We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Motel 6 Austin Central - South\/Univ of Texas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 44: English reviews
Del Valle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016 via mobile

I love the front desk workers and the housekeepers they treeat me with respect and help me with anything I need help with and the rooms they are soo nice and clean and the manager is soo nice with me and helped me with stuff and i will come to this motel everytime thank you motel 6

Helpful?
Thank Jacob S
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

If I had not been so anxious to clean the room before my 3 year old starting touching everything, I would have taken pictures. We came home for a visit yesterday and even after reading the reviews, decided to give this Motel 6 a try. Having grown up on the East side of Austin, I don't have to stay at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MrsRK C

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. The first day made a complaint that the tub drain was clogged badly and wouldn't drain, never did get fixed. The air conditioning would work for 30 minutes and the shut off for 40 minutes. Made a complaint on that and they said it is a new air conditioner and they all do that. It is... More 

Helpful?
Thank brew1dude
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

I took this room as it was inexpensive and I only needed a few hours sleep prior to leaving for the airport. The guy at the front desk was nice but that was the only good point. There was a big crack in the TV screen and it wasn't connected to the cable. The front desk guy said, "Oh, that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Snowmedic
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your post. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this reason we apologize for the disappointment you describe with the expectations of our housekeeping cleaning of the guestroom. We... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016 via mobile

You can't expect perfection at Motel 6. But this place is horrible. Just pay a few extra dollars and stay somewhere else. Drug dealer decides to post up outisde our door. Loud motorcycles cruising the parking lot all day and a security guard that just stood there and watched it all.

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015 via mobile

Not accessible at all without a car. Closest places to eat where the opposite side of the freeway which was about a thirty min walk. Cleanish room but with awful smell of smoke. Bathroom was on the small size but was fine for a few nights. We stayed three night and would not stay any longer. Wifi was not free.... More 

Helpful?
Thank chelseainsch
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas, responded to this review

Dear Chelsea, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We apologize for the inconvenience you describe with our location. Please know the issue you experienced is an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. The service concerns you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality, and we are sorry you experienced less... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015 via mobile

Clean and tidy Motel, close to IH - 35 and into Downtown Austin. (Taxi only $14). Little expensive for value the weekend we stayed - as it was the formula one weekend and Texas Longhorn game. Limited rooms with fridges - first come first served - ice available on tap. Staff pleasant and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Liz H
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

All night long I had other guests stopping by to fill their ice buckets. For the love of everything that is holy, move the ice machines away from the guests rooms so that your guests can get some sleep!!! This seems like common sense but not here. Otherwise, this was pretty much par for the course with Motel 6. Room... More 

Helpful?
Thank ltdvulcan
6Team, Team 6 at Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with your guestroom comfort. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Our aim is to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to... More 

Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

Please consider staying anywhere else but here. My friend and I checked in here for one night. I woke up around 1 am with a cockroach crawling on my bed and after turning on the lights we found around 5 more crawling around the room. The management here won't do anything if you have issues so you're on your own... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kyle B
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas, responded to this review

Dear Kyle, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We have procedures in place related to our pest policy that should have prevented the inconveniences you describe, and we are sorry for the circumstances. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the bed comfort issues you experienced.... More 

Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015 via mobile

So we arrived at nighttime. As we were getting out if the car we saw a sketchy couple walking around the parking lot, probably drunk. The night staff was very nice. When we went to our room there was a guy smoking a cigarette who was blasting loud rap music from his car, who then intentionally walked next to our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Al M
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas, responded to this review

Al, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred during your recent stay with regard to our rate policies and the inconveniences you experienced. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. Our staff aims to provide... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Austin-University Area
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#150 of 198 in Austin
3.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Austin-University Area
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas

Address: 5330 North Interregional Highway, I-35 at Exits #238-A/238-B, Austin, TX 78751
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Hyde Park
Price Range: $74 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Motel-6, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ Of Texas Hotel Austin
Motel Six Austin
Austin Motel 6
Austin Motel Six
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay