We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel

Save
Share
701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Double Up on Summer
Booking.com
$169
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Only 3 left at
$152
View deal
Trip.com
$150
View deal
Official Website$169
Priceline$169
ZenHotels.com$191
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (268)
360
Panoramas (32)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 02/10/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel
Updated 02/10/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#26 of 241 hotels in Austin
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Iron
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Double Up on Summer
1651Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,141
  • 333
  • 102
  • 50
  • 25
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Charles S wrote a review Jul 2022
Westminster, Maryland420 contributions117 helpful votes
The staff is excellent, check in and out was quick and easy, the on-site restaurant is fabulous. The rooms were clean and the bed and pillows were comfortable. The floor was extremely quiet, no disturbances. The A/C was great and needed due to the heat.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: No breakfast available in the hotel on Monday & Tuesdays. The Caroline across the street is...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rodney Hartfield, Guest Services / Front Office at The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Wonderful! Thank you Charliellauren for your excellent 5 Bubble review. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we always love to hear back from our guests. Come back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lifeworthliving wrote a review Mar 2021
New Haven, Connecticut63 contributions60 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Our family (2 adults, 1 senior, 2 teens) we loved staying at this hotel! Very clean, felt very safe. The adults loved the Stephen F Bar. Wonderful veranda to have cocktails and people watch on a gorgeous day! The restaurant was very good. The rooms were spacious and well maintained. The hotel has an old world theme with Texas style. Staff is very friendly! Thanks to Anthony at check-in, Kevin at the bar - excellent service! We had a nasty neighbor who left her howling/barking dog in the room - the hotel did an awesome job of calling the owner and getting it resolved quickly! World class service - all around. Thanks for a great stay, so happy to be able to travel again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rodney Hartfield, Guest Services / Front Office at The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel
Responded May 24, 2021
Lifeworthliving! Thank you for the amazing review and thank you for acknowledging Anthony and Kevin. We are very excited that our guests have been returning and travel is getting back into full swing. Hope to see you again very soon. At your service,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
maysa s wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
I would highly recommend staying here! The lobby was nice, and room was very clean. I stayed in a king size room with a beautiful view. Aaron and Jesus were very helpful during my trip. They were very friendly and ver professional!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rodney Hartfield, Guest Services / Front Office at The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Wonderful!! Thank you for your recommendation! We are pleased to hear that your stay was so enjoyable and that you found Aaron and Jesus very helpful. We appreciate your amazing review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jerome C wrote a review Jul 2022
San Antonio, Texas12 contributions4 helpful votes
Sitting in the lobby of the hotel and no one is able to check me in after I booked directly with the Royal Sonesta site and I’m told I have to wait for the front desk personnel to arrive. Unfortunately I really enjoyed this hotel and this will definitely be the last time I attempt to stay at this hotel. Unable to get in touch with any management and has the security guard at the front desk. Just got finished with a 6 Hour Car Dr. and deal with this and paid what I paid you’ve got to be kidding me!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rodney Hartfield, Guest Services / Front Office at The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr. JeromeC158, we are truly sorry for the experience you had upon arrival. We don't ever want to have any of our guests wait to be checked in and we sincerely apologize for the wait. This is not the normal high standard of service that our guests are accustom to. We hope that you will reconsider staying with us again on your next visit to Austin.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BuenViaje68 wrote a review May 2022
Tempe, Arizona320 contributions106 helpful votes
I stayed at this hotel for a quick overnighter. I had a King Deluxe Room on the 5th floor. The room was clean and had plenty of space including a chair, sofa, ottoman, and desk. The bathroom was fine with a pedestal sink, shower, and makeup desk area. Check in was simple and the staff was friendly. There is a Roaring Fork restaurant on the ground level. I had a very nice steak from this restaurant. Location is at 7th Street and Congress. It’s very close to 6th Street where I was able to find lots of bars and live music…even on a Monday night! The only downside is they don’t serve breakfast on Monday and Tuesday mornings, so that wasn’t great. The work-out facilities were nice a spacious in their basement. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Austin.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rodney Hartfield, Guest Services / Front Office at The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you BienViaje68 for your great review. We appreciate the excellent rating and detailed review. We are looking to expand our outlet hours in the near future. We hope that you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to Austin.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fearless38837 wrote a review May 2022
Lemont, Illinois1 contribution
I was there for a business meeting and was not given the discount rate. Asked 5 different people and all said they would take care of it. But at check out it was sorry we can not accommodate your request. If I booked on line I would save more than the rate I was charged. Very basic room at a premium price, I would not stay here unless I had to go to another conference. Staff was nice but unhelpful
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rodney Hartfield, Guest Services / Front Office at The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel
Responded May 15, 2022
Thank you Fearless38837 for your review. We apologize that the contracted group rate was no longer available at the time your reservation was booked. We wish that you had a better experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
drjeff wrote a review May 2022
Boston, Massachusetts551 contributions412 helpful votes
I stayed here because they had a lap pool in the basement gym. Pool and gym were great. Pool is long enough to get a good work out. Gym is well equipped with a locker room. Hotel is not huge more like a boutique with an excellent location in the center of Austin so it’s possible to walk to a lot of sites . Service in the hotel was good. Our room was not available at check in so we paid $25.00 for an upgrade and had a mini suite with a large bathroom. Rooms were in good condition and clean. Price was a bit steep. Parking is $52 per night. If you have AAA they discount it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rodney Hartfield, Guest Services / Front Office at The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel
Responded May 15, 2022
Thank you drjeff for your excellent 5 Bubble review. We are glad to hear that our central downtown location works well for you, it's hard to beat. Our oversize fitness center is available 24 hours a day and temperature controlled pool is open year round. We hope that you will consider staying with us again on your next visit it Austin.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
I haven’t been everywhere... yet wrote a review Apr 2022
Panama336 contributions138 helpful votes
Superb location. You cannot fault it. Despite being so close to the “action”, we didn’t hear any noise from our room… whether that was from the street or internally. Ie doors banging shut. Top 5 most efficient check in/ out’s we’ve experienced, EVER! 60’seconds and we were checked out and in a cab to the airport. Service was with a smile no matter the question or need. Breakfast was a little limited in choice but what was there, hit the mark. Good sized room with seating area and everything worked! Bathroom had decent pressure in the shower, nice towels, etc. toiletries were 3* but no biggie. Roaring fork onsite had a great atmosphere/ food/ drinks. Bar on 1st floor has a beautiful terrace for drinks. No food available after 10pm but they have crisps, etc downstairs you can buy. And everything on your doorstep until late, so no issue. Very pleasant stay and would book again, no question
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rodney Hartfield, Guest Services / Front Office at The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel
Responded Apr 30, 2022
Thank you for your great 5 Bubble review. We are glad to hear that our location works well for you. We appreciate your review and hope that you can stay with us again in the near future. Thanks again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gary wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
The location of the hotel is ideal and met the needs of my one night stay. My room was clean and tidy however the view afforded from the windows was less than expected as I had chosen the preferred option. Looking out over A/C units was not what I expected. The lack of an inhouse hotel channel on the TV was surprising as was the inability to check out directly from my room. No PPV option either so I had to peruse the Dish network offerings to pass time until I left for the JBJ concert. As for in room beverages, the only option was a Keurig type coffeemaker but the coffee offered was not to my liking, its taste was less than ideal. No alcoholic beverages available ensuite which is fine by me as I don't avail myself of them whenever I stay at a hotel but others may. I have not travelled since early 2020 but the occasions prior to that the hotels I had stayed at provided free bottled water - The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel did not. The staff I interacted with were very pleasant and professional but the room services offered lacked in my opinion. Overall for the price paid for the room I left a little underwhelmed. Would I stay again? Possibly but I would check out other hotels first before committing.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rodney Hartfield, Guest Services / Front Office at The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel
Responded Apr 30, 2022
Thank you Tagary3 for your well written review. We appreciate you feedback and value our guests suggestions. We appreciate your time and hope you will consider staying with us on your next visit to Austin.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Suzanne wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Fantastic hotel with outstanding customer service. Traveled to Austin for an overnight solo vacation and had the pleasure of choosing this hotel. It was clean and quiet with enough activity if you wanted it. Great location! The front desk is amazing!! Shout out to Aaron who didn't blink an eye when I switched my room twice. I was mistakenly put in a room with a queen size bed when I'd requested King. When I called front desk Aaron made it right immediately. When I got to the new room I realized while yes the bed was bigger I really liked the room I was first put in and I went back downstairs to ask for my original room. They switched me again quickly with smiles and great customer service. Will Definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rodney Hartfield, Guest Services / Front Office at The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel
Responded Apr 22, 2022
WOW!! Your review is AWESOME! We are so happy to hear back from our guests. We appreciate you acknowledging Aaron and his hard work. We would love to have you stay with us again. Thank You Thank You
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$198 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
intercontinental stephen f. austin hotel austin, intercontinental austin
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
LOCATION
United StatesTexasAustinDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
190
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Bad Wolf Ghost Tours (0.09 miles), Pete's Dueling Piano Bar (0.3 miles), and The Driskill (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stella San Jac, Eddie V's Prime Seafood, and Truluck's Ocean's Finest Seafood & Crab.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Austin.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Stephen F Austin Royal Sonesta Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.