We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
209 W Holland Ave, Alpine, TX 79830-4634
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$116
Travelocity$116
Hotels.com$116
Priceline$104
FindHotel$104
Agoda.com$104
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (177)
Room & Suite (56)
Dining (13)

About

#2 of 14 hotels in Alpine
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.4
The Holland Hotel is a beautiful Spanish Colonial architecture property with beam ceilings that was constructed in 1928. It is recognized by the state of Texas as a historical destination. Recently renovated, the Holland Hotel boasts expected amenities while keeping its historic character and charm. Let the Holland Hotel make your next visit the Big Bend region a historic one!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Game room
Billiards
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Board games / puzzles
Facial treatments
Makeup services
Massage
Salon
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Business
Languages Spoken
English
611Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 379
  • 154
  • 49
  • 20
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Hiramaru wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
It's a nice looking old hotel located in front of the Alpine train station. We stayed two nights (Friday and Saturday) and expected some flaws but the train horn (Friday only) and AC noise were so loud. Ear plugs are left in the room for the guests but they don't help very much. Also, the walls are thin. If you are light sleeper, I wouldn't recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Hollywho9 wrote a review Apr 2022
UK24 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
Our room (220) had layers of dust beneath the bed. In addition there was lots of debris from previous inhabitants behind the chest of drawers. I have complained to the guy at reception. In addition I have written to the department of Public Health and Sanitation. On a positive note we found the Central bar to be excellent. The staff there, especially the guy, were efficient and welcoming. The food was also very good.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PASQUA L wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Upon entering our room in the evening, we noticed the coffee pot had not been cleaned and we didn't have Kleenex or a clock. The bathroom and sink counter were very small. The next morning in the breakfast room, we found yesterday's coffee and a few apples, oranges and cereal bars. Two days later when we returned to our room, the beds were unmade, and we didn't have any large bath towels. The other towels had been replaced so we knew someone had been in our room. Again, the coffee pot was not cleaned of used grinds, and nothing had been cleaned or vacuumed. Due to the loud trains at night neither our friends nor ourselves slept much. The lobby has potential to be interesting, but instead has dreary, not well-maintained furniture, and many damaged floor tiles.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
pocahauntis wrote a review Dec 2021
Pueblo, Colorado219 contributions54 helpful votes
It's nice to find hotels that have history and character. This hotel is nicely kept and rooms are comfortable and seemed very clean. Internet is really slow. Artwork is an eclectic mixture of artwork and posters. We'd come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Randy C wrote a review Dec 2021
Austin, Texas36 contributions38 helpful votes
A classic hotel next to the train tracks in Alpine Texas. They provide earplugs for sleeping. Nice lobby. BUT, mold in the bath tub area. No Kleenex box. Room heater makes a lot of racket. Bedside lamps needed plugging in. But the worst part was the hotel’s restaurant. The server was courteous BUT they only had the bar menu available with 8 items and two were sold out because they did not order enough food. The wine by the glass was not fresh. I love staying at classic hotels, but this one is a loser.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Roy P wrote a review Oct 2021
Cypress6 contributions
Love the historic feel of this hotel, especially that it was decorated in Harry Potter theme for their upcoming Halloween dinner. That was kind of fun. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. We would love to have stayed longer to enjoy the property and walk around the historic town a bit more. We did hear the trains go by but once we fell asleep, did not notice them at all. I read the reviews before staying here, and took note of the fact that they provide ear plugs for good reason, but the noise did not seem to affect our sleep at all. The morning coffee was great! But that was about it in terms of breakfast although there were several packaged items available. We couldn’t find any cafés or restaurants open nearby even by 9am, so we left hungry. The reception desk staff were very welcoming and accommodating, but if you have to interface with an actual person, you need to plan around the hours of 8a -8p as stated in their hotel description.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Texasapp wrote a review Jul 2021
19 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at Holland the last night of our vacation. The interior of the hotel is beautiful. It was not busy for Friday. We had a room with a king bed and jacuzzi for two. I asked to make sure that two people can fit in this tub. The can if they are not tall and sit Cross legged. The air conditioner is above your head and blows on your face as you sleep. They give you ear plugs on the dresser. I have never stayed at a hotel that has ear plugs for it’s customers. I asked our waiter about this and he didn’t know. The carpet needs to be cleaned there are stains in it. The hotel staff are very helpful at check in. They have coffee at 8 am on Sat morning in lobby and some fruits to grab and go. The hotel is really nice overall . The rooms are in need of some loving. The resturant is wonderful. The ribeye was worth it. It was very tender and flavorful.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: This hotel is worth the stay but it needs some extra cleaning and upgrades for what is being charged
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Dennis R wrote a review Jun 2021
Charleston, South Carolina87 contributions31 helpful votes
I checked out this hotel here and other places and was stunned by the difference between my room and the photos posted on their website. Instead of the nice room shown, I was greeted by a room with old, worn and stained carpets. The bed was lumpy and had two dips where the foam was worn flat. The bathroom was very tired with the tub showing several layers of refinish attempts and too creepy to use. But the real clue that this was going to be bad were two sets of earplugs on the dresser. Then the trains came - so loud that I couldn't sleep more than a few hours at a time. No soundproofing at all. I cannot recommend this hotel. Very historic doesn't cut the mustard. Go to a more modern hotel of which there are several.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Davison, General Manager at Holland Hotel
Responded Jun 8, 2021
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback, and we are so sorry to hear that your stay was not as you had expected. We do our best to preserve the history of our historic property and understand that sometimes that may not live up to expectations of those used to the more modern look. In regards to the train, the origin of the Tri-County area was build around the railroad back in the day to accommodate workers, and since then the towns have continued to build around them. Again, we understand that this can be quite a shock to those not used to the nightly run of the trains through town, but we do provide ear plugs in the rooms for the lighter sleepers. We hope you give us another opportunity to show you just how great we can be and look forward to making it up to you upon your return. Safe travels. Best regards,
Read more
Cynthia S wrote a review May 2021
Austin, Texas55 contributions64 helpful votes
Staying at this older hotel in the Big Bend area had been on our bucket list for several years. We did not sleep well, not the train, but a loud group of people talking and laughing late into the night. You know you are in trouble when the hotel leaves ear plugs by the side of your bed. No one at check in desk after 5. I am VERY pro Covid precautions, but when everyone checking in, you need some assistance: where the heck is your room!! I think the hotel is overpriced. The hotel is in need of renovations. ON THE POSITIVE SIDE The bed was very comfortable. We had plenty of elbow room in the suite, although the TV was too small. And the adjoining restaurant saved the visit. Nice bar and a very nice dinner with a very pleasant server (she was the only one wearing a mask!!.)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Davison, General Manager at Holland Hotel
Responded May 19, 2021
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are saddened to hear that your stay was not as expected. This is certainly not what we want our guests to experience when staying with us. The ear plugs are provided for the train that comes through town at night, as the station is located right across the street within walking distance. Due to COVID-19 and the massive labor shortage we are only offering a self check-in service to our guests at this time. There is a number posted both in your brochure and there at the front desk for after hours assistance. Since we are a boutique hotel we understand that some of our décor may not be preferable to some, however we do our very best to preserve the history of these older properties. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope you offer us another opportunity to show you just how great we can be. Safe travels. Best regards,
Read more
TrustedTraveller2 wrote a review Apr 2021
Dallas171 contributions108 helpful votes
We stayed here one night on the way to Big Bend. As an historic hotel, I didn't realize until later in our trip how important (and appreciated) the elevator would be! All the other famous hotels in the area have staircases of varying heights that are a real challenge with a heavy suitcase. The public areas of this hotel, including the interior courtyard, were charming. And the bar facing the street was clearly a popular spot. However, do NOT order the jalapeno margarita with cranberry juice. My husband thought it was insipid - and he even ate the jalapeno! The food, however, was excellent, especially the rigatoni and the chicken fried steak (which wasn't huge). Our room was on the side of the building - I think - but I couldn't really tell because the large windows were frosted on the bottom so we couldn't see out, making the room slightly claustrophobic. The worst thing was the dirty carpet, which made the whole room seem dirty. The bed and the shower were good, there was a sofa to watch the TV (another amenity not offered in all historic hotels), but the dimly lit room just seemed sad and dirty. There was a refrigerator, but it wasn't plugged in and had water collecting inside. And, strangely, because there is no phone in the room and the front desk is only manned from 8-4, the informational sheet that they give you at check-in just says "in case of emergency, call the number displayed at the front desk." So if you have an emergency in the middle of the night, you have to run downstairs to get the phone number? Not a great idea.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Davison, General Manager at Holland Hotel
Responded Apr 24, 2021
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback, and we are saddened to hear your visit was not what you had hoped for. I will look into the margarita recipe and relay your comments to my head chef. Our Jalapeno Margarita is one of our most popular cocktails and we certainly don't want your experience to be the experience our guests have when trying one. Due to high beef prices we have had a slight inflation on some of our beef products which might have been the reason there was a misunderstanding in the price and expectation. Again, this is not the experience we want our guests to have and we give our sympathies for this experience. Unfortunately the second floor windows on the back side of the property look out onto the roof which is filled with air conditioning units and equipment. Perhaps next time we can interest you in a room on the front side of the property overlooking the Amtrak station? Our property is a historic property and we do our very best to maintain and look after all features of building including flooring and amenities. The cleanliness of the room however does not sound like our standard and I will certainly bring this up to our Housekeeping supervisor. In regards to the on call phone, there is a copy of the emergency number in your welcome brochure so guests don't have to make extra trips down stairs. We appreciate the feedback and hope to make it up to you again in the near future. Safe travels! Regards,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$118 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
historic holland alpine, hotel historic holland
LOCATION
United StatesTexasAlpine
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holland Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holland Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Catchlight Gallery (0.07 miles), Cheshire Cat Antiques (0.2 miles), and Gallery on the Square, Big Bend Arts Council (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holland Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Holland Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holland Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holland Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holland Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Reata Restaurant, Cow Dog, and Guzzi Up.
Is Holland Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Alpine.
Are pets allowed at Holland Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Holland Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mariscal Mine (4.8 miles) and Murphy St. Raspa (0.1 miles).