We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Amarillo KOA

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amarillo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Amarillo KOA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Amarillo KOA
See the most recent reviews
Showing 82: English reviews
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

Be prepared: Trains, Planes, Helicopters, and Trucks! We were long term residents at the campground for 10 months, so I had plenty of time to observe. Initially, the facility was fine. It was towards the end of the camping season so there weren't many guests. However, shortly after we got there, the second shower house closed. This left one bathroom/shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dana E N
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Amarillo KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review regarding your extended stay with us, we definitely appreciate hearing all feedback from our guests. We do close down one bathhouse during the winter months as we often are not busy enough to warrant both being open. We do apologize if there was any other issues caused by our... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

It is a little off the road but it got us away from the traffic. It is exceptionally clean. The staff are wonderful people. As far as campground bath houses go, this by far was better than most hotels. Pool very clean. Yes there is a small airport near by and maybe three planes left out and also it's near... More 

Helpful?
Thank DanaGage
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Amarillo KOA, responded to this review

We're so glad you had a wonderful stay with us, Dana! We are happy you enjoyed our pool, facilities, and grounds. Thanks for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

The staff is terrific. Friendly and courteous. The grounds are impeccable. The restroom/shower facility is well maintained. Very clean. They are petfriendly, but the "doggie playground" is a small fenced-in area that is nothing more than a pooping area for lapdogs. The primary focus here is rv travelers. The actual "campers" are left to setup on a strip of grass... More 

Helpful?
Thank s b
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Amarillo KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent trip to the Amarillo area. While the majority of our guests do arrive in recreational vehicles, we definitely want to make sure everyone has a great time. We have passed along your comments to our management team in an effort to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

We are tent campers and don't usually stay at private campgrounds such as this. It is RIGHT off the highway so very easy to get in and out. The attendant who checked us in warned us that it is very windy in Amarillo and some people have problems with tents. We appreciated the advice but had no difficulty.

Helpful?
Thank avidNHtraveler
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Amarillo KOA, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review! We are so glad you had a great stay, and that the wind wasn't an issue for you! We hope to see you again in the future. More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

The park is a convenient stop in Amarillo. Location is good and easy to find. Quiet place to rest. Reasonable price. Just a few things I didn't like much: At night there is not much visibility of the road itself inside the park or the sites to look for the one you have assigned. The layout of the park itself... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ivonne G
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Amarillo KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the Amarillo area. We value all of our campers feedback and will pass along your comments to our management team to see how we can improve. We definitely want to make sure you can pull in and setup as... More 

Bear Rocks, Pa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

A few turns off the highway through Amarillo that take you to a less-than-desirable part of town. Situated by a prison and low income housing, we wondered for our safety; however, it seemed safe in the rv park. Loud trains and planes, apparently near airport and tracks close by, besdies the convicts. Restrooms weren't bad. Stayed one night while traveling,... More 

Helpful?
Thank BearRocksHiker
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Amarillo KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the Amarillo. We take great pride in our park and do apologize that you felt the surrounding area was not up to your standards. In truth our park is in a safe location and many of our guests enjoy... More 

helena, mt
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016 via mobile

This is a nice park. The woman who took my phone reservation and checked us in was very friendly and helpful. They're in the process of paving their nice wide roads, which will be great. The bathrooms and showers are a little dated but were spotless. The bathroom building in the rear if the park was not open yet but... More 

Helpful?
Thank islandgirllil
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Amarillo KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind, detailed review! We are so happy you had an enjoyable stay with us, and enjoyed our grounds, facilities, the camp store, and dog area. As you noticed, we are in the process of a lot of improvements and we're looking forward to seeing our guests' response this year to them! We hope to see you... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016 via mobile

This is an emergency only stopping place. We stopped because of the awful wind. It is a dirty wasteland of a park. We went to dinner at the Big Texas Steakhouse, only to return to a scathing note on our door about our dogs needing to be on a lead. They watched me carry my little dogs in their crate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sara-Doug A
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Amarillo KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the Amarillo area. Please accept our apologies that you were not happy with our pet policy and the way we have to enforce it with our guests. We do understand that most guests follow the rules and are responsible... More 

Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2016

Very close to the highway. Nice sites. Friendly accommodating staff. We arrived after they closed but they said it wasn't a problem and all of the instructions would be waiting for us in the late box. Everything was as promised. Very well kept sites with convenient pull throughs. The bathrooms and showers were a little dated but very clean. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tomladtkow
CamperSupport, Public Relations Manager at Amarillo KOA, responded to this review

We're so glad you had a great stay with us! We are happy you enjoyed your campsite and the grounds, and that the nearby traffic wasn't a big problem for you. Thanks for your kind review, and we hope to see you again! More 

Central City, Kentucky
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2016

Park is pull in, back in so you share a very small outside space with a total stranger. We had one picnic table to share with our neighbor. They chose to pull it to the end of their rig which put them directly under our table window. We heard every word they spoke and I'm sure they heard ours. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank 192merg
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Amarillo KOA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the Amarillo area. During our slower season we do try to group our guests together to make it easier to maintain one area as well as provide our guests with the most conveniently located sites to our amenities. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (27)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
5.3 mi away
Ashmore Inn & Suites
Ashmore Inn & Suites
#22 of 69 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Airport
12.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 69 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East
12.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Amarillo KOA

Address: 1100 Folsom Rd, Amarillo, TX 79108-7524
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Number of rooms: 123
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing