the frontlines in healthcare over the past 2+ years, we were excited to finally get away. Believe me, I know burnout is real right now and I try to give grace as much as I can to others, especially during these times. We had high hopes after hearing about how great this location was. Stella San Jac was amazing and the staff at the restaurant were great. Valet was sub-par. For paying $50+ per night (4 nights for us), we expected at least some effort. I've never had a bad experience with valet services anywhere in my life, until we stayed at The Westin Austin. Again, because we knew workers were probably burned out, we let the first few days of attendants just standing on the wall or not coming out of the booth to greet us and/or open doors go. Our first night, Nikola, an attendant, took his time coming out to assist us (we sat in the car for about 4 minutes), he didn't help us with our bags and stood back as we struggled to get our bags out and on the sidewalk, and he also told the other attendant (Marquis) we said we didn't need help. Marquis later explained what he was told by Nikola, apologized, and was a great help. The days that followed were no better. There were different attendants, but the same culture of not assisting or opening doors and standing on the wall while cars pulled up. Most gave the perception that they didn't want to be there or do more than the minimum. I later came to find out that the Manager, B, was one of the workers we noted standing around. Obviously the attendants were comfortable enough with what they were doing (or not doing), since they never changed their behavior with their Manager around. Friday night I was over it and spoke with the only attendant (Jorge) who came to open the door when we arrived and seemed to actually want to serve guests while others stood around. Jorge was great and explained that their standard is to go above and beyond in serving guests. We didn't get that treatment. I know weekends are super busy for them and we honestly did not have high expectations for Friday and Saturday, but Jorge did great even in the midst of the busyness. I saw him again as he ran to help other guests with their cars. When we left Sunday AM, I asked for the Manager's info, not knowing it was "B," who I'd mentioned prior. She went on about wanting to talk further about my concerns and she was apart of the concern. Apart from valet, we did have to stop housekeeping in the hall for new towels when we got back early evening, since they did not clean our room when we were out for some reason. The bartenders in the rooftop bar Wednesday evening were so kind. It is hard for me to see The Westin Austin as anything over a 3-star hotel at this point. I know Marriott has better service to offer than what we received. Disappointing that we did not get what we paid for.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Perez, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Austin Downtown
Responded Mar 21, 2022
Dear Tate51, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I'm sorry to hear about your arrival and the valet experience. I have discussed this with the valet team since I also agree with you that the behaviors are not up to our standards of service with our property. I also apologize for the lack of housekeeping and you not receiving the stay over service we typically provide to our guests. Thank you for bringing his to our attention and for being our guest.
Read more
davidandrose1 wrote a review Mar 2022
Lucas, Texas316 contributions219 helpful votes
Spent one night. Upgraded to a nice corner room which struggled to stay warm on a very cold night. Check in was quick and efficient and everything worked fine in the room. Bed was great as typical for Westin, water pressure in shower was strong, but much of the ceilling paint in the shower was cracked and peeling. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was an exercise in patience. Two parties waited at leaast 7 minutes, watching people move about, even coming within a table of us at teh entry stand, but never making eye contact or acknowledging our presence. I eventually walked over to someone and asked what it takes to get seated; said he'd be with us in a minute. Unfortunately this was something I experienced in several places in Austin where I guess the youth servers don't realize what it takes "to serve" in hospitality. Food was prepared as requested, and once seated my server regularly refilled water and coffee without prompting.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Emily Perez, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Austin Downtown
Responded Mar 21, 2022
Dear Davidandrose1, I'm sorry you had these issues with your room and we do apologize for these issues. Thank you for brining this to our attention. I'm sorry you also had issues being seated in the restaurant. Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to inform us so we can share this as a learning opportunity.
Read more
Melissa R wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Derek is the best valet ever! He helped me and my husband with our bags, which were so huge and heavy! He even knew the origin of my last name and was so fun and interesting to talk to. Always cheerful, happy to help, and did his work quickly. If you come to visit The Westin, I can only hope that you meet him. So many thanks for a good experience and the best valet service I could have asked for.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cesar Brand, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westin Austin Downtown
Responded Apr 6, 2022
Dear melissarX7074HI, On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to say thank you for the great comment. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback and keep it the good work offering our service standards. We hope to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Cesar Brand Front Office Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$259 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesTexasAustin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
366
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Austin Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Austin Downtown?
Nearby attractions include The Escape Game Austin (0.2 miles), Esther's Follies (0.2 miles), and Bad Wolf Ghost Tours (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Austin Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Austin Downtown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Austin Downtown?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Austin Downtown?
Yes, a parking garage and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Austin Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stella San Jac, Eddie V's Prime Seafood, and Truluck's Ocean's Finest Seafood & Crab.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Austin Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Westin Austin Downtown located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Austin.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Austin Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Westin Austin Downtown?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Westin Austin Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.