We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Maverick Inn

Save
1200 E Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-5108
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (261)
Room & Suite (94)
Dining (4)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#3 of 13 hotels in Alpine
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
If you are looking for a boutique historic hotel, we've got you covered. The Maverick Inn features rooms with luxury amenities, a complimentary country breakfast, and high speed Internet access. We are located across the street from Sul Ross State University and are near Big Bend National Park. Come stay with us at The Maverick Inn, the True Roadhouse for Wanderers!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Fax / photocopying
BBQ facilities
Newspaper
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
475Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 284
  • 128
  • 39
  • 14
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Totally agree with one reviewer who said they paid $160 and it's worth, maybe $50. It's advertised as renovated.... uhhh... not sure when that was, maybe 20 years ago and they FORGOT to renovate the bathroom. The bathroom is something from a very low end (read BELOW Motel 6) place. Yikes! Felt like I was back in my REAL budget days.... For $160 I definitely expected alot better. After a long travel day and hike I had to psyche myself up to get into the shower. It was filthy, with uneven floors marked with caution tape (NOT kidding). So small the toilet was almost IN the shower. Our room backed up onto the main drag and even though it's a small town, it was quite loud. Oh yeah, and the train...They did provide earplugs. The good: a very nice young man checked us in.
Read more
Before we arrived we received an email stating that our king room rate was $15 more than our original booking. When I called the hotel Tiffany agreed to honor the original, and still overpriced, rate. The room is a good size but the bathroom is very small and uncomfortable. No place for toiletries and limited shower pressure. The bed was OK but the pillows were either too soft or too hard. The room was extremely hot. No shades on the window that faced the roadway and poor lighting. And, where was the remote for the TV? The refrigerator minimally kept our food cold. It's a charming little place but not worth the money.
Read more
Booked for two nights. Then had a change of plans. Only stayed one night. To depart after one day we were charged $50 due to 48 hr cancellation policy. Deluxe queen room was anything but. They also didn't have their complementary water as advertised. Room bed was worn out.
Read more
Response from Sarah D, General Manager at The Maverick Inn
Responded Feb 24, 2020
Hello, I am so sorry to hear your stay was not what you had hoped for. I am not sure why you were charged $50 for a cancellation fee because our policy is actually a full nights stay. The front desk has plenty of water bottles available upon request! My apologies if they did not ask you if you would like any during check in. As far as the bed is concerned, I personally prefer a more firm mattress myself. However our mattresses were just recently replaced. We hope we have another opportunity to make this up to you and show you just how great we can be. Safe travels and until next time. Regards, Sarah
Read more
We stayed in a king room Price was $148.00 for a room worth $40.00 Bathroom is tiny no place for toiletries except back of toilet Peeling paint TV did not work No closet or place for suitcases except floor The hanging rod beside bed so close no room to walk by Did not give direction or time for the advertised country breakfast Only positive was very nice bath towels We give it a rating
Read more
Response from Sarah D, General Manager at The Maverick Inn
Responded Feb 25, 2020
Hello there, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback, and I am so sorry to hear your stay was not as you had hoped. Our historic property was built in the early 20's and we have done our very best to preserve the uniqueness of the rooms and hotel layout as best we can. Unfortunately that means the bathrooms may be smaller than average, and space may be limited in the rooms as well. Although the rooms may be small, we encourage our guests to get out and enjoy the outdoor lounge areas throughout the property. Our pool deck is open all year long and features some of the best spots in town for a beautiful morning sunrise, or evening sunset. We don't offer a full country breakfast however we do supply our guests with breakfast bars and more 'Grab n Go' items to keep them energized while enjoying the great outdoors! Safe travels and we hope to have you back again to show you just how great we can be! Regards, Sarah
Read more
Just completed a 31 day cross country trip and of all the hotels/motels I stayed in this had the most character. You really felt like you were in West Texas with the decor. An original motor lodge from the 30s it has been upgraded continuously. Bed comfortable. Bath small but adequate with nice tiles. Continental Breakfast was really simple but it did have Pop Tarts which made it feel very retro!
Read more
Response from Sarah D, General Manager at The Maverick Inn
Responded Nov 10, 2019
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Maverick Inn! We hope you travel safely home and come back soon to visit us!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$124 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the maverick hotel alpine
LOCATION
United StatesTexasAlpine
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Maverick Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Maverick Inn?
Nearby attractions include Museum of the Big Bend (0.2 miles), Cheshire Cat Antiques (0.6 miles), and Harry's Tinaja (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Maverick Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Maverick Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Maverick Inn?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Maverick Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Maverick Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cow Dog, Reata Restaurant, and La Casita.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Maverick Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is The Maverick Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Alpine.
Are pets allowed at The Maverick Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Maverick Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Murphy St. Raspa (0.7 miles).