We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

11 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 10: English reviews
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

The hotel is right off hwy 290E. It's fronted by a large Mexican cafe/bar. The after hours staff is family and receptive and helpful, they even provided me with an ethernet cord when my wireless did not work.. We asked for a smoking and were informed that they had just redone the non smoking rooms and we were offerred an... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ftgarland
bassdaddy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

I am no stranger to inexpensive properties, and I am not a hotel snob. I do expect however to receive a clean room for my money. The first thing we noticed in this hellhole were the night stands-they were pulled away from the wall. Behind one was a previous tenants wallet, behind the other was some marijuana scattered on the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank bassdaddy
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

This was the worst experience I've ever had at a motel. I'm not picky, so I overlooked the fact that the furniture was uneven and the vanity was cracked and crooked. But when I went to the bathroom and saw the towel bar hanging from one joint and that it hadn't been cleaned from the last guest, washcloths, towels and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank dentedtourist
East Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

Absolute worst hotel I have ever had dis-pleasure of staying at. They advertise free continental breakfast and when asked on first morning I was told then did not have it. On second morning when someone else asked, clerk brought milk, bread OJ and a big tub of margarine (half-empty) out for breakfast. I would not eat breakfast after I saw... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Darcoop
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

I want to tell you that I’ve never had such an experience in my life. The wife and I drove up to Austin from Houston and we found this place to stay on one of the travel websites. The deal was good, so we booked the room. Now, when we first got into our room I noticed a strong odor.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Houston_Motel_Guest
chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2007

I found this on kayak.com and its partially my fault for searching for cheap hotels. I accidentally booked a smoking room. EVERY horizontal surface had multiple burns - dressers, bathroom counter, tv, bed. Looked so dirty. Managed to stay the night, tried leaving in the morning, but the door wouldn't lock. Took all my stuff in my car and looked... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank joipodgorny
Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2006

my room is just not clean and i can't really feel that comfortable in that dirtyroom. the staff just seem not to care about anything. i mean I am, paying my money to stay here and act like i am bothering them with a question!!!!!!!!!!! it's just very diapointeing to stay at this hotel.

Helpful?
5 Thank jasonhey
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2006

This was the Econo Lodge at I-35 and I-290. Registration staff was not "owning" their services. Didn't know how the in-room refrigerators worked. Had no responsibility for the slow running "free Internet" on the public PC. Swimming Pool wasn't clean and they did not know how to get it sanitized. I was on my own. Isn't it the management's job... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank RubyDuo
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2005

The rooms are dirty and tattered. There's mold on the walls. My first room was flooded from a leaking air conditioner, the smoke detector was disabled, the chain lock on the door was broken, the hot water handle in the shower was broken, the comforter on the bed was soiled and full of cigarette burns. In my second room the... More 

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

The review from the guest omits facts relevant to their stay. They had reserved a smoking room with one bed.Since they arrived almost at midnight, hotel was already sold out,we were unable to satisfy their requirement for a non smoking room.However the following day we gave them a non smoking room with two beds at no additional charge.Guest was still... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2005

n the morning of Monday July 25th, 2005 I called this hotel before leaving to Austin. I had a Traveler's magazine that is where I learned about this hotel and its' rates. When I called, a woman answered the phone with a sort of a spleepy and tired "hello", which led me to believe I had the wrong number (Most... More 

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

We accept travellers discount coupons upon a walk-inn basis. We as the coupon states do not take reservations for coupons.We would suggest to any guests considering a special occasion stay to book a guaranteed reservation at prevailing rates and avoid any dissapointment for their occasion. All of our staff have been proffessionaly trained and have over 22 years of hospitality... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyde Park
Ramada Austin Central
Ramada Austin Central
#105 of 198 in Austin
3.5 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 6201 E Highway 290, Austin, TX 78723-1025
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Price Range: $50 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 48
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing